energy prices

Masonic

6 hours ago, Dazo said:

Give the rage a day off Ri. No one should be paying these prices and I haven’t once said otherwise. The fact is many people on average wages can afford to pay them and many can’t. Those that can probably don’t a bigger house than they need, a financed Bmw on the drive or are making minimum payments on several credit cards to have the foreign holidays every year. Wtf is that to do with the government or the energy company ? 

You’re right, some fecking people. 🙄

No one budgets for such a sharp, frankly preposterous rise in a utility bill. Sure people shouldn't run themselves that close to the line but plenty do, because they've budgeted accordingly. Also, plenty padding or leeway in budgets has already been eroded by the other rises and the high inflation level. 

I don't think we can blame anyone for not predicting - and setting aside - for a rise over 500% in a year. 

• Replies 4.1k

• ri Alban

• Jambo-Jimbo

• Unknown user

• Victorian

That thing you do
1 minute ago, The Mighty Thor said:

If you get a chance listen to James O'Brien's show on catch up. The hour between 12pm -1pm is very very enlightening and blows planet sizes holes in the bullshit coming out of Spaffer's fat hole.

Basically eh had people call in from around Europe to tell him just how bad it is there.

Guess what?

Food is cheaper pro rata

Petrol/Diesel are cheaper pro rata

Energy is MILES cheaper pro rata, even in countries almost solely reliant on 'Putin's hydrocarbons' 

We are all being taken for mugs folks. Each and every one of us.

Correct. Energy increase in UK is now 290%

France its capped at 8%

Germany is 25%

Yes its happening everywhere but the UK is far worse off than everywhere else.

And the reasons? Who needs reasons when you have privatised energy companies raking in billions of profits and the Tories complicit in not getting them to subsidise peoples bills.

2 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

I worded that poorly mate. 

My point was that people like you and me will probably be able to tighten the belt or realise that these increases might well obliterate your disposable income in so much as it might stop you doing the stuff that makes life enjoyable.

Loads of people will be faced with a much starker choice.

Where people like you and me, who want to do the right thing, but are maybe doing the wrong thing is that this Shower will drive a wedge between those that can and those that can't. 

You'll see it on here already. Tighten your belt. Don't go on holiday. Get a better job. Get a second job. 

Whilst that's the case the imperative to tackle the structural problem behind this just isn't there because the silent middle will muddle along. 

The companies are ripping the pish and the government are supporting them to do so.

Agree with you Thor and already said these prices will be impacting hard working people who aren’t pissing their money up a tree. It really pisses me off that these people in the middle always get overlooked. The rich will be fine, the poor will be getting hand outs, **** the rest.  My contempt for this government is clear but I tend not to get too vocal or emotional about these things. It’s wasted energy to me and I’d rather put that into making things better for my family. 

1 minute ago, Gizmo said:

No one budgets for such a sharp, frankly preposterous rise in a utility bill. Sure people shouldn't run themselves that close to the line but plenty do, because they've budgeted accordingly. Also, plenty padding or leeway in budgets has already been eroded by the other rises and the high inflation level. 

I don't think we can blame anyone for not predicting - and setting aside - for a rise over 500% in a year. 

Guess you’ve just said what I was meaning but without the attitude. 😂

2 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

If you get a chance listen to James O'Brien's show on catch up. The hour between 12pm -1pm is very very enlightening and blows planet sizes holes in the bullshit coming out of Spaffer's fat hole.

Basically eh had people call in from around Europe to tell him just how bad it is there.

Guess what?

Food is cheaper pro rata

Petrol/Diesel are cheaper pro rata

Energy is MILES cheaper pro rata, even in countries almost solely reliant on 'Putin's hydrocarbons' 

We are all being taken for mugs folks. Each and every one of us.

British people ARE mugs though. Completely gullible. They wont do ANYTHING about this except bend over. They read the Daily Mail and watch the BBC and ACCEPT what they are being told is true 100%. It shapes their opinions!

They have been fooled. Look at the tory party and their Brexit. Voted in by gullible mugs who were LIED to. Now they know they've been lied to but still wont concede the fact!

They can say or do whatever they want to us and we will just accept it! 

The UK really is a sinking ship!

On 25/08/2022 at 08:10, Harry Potter said:

Another E- mail from British Gas, what the price cap means to you, i it means rip -off prices.

£300 per month

Was paying £84 though I have the British Gas price cap deal at the £1971 cap. 

