Hickey - signs for Bologna

communist

4 hours ago, buzzbomb said:

I'd ultimately like to see the FoH money being used to buy a couple of the best players in academies as they turn 16 every year and also to buy the best young guys who have already made the breakthrough at clubs outwith the OF (like McCann at St J or Campbell at Motherwell for instance) to supplement what is coming out of the academy.

I'd also love to see the FoH money dedicated to funding the youth system. It's probably the only thing that would keep me contributing on a regular basis. They can even use the same initials and change it to Future of Hearts. 

• Replies 2.9k

• jamboinglasgow

• OTT

4 hours ago, OTT said:

I don't know, Aberdeen had that obscene offer for McKenna (£7m Villa, £5m Celtic & Stoke). Its not quite the £9m, but its not a kick in the arse off it. 

Did they though? I still can't believe Aberdeen would turn down that money, considering how quickly they talked about being in trouble due to COVID. They're clearly operating on tight margins, plus McKenna is simply not that good of course.

44 minutes ago, ToqueJambo said:

Did they though? I still can't believe Aberdeen would turn down that money, considering how quickly they talked about being in trouble due to COVID. They're clearly operating on tight margins, plus McKenna is simply not that good of course.

They definitely did not receive anything near 5 million. 

They aren't in the position to turn down that sort of money. 

Edited by indianajones

2 minutes ago, indianajones said:

They definitely did not receive anything near 5 million. 

They aren't in the position to turn down that sort of money. 

Im sure Villa offered to take McKenna on loan then they'd pay £5m if they wanted to sign him permenantly. This was 2 season ago. 

2 minutes ago, Ari Gold said:

Im sure Villa offered to take McKenna on loan then they'd pay £5m if they wanted to sign him permenantly. This was 2 season ago. 

Logic suggests no-one has ever thought about paying 5m for Scott McKenna, least of all Villa who managed to get a much better player in McGinn from a Scottish club for not much more than half that.

Just now, ToqueJambo said:

Logic suggests no-one has ever thought about paying 5m for Scott McKenna, least of all Villa who managed to get a much better player in McGinn for not much more than half that.

www.scotsman.com/sport/rugby-union/aberdeen-reject-bid-scott-mckenna-aston-villa-259879%3famp

We can only go by reports and everything suggests they did offer good money. 

3 minutes ago, Ari Gold said:

www.scotsman.com/sport/rugby-union/aberdeen-reject-bid-scott-mckenna-aston-villa-259879%3famp

We can only go by reports and everything suggests they did offer good money. 

Nothing concrete there. We've all seen McKenna play. Nothing about him says "This is a £5m defender" even by English standards. He's a unit but has been exposed numerous times playing for Scotland and against better teams in the league. Uche had him on toast in one game and physicality wise Uche is closer to the typical attacker McKenna would face in the England. I think the biggest genuine offer they've rejected was probably the £3m or so from Celtic a couple of years ago, when interest in him was high, and that was probably not that much upfront so not very attractive. He's declined as a player since then. Will be lucky to get £2m.

3 minutes ago, ToqueJambo said:

Nothing concrete there. We've all seen McKenna play. Nothing about him says "This is a £5m defender" even by English standards. He's a unit but has been exposed numerous times playing for Scotland and against better teams in the league. Uche had him on toast in one game and physicality wise Uche is closer to the typical attacker McKenna would face in the England. I think the biggest genuine offer they've rejected was probably the £3m or so from Celtic a couple of years ago, when interest in him was high, and that was probably not that much upfront so not very attractive. He's declined as a player since then. Will be lucky to get £2m.

Just because you don't agree with it doesn't mean it didn't happen. 

Better league

Better culture 

HIs manager was a no bad left back either

Fingers crossed he isn't back in six months complaining about being homesick like most other sad sack British folk who cant go to Spain for 10 days without taking teabags ffs

9 hours ago, Jack Torrance said:

Held out for the 1.5 - Never let them forget.

The big money (potentially) is in the sell-on. which could make 1.5 million look like peanuts...hopefully.

Rocky jamboa

Hearts have been trying to tie Hickey down to a longer contract for over a year so you can't blame them in that respect. However, we've maybe let it drag on a bit. If he wasn't signing the deal after a month or so, we should have looked to cash in then, instead of having the risk of him running down his contract and us getting nothing. 

2 hours ago, ToqueJambo said:

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/scott-mckenna-reveals-7m-aberdeen-21501970

https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/aberdeen-tell-7m-rated-scott-mckenna-he-must-stay-0g7ph2clg

https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/4399131/celtic-scott-mckenna-aberdeen-5m-bid-rejected-transfer-news/

https://www.skysports.com/football/news/12691/11623446/stoke-bid-for-aberdeens-scott-mckenna-rejected

Can only go on what gets reported. 

Don't think Aberdeen have the same media friendly journo's Celtic or Rangers do when it comes to hamming up the sell price of a key player. Its probably that £5/7 million includes appearance fees, promotion/avoiding relegation etc. So, my thinking is that the bids have been there or there abouts, admittidly he does seem to have went backwards, or at least failed to capitalise on his early potential (not really shown much else than being physically strong

3 hours ago, The Brow said:

Better league

Better culture 

HIs manager was a no bad left back either

Fingers crossed he isn't back in six months complaining about being homesick like most other sad sack British folk who cant go to Spain for 10 days without taking teabags ffs

Yes

Yes

Yes

I haven’t been ‘on the ball’ of late on all things football, I therefore didn’t realise Sinisa Mihajlovic was the Bologna manager. If you’re watching young Hickey, you can learn a lot from this guy. Class player!
Mihajlovic best goals

2 hours ago, Paulp74 said:

Hearts have been trying to tie Hickey down to a longer contract for over a year so you can't blame them in that respect. However, we've maybe let it drag on a bit. If he wasn't signing the deal after a month or so, we should have looked to cash in then, instead of having the risk of him running down his contract and us getting nothing. 

Never offered nearly enough. 

30 minutes ago, HMFC01 said:

That article translated - 

“After the words of the president and the coach, there is a new twist in the affair involving Aaron Hickey. According to Scottish sources, in fact, Bologna would have raised the offer to the Hearts of Midlothian reaching 1.5 million pounds, snatching the consent of the club. At this point it seems that the boy was authorized to reach Italy on Monday to undergo the usual medical examinations prior to signing the contract. In the next few hours we will find out if the deal has really come to a turning point.”

heard from a decent source that he’s definitely signing as well. I’d say it’s a fabulous move for the lad. At his age and given he’s just played in a Hearts team that’s been absolutely brutal to get this move is amazing. Wish him all the best. A truly remarkable talent that has it all for me. Go for it ♥️♥️

Edited by 1971fozzy

1 hour ago, on&up2017 said:

Yes

Yes

Yes

I haven’t been ‘on the ball’ of late on all things football, I therefore didn’t realise Sinisa Mihajlovic was the Bologna manager. If you’re watching young Hickey, you can learn a lot from this guy. Class player!
Mihajlovic best goals

Fab video ... never even heard of him before ... almost as good as our Rudi Skácel... 🤭

Seriously, though; what an amazing opportunity for a young talented lad.

22 minutes ago, Wee Mikey said:

Fab video ... never even heard of him before ... almost as good as our Rudi Skácel... 🤭

You must be a lot younger than me 😆

He was a top player, and yes ALMOST as good as our Skacel 🤫

It’s a great opportunity, one I really hope he grabs with both...feet! Not only for him but for Scotland and hopefully us, if we have a Celtic size sell on % factored in to the contract. If it does happen good on him, I hate the short sightedness of the majority of Scottish players, especially when either or both of the west coast witches are in for them.

40 minutes ago, Wee Mikey said:

:notsure:

He was one of the best left backs of the 90's/00's. Free kick specialist. Screamer of a left peg. 

29 minutes ago, Cruyff said:

He was one of the best left backs of the 90's/00's. Free kick specialist. Screamer of a left peg. 

I’d say Wee Mikey was joking, that’s how I took it anyway, going along with the joke in my response...

He was a fantastic player. Very few, if any, left foots have I seen as good as his in my near 50 years. Power & precision from all distances & angles.

43 minutes ago, on&up2017 said:

You must be a lot younger than me 😆

He was a top player, and yes ALMOST as good as our Skacel 🤫

It’s a great opportunity, one I really hope he grabs with both...feet! Not only for him but for Scotland and hopefully us, if we have a Celtic size sell on % factored in to the contract. If it does happen good on him, I hate the short sightedness of the majority of Scottish players, especially when either or both of the west coast witches are in for them.

Sadly, I have my bus pass so maybe not much younger, if at all. I agree with your sentiments and will adopt your alliteration 'West Coast Witches' shamelessly. 👍

6 minutes ago, on&up2017 said:

I’d say Wee Mikey was joking, that’s how I took it anyway, going along with the joke in my response...

He was a fantastic player. Very few, if any, left foots have I seen as good as his in my near 50 years. Power & precision from all distances & angles.

Him, Hagi, Recoba & Stoichkov had the best left pegs I've ever seen, so much ability, especially from dead balls. They could score from anywhere within 40 yards. 

46 minutes ago, Cruyff said:

Och, I spent most of the 90's/00's in a haze of tequila, much as I am right now, so forgive me for never having heard of Sinisa Mihajlovic, let alone be able to pronounce or spell his name.

🥃🍷🥂🥤🍸🍹

6 hours ago, Cruyff said:

Him, Hagi, Recoba & Stoichkov had the best left pegs I've ever seen, so much ability, especially from dead balls. They could score from anywhere within 40 yards. 

Maradona. Best ever 👍

Jack Torrance
14 hours ago, upgotheheads said:

The big money (potentially) is in the sell-on. which could make 1.5 million look like peanuts...hopefully.

5.1 🤞

Jamboscanbevicius

I think Bologna is a good choice for him, if he finally completed the move this week. Bayern are a big draw but it might be a tough climb to get to a first 11. He'll need to work his socks off at Bologna too, but more chance he can get his foot in the door of the first team and then who knows.

Wish him all the best, but I do also hope he gets it done and leaves this week. Will help our preparations to know he's out. Will allow Robbie to make decision on LBs left in the squad, and brings in much needed £

9 hours ago, Wee Mikey said:

He was a great player in Serie A... there used to be live Serie A games on CH4 on a Sunday morning in the 90s.

Think he was a bit of a headcase also!

1 minute ago, Rogue Daddy said:

He was a great player in Serie A... there used to be live Serie A games on CH4 on a Sunday morning in the 90s.

Think he was a bit of a headcase also!

The programme was Football Italia introduced by a James Richardson. He sometimes had a guest and on one occasion he had Vialli wearing a woman's blond wig. Vialli was a very funny guy when interviewed.  Mihajlovic was indeed a nutter, when he lost it he lost it.

8 minutes ago, David Black said:

The programme was Football Italia introduced by a James Richardson. He sometimes had a guest and on one occasion he had Vialli wearing a woman's blond wig. Vialli was a very funny guy when interviewed.  Mihajlovic was indeed a nutter, when he lost it he lost it.

That's the one! Football Italia 'Gooooooooaaaaaalllllll Accio!'... or summat like that! 

That was a great show... a good highlights program on the Saturday morning also. Always enjoyed it more than MOTD or Sportscene. Remember watching AC Milan with Van Basten, Huillet and Kluivert. Those were the days!

Edited by Rogue Daddy
Apologies - van Basten, Gullet & Rijkarrd... all at the same time!

17 minutes ago, Jamboscanbevicius said:

I think Bologna is a good choice for him, if he finally completed the move this week. Bayern are a big draw but it might be a tough climb to get to a first 11. He'll need to work his socks off at Bologna too, but more chance he can get his foot in the door of the first team and then who knows.

Wish him all the best, but I do also hope he gets it done and leaves this week. Will help our preparations to know he's out. Will allow Robbie to make decision on LBs left in the squad, and brings in much needed £

He has nothing to lose by aiming high and going for Bayern. If it doesn't work out at Bayern he won't find it hard to get another club. 

18 hours ago, Ari Gold said:

I'm sure he would have been interested in signing a contract after playing in a cup final. 

I very much doubt he (or his dad) was wanting to move on from hearts when he was 16/17 with limited first team experience. 

Im disappointed that we are losing Hickey so soon but I think a fee of £1.5m when we're in the championship isn't the worst. 

Surely , as he wasn't 18 , he couldn't sign another contract after the cup final ?

On 30/08/2020 at 11:13, Jack Torrance said:

Held out for the 1.5 - Never let them forget.

:robboyas:

4 hours ago, HoGwash said:

Maradona. Best ever 👍

2 hours ago, Barack said:

Hopefully being a sociopath has taken second place to him getting leukemia and Covid-19, and has given him some reflection time, and mellowed him out.

Otherwise, if Hickey messes up, he could find himself covered in phlegm. Mihajlovic's specialty back in the day.

Wasn't he a made racist as well? 🤔 

Great player in his day but aye, an absolute psycho. 

Jamboscanbevicius
2 hours ago, McCrae said:

He has nothing to lose by aiming high and going for Bayern. If it doesn't work out at Bayern he won't find it hard to get another club. 

True to a point. But playing first team football in a top league may get him there faster. Plenty of young players lose momentum at a key stage of their development.

Plus, from a selfish point of view, Bologna has potential for him to do well and earn us a sell on % later. Unlikely to be sold on from Bayern for big bucks as they are at the very top of the food chain.

1 minute ago, Jamboscanbevicius said:

True to a point. But playing first team football in a top league may get him there faster. Plenty of young players lose momentum at a key stage of their development.

Plus, from a selfish point of view, Bologna has potential for him to do well and earn us a sell on % later. Unlikely to be sold on from Bayern for big bucks as they are at the very top of the food chain.

Good point

4 minutes ago, Barack said:

Racially abused Viera, amongst others. Praised the war criminal Arkan and called him a friend.

I don't think there's much debate needed, that as a footballer he was very good. As a person up to now, he's an absolute scumbag.

Indeed. Sure I read he said to Igor Stimac in that infamous Red Star v Dinamo Game "I hope our guys kill your whole family." - Bit of old school banter for these guys I suppose. 

Edited by Cruyff

Amazing if true. Really happy for him. Great league to learn in as a defender. Club is not too big in that he will never play. So top league, especially for defenders, at a decent club where he has a chance of a bit of first team action.

On paper a very wise choice. Hope we have a sell on fee.

Risk of Bayern is similar of all talented you gsters going to top clubs who must win all the time. Very small chance of dislodging world class competition in front of them.

And not a peep in the press from him or his dad who I kept reading was angling for a move to one of the arse cheeks.

Wish people would stop the keyboard warrior outrage when there is no evidence. 

The key is we get a sell on as well this time

Bayern will keep an eye on Hickey. He does well for 2 or 3 seasons at Bologna you could be looking at a huge next transfer.

3 hours ago, Baxfee said:

£1.8m - I’ll take that. 

Honestly, not hugely fussed on the Hearts to Bologna transfer fee. Its always going to be relatively small especially with Celtic taking their cut. Its about ensuring we get that sell on fee for when he does get his next move. 

Extremely confident the laddie will do well there. He seems to be unafraid of taking gambles - leaving Celtic to come here for example. 

If he fails, he'll have his pick of Scottish clubs and in all likelihood League 1 or League 2 too as well as Serie B clubs.

Glad he’s going to Europe and not Celtic. Bayern would have been cool but pathway to first team would be difficult. Really interesting to see his long term position. 

Also love people on here worrying about him if he fails. Want Zeefuik, Adao, Rossi, Milinkovic and anyone else who may have had 5 minutes in a Hearts top so certain Hickey would get similar backing. 

Say Hickey has two unsuccessful years at Bolonga. He’d still be 20 with full season in Scottish prem and an education in Italian football. He’d have a home here and would be welcomed by most. It’s a win-win for him. 

1 hour ago, R1874 said:

Glad he’s going to Europe and not Celtic. Bayern would have been cool but pathway to first team would be difficult. Really interesting to see his long term position. 

Also love people on here worrying about him if he fails. Want Zeefuik, Adao, Rossi, Milinkovic and anyone else who may have had 5 minutes in a Hearts top so certain Hickey would get similar backing. 

Say Hickey has two unsuccessful years at Bolonga. He’d still be 20 with full season in Scottish prem and an education in Italian football. He’d have a home here and would be welcomed by most. It’s a win-win for him. 

Initially I thought Bayren has to be the top choice, but if it's true he'll go straight into the first team squad at Bologna, there's no better place in the world to learn how to become a top class ball playing defender, which will also serve him well if Levein is right and his eventual position will be DM. I think he'll do well. He's got the technique, awareness and composure to play in a league that is the polar opposite of the kick and rush stuff in Scotland.

23 hours ago, on&up2017 said:

Yes

Yes

Yes

Mihajlovic best goals

Yet an absolute scumbag who’s got Covid.

https://sport360.com/article/football/serie_a/204486/six-controversial-sinisa-mihajlovic-moments-from-racial-slurs-to-war-criminal-tributes