SNP and Greens coalition.

ri Alban

2 minutes ago, Jeffros Furios said:

There should be a referendum in 18 mths and put this to bed, 

If remain wins again Holyrood should be closed and hopefully people can vote for issues that matter instead of voting for the SNP on a single issue .

5his constant limbo of if and when is passing me off !!

They are all a bunch of cuniving incompetent ***** .

Why should there be another referendum, when there's no mandate or appetite for it?

The United Kingdom is our country and a sovereign territory. Why would it entertain even the possibility of giving away territory and people just because there's a useless, toxic nationalist party in a local government? 

• Replies 3.4k

• JudyJudyJudy

• Unknown user

• jack D and coke

• The Mighty Thor

4 minutes ago, pablo said:

Why should there be another referendum, when there's no mandate or appetite for it?

The United Kingdom is our country and a sovereign territory. Why would it entertain even the possibility of giving away territory and people just because there's a useless, toxic nationalist party in a local government? 

You realise the United Kingdom is made up of 4 constituent countries right?

Furthermore who would be 'giving away territory' and to whom?

Local government refers to councils. 

You've got no idea what you're on about. 

1 hour ago, Roxy Hearts said:

The point in all of it is independence. We get rid of the SNP and the Westminster cabal. We choose a government with policies that suit our needs or at least given a chance with Scottish elections.

The SNP like most governments anywhere get things right and wrong and the electorate make their judgement. At the moment they choose the SNP as the rest are not worthy!

If Scotland wins independence then the only thing you will get is the Tories (Scotland) constantly demanding a referendum to rejoin the UK while the SNP refuse as it’s not the right time, it was once in a generation , or it’s destabilising.

Your choice of party will be identikit.

20 minutes ago, doctor jambo said:

If Scotland wins independence then the only thing you will get is the Tories (Scotland) constantly demanding a referendum to rejoin the UK while the SNP refuse as it’s not the right time, it was once in a generation , or it’s destabilising.

We should have a referendum then, democratic will shouldn't be ignored

8 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

You realise the United Kingdom is made up of 4 constituent countries right?

Furthermore who would be 'giving away territory' and to whom?

Local government refers to councils. 

You've got no idea what you're on about. 

No, it's you who is wrong. The UK is the sovereign country, and it's territory is the United Kingdom border. The people within it, it's citizens.

It's not a confederacy, Scotland doesn't have an opt in-opt out position.

Scotland has no route to leave without the permission of the UK government. Ever.

7 minutes ago, pablo said:

No, it's you who is wrong. The UK is the sovereign country, and it's territory is the United Kingdom border. The people within it, it's citizens.

Scotland has no route to leave without the permission of the UK government. Ever.

It's a political union of 4 countries. It always has been. 

The territory of the UK is defined by the border of the 4 countries and other territories and Crown dependences.

I've no idea what you're havering about regarding a confederacy. None whatsoever. 

I think you perhaps need to research a unilateral declaration of independence as invoked by the citizens of Rhodesia. 

Lord Montpelier
5 hours ago, doctor jambo said:

They took over an airport and wrecked it.

They took over the windmill factories and killed them.

They took over Ferguson shipyard and that’s going so well they now give the contracts to Turkey.

Yippee they now have the train network.

With such a history of glorious success what could go wrong ?

Still, they want more power, as that is the problem.

Keep promising a referendum , and people will keep voting for you.

Never deliver it mind, just keep talking about it.

Scotgov are not socialists- they are nationalists- they curry favour with as many as they can for their single agenda, so do nothing right as their convictions are not about transport , or education, or the north east they are so determined to kill.

Their record is horrific. And I don’t think they care, as keep Indy promises wafting about and the people will keep voting for them

Stop telling the truth Doctor. It won't go down well with some on here. 

12 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

The territory of the UK is defined by the border of the 4 countries and other territories and Crown dependences.

