SNP and Greens coalition.

ri Alban

Nicola Sturgeon ‘let nationalised shipyard in ferries row pay Lionel Messi-style wages’

Scottish Labour leader claims First Minister failed to raise ‘a single objection’ to Ferguson Marine boss being paid almost £3,000 per day

Well played Anas 

• Replies 3.4k

• JudyJudyJudy

• Unknown user

• jack D and coke

• The Mighty Thor

7 hours ago, Roxy Hearts said:

They're not doing a good job, it's just anti SNP nonsense. I live in the ward and the LibDems are woeful, sleekit, cowardly nonentities. People vote on all types of issues all over the country and they mostly don't vote for Libdems. Just the anti SNP, dumb, unthinking unionist vote. 

But Edinburgh West has had Liberal MPs and councillors long before Nationalists started the constitutional argument. The MP and MSP are genuinely popular in the area from what I can gather. 

2 hours ago, pablo said:

But Edinburgh West has had Liberal MPs and councillors long before Nationalists started the constitutional argument. The MP and MSP are genuinely popular in the area from what I can gather. 

Yep, it isn't hard to understand. It's just not what some want to believe.

2 hours ago, pablo said:

Don't let the truth get in the way. He's bitter because the Nats are being kept out.

The Lib Dems are round the doors every month with their newsletter, talking to people about issues etc

City fibre dug my street up and left it for weeks and the lassie got it sorted the next day when she was round and I spoke to her about it.

Roxy Hearts
3 hours ago, pablo said:

Another one missing the point! If they're good at what they do in Edinburgh how come they only have 4 MSPs and win barely anything. To suggest Cole-Hamilton and Jardine are any good on just lying!

1 hour ago, Nucky Thompson said:

City fibre dug my street up and left it for weeks and the lassie got it sorted the next day when she was round and I spoke to her about it.

Are you sure that's not just coincidence, it doesn't seem very likely.

2 minutes ago, Roxy Hearts said:

Another one missing the point! If they're good at what they do in Edinburgh how come they only have 4 MSPs and win barely anything. To suggest Cole-Hamilton and Jardine are any good on just lying!

That's easy. Most people are blinkered like you and will vote for the SNP no matter what because of independence, no matter how shite they are at representing their constituents.

Alex Cole Hamilton got the most votes ever recorded for a single candidate in Scotland 

I wouldn't want a nodding, clapping lapdog, unable to hold the government to account representing me at Holyrood.

Anyone who says ACH doesn't represent his constituents well, is lying 

Just now, Nucky Thompson said:

That's easy. Most people are blinkered like you and will vote for the SNP no matter what because of independence, no matter how shite they are at representing their constituents.

Alex Cole Hamilton got the most votes ever recorded for a single candidate in Scotland 

I wouldn't want a nodding, clapping lapdog, unable to hold the government to account representing me at Holyrood.

In my ward there is actually no ALBA candidate for the forthcoming local elections. The  selection is very poor indeed. Probably wont even vote unless I bump into any of the candidates and they impress me if I interrogate them. :) 

3 minutes ago, Smithee said:

Are you sure that's not just coincidence, it doesn't seem very likely.

We were one of the first areas done by City fibre. They came and dug up the road and just left it for about 2 months.

My Mrs was never off the phone to them and the council.

The Lib Dem lassie was delivering her newspapers one day and when we told her what was going on, she took photos and said that she would get it sorted.

Maybe it was coincidence, but it was done within a few days.

I think everyone was having hassle with City fibre at the start, but they seemed to have gotten their act together when I've saw them working in other areas

10 minutes ago, Smithee said:

Interesting though, Tories in full flight defend the libdems mode!

Who has said they vote Tory. Just because SNP don't win seat, you have to make up reason that deflects from reality. That is the sitting guy is popular and does a good job.

6 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

We were one of the first areas done by City fibre. They came and dug up the road and just left it for about 2 months.

My Mrs was never off the phone to them and the council.

The Lib Dem lassie was delivering her newspapers one day and when we told her what was going on, she took photos and said that she would get it sorted.

Maybe it was coincidence, but it was done within a few days.