Edited by Mikey1874

Just now, Pans Jambo said:

British people ARE mugs though. Completely gullible. They wont do ANYTHING about this except bend over. They read the Daily Mail and watch the BBC and ACCEPT what they are being told is true 100%. It shapes their opinions!

They have been fooled. Look at the tory party and their Brexit. Voted in by gullible mugs who were LIED to. Now they know they've been lied to but still wont concede the fact!

They can say or do whatever they want to us and we will just accept it! 

The UK really is a sinking ship!

The British people were mugs back in 1986 lapping up the chance of some cash from privatisation. 

2 hours ago, Smoked-Glass said:

Start unplugging your TV at night and turn the microwave clock off etc..

Yeah 

Maybe save £10 a year 

4 minutes ago, Mikey1874 said:

Spaffer has been out as part of his farewell tour. 

He gave an interview about the energy crisis which i heard on the radio and it was basically a cover version of Shaggy's 2000 hit 'It wasn't me'

None of it to do with him. Wibble. Ukraine. Wibble. World leading. Wibble. Putin. Wibble.

1 hour ago, dobmisterdobster said:

UC is supposed to be a stop-gap. Not a permanent thing.

Not as simple as that though is it. Still

Shouldn’t be left to suffer financially 

4 hours ago, Dennis Reynolds said:

I'm currently on a fixed price tariff so the rises haven't and won't effect me untill May next year. Doing some back of the fag packet maths/using the money supermarket handy calculator they have I'll be paying around £200-£250 extra a month come May. I've started overpaying to combat it a bit.

I can tighten my belt as much as I want but costs like that are hard to absorb. 

Probably not the best time to be having another bairn :sniff:

We tried overpaying British gas and they didn't take it.Now told us our next bill after this one which is £52 should be £152 we only use it for hot water 🤣 and the next will be £212.

Everytime my wife goes on the app the next bill changes it goes up and down from £150 right up to £250.They just make it up as they go along I think.

32 minutes ago, Mikey1874 said:

They don't give a **** there heating will be on full blast all winter , nice and cosy while we foot the bill for them.

1 hour ago, dobmisterdobster said:

UC is supposed to be a stop-gap. Not a permanent thing.

Only for some people

It's a payment to supplement low incomes of those in work, a payment to those who can't work, as well as a subsistence payment to those temporarily out of work. 

Edited by Footballfirst

6 minutes ago, Footballfirst said:

Only for some people

It's a payment to supplement low incomes of those in work, a payment to those who can't work, as well as a subsistence payment to those out of work. 

Universal credit will be becoming more universal in the months to come as the recession picks up pace. 

dobmisterdobster
13 minutes ago, Footballfirst said:

Only for some people

It's a payment to supplement low incomes of those in work, a payment to those who can't work, as well as a subsistence payment to those temporarily out of work. 

If you are not fit to work then should receive a higher rate of UC and possibly be eligible for PIP (or whatever it is called in Scotland).

Just now, dobmisterdobster said:

If you are not fit to work then should receive a higher rate of UC and possibly be eligible for PIP (or whatever it is called in Scotland).

Not necessarily

6 hours ago, Smithee said:

Should life on UC be impossible? 

We live in a rich country, should everyone not be comfortable, with the rewards for work being obvious?

Not impossible, no, but uncomfortable enough that work doesn’t seem

so bad.

There are a record number of vacancies - take one .

Stop living off others graft- it’s not fair.

Some cannot work, those who can MUST - that is how society works.

Even if you hate what you do, you do it to contribute .

1 minute ago, doctor jambo said:

Not impossible, no, but uncomfortable enough that work doesn’t seem

so bad.

There are a record number of vacancies - take one .

Stop living off others graft- it’s not fair.

Some cannot work, those who can MUST - that is how society works.

Even if you hate what you do, you do it to contribute .

Well it is impossible, so there's a problem.

49 minutes ago, vegas-voss said:

We tried overpaying British gas and they didn't take it.Now told us our next bill after this one which is £52 should be £152 we only use it for hot water 🤣 and the next will be £212.

Everytime my wife goes on the app the next bill changes it goes up and down from £150 right up to £250.They just make it up as they go along I think.

My son was having that problem when paying via Direct Debit so he stopped it by moving to a variable monthly direct debit and now he only pays for gas and electric used.  Would that help solving your issue?

12 minutes ago, Smithee said:

Well it is impossible, so there's a problem.

