***Official Heart of Midlothian v H1b5 Match Day Thread***

Wee Mikey

Just now, Debut 4 said:

It’s clear to anyone we had the beating of Hibs but seemingly the manager didn’t.  

The midfield now needs addressed massively but also the managers attitude when trying to kill the opposition off. If ever a game summed up the negative side of RN, that was it today.

We also need midfielders who want to influence and kill a game off. It all comes from there.  Haring did some good defensive work but he is so so slow and a lot of our play is self defeating when he has the ball.  

Neilson needs to see that. 

Great post, midfield is a worry at this moment , recruitment at this point doesn’t look great . I posted earlier Smith is also a worry , if he is just a back up then that’s fine, but he is past it . Love the guy , but Father Time has caught up with him 

• Replies 2.8k

• Bongo 1874

• frankblack

IveSeenTheLight

A draw was probably the fair result.

Hibs had more of the ball, but had very little impact in the final third.

You seemed to sit off quite a bit and it looked like the one real moment of quality between MacKay and Shankland would be the difference.

2 minutes ago, The Wrinkly Ninja said:

Sibbicks positioning was terrible but he shouldn’t have had to be there, where the **** were Rowles and Halkett?

Atikinson our right wing back had to take up the position at the front post where Rowles should have been Sibbick was the only one of three centre halves in any where near stopping a shot and he was covering for the other two.

Halkett didn't get his body in a great position. Looked as though he could've conceded a penalty. 

Bringing on Halliday for Boyce is another declaration of what we have we'll hold. Why not put Gino or Hendo on and try and have an outlet. We know by that time its 5 mins added time.

Games like today are why there will always been concerns amongst many fans about Neilson. 

I'm not sure any of their starting 11 get in our side. Terrible at centre half and we decide we'll hold what we've got before 70 mins. That's asking for trouble. 

Ten seconds away from a masterclass in controlling a derby.

Unfortunately it didn't workout but in the same way it's pathetic hibs are acting like they won the cup, it's pathetic it's got the Neilson out camp fired up.

Dick Dastardly
17 minutes ago, RustyRightPeg said:

Why is Sibbick getting blamed for the goal? 

Can we not call out Rowles for dropping off allowing their striker to chest the ball down, then Halkett getting burned allowing the guy to get the cross in first before we talk about Sibbick scrambling back to cover?

This. Sibbick is the boo boy though so its easier just to blame him. 

4 minutes ago, Fozzyonthefence said:

No they won’t.  We don’t have strict liability in Scotland remember.  Action can be taken against individual fans but nothing more than a slap on the wrist for the club.  Would be different if it was a European game.

Thought they were cracking down on pitch invasions 🤷

Silvery_Moon

Blew that one.

Should have been 2 up just after half time  but a combination of poor decision making, poor finishing and good goalkeeping stopped us.

Last 20 minutes we sat deeper and deeper as they chased an equaliser. Thought we had done enough when Bushiri missed the open goal and had it only been 4 minutes injury time we'd have been home and dry. The 5th minute of injury time was added for our last substitution unfortunately. 

5 games for Robbie at ER as manager and yet to taste victory. That hurts.

I'd have taken a draw before the game and as the days go on it will be clear we didn't lose but make no mistake right now it feels like a defeat and we have given that shower an unnecessary boost.

Edited by Silvery_Moon

5 minutes ago, Bongo 1874 said:

Toilets pressing is an Essential part of the modern game, maybe if we pressed late on Hibs might not of had time to score, but then Neilson is Leveins prodigy. 

Spot on 

Folk who were saying Boyle wouldn't be a good signing for them came across like Hibs fans saying Shankland would be a bust for us. It's maroon-tinted specs. He's got a finishing touch that's missing in most of their squad.

Still should have won that game. We generated more chances and showed more danger. Ah, well. It's a derby.

Disappointing but they still celebrated a draw at home like they'd rogered us 3-0.

Just now, Carter said:

Halkett didn't get his body in a great position. Looked as though he could've conceded a penalty. 

Bringing on Halliday for Boyce is another declaration of what we have we'll hold. Why not put Gino or Hendo on and try and have an outlet. We know by that time its 5 mins added time.

Games like today are why there will always been concerns amongst many fans about Neilson. 

I'm not sure any of their starting 11 get in our side. Terrible at centre half and we decide we'll hold what we've got before 70 mins. That's asking for trouble. 

At the end of the day, we take even one of the 3 or 4 really good early second half chances, the game is over.

So frustrating.

17 minutes ago, Central Belt 1874 said:

One step forward, two steps back with Robbie Neilson.

Clear as day this squad is not good enough at present for whats coming this season.

Very disappointed that we didn't take 2 or 3 of the chances we created. Should have been a comfortable 2 or 3 nil win.

No attacking quality on the bench. 