I think everyone was having hassle with City fibre at the start, but they seemed to have gotten their act together when I've saw them working in other areas

Ah right, not sorted the next day then, that I can believe

5 minutes ago, Smithee said:

Ah right, not sorted the next day then, that I can believe

I think they were there the next day, but it took a few days for them to finish the job and leave the area

Roxy Hearts
36 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

I'm not blinkered! I'm an ex Labour voter who made a decision to distrust unionists through sheer hypocrisy and treated Scotland as a backwater. 

ACH is sleekit fool who only wins on the back of disaffected Tories and Labour voters. If he had the policies for Scotland surely him and his awful party would win. The SNP are the most popular party in Scotland. He doesn't represent me very well and that's not lying. 

19 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

I think they were there the next day, but it took a few days for them to finish the job and leave the area

If they were there the next day it was nothing to do with a lassie with spare time to deliver leaflets

33 minutes ago, Malinga the Swinga said:

Who has said they vote Tory. Just because SNP don't win seat, you have to make up reason that deflects from reality. That is the sitting guy is popular and does a good job.

They? I'm talking about you lot

14 minutes ago, Smithee said:

If they were there the next day it was nothing to do with a lassie with spare time to deliver leaflets

I just asked my Mrs and it was councilor Gillian Gloyer. They are hands on and chat to people when they deliver their newspapers

I'm not sure who delivers the leaflets at election time

2 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

I just asked my Mrs and it was councilor Gillian Gloyer. They are hands on and chat to people when they deliver their newspapers

I'm not sure who delivers the leaflets at election time

I can believe that you spoke with a councillor and it was sorted that week

2 hours ago, Nucky Thompson said:

Agree with you 100%. A word for the late Donald Gorrie who represented the people of west Edinburgh in the city in the Council, the House of Commons and the Scottish Parliament for many years. I voted for the man, not the party, because of all that he did. He was no lapdog who just sat around doing nothing; he was a true political activist who stood up for what was right and didn't go with the flow unlike the vast majority of SNP MSPs who are simply concerned with keeping onside with Sturgeon. If he was still around he would be taking the powers that be in the Scottish Parliament to the cleaners right now.      

Despite being snp Joanna cherry gets my vote . A fine hard working politician 

3 hours ago, Roxy Hearts said:

Explain?

First day in the shed? 🤣

3 hours ago, Smithee said:

Aw, don't, he might explain

Haha , nae chance , he’ll just pop on at some point and do his usual of making a pathetic comment whilst having no substance to anything he says other than to troll with no consequences… 

23 minutes ago, sadj said:

First day in the shed? 🤣

Haha , nae chance , he’ll just pop on at some point and do his usual of making a pathetic comment whilst having no substance to anything he says other than to troll with no consequences… 

ACA91DCB-F435-4ED1-B68C-F0B7B482FF05.jpeg

Let’s face it - the SNP are utterly horrific at governing.

Without the “Indy” issue, they would be nowhere.

there is not a single thing they have done well,

not a single issue they have sorted.

but as long as Westminster can be blamed for us going backwards under a long term SNP govt , then folks will lap it up

14 minutes ago, doctor jambo said:

Let’s face it - the SNP are utterly horrific at governing.

Without the “Indy” issue, they would be nowhere.

there is not a single thing they have done well,

not a single issue they have sorted.

but as long as Westminster can be blamed for us going backwards under a long term SNP govt , then folks will lap it up

Weren't you demanding a bit more socialism from them? Aren't you chuffed that ScotRail's publicly owned now?

You know why Westminster can be blamed?

7 minutes ago, Smithee said:

Weren't you demanding a bit more socialism from them? Aren't you chuffed that ScotRail's publicly owned now?

You know why Westminster can be blamed?

They took over an airport and wrecked it.

They took over the windmill factories and killed them.

They took over Ferguson shipyard and that’s going so well they now give the contracts to Turkey.

Yippee they now have the train network.

With such a history of glorious success what could go wrong ?

Still, they want more power, as that is the problem.

Keep promising a referendum , and people will keep voting for you.

Never deliver it mind, just keep talking about it.

Scotgov are not socialists- they are nationalists- they curry favour with as many as they can for their single agenda, so do nothing right as their convictions are not about transport , or education, or the north east they are so determined to kill.

Their record is horrific. And I don’t think they care, as keep Indy promises wafting about and the people will keep voting for them

2 minutes ago, doctor jambo said:

They took over an airport and wrecked it.

They took over the windmill factories and killed them.

They took over Ferguson shipyard and that’s going so well they now give the contracts to Turkey.