I've no idea what you're havering about regarding a confederacy. None whatsoever. 

I think you perhaps need to research a unilateral declaration of independence as invoked by the citizens of Rhodesia. 

Pablo just repeats the same point again and again, thinking he's shut down the argument. Good luck with that conversation!

28 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

It's just not. The Act(s) of Union merged the two Parliaments and Kingdoms of Scotland and England into one single United Kingdom known as Great Britain. That's it, that's the sovereign country.

UDI....brilliant. I think the SNP should go for it.

8 minutes ago, pablo said:

It's just not. The Act(s) of Union merged the two Parliaments and Kingdoms of Scotland and England into one single United Kingdom known as Great Britain. That's it, that's the sovereign country.

It's not a political union but they merged the two parliaments? 

Ch5T.gif

9 minutes ago, pablo said:

Just slip the word sovereign in, no one will notice eh?

We know the UK is the sovereign nation. That's the problem. It doesn't stop Scotland being a country.

3 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

It's not a political union but they merged the two parliaments? 

Ch5T.gif

I'm not surprised tbh

10 minutes ago, pablo said:

Nope. Ordnance survey link below advises that Great Britain includes Wales.

IiRC  ”GB” was greater Britain, and an area of France (Brittany) was known as "lesser Britain" in Roman times and its geographical in origin.

https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&source=web&rct=j&url=https://www.ordnancesurvey.co.uk/newsroom/blog/whats-the-difference-between-uk-britain-and-british-isles%23:~:text%3DGreat%20Britain%20is%20the%20official,you%20see%20all%20too%20often.&ved=2ahUKEwiE4OekwfX2AhXKN8AKHcwiCacQFnoECBMQBQ&usg=AOvVaw0qPohnN8U00PKEfJp3oO-y

3 minutes ago, Smithee said:

Just slip the word sovereign in, no one will notice eh?

We know the UK is the sovereign nation. That's the problem. It doesn't stop Scotland being a country.

All I'm saying is Scotland can't secede from the United Kingdom without the permission of the UK government. I don’t find that particularly contentious, it's fact.

2 minutes ago, pablo said:

I'm not surprised tbh

I'm not. 

You've just tied yourself in a knot.

It's the old saying. Never take on an idiot, they'll drag you down to their level then beat you with their experience. 

2 minutes ago, Konrad von Carstein said:

Nope. Ordnance survey link below advises that Great Britain includes Wales.

IiRC  ”GB” was greater Britain, and an area of France (Brittany) was known as "lesser Britain" in Roman times and its geographical in origin.

https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&source=web&rct=j&url=https://www.ordnancesurvey.co.uk/newsroom/blog/whats-the-difference-between-uk-britain-and-british-isles%23:~:text%3DGreat%20Britain%20is%20the%20official,you%20see%20all%20too%20often.&ved=2ahUKEwiE4OekwfX2AhXKN8AKHcwiCacQFnoECBMQBQ&usg=AOvVaw0qPohnN8U00PKEfJp3oO-y

But the Kingdom of England included Wales at the time of the Act(s) of Union. Not sure what your point is.

2 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

I'm not. 

You've just tied yourself in a knot.

It's the old saying. Never take on an idiot, they'll drag you down to their level then beat you with their experience. 

I've not tied myself in any sort of a knot.

Okay if what I've stated isn't factually correct, just explain quite simply what is the route for holding another constitutional referendum on Scotland's future as part of the United Kingdom?

And there's no need to call me an idiot. I don’t think I've been disrespectful to anyone.

16 minutes ago, pablo said:

All I'm saying is Scotland can't secede from the United Kingdom without the permission of the UK government. I don’t find that particularly contentious, it's fact.

53 minutes ago, Smithee said:

Pablo just repeats the same point again and again, thinking he's shut down the argument. Good luck with that conversation!

Just now, Smithee said:

Same question to you then Smithee. How is this referendum going to go ahead?

