Tynecastle Park Hotel ( updated )

Thomaso

1 minute ago, jambodan1998 said:

This 100% 6/10 rooms 

Yes I have been to a few places like that with jobs over the years small hotels like Best Westerns with conference spaces attached and most of them are not a 20 minute walk from a city centre like Edinburgh

• Replies 2.5k

• Sooks

• highlandjambo3

tynietigers
15 minutes ago, Sooks said:

Boutique hotel and a conference space would make us money you would have to think

😉👍🏻

Some folk are scrambling about that much for a moan they are getting way too excited about the possibility of a small hotel. 

At least they have their fix tho. 

After all, Slim pickings these days. 

24 minutes ago, Gulf Jambo said:

Boutique hotel with individual styled rooms will always sell well.

If we throw in parking then location looks great.

Also easy access to airport, while restaurant being there is also a pull.

Smaller hotels like this are much lower risk than the huge 200 room monoliths in the city centre.

Cheap to furnish, cheap to staff & low running costs

Great idea imo as someone who works in the industry

Got a captured market as well every match day and event you have. 

Cambo_Jambo

Must be tough to remain so relentlessly negative about absolutely everything Hearts do.

The way some are reacting to a potentially quite low cost attempt at creating something in a city with a well documented lack of hotel beds is as if we'd announced we are filling the second floor with run off from Seafield.

2 minutes ago, Cambo_Jambo said:

Must be tough to remain so relentlessly negative about absolutely everything Hearts do.

The way some are reacting to a potentially quite low cost attempt at creating something in a city with a well documented lack of hotel beds is as if we'd announced we are filling the second floor with run off from Seafield.

😂😂😂

How true. 

56 minutes ago, Gulf Jambo said:

If thats the case, P&O will be interested in running it  :nojustno:

Just now, Lfhearts said:

Cause you get on my tits.

Stick me on ignore then and stop greetin. 

In fact, I'll do the deed. 

You add nothing but tears, snotters and slavers anyway. 

Another boring poster with a creepy habit of following me about while not adding to the topic in question. 

19 hours ago, Bull's-eye said:

I'd imagine we'll run it, plenty full time staff with lots of Hospitality experience kicking around now.

Always fancied being a part owner of a Hotel 😜

no doubt you will be the 1st to try it, 🙂,

10 minutes ago, sassenach said:

I've not had time to read the whole thread so sorry if already covered. But won't there need to be a planning application before anything can even begin to happen?  The application would include number of rooms etc.

Club has probably thought of that. 

Probably have a team that thinks of stuff like this. 

Cannae see them just doing it on a whim

Hopefully we remember to order to the beds tho. 

Edited by Bazzas right boot

19 hours ago, jamboinglasgow said:

I saw someone else say that on another thread a few weeks back. 

How many rooms would the second floor accommodate? Cant be more than 20 surely, but it can be a more boutique hotel.

Hotels can be a nice revenue earner for clubs, I remember seeing somewhere a few seasons back that half of Killies income came from their hotel. As other says it brings revenue 365 days a year, and with the restaurant and hospitality areas, it can help (you could do a wedding and have rooms at the venue.)

You never know, if it really worked well, Hearts could look to setting up a new hotel elsewhere.

Yeah I posted it on the skyline Restaurant thread a few weeks ago the lad did mention 10/12 rooms but none would face the pitch 

9 hours ago, Gulf Jambo said:

Boutique hotel with individual styled rooms will always sell well.

If we throw in parking then location looks great.

Also easy access to airport, while restaurant being there is also a pull.

Smaller hotels like this are much lower risk than the huge 200 room monoliths in the city centre.

Great idea imo as someone who works in the industry

5-1 room

Robbo room- Robbo ceiling decor. 

Mackay suite 

Bobs boutique 

Rudi room or Rude room

Phil D. Corners

Last comment I heard from the club is that the plans for the second floor were signed off. 

Nothing saying it was a hotel. 

2 minutes ago, Phil D. Corners said:

Last comment I heard from the club is that the plans for the second floor were signed off. 

Nothing saying it was a hotel. 

