Dick Dastardly
3 hours ago, ri Alban said:

Many folk like me, have worked hard to get into a good income, then every time you get yourself happy, shit like this come about and puts you back to square one. Sometimes I think to masel, what's the point.

Yup. Never thought i would see the day when Iceland is more expensive than Marks and Spencer 

• Replies 794

• ri Alban

• Nucky Thompson

• joondalupjambo

• JudyJudyJudy

37 minutes ago, Dick Dastardly said:

Yup. Never thought i would see the day when Iceland is more expensive than Marks and Spencer 

asda is terrible for prices at the moment as well

ArcticJambo
9 hours ago, Dazo said:

Shell are generally 1.66 or there about in Edinburgh, so I’d like to hear the reasoning for that difference. 

They're consistently cheaper everywhere else I drive in Scotland than Edinburgh. Dicks!

3 minutes ago, ArcticJambo said:

They're consistently cheaper everywhere else I drive in Scotland than Edinburgh. Dicks!

Yep, complete profiteering. 

1 hour ago, Dick Dastardly said:

Everything is a double take. And 'Is this for real?' 

I actually need to start tightening the belt. It's fecking sickening that I have to. Plus I'm gonnae have to maybe start working Saturdays, Again. That kind of wiped out the cost of living. Cause I wasn't living. Which leads me to my next point.

I'm I'mious considering 'Not' joining the golf this year, even tho I saved for it. But if I do join and people point and say, 'Well...' . Me 'Well, what?' So we need to stop life , so the big business can make profits. 

Sick of this shit.

Dick Dastardly
42 minutes ago, Masonic said:

asda is terrible for prices at the moment as well

I fell out with asda over a missing delivery about a year ago so **** them. £2.50 for 6 tomatoes in Iceland today. Absolutely ridiculous. 

Dick Dastardly
19 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

I actually need to start tightening the belt. It's fecking sickening that I have to. Plus I'm gonnae have to maybe start working Saturdays, Again. That kind of wiped out the cost of living. Cause I wasn't living. Which leads me to my next point.

I'm I'mious considering 'Not' joining the golf this year, even tho I saved for it. But if I do join and people point and say, 'Well...' . Me 'Well, what?' So we need to stop life , so the big business can make profits. 

Sick of this shit.

Yup, its getting absurd now

The Jazz Emu
39 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

Sick of this shit.

It’s absolutely beyond a joke now.

"We never had it so good"

Prior to Brexit, Pandemic and Putin, for the majority, the above was probably true.

22 hours ago, Dick Dastardly said:

I fell out with asda over a missing delivery about a year ago so **** them. £2.50 for 6 tomatoes in Iceland today. Absolutely ridiculous. 

£3 for 10 slices of cheese 

£6 cat litter

these were the 2 that stuck out for me when in asda the other night both up over 35% since november

Dick Dastardly
9 minutes ago, Masonic said:

£6 cat litter

these were the 2 that stuck out for me when in asda the other night both up over 35% since november

£3 for sliced cheese? ****ing hell

7 minutes ago, Masonic said:

£6 cat litter

A lot of the supermarkets are now gearing towards loyalty cards.

I get offer prices from Sainsbury's through the Nectar app where I've got to use the smartshop scanner.

£1.75 for taste the difference, extra mature Cumbrian cheddar 350g is decent.

Also their own brand smoked bacon is lovely at £1.40 for 300g

I now tend to pick up all the offers from different Supermarkets rather than doing my big shop in one place

Just now, ri Alban said:

Tesco have cut their rewards on the loyalty points. @Nucky Thompson By a third, I think, bud 

Aye mate. That's the vouchers that you can exchange for goods. 

It's going from 3 times the value to double the value.

We used to use £10 worth of Tesco vouchers to get a Blackpool pleasure beach ticket :biggrin2:

Tesco will still give you Clubcard prices on groceries.