The problem is relative.

You are on UC and on £4000 per annum .

Tour bills rise £3000 per year.

All you need to do is get a job paying £10000 per year and you are better off , which is piss easy

1 hour ago, Mikey1874 said:

£300 per month

Was paying £84 though I have the British Gas price cap deal at the £1971 cap. 

Im paying 217 D/D the now, 😮.

Spaffer sounding almost socialist.  But of course he can afford to 'cos he's ****ing off soon and doesn't need to enact anything or live up to anything.  No doubt a different message next week,  depending on who he's trying to deceive.

https://www.theguardian.com/business/2022/aug/26/help-people-with-energy-bills-says-johnson-nadhim-zahawi-ofgem

dobmisterdobster
15 minutes ago, Victorian said:

Spaffer sounding almost socialist.  But of course he can afford to 'cos he's ****ing off soon and doesn't need to enact anything or live up to anything.  No doubt a different message next week,  depending on who he's trying to deceive.

https://www.theguardian.com/business/2022/aug/26/help-people-with-energy-bills-says-johnson-nadhim-zahawi-ofgem

It's the right idea. Give money to people on low incomes and advise people on how to use less energy.

An industry-wide price freeze is not feasible in the slightest and Labour knows this.

4 minutes ago, dobmisterdobster said:

It's the right idea. Give money to people on low incomes and advise people on how to use less energy.

An industry-wide price freeze is not feasible in the slightest and Labour knows this.

How are businesses going to hope to survive,  or operate near the capacity they currently are?  The economy running on fumes is going to adversely affect peoples' finances as well as energy costs.

It's becoming evident that direct support to only domestic consumers most in need,  while welcome,  isn't going to be nearly enough.

11 minutes ago, Victorian said:

How are businesses going to hope to survive,  or operate near the capacity they currently are?  The economy running on fumes is going to adversely affect peoples' finances as well as energy costs.

It's becoming evident that direct support to only domestic consumers most in need,  while welcome,  isn't going to be nearly enough.

Correct. No point giving low paid handouts, then their jobs go, and then what?

2 hours ago, Mikey1874 said:

The British people were mugs back in 1986 lapping up the chance of some cash from privatisation. 

IIRC the British Gas IPO was massively over subscribed, because millions of ordinary working class Brits were desperate to buy British Gas shares, for most it was the first time they had ever owned shares in their life.  Even I got a prospectus, in the end I didn't buy any, but I thought about it.

35 minutes ago, dobmisterdobster said:

If the energy generators and distributors can't survive an energy price cap then they are effectively failed businesses. 

Why should tax payers throw money at them to maintain their outrageous profit levels without anything in return?

Price cap set to Oct 2021 levels

Energy generators and distributors get offered support in return for shares

Option for them to buy back their shares at purchase price plus interest when the market equalises

If they can't operate in that framework then they've no business holding the licenses to extract and distribute the UK's oil and gas reserves. 

SwindonJambo
4 minutes ago, Jambo-Jimbo said:

IIRC the British Gas IPO was massively over subscribed, because millions of ordinary working class Brits were desperate to buy British Gas shares, for most it was the first time they had ever owned shares in their life.  Even I got a prospectus, in the end I didn't buy any, but I thought about it.

“Better tell Sid” . I remember all that well. When Maggie sold off the family silverware pieces one after the other for buttons. Like chopping up the furniture for fire wood.

1 minute ago, SwindonJambo said:

“Better tell Sid” . I remember all that well. When Maggie sold off the family silverware pieces one after the other for buttons. Like chopping up the furniture for fire wood.

Was that the slogan I can't remember, like you said there seemed to be an IPO every 6 months or so for one thing or another, it was hard to keep up at times.

Psychedelicropcircle
7 minutes ago, SwindonJambo said:

As stated already it’ll be poetic justice when the tories get booted due to Maggie selling of energy in the 80s. Not that this helps People now!

9 minutes ago, SwindonJambo said:

There was some auld boy on the radio yesterday who was a policy adviser for Thatcher and apparently her view at the time of privatisation was to put the utilities and water into the hands of the public.

It was already nationalised you bell end. 

dobmisterdobster

Fa3Khj-X0AAH5at.jpg.54492990c425e178f8cf8756b5d66dc9.jpg

Summary of the Scottish Government's Cost of Living Summit are basically...

No further oil and gas exploration and No Nuclear power. :facepalm:

But they are very "concerned" about people being able to hear their homes of course.