I'm genuinely not trying to shut anything down. 

34 minutes ago, pablo said:

Same question to you then Smithee. How is this referendum going to go ahead?

I'm genuinely not trying to shut anything down. 

What referendum?

6 hours ago, doctor jambo said:

Tories in Scotland can have a referendum if they want after independence. If they ever won power. :rofl:

6 hours ago, pablo said:

Scotland can leave anytime. Even the wicked witch said"If Scotland wants independence, all they have to do is send a majority of SNP MPs to WM" it's a voluntary union, any country can leave at any time. But Referendum is seen as a fair way of doing it, by the SNP. 

@doctor jambo tell us about how good the Tory is at all the stuff they do. How's that national debt, PPE, Tack and a trace fiasco, which makes the ferries look like pocket money,  Boris' flat, HS2 and 3 we pay for and doesn't come anywhere near, The constant Lies, Guaranteed EU membership and Billions of Oil and Gas revenue pissed up the wall. Don't forget the Russian donors to the compromised UK government. 

Reneged on Carbon capture promised to Scotland, but now both sites are now in England, put it next to the renewable investment taken away by Cameron. 

Oh and seems the oil and gas of Scotland isn't running out either.  Oh and Doctor jambo, seeing you have a go at the new hospital in Glasgow, what about the fecking scandal at two and counting hospitals in England where kids and mother's have died and hundreds of kids are left with life altering injuries? Disgusting, but hey SNP :yadayada:

6 hours ago, Jeffros Furios said:

There should be a referendum in 18 mths and put this to bed, 

If remain wins again Holyrood should be closed and hopefully people can vote for issues that matter instead of voting for the SNP on a single issue .

5his constant limbo of if and when is passing me off !!

They are all a bunch of cuniving incompetent ***** .

Shut Holyrood and see what happens.

14 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

What will happen ? 

Lord Montpelier
14 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

Probably not much like today. Maybe a reduction in virtue signalling. 

6 minutes ago, Lord Montpelier said:

Probably not much like today. Maybe a reduction in virtue signalling. 

I much prefer it to **** signalling!

11 minutes ago, Jeffros Furios said:

What will happen ? 

Him and his hazmat mates will go around blowing up red royal mail post boxes 

4 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

Him and his hazmat mates will go around blowing up red royal mail post boxes 

He will protest outside Holyrood but get lifted for being mistaken for a toothless weegie tramp 

which he is 😀

8 minutes ago, Jeffros Furios said:

He will protest outside Holyrood but get lifted for being mistaken for a toothless weegie tramp 

which he is 😀

Most of them camped outside Holyrood waving saltires are toothless tramps. No mistake 

13 hours ago, Nucky Thompson said:

Most of them camped outside Holyrood waving saltires are toothless tramps. No mistake 

Bit harsh on the tramps, very difficult getting a dentist these days, as for the cost 😕.

6 minutes ago, Dawnrazor said:

They could turn the scottish parliament building into a mega lap dace club.

😄

4 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

Feck the Democratic way. One Independence referendum in 315 years is more than enough. Let's go back to the old ways, let's fight for it. :yas: I'm in!

Independence or not Paisley will still be a ****in shit hole 😂

53 minutes ago, manaliveits105 said:

Holyrood would make a great strong cider brewery and bring jobs to the area 

Great suggestion 👍

Lord Montpelier
1 hour ago, manaliveits105 said:

Seconded. Would also increase export revenue income far above anything the snp have ever been involved with. 

3 hours ago, manaliveits105 said:

Well it is on the site of the old S&N Brewery.

Lord Montpelier
6 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

Trying to work out which poster that is on here. Couple of suspects. 

Just now, Lord Montpelier said:

Trying to work out which poster that is on here. Couple of suspects. 

😂😂😂

Japan Jambo
19 hours ago, jonesy said:

Let's just hope they don't TUPE the current inhabitants over...

probably be a ladies only institution if they did.