This is pure pish! "Clear as day this squad is not good enough at present for whats coming this season"!! Bull ****ing shit!! Only thing I will agree with you is we need another option up front! There will be more signings! We bossed this game, performances can only get better, it's the 2nd game of the season ffs!! Get a grip!! 

30 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

People blame Robbie. Get a fecking grip. He didn't miss the sitters.

This. End of. Anyone shouting and bawling, other than about our weakness at converting, needs to step away from JKB for a while and give us peace! 

4 minutes ago, Bongo 1874 said:

I'm so angry!! Because Hibs ndver looked like scoring until we changed it, as soon as Boyle came on we changed. 

Your anger shall pass as your senses do rise.  How can you think Hibs didn't look like scoring in the first half?  

1 minute ago, Carter said:

Ginnelly should’ve been on much earlier, those two CHs would’ve struggled against his pace for balls over the top. 

6 minutes ago, kingantti1874 said:

badically. Massively disappointed BUT we were easily the better side and by a long long way.

we do need more up front that is beyond doubt. If we don’t trust Ginelly and GMS then we need at more attack minded players 

We desperately needed a pacy runner up front later on when players in both teams were tiring.

That’s 2 points we dropped to smeltic in the Sinclair debut and 2 points to their wee cousins by the SFA opening on Saturdays ( night even)to complete registrations 

KyleLafferty
1 minute ago, Bongo 1874 said:

Okay pro 😂👆

Not a pro, but trying to say we Can press and that goal doesn’t happen is the biggest load of shite ever

Fitzroy Pointon
1 minute ago, Bongo 1874 said:

Yes in Dan's short time he showed he can beat Hibs away from home 😂

Pity we couldn't beat Hamilton at home or St Mirren away. 

Central Belt 1874
4 minutes ago, Debut 4 said:

It’s clear to anyone we had the beating of Hibs but seemingly the manager didn’t.  

The midfield now needs addressed massively but also the managers attitude when trying to kill the opposition off. If ever a game summed up the negative side of RN, that was it today.

We also need midfielders who want to influence and kill a game off. It all comes from there.  Haring did some good defensive work but he is so so slow and a lot of our play is self defeating when he has the ball.  

Neilson needs to see that. 

I'm not so sure it's the midfield thatcis the problem. Boyce and Shankland put in a shift today, were shattered by 80 mins and we had  nobody on the bench to replace them, no attacking strength or pace. 

The midfield had no out ball to catch Hibs on the counter attack. 

That's on Neilson. We haven't recruited another striker of the quality that we require. And with European games this season, we really need another two up top.

2 minutes ago, Led Tasso said:

Folk who were saying Boyle wouldn't be a good signing for them came across like Hibs fans saying Shankland would be a bust for us. It's maroon-tinted specs. He's got a finishing touch that's missing in most of their squad.

Still should have won that game. We generated more chances and showed more danger. Ah, well. It's a derby.

Disappointing but they still celebrated a draw at home like they'd rogered us 3-0.

Relief of avoiding another beating.

3 minutes ago, WageThief said:

Your anger shall pass as your senses do rise.  How can you think Hibs didn't look like scoring in the first half?  

They had two chances first half Gordon pulled of a great save, and kenneh fecked it, Hibs done nothing. 

Edited by Bongo 1874

Great line up, decent first half should’ve been three or four up then his negativity comes into play with frankly disastrous subs. Clinging on at the end against one of the worst hoofball Hibs teams you’re ever likely to see. Still not won there. 

KyleLafferty
Just now, Central Belt 1874 said:

I'm not so sure it's the midfield thatcis the problem. Boyce and Shankland put in a shift today, were shattered by 80 mins and we had  nobody on the bench to replace them, no attacking strength or pace. 

That's on Neilson. We haven't recruited another striker of the quality that we require. And with European games this season, we really need another two up top.

That’s not on Neilson. That’s on the club. The club make the signings.

Just now, Salad Fingers said:

Yeah it's more embarrassing though when you have had 3 pre seasons, a whole new team and you still Feck it 😂😂

1 minute ago, Korky said:

We desperately needed a pacy runner up front later on when players in both teams were tiring.

Everyone bar the coaches could see that, every sub made us worse. 

KyleLafferty
Just now, Pasquale for King said:

Great line up, decent first half should’ve been three or four up then his negativity comes into play with frankly disastrous subs. Clinging on at the end against one of the worst hoofball Hibs teams you’re ever likely to see. Still not won there. 

We made plenty chances when we made the formation change and subs? 

1 minute ago, Salad Fingers said:

That St Mirren away was one of the most abject showings you will EVER see. Tactically bereft from first to last.

