Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )

CJGJ

2 hours ago, Victorian said:

While you have valid points there,  the shielding of the oldest carries an additional injustice.   A lot of these people do not tend to have all that much time left to their lives.   Their relatives do not have all that much time left with some of them.   It's worth consideration when talking about telling people to shield.    A policy of shielding can only really scratch the surface of the real scale of those who are at elevated risk of serious illness.   All the people in their 40s,  50s,  60s and with some health vulnerabilities.   A lot of people with no choice but to continue working to support households.   These people cannot shield.   You only need to view the still limited scale of the hospitalisations to realise that a less suppressed virus poses a serious problem for our resources.    

Surely those who are vulnerable or elderly should have the choice to shield . As you rightly stated they may have not long left anyway so maybe prefer quality time wiyh their loved ones instead of being locked in a nursing home / residential unit . 

• Replies 107.1k

• JudyJudyJudy

• Victorian

• redjambo

• The Real Maroonblood

Just watched channel 4 news . There was item regarding “ long covid “ and they interviewed some people including a woman who “ thinks “ she might have had it as she stated she had symptoms of long covid !!! Madness 

21 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

And they have closed bingo halls again too . These can be good places for older people to have contact with others and socialise. 

Don't think we have a dedicated bingo hall down here, the cinema in Galashiels used to do it.

Here the Vale Club (one of the pubs/clubs) in the town had bingo on a Sunday, it was mostly old ones who went, started at 6pm, so that's scuppered now as well.

10 hours ago, Brian Dundas said:

My sister's boss appeared on my twitter feed this morning as he was going on the radio to all about the link below, it was strange to see it a name you recognise just appear from no where - anyway he was on to all about being a signatory to the John Snow Memorandum which advocates against letting the virus run through the population to gain herd immunity, he is also against shielding the elderly and vulnerable and letting it run wild.

https://www.johnsnowmemo.com

BTW this guy I'm talking about is a pretty smart cookie, he really know his shit about this stuff, I wouldn't easily dismiss what he thinks

I read this earlier and seems eminently sensible to me.

Signed by scientists, actual citations,  a robust vetting process and not funded by a libertarian right wing think tank either.

"In the initial phase of the pandemic, many countries instituted lockdowns (general population restrictions, including orders to stay at home and work from home) to slow the rapid spread of the virus. This was essential to reduce mortality, prevent health-care services from being overwhelmed, and buy time to set up pandemic response systems to suppress transmission following lockdown. Although lockdowns have been disruptive, substantially affecting mental and physical health, and harming the economy, these effects have often been worse in countries that were not able to use the time during and after lockdown to establish effective pandemic control systems. In the absence of adequate provisions to manage the pandemic and its societal impacts, these countries have faced continuing restrictions.

This has understandably led to widespread demoralisation and diminishing trust. The arrival of a second wave and the realisation of the challenges ahead has led to renewed interest in a so-called herd immunity approach, which suggests allowing a large uncontrolled outbreak in the low-risk population while protecting the vulnerable. Proponents suggest this would lead to the development of infection-acquired population immunity in the low-risk population, which will eventually protect the vulnerable.

This is a dangerous fallacy unsupported by scientific evidence."

Heartsmad1874
11 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

Just watched channel 4 news . There was item regarding “ long covid “ and they interviewed some people including a woman who “ thinks “ she might have had it as she stated she had symptoms of long covid !!! Madness 

All these news channels want is someone to come on and further the project fear cause.

1 minute ago, Heartsmad1874 said:

All these news channels want is someone to come on and further the project fear cause.

I used to like channel 4 news with their reporting of the virus but they have went bat shit crazy too , as evidenced by that item I mentioned . Surely any decent reporter would have asked if she had been tested ? 

Edited by JamesM48

19 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

Seems a bit strange if Channel 4 ran a report like that on Long Covid.

They would have been better speaking to the actual doctors and researchers who have published papers on long covid based on confirmed real life cases.

https://evidence.nihr.ac.uk/themedreview/living-with-covid19/

https://www.medrxiv.org/content/10.1101/2020.10.13.20211854v1

Good to know that one way of avoiding economically damaging lockdowns via a robust track and trace system is being expertly managed by the Government.

10 minutes ago, weehammy said:

The ‘local leaders’ are invariably Labour in England/Wales and of course SNP here. The Tory majority in Westminster leaves the opposition parties powerless there so they are basing their opposition on making things as difficult as possible for the government elsewhere. Nothing to do with COVID concerns but everything to do with politics.

That's the characterisation the government are flailing around with anyway.   It's a load of rubbish.   The disputes and resistance are very real.   This kind of all-out warfare is a calamity for any idea of public confidence.   It's got a possible benefit in that eventually the government will be forced to properly fund the range of financial support schemes necessary to enable stringent measures to take place.   At the moment the government is determined to avoid supporting jobs it thinks are not viable.   It will be forced to support job holders,  who are viable.

38 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

Probably hopes her boss is watching and just getting the sick note in, in advance.

Riddley Walker
2 minutes ago, Victorian said:

That's the characterisation the government are flailing around with anyway.  It's a load of rubbish.   The disputes and resistance are very real.   This kind of all-out warfare is a calamity for any idea of public confidence.   It's got a possible benefit in that eventually the government will be forced to properly fund the range of financial support schemes necessary to enable stringent measures to take place.   At the moment the government is determined to avoid supporting jobs it thinks are not viable.   It will be forced to support job holders,  who are viable.

I like your posts and you seem a very erudite chap but please can you stop putting 3 spaces after a full stop. Thank you.

5 minutes ago, Riddley Walker said:

I like your posts and you seem a very erudite chap but please can you stop putting 3 spaces after a full stop. Thank you.

:) Sorry.  I'm a creature of habit.

7 minutes ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

That’s tragic.

What a shit nation we are accepting this ! 

4 minutes ago, Lord BJ said:

Can you have more then 2 households in a golf four ball? I assume break rules but being told not, asking for a friend with who I’m meant to be playing golf with at on Sat 😃

Message Jambo 4 ever he will advise you 

4 minutes ago, Lord BJ said:

Can you have more then 2 households in a golf four ball? I assume break rules but being told not, asking for a friend with who I’m meant to be playing golf with at on Sat 😃

I'm not sure tbh, best be on the safe side and have each player pop a shotgun into their bag, as shooting parties are exempt from the rules. 👍

Could be handy if any slow groups in front won't let you play through. :shotgun:

1 minute ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

Shameful.

I did some online training with my work yesterday about “ universal credit “ and apparently a claimant doesn’t get any money until around 5 weeks after they make their online claim .  

16 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

I did some online training with my work yesterday about “ universal credit “ and apparently a claimant doesn’t get any money until around 5 weeks after they make their online claim .  

That’s a ridiculous amount of time.

What do they expect people to live on until their claim comes through.

28 minutes ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

They assume that some people will have savings or borrow from friends ? However since it takes so long to get a payment the claimant is usually in arrears with rent etc. It’s all a viscous cycle . It’s all going to get a lot worse once furlough ends 😕

50 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

Going on a rant here but I think it is abhorrent that a chancellor should say that somebody who is willing to go out and do a full day's work should be relying on universal credit through no fault of their own !!

50 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

32 minutes ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

Universal credit is a sore one with us.

Five weeks, you say?  Fair enough, I say.

April until October, as an excuse?  Not good enough, I say.

Sorry to bring a personal experience into an excellent (mostly) thread.

4 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

They assume that some people will have savings or borrow from friends ? However since it takes so long to get a payment the claimant is usually in arrears with rent etc. It’s all a viscous cycle . It’s all going to get a lot worse once furlough ends 😕

:oohmatron:

A ‘thick or sticky consistency’.  😎

42 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

They assume that some people will have savings or borrow from friends ? However since it takes so long to get a payment the claimant is usually in arrears with rent etc. It’s all a viscous cycle . It’s all going to get a lot worse once furlough ends 😕

Grim future for a lot of people.

36 minutes ago, Morgan said:

:oohmatron:

A ‘thick or sticky consistency’.  😎

I had to look up what that meant ! Filthy 

41 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Universal credit is a sore one with us.

Five weeks, you say?  Fair enough, I say.

April until October, as an excuse?  Not good enough, I say.

Sorry to bring a personal experience into an excellent (mostly) thread.

I remember you mentioned it earlier and they took your kindness as a weakness.

Shame on them.

4 hours ago, JamesM48 said:

I used to like channel 4 news with their reporting of the virus but they have went bat shit crazy too , as evidenced by that item I mentioned . Surely any decent reporter would have asked if she had been tested ? 

The MSM have been warned by Ofcom that they have to stick to the government's narrative. Its basically state television.

Only talk radio asking any questions that the public want answered. 

3 hours ago, Lord BJ said:

Have a good round (check with the golf course first in case the advice has changed).

https://ocs-sport.ams3.cdn.digitaloceanspaces.com/sg/2020/08/Return-to-Golf-Phase-3-UPDATE-210820-Final.pdf

"Groups of up to four golfers with no restrictions on the number of households represented provided they adhere to the Government’s physical distancing rules."

The lies we have been told will only truly become clear after the crisis when a public enquiry is held

The rush not to serve the public but to serve the party and it's self interest by our politicians saddens me but it's not surprising

The original lockdown did have the feeling of we are all in it together and was more or less accepted but as time has moved on and more and more public figures broke the 'rules' the public decided to start treating them on a part time basis.

It's not rocket science to know just what would happen when schools and Universities opened but still we went ahead, add to that opening of pubs and public meeting places (and still no real banning of travel abroad), work places reopening and the need to use public transport..oh and the public not wearing masks as requested as well as meeting other groups in and out of the household was just leading us to the inevitable position we face now.

Of course many want someone to blame and the younger population are an easy target but who eased the rules to allow them to mingle ?

We are all young once and they simply fail to look at the bigger picture especially having been under restrictions for a few months prior...they might be safer than most but the mixing carries the risk when they pass it on...... we failed to make them understand that it is their relatives for example who are at risk and you would like to think that would have made a difference.

The only thing we have left is to go back to a more strict regime and stop bottling the decision in case you upset a few interested parties.

However where is this test and trace we were promised ?...one of the biggest waste of monies we have seen in decades yet a chance blown to make a huge difference and still we wait.

That and a vaccine are really our only hope long term but for now we need to put up with a few weeks of more restrictions and our government needs to step up to help its population re jobs etc

Can we trust those in charge not to at least make the same mistakes from earlier in this crisis in simple things like protection for care workers ?

3 hours ago, JamesM48 said:

Hopefully they also told you that they can get an advanced payment which normally takes 3 days but can be paid same day in emergencies.

Edit: Having read the rest of the thread it's obvious that they didn't tell you.

I feel dirty now for seemingly sticking up for them. 🤮

Edited by graygo

30 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

Remdesivir not worth shit. Useless according to the mass trials. 

No Donald, you didn't have Covid. 

Apart from the Trump angle that's really bad news. There were high hopes for Remdesivir as an effective treatment.

36 minutes ago, graygo said:

Apart from the Trump angle that's really bad news. There were high hopes for Remdesivir as an effective treatment.

The makers say the trials are inconsistent. I wonder why. 

9 hours ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

That’s tragic.

Thats shocking, there used to be an emergency loan option, i take it that has been scrapped.

9 hours ago, Lord BJ said:

Yes, been doing it for weeks! 😎

Split up into two tables in the clubhouse and if it's a nice enough day, can take a beer outside. 🍻 

9 hours ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

Redundancy or lying time. Universal credit is horrendous. Basic income should be rolled out, pronto. 

47 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

Redundancy or lying time. Universal credit is horrendous. Basic income should be rolled out, pronto. 

When i got made redundant back in 1991 went straight to the job centre to sign on, come back 

in 12 weeks 😕.

6 minutes ago, Harry Potter said:

When i got made redundant back in 1991 went straight to the job centre to sign on, come back 

in 12 weeks 😕.

Tell them nothing, is my advice. 

1 minute ago, ri Alban said:

Tell them nothing, is my advice. 

Wait are you feeling sorry for people now? What happened to your boo feckin hoo stance for anyone or business that went down the shitter?

Riddley Walker
7 hours ago, Back to 2005 said:

The MSM have been warned by Ofcom that they have to stick to the government's narrative. Its basically state television.

Only talk radio asking any questions that the public want answered. 

How did Talk Radio get an exemption? Must have friends in high places.

13 minutes ago, jack D and coke said:

Wait are you feeling sorry for people now? What happened to your boo feckin hoo stance for anyone or business that went down the shitter?

No, that's you and your fellow can't go for a pint, Brigade. Government covers business atm. So boo hoo to you. 

And please stop with the 'it's the business I'm supporting' pish. 

Ye cannae go for a beer with yer mates, is why yer greetin. 

giphy.gif

1 minute ago, ri Alban said:

No, that's you and your fellow can't go for a pint, Brigade. Government covers business atm. So boo hoo to you. 

giphy.gif

I’ll just have to go for coffee and cake.

Whoopee f*****g do.

8 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

giphy.gif

So it’s just owners of pubs or restaurants that can get fecked is it? :lol: I care about all sorts of businesses unlike you ya🤡my sister’s beauty salon has had some difficult times and she’s not had much help and I know one or two others who have struggled. There’s a even a few on here who’ve lost their jobs but it’s all about pubs for you. You’re an utter dingle mate. 

• davemclaren changed the title to Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )
  • JKBMod 12 featured, locked, unlocked and unfeatured this topic