Impressive party political broadcast by snp 

policies mentioned none 

plans and aims none 

education not mentioned

health not mentioned 

drugs problem nope 

jobs nah

energy maybe laters 

“ye cannae trust the tories” was the only theme - with an old women throwing a conservative manakin - what a lark !

Absolutely embarassing and amateurish 

hopefully Labour will score some votes off the back of that 

I got posters through door for all parties with pics of candidates except the snp one which had a small pic of candidate - a small pic of Elsie and a huge pic of Elsie McSelfie

it’s local elections and people will fortunately vote for the best candidates who work hard for the area and not because of a photo of a megalomaniac 

18 minutes ago, manaliveits105 said:

policies mentioned none 

plans and aims none 

education not mentioned

health not mentioned 

drugs problem nope 

jobs nah

energy maybe laters 

“ye cannae trust the tories” was the only theme - with an old women throwing a conservative manakin - what a lark !

I got posters through door for all parties with pics of candidates except the snp one which had a small pic of candidate - a small pic of Elsie and a huge pic of Elsie McSelfie

it’s local elections and people will fortunately vote for the best candidates who work hard for the area and not because of a photo of a megalomaniac 

Nicola Sturgeon cannot hold a candle to Salmond as a Politician. I'm struggling to think of one flagship policy of hers.

Appreciate Salmond might not be everyones cup of tea, but at least things actually got done (like the Queensferry Crossing coming in under budget and ahead of schedule for example). Instead we're stuck in a ****ing time warp and hand wringing about the GRA. The political will to remove single sex spaces but not to tackle child poverty. What a legacy :D 

I remember when the Tories were laughed at for their broadcast effectively being that (we're not the SNP). Oh how times have changed.

Your points are spot on. Sturgeon is 100% marketing and that's about it. 

Edited by OTT

1 hour ago, manaliveits105 said:

policies mentioned none 

plans and aims none 

education not mentioned

health not mentioned 

drugs problem nope 

jobs nah

energy maybe laters 

Yes i watched it.  For a party which didn't want to politicise Covid they mentioned it numerous times and how they got Scotland through it.

11 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

Yes i watched it.  For a party which didn't want to politicise Covid they mentioned it numerous times and how they got Scotland through it.

Aye, it was the SNP who got us through Covid :rofl:

It's embarrassing if they are trying to use Covid in a party political broadcast.

The UK got a lot wrong at the start of the pandemic, but it was new and unprecedented.

From vaccines onwards, they have gotten most things right.

Lockdown parties don't really count as policy :biggrin2:

Things the UK got right... Vaccine procurement, furlough, free mass testing, the first country in Europe to open up their economy and live with the virus.

Things the SNP got right....???????????????????????? 

skinnybob72

I see that Derek Mackay is being lined up as ‘the man on the grassy knoll’ in the ferry inquiry. 

2 minutes ago, jonesy said:

Shaved a few hundred off the 'no' voting older generation by dumping highly contagious hospital patients into nursing homes...

Were the Scottish Government alone in this? 

It was a collosal **** up but it was a mistake made across the UK...and as has been said...*** it this sounds like I'm defending the indefensible.

1 minute ago, jonesy said:

Fair enough Konnie :( 

Basically there were mistakes made by just about everyone in a position of authority during CV19. Politicians are obviously going to try to smooth over the ones they made while trumpeting the things they 'got right'. If by 'got right' we're talking about instigating a lockdown which was, perhaps indirectly, responsible for the death of three people I know.

It's an emotive subject Jonesy, I'm fortunate that no one in my circle has died or been adversely affected from C19 you have my sympathy for those in yours that did.

Lockdowns were the blunt instrument that was employed by our governments in an attempt to control something that was apparently unstoppable.

Again, I'm now sounding like an erse and going over old ground, but hopefully you appreciate where I'm coming from.