Yippee they now have the train network.

With such a history of glorious success what could go wrong ?

Still, they want more power, as that is the problem.

Keep promising a referendum , and people will keep voting for you.

Never deliver it mind, just keep talking about it.

Scotgov are not socialists- they are nationalists- they curry favour with as many as they can for their single agenda, so do nothing right as their convictions are not about transport , or education, or the north east they are so determined to kill.

Their record is horrific. And I don’t think they care, as keep Indy promises wafting about and the people will keep voting for them

But you were demanding that key industry be brought under public ownership, right? 

It amazes me that anyone with a brain can look at these islands, point at the SNP and go "there's the problem"

26 minutes ago, Smithee said:

But you were demanding that key industry be brought under public ownership, right? 

It amazes me that anyone with a brain can look at these islands, point at the SNP and go "there's the problem"

You seriously don’t think the SNP are responsible for the state this country is in?

The government elected is responsible for what happens.

They run almost everything bar foreign policy and some other reserved matters and have made an utter cock of all of it.

How anyone can look at Scotgov and say “they aren’t the problem” 

amazes me.

What Westminster does or does not do is irrelelvent.

The bits scotgov does, are completely bungled.

Considering how long they have had, what have they done well?

132goals1958
19 hours ago, henryheart said:

Agree with you 100%. A word for the late Donald Gorrie who represented the people of west Edinburgh in the city in the Council, the House of Commons and the Scottish Parliament for many years. I voted for the man, not the party, because of all that he did. He was no lapdog who just sat around doing nothing; he was a true political activist who stood up for what was right and didn't go with the flow unlike the vast majority of SNP MSPs who are simply concerned with keeping onside with Sturgeon. If he was still around he would be taking the powers that be in the Scottish Parliament to the cleaners right now.      

Totally agree as there are very few politicians who have the courage of their convictions and will always toe the party line or resist going against the whips. A bunch of control freaks only concerned with self interest. Perfectly illustrated on the recent debate night when Patrick Harvey on being asked whether there should be a public enquiry into the ferry fiasco rambled on along the lines of not appropriate at this time and it would be a lengthy process. I find it difficult to align myself to any political party. Depressing when someone like Jacob Rees Mogg and his buffoon leader have been elected to effectively call the shots  in the country.Sad to say but both politicians and some so called religious leaders have got a lot to answer for.

29 minutes ago, doctor jambo said:

You seriously don’t think the SNP are responsible for the state this country is in?

They run almost everything bar foreign policy and some other reserved matters and have made an utter cock of all of it.

amazes me.

You seriously don't think the Tories are responsible for the state this country's in?

4 minutes ago, Smithee said:

You seriously don't think the Tories are responsible for the state this country's in?

Everything gets twisted back to the Tories, even though the SNP have devolved powers.

He makes some good points, why not answer them?

4 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

Everything gets twisted back to the Tories, even though the SNP have devolved powers.

He makes some good points, why not answer them?

Twisted aye? That must be why England's doing so well and only Scotland's struggling 

It's like someone taking a dog into a neighbour's garden, and when it takes a shit they go "hey nothing to do with me, the dog's in charge of shitting"

Meanwhile, you're looking on, blaming the dog.

19 minutes ago, Smithee said:

They are partially to blame for the state this country(Scotland), is in but the Scottish government is partially to blame too. Blaming it all on the Westminster government is just lazy on your part. 

8 minutes ago, John Findlay said:

They are partially to blame for the state this country(Scotland), is in but the Scottish government is partially to blame too. Blaming it all on the Westminster government is just lazy on your part. 

The nick this country is in is due to the Tories in Westminster. You can take that to mean Scotland or the UK, both are true.

6 minutes ago, jonesy said:

In this analogy, are the SNP the dug or the shite? 😜 

Maybe they're the dug's brain, or at least the part that controls the canine nipsy

11 minutes ago, jonesy said:

In this analogy, are the SNP the dug or the shite? 😜 

I must admit he's got me stumped with that one.

Don't know how to answer it :biggrin2:

1 minute ago, Nucky Thompson said:

I must admit he's got me stumped with that one.

Don't know how to answer it :biggrin2:

I better get the dog out, she's getting twitchy. And I'd have to blame me, Westminster :sad:

10 minutes ago, Smithee said:

The nick this country is in is due to the Tories in Westminster. You can take that to mean Scotland or the UK, both are true.