Ffs-that's half a story, what did you hear it was then?

tynietigers
11 minutes ago, Bazzas right boot said:

Ffs-that's half a story, what did you hear it was then?

That was the exact word at the shareholders Q&As 👍🏻

Just now, tynietigers said:

That was the exact word at the shareholders Q&As 👍🏻

So nothing saying it wasn't a hotel either, just that the plans were all done?

Interesting. 

A wee hotel type thing makes sense imo. 

Andrew Gilbert Wauchope
21 hours ago, TypoonJambo said:

Only those capable of using a knife and fork, preferably simultaneously. 

And not on each other, of course.

22 hours ago, davemclaren said:

I assume that Hearts won’t run it but will lease it out to someone?

We run hospitality outside of Tynecastle also

17 minutes ago, Andrew Gilbert Wauchope said:

And not on each other, of course.

Never turn up to a knife fight with a fork. 

Or a spoon. 

Thanks for all the insults because I dared to express an opinion. Trouble is I am old enough to remember the launch of the old social club/bar/cabaret venue which was supposed to be a money spinner. We will see.

Just now, Francis Albert said:

Thanks for all the insults because I dared to express an opinion. Trouble is I am old enough to remember the launch of the old social club/bar/cabaret venue which was supposed to be a money spinner. We will see.

I never insulted you so hopefully we can carry on with the civil debate

Would you not say that the Sky Line restaurant would be a better metric for predicting success as it is in the same building and a lot newer

12 minutes ago, Sooks said:

Would you not say that the Sky Line restaurant would be a better metric for predicting success as it is in the same building and a lot newer

I don't personally think it's a great time to be opening a hotel

3 minutes ago, Smithee said:

I don't personally think it's a great time to be opening a hotel

That is fair enough but can I ask why

54 minutes ago, jambali said:

We run hospitality outside of Tynecastle also

We do but running a hotel is different from catering. Anyway, we’ll see if this is happening if and when they apply for planning permission. 

27 minutes ago, Francis Albert said:

I tend to agree that diversification outside your core business presents a lot of challenges, especially for football clubs as history tells us. 

25 minutes ago, Sooks said:

Maybe. Do the accounts say how much money it is making?

4 minutes ago, davemclaren said:

I tend to agree that diversification outside your core business presents a lot of challenges, especially for football clubs as history tells us. 

St Johnstone and Kilmarnock did pretty well from doing that

bobby bombscare

If the festival gets back to what it was pre-covid. Hotel rooms were going £500+a night and high end ones going for thousands of pounds a night... could be a very good money maker! 

7 minutes ago, Sooks said:

St Johnstone and Kilmarnock did pretty well from doing that

I know that Kilmarnock have a hotel ( though I think the club sold it to the Bowie family to clear debts ) but wasn’t aware that St Johnstone had one!

1 hour ago, Bazzas right boot said:

So nothing saying it wasn't a hotel either, just that the plans were all done?

Interesting. 

A wee hotel type thing makes sense imo. 

Plans were complete, just need signing off at next board meeting then we would be informed. Should be soon. 

13 hours ago, 1971fozzy said:

Say there’s 10 rooms, I’m sure it will be successful. Matches, Xmas parties, weddings, functions, business conferencing  etc etc. will all do well. Flip side is the location, parking etc is maybe a problem. 
If it’s competitively priced it will do very well I’m sure

Without reading the whole thread and not sure if this has already been mentioned.

i heard from one of the guys who works for Hearts, that they were planning to make part of Gerard’s yard into a multi-storey carpark with a walkway tying it to the Gorgie stand.

Its a long shot but it might just work as Gerard’s yard is pretty empty most of the time anyway 

🇱🇻♥️🇱🇻

8 minutes ago, davemclaren said:

I know that Kilmarnock have a hotel ( though I think the club sold it to the Bowie family to clear debts ) but wasn’t aware that St Johnstone had one!

I think when Johnstone sold Kilmarnock he kept the hotel and I think it was more an events space at St Johnstone but they capitalised on the crematorium next to it

12 hours ago, Cambo_Jambo said:

Are these posts that have you and SRB foaming at the mouth been deleted?

I can't see many, if any at all, posts on here having a real go at this idea that warrants your post above and SRBs earlier.