And it's all the Tories' fault. How could I forget?

2 minutes ago, dobmisterdobster said:

But they are very "concerned" about people being able to hear their homes of course.

Keeping it for an independent Scotland. We produce enough renewables, along with oil and gas, as it is. So nae luck, Tory boy. 

What is with Tories and their obsession with fracking and nuclear power. Keep it the feck out of Scotland, we produce enough. Many we should take control of the national grid.

12 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

There was some auld boy on the radio yesterday who was a policy adviser for Thatcher and apparently her view at the time of privatisation was to put the utilities and water into the hands of the public.

It was already nationalised you bell end. 

Missed the advert to join the board of directors. 

80% . Disgusting man, honestly. Up again in January, up in April. Taking the piss . 

looking like 1 weeks wage alone is going on my energy bill come October.

2 minutes ago, Irufushi said:

80% . Disgusting man, honestly. Up again in January, up in April. Taking the piss . 

looking like 1 weeks wage alone is going on my energy bill come October.

This is more dangerous than covid ever was. It makes me think(sometimes)that covid didn't kill off Enough folk for these *****. :( And I don't do :conspiracy:

12 minutes ago, dobmisterdobster said:

Close Holyrood and put the savings towards the people who are in need 

42 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

Why is NI not mentioned in this? Scotland, England and Wales is all I see.

Separate system.

Prices still going up there. 
Edited by Mikey1874

That thing you do
5 hours ago, skinnybob72 said:

The truth is that most normal working people spend what they earn, if you earn a bit more you will find ways to spend it. Very few will have significant sums to ‘put away for a rainy day’.

In effect more and more and more (and in some cases all) of households disposable income is being swallowed by energy costs,  interest rate rises, inflation on essentials. 

The quality of life for huge numbers of people will be rewound to the 1950s this winter.

And when people have no disposable income you will see businesses folding in their 000s - pubs will close, leisure facilities will close, crowds at football will drop, etc. 

We’re not heading for a recession - we’re going way beyond that. 

1 hour ago, Victorian said:

Whats coming is a global depression that wont be very nice for billions of people. China is on the brink and that will spread issues globally, Palistan is done, Sri Lanka is done and where countries dont completely collapse, there will be hardship for the people. Most western countries including UK and EU have created "bail in" laws that allows banks to sieze your savings and gives you worthless shares in return. This time youll be an unsecured creditor as the government siezes assets. Dont believe me? Greece did it in 08 and China has started doing it now.

If you dont think this will happen, it already is. Id advise splitting your savings between different banks and banking groups and hedge your bets, we do. Ive also bought silver and crypto as an alternative. Sounds very doomsday prepper to say all this and Im far from one, but folk need to understand whats coming is going to be brutal and energy costs are just the start of it. 

Buckle up.

That thing you do
3 minutes ago, Irufushi said:

Savings 😂😂😂😂

Thats the thing, not many have them.

Those that do are going to lose them anyway.

23 minutes ago, That thing you do said:

Whats coming is a global depression that wont be very nice for billions of people. China is on the brink and that will spread issues globally, Palistan is done, Sri Lanka is done and where countries dont completely collapse, there will be hardship for the people. Most western countries including UK and EU have created "bail in" laws that allows banks to sieze your savings and gives you worthless shares in return. This time youll be an unsecured creditor as the government siezes assets. Dont believe me? Greece did it in 08 and China has started doing it now.

If you dont think this will happen, it already is. Id advise splitting your savings between different banks and banking groups and hedge your bets, we do. Ive also bought silver and crypto as an alternative. Sounds very doomsday prepper to say all this and Im far from one, but folk need to understand whats coming is going to be brutal and energy costs are just the start of it. 

Buckle up.

What else to do with savings? Lump sum payments on mortage? Withdraw it all and keep it under the mattress? 

10 minutes ago, indianajones said:

What else to do with savings? Lump sum payments on mortage? Withdraw it all and keep it under the mattress? 

Depending on how much you've got, I'm presuming they are suggesting put max 85k in separate banks (if lucky enough to have that sloshing around!) As you are covered up to 85k if the shit hits the fan 

3 hours ago, joondalupjambo said:

My son was having that problem when paying via Direct Debit so he stopped it by moving to a variable monthly direct debit and now he only pays for gas and electric used.  Would that help solving your issue?

Will say to the wife as she deals with it.Thanks for info though 👍