If that's the case, then no point in having a Parliament at Holyrood as it is totally ineffective in regarding the lives of the people living in Scotland. 

25 minutes ago, John Findlay said:

If that's the case, then no point in having a Parliament at Holyrood as it is totally ineffective in regarding the lives of the people living in Scotland. 

I agree there's little point in a devolved government, they're really just there to arrange the furniture and take the blame.

Roxy Hearts
1 hour ago, doctor jambo said:

amazes me.

The point in all of it is independence. We get rid of the SNP and the Westminster cabal. We choose a government with policies that suit our needs or at least given a chance with Scottish elections.

The SNP like most governments anywhere get things right and wrong and the electorate make their judgement. At the moment they choose the SNP as the rest are not worthy!

7 minutes ago, jonesy said:

So you're equating the political leadership of Scotland with the brain of a canine...

Always thought Swinney looks like he fancies running around sniffing arses.

I don't care for the SNP or the devolved "parliament," it's such a bullshit compromise. 

I hate when people sling crappy arrows at them though, things like blaming them for the nick of the place when the Tories, who are actually in control, and the red Tories before them, have been ****ing everything up for literally decades.

It's only once Scotland is free that we can actually change anything

1 minute ago, jonesy said:

I think all of them have to shoulder some of the responsibility for where we are at now. I would also suggest that, as a population, we also have to, given we voted them in/out.

I'm with you re the devolved parliament. I was too young at the time, but would have voted Yes/Yes in 1999. Now, however, I'd like to see a layer of government cut away, so either independence or scrap the devolution for me. All it has created is the opportunity for people to play politics and division.

Division exists, there are 2 largely equal and opposing ideologies in this country.

When we wish for an end to division we're really hoping the other side goes away, or at least weakens.

Westminster sucks balls for Scotland, we'd be better creating our own structure for government and having a parliament that exists to serve Scotland and represents our electorate.

2 hours ago, doctor jambo said:

1 hour ago, John Findlay said:

I agree to a point. 

Unless and until you give full fiscal and administrative powers to an executive then you can't hang everything on them. 

There's a lot the SNP can't influence. Same in Wales & Norn Iron.

20 minutes ago, Smithee said:

I hate when people sling crappy arrows at them though, things like blaming them for the nick of the place when the Tories, who are actually in control, and the red Tories before them, have been ****ing everything up for literally decades.

This is a point that amazingly seems to escape a lot of people. Can you imagine the nick of Scotland if either of the Westminster parties had been in charge the last 15 years. 

It's almost like the frame of reference of most doesn't extend beyond 2007, let alone the 50 years prior to that when successive governments destroyed Scottish industry and infrastructure. 

1 hour ago, John Findlay said:

Although devolution can and does work we'll elsewhere, most notably booming Manchester. 

Unfortunately we don't have devolutionists in charge at Holyrood, and as such I don't think we've seen the most we could have had from it. 

There's not going to be another referendum on Scottish independence. Westminster should be making it crystal clear so that Scots can get on with holding the SG to account on their appalling record.

2 minutes ago, pablo said:

Although devolution can and does work we'll elsewhere, most notably booming Manchester. 

Unfortunately we don't have devolutionists in charge at Holyrood, and as such I don't think we've seen the most we could have had from it. 

There's not going to be another referendum on Scottish independence. Westminster should be making it crystal clear so that Scots can get on with holding the SG to account on their appalling record.

Fair comment 

6 minutes ago, pablo said:

There should be a referendum in 18 mths and put this to bed, 

If remain wins again Holyrood should be closed and hopefully people can vote for issues that matter instead of voting for the SNP on a single issue .

5his constant limbo of if and when is passing me off !!

They are all a bunch of cuniving incompetent ***** .

1 hour ago, Roxy Hearts said:

The point in all of it is independence. We get rid of the SNP and the Westminster cabal. We choose a government with policies that suit our needs or at least given a chance with Scottish elections.

The SNP like most governments anywhere get things right and wrong and the electorate make their judgement. At the moment they choose the SNP as the rest are not worthy!

If Scotland wins independence then the only thing you will get is the Tories (Scotland) constantly demanding a referendum to rejoin the UK while the SNP refuse as it’s not the right time, it was once in a generation , or it’s destabilising.

Your choice of party will be identikit.