Everyone seems quite positive about the idea.

5 minutes ago, Sooks said:

I think when Johnstone sold Kilmarnock he kept the hotel and I think it was more an events space at St Johnstone but they capitalised on the crematorium next to it

Hearts do funeral events currently, though mainly for supporters I would imagine. 

25 minutes ago, davemclaren said:

Aye, but again it's not a hotel we are building from scratch or at expense of other things. 

We do functions, we do conferencing, we have match day packages. 

We are in Edinburgh. 

We already have catering / restaurant facilities 

A small hotel in any spare space makes sense and bolts on to what we offer now very nicely. 

It's just extending our hospitality / catering/ conferencing facilities that we currently offer. 

No one on here is suggesting that we go all in on a brand spanking mega hotel and spend £10's  millions on it. 

If we announced we are spending £50m on a 100+ room hotel at Haymarket or in Gorgie I'm sure questions would be asked. 

What we are doing is akin to redeveloping your home attic into an extra room so it becomes more useful. 

11 minutes ago, Gambo said:

Are these posts that have you and SRB foaming at the mouth been deleted?

I can't see many, if any at all, posts on here having a real go at this idea that warrants your post above and SRBs earlier.

Everyone seems quite positive about the idea.

Most are. 

24 minutes ago, soonbe110 said:

Plans were complete, just need signing off at next board meeting then we would be informed. Should be soon. 

Makes sense. 

Thankfully, if they had forgotten something trivial like planning permission, a quick read on here would have reminded them. 

Shagging at Tynecastle is a goer. 

Watch Hearts score on the pitch then nip up stairs to score off it. 

Get melted at hospitality, no need to travel-sleep it off right where you are. 

Can't see the marketing dept going with that tho. 

Edited by Bazzas right boot

9 minutes ago, Bazzas right boot said:

Aye, but again it's not a hotel we are building from scratch or at expense of other things. 

We do functions, we do conferencing, we have match day packages. 

We are in Edinburgh. 

We already have catering / restaurant facilities 

A small hotel in any spare space makes sense and bolts on to what we offer now very nicely. 

It's just extending our hospitality / catering/ conferencing facilities that we currently offer. 

No one on here is suggesting that we go all in on a brand spanking mega hotel and spend £10's  millions on it. 

If we announced we are spending £50m on a 100+ room hotel at Haymarket or in Gorgie I'm sure questions would be asked. 

What we are doing is akin to redeveloping your home attic into an extra room so it becomes more useful. 

We eagerly await the details then.

22 hours ago, tazhearts said:

I wonder how much money we spend on hotel rooms already.  Like when we sign a new player they are probably put up in a hotel for the first three or four nights until they can find accommodation.  It would certainly be a nice draw for prospective new signings to be put up in a four star on site hotel room!

Good point. 

Used for agents, players scouts etc. 

Actually great shout. 

Part of the introduction process. 

Just now, davemclaren said:

We eagerly await the details then.

Yip. 

Be Interesting. 

Our regular rangers poster mentioned away fans, so it will be interesting to see if it is  Hearts themed / neutral or a bit of both. 

Good use of the space imo. 

I can't think of anything else that would add value and bolt on to our existing packages naturally. 

Where do I book the hotel ?

Can't find it on Booking.com

Edited by Bull's-eye

Potential for a great wee hospitality package there. Hotel Friday night then game the following day. 

Seems like a good fit alongside the restaurant etc. 

3 minutes ago, Smithee said:

Because of the economic trainwreck up ahead

If it is what the other poster said above then it sounds more like it would be tied to events and conferences ect and I reckon those will still be in demand for big companies

jamtartan74

£300 package consisting of, hospitality suite, match ticket, meal voucher up to £51 and an overnight stay, sounds good to me. 

3 minutes ago, Sooks said:

If it is what the other poster said above then it sounds more like it would be tied to events and conferences ect and I reckon those will still be in demand for big companies

Could you refrain from being positive.

It'll be different therefore it'll be Shit.

Apologies if your under 70 and have a different perspective on life.

• davemclaren changed the title to Tynecastle Park Hotel ( updated )