3 minutes ago, KyleLafferty said:

Not a pro, but trying to say we Can press and that goal doesn’t happen is the biggest load of shite ever

Aye just invite Hibs on what's the worst that can happen 🤔

Just now, jambopilms said:

Ten seconds away from a masterclass in controlling a derby.

Unfortunately it didn't workout but in the same way it's pathetic hibs are acting like they won the cup, it's pathetic it's got the Neilson out camp fired up.

It's nothing to do with neilson out camps as you put it 

Bringing on halliday and Devlin for Boyce and Forrest means you are swapping 2 front players for 2 midfielders. 

Probably the main reason why we got hemmed in our half at the end. Never happened until we made these substitutions especially the second one 

Its always Russian roulette trying to sit deep defending one goal leads. We still had GMS and ginelly on the bench 

2 minutes ago, Central Belt 1874 said:

Would Ginnelly not have been a better option than Halliday? 

No Idle Talk

This is the angriest I have felt after a match for quite a while. Probably since Brora. Two points absolutely thrown away. 

Seeing those troglodytes celebrating as though they'd won the Champions League at the end just adds to the irritation. 

1 minute ago, Pasquale for King said:

Ginnelly should’ve been on much earlier, those two CHs would’ve struggled against his pace for balls over the top. 

Bushiri is probably as bad a central defender as you'll see at this level. Hideously bad. Plastic hard man beside him was on a booking and was there to be exploited. 

Everything we did from double sub and changed formation on 63 mins showed that we were happy to accept what we had and see it out. You can't do that. We needed security of a second goal last week before conceding an equally awful goal.

8 minutes ago, fila said:

Look objectively and you will also see substitutions and tactical changers that will lead to the poor defending   

Wasting your time bud.

Mr. P, like Ann Budge and Neilson himself, will never blame Neilson.

1 minute ago, Riccarton3 said:

That St Mirren away was one of the most abject showings you will EVER see. Tactically bereft from first to last.

The win against Hibs at Easter Road was one of the best I've ever seen, In Derby wins, so comfortable away from home too 😉

Just now, No Idle Talk said:

This is the angriest I have felt after a match for quite a while. Probably since Brora. Two points absolutely thrown away. 

Seeing those troglodytes celebrating as though they'd won the Champions League at the end just adds to the irritation. 

Exactly how i feel. Royally pissed off. 

Gorgierools
Just now, Pasquale for King said:

Would Ginnelly not have been a better option than Halliday? 

Definitely would have given us an outball.  In hindsight. 

Central Belt 1874
5 minutes ago, tiger Rudi said:

This is pure pish! "Clear as day this squad is not good enough at present for whats coming this season"!! Bull ****ing shit!! Only thing I will agree with you is we need another option up front! There will be more signings! We bossed this game, performances can only get better, it's the 2nd game of the season ffs!! Get a grip!! 

The state of this post. 

You agree with me we need more and better signings but I've to get a grip?

Maybe lay off the drink. 

8 minutes ago, IveSeenTheLight said:

You seemed to sit off quite a bit and it looked like the one real moment of quality between MacKay and Shankland would be the difference.

Look who’s back strutting about like the cock of the north after a win against 10 men yesterday

A lot of folk just ignoring there is another team on the pitch that influence what we do or what we can do. 

There was one place that cross could go to get a goal and it was right on Boyles toe. Any other time it flies across the box and goes out for a throw.

Neilson just haven’t a clue how to manage a game. During a game his tactics and his substitutions, the worst bringing on Halliday, are so amateurish he just is out of his depth with the players at his disposal. On the quiet Joe Savage must be wishing he had hair so he could pull it out. Neilson after the Ross County game was quick to tell the press he’s a better manager now, well if that’s your best it’s not good enough.

KyleLafferty
Just now, Bongo 1874 said:

Aye just invite Hibs on what's the worst that can happen 🤔

They were doing nothing with the ball. They were passing it about with no intent. It was so easy for us. McKay, Atkinson and Shankland had chances to kill the game and we never. Then Rowles doesn’t cover himself in glory for the goal. Sometimes it’s not the manager mate it’s the players, but you can’t see past that. You are nowhere after you beloved Bodoe got beat and now we’ve had a poor result you are back being a troll. 

Just joined the thread. Wow! That result has really brought the w*nkers out in force, 'celebrating' a draw like real Hibs fans.

Rocky jamboa
29 minutes ago, kingantti1874 said:

I’ll call the good and the bad, what I won’t do is hide like a ****ing snake - ignore his achiements then rear my ****ing head claiming I was right all along at the first sign of a bad result.

some of our support are rotten bitter pricks 

So you'll be acknowledging the bad today then with his shitty tactics at the end?

He's had plenty praise for the good but deserves stick today for those tactics. Take your blinkers off mate. 

Edited by Rocky jamboa

9 minutes ago, IveSeenTheLight said:

Why don't u just shut your twat