Everyone who shops in Tesco is bound to have a Clubcard nowadays

6 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

Aye mate. That's the vouchers that you can exchange for goods. 

It's going from 3 times the value to double the value.

We used to use £10 worth of Tesco vouchers to get a Blackpool pleasure beach ticket :biggrin2:

Tesco will still give you Clubcard prices on groceries.

Everyone who shops in Tesco is bound to have a Clubcard nowadays

I have. Diesel mostly.

£3.50 for a bottle of HP sauce the other day in Aldi.

Picked up a bottle of their own brand, taste not so good, price excellent.

Edited by Australis

1 hour ago, Nucky Thompson said:

I get offer prices from Sainsbury's through the Nectar app where I've got to use the smartshop scanner.

I now tend to pick up all the offers from different Supermarkets rather than doing my big shop in one place

I use the Asda loyalty points app, not because I like their stuff but I've got about £90 in it just now. I also get 10% off with my blue light card.

Edit: spelling.

Edited by graygo

The Jazz Emu
On 29/03/2023 at 18:48, Dick Dastardly said:

That’s pretty steep for 6 tomatoes, unless they’re the size of small watermelons!

1 hour ago, Masonic said:

£6 cat litter

3 quid for ten slices of plastic cheese?  :wow: 

9 minutes ago, C Moon said:

That’s pretty steep for 6 tomatoes, unless they’re the size of small watermelons!

No, the plastic cheese is as little as 65p for 10 slices.

Screenshot_20230330-181335-192.png

Jambo-Jimbo
1 hour ago, Nucky Thompson said:

It is, we always get that one now.

£2.50 for 8 slices of co-op smoked back bacon.

£1.25 for 1 litre of co-op fresh orange juice, sainsbury's are selling 2 litres for £1.65 and there isn't any difference that either me or Mrs JJ can tell.

I have started to do the online shopping again, simply because it's easier to manage which it is, but it also stops Mrs JJ from just filling the trolley up with all manner of crap.  She has a habit of going in to the likes of Asda for a couple of things, £28 later...........

Online grocery shopping makes it far easier to compare the prices per unit/kilo/whatever of all the brands on offer.

It's almost much easier to put things back, and to keep a running count of your total.

I find it makes shopping much easier and stops impulse buys.

Dick Dastardly
1 hour ago, C Moon said:

On the vine tomatoes. I think you pay a little more for the bit you can't eat. Fair doos, at least they had a semblance of taste, unlike the cheap £1.75 ones..... 

henrysmithsgloves
2 hours ago, Jambo-Jimbo said:

£1.25 for 1 litre of co-op fresh orange juice, sainsbury's are selling 2 litres for £1.65 and there isn't any difference that either me or Mrs JJ can tell.

I have started to do the online shopping again, simply because it's easier to manage which it is, but it also stops Mrs JJ from just filling the trolley up with all manner of crap.  She has a habit of going in to the likes of Asda for a couple of things, £28 later...........

Ditto😂

8 hours ago, Masonic said:

£6 cat litter

we buy Catsan cat litter. For a 20l bag. it was £10 only 2 months ago now it’s £17-19

joke. Cats won’t pee in anything else. How the hell can cat litter go up 70%
it’s gone mental. Absolutely mental.

6 hours ago, Australis said:

£3.50 for a bottle of HP sauce the other day in Aldi.

Picked up a bottle of their own brand, taste not so good, price excellent.

£4 for Heinz salad cream ffs. I mean wtf. Anything else tastes like shit. Bonkers

16 minutes ago, jonesy said:

Kill and eat the cats. Save £££s on the cat litter AND have yourselves a tasty, authentic Chinese takeaway experience at the same time. 

😱😱😱🤣

18 minutes ago, jonesy said:

You won’t do the bumming but you’ll eat that crap? :o 

Think he only pretends to eat that crap, not the only thing he pretends. 🤫

18 minutes ago, jonesy said:

Kill and eat the cats. Save £££s on the cat litter AND have yourselves a tasty, authentic Chinese takeaway experience at the same time. 

If you get away with this on account of your Chinese wife I'll be seething.

My Gypsy jibes are generally met with a stretch in the jkb pokey.

59 minutes ago, jonesy said:

Where did I say I'll eat that crap? 

(this is where I should insert a crap gif but I can't be bothered)

Just now, jonesy said:

Hey, there's a cost of living crisis going on. I'm just trying to help people out here. A wee bit deep fried shredded Tiddles in honey and chilli sauce is going to set you back >£5 from the takeaway, but save you money if you do it at home.

Deep fried fido in an oyster sauce isn't too bad either, tbh.

42 minutes ago, Dazo said:

Think he only pretends to eat that crap, not the only thing he pretends. 🤫

Not like you to try and instigate a pile on Dazo.

Oh wait it is.

2 minutes ago, jonesy said:

Would also be a way of culling the mutts that people in cities only have because the rest of their family don't love them.

7 minutes ago, jonesy said:

Back on topic...

Anyone looking to save money these days when buying new technology should look to the second hand market. I've got a second hand iMac (bought for £250 from IT Zoo) and a second hand iPhone 8 (bought from giffgaff) both running absolutely fine. Obviously some folks' jobs or hobbies might necessitate the latest models, but for the majority of folk, you really don't need anything like the most up to date systems and models.

Top tip, jonesy.

All my phones are refurbished older models that work perfectly and come in at less than half price. No point in buying brand new when one of the kids will generally destroy it within a month.

The Jazz Emu
1 hour ago, jonesy said:

:bwcornette:

Jambo-Jimbo
18 hours ago, Jambo-Jimbo said:

Have to hold my hands up and admit I got the highlighted bit above wrong.

It's acutally £2.75 for 8 slices (280g) or 2 for £5. :laugh:

The Jazz Emu
9 hours ago, jonesy said:

Dare to live, dare to love, Nicole 😘

Al, and now Nicole?

🤷🏿‍♂️

Does anybody else feel that just about everyone is looking to rip you off just now while blaming the 'cost of living crisis'

I think the big supermarkets are the main culprits.

The cost of fuel is daylight robbery from those thieving twats

Diesel 17p more per litre than petrol despite oil price falls - BBC News

The Jazz Emu
3 hours ago, jonesy said:

Glad to have helped 🐲

Oh you’re nothing if you’re not helpful, Miss Jones.

29 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

Does anybody else feel that just about everyone is looking to rip you off just now while blaming the 'cost of living crisis'

Yip.

They're ripping the pish at the minute. 

100% there's profiteering going on.

All these companies posting RECORD profits at the same time as blaming Ukraine/Covid as pishy reasons why they can't afford to drop their prices.

Government just totally ignoring the problem.

:bolt:

6 minutes ago, Masonic said:

wee heads up if u have glass jars that are air tight if u put fruits in it they will last about 3-4x longer

Also, keep bread in the fridge. You can buy bread on it's last day at a big discount, and it'll still last ages 

3 hours ago, Nucky Thompson said:

Started 5 minutes into the first lockdown and hasn't stopped. Criminal profiteering based on lies. 

1 hour ago, Smithee said:

Also, keep bread in the fridge. You can buy bread on it's last day at a big discount, and it'll still last ages 

I put it in the freezer and take it out as I need it.

It defrosts really quickly or 15 seconds in the microwave if you want it instantly.

I've done that for years

On 31/03/2023 at 06:41, jonesy said:

Just seen this 

A7AA4E36-787B-4563-9A2E-1FE3F0075939.gif

37 minutes ago, Weakened Offender said:

Started 5 minutes into the first lockdown and hasn't stopped. Criminal profiteering based on lies. 

Market forces Blah! Blah! Blah!.

Suits the Tories.

27 minutes ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

Suits the Tories.

FFS give it a rest :lol: