Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )

CJGJ

Could one of our journalists just ask the FM - why is test and trace not working and why havent you fixed it ? - theres plenty people doing nothing at the moment who could help - if the army cant cope (and please dont use Westminster as an excuse in your answer) Countries who have it under control have effective Test and Trace and you have just waffled about it for months now 

WHATS THE SCORE NICKY ???

• Replies 107.1k

• JudyJudyJudy

• Victorian

• redjambo

• The Real Maroonblood

1 hour ago, Governor Tarkin said:

No, because that would be seen as interfering in God's way of punishing homosexual people and drug addicts. 

Doctors and scientists would be getting struck down by big lightening bolts all over the shop.

31 minutes ago, the general said:

Good tip ... did you bus it?

Had a designated driver. 

Plenty busses though. 👍

https://www.geopunk.co.uk/timetables/scotland/scottish-borders/x62-melrose-edinburgh

21 minutes ago, Jambo-Jimbo said:

Cross Keys is a nice 300 yr old coaching inn, it was in a real sorry state before Spoons bought it, roof had collapsed and it was pretty much derelict, spoons bought it and spent a lot of money restoring it.

Aye we were admiring the building yesterday. Lovely Scottish Baronial Style features and detailing. 👍

Edited by Governor Tarkin

10 minutes ago, manaliveits105 said:

Could one of our journalists just ask the FM - why is test and trace not working and why havent you fixed it ? - theres plenty people doing nothing at the moment who could help - if the army cant cope (and please dont use Westminster as an excuse in your answer) Countries who have it under control have effective Test and Trace and you have just waffled about it for months now 

WHATS THE SCORE NICKY ???

Test and trace doesn’t stop people catching it.

if everyone stuck to FACTS and the rules and all times that would be better than test and trace

1 minute ago, Jambo 4 Ever said:

if everyone stuck to FACTS and the rules and all times that would be better than test and trace

What FACTS?

27 minutes ago, Brian Dundas said:

This morning the news has real feel of yet more restrictions coming our way. I suspect we will all be in full lockdown before we even give the latest measures a chance to work, please don't stop football again!

If bus loads of OF fans descend on North of England that will surely be the red card for football. 

5 minutes ago, luckydug said:

If bus loads of OF fans descend on North of England that will surely be the red card for football. 

The alternative is possibly even worse- loads of house parties in glasgow as everyone asks their mates over for a drink and to watch the football.

I'd have to say the thought of rangers and celtic fans leaving the country for the day is very appealing.

And police Scotland should be setting up road blocks and checking ID in cars, as you are NOT allowed mixed households in a car.

penalty notices ahoy!

45 minutes ago, Brian Dundas said:

This morning the news has real feel of yet more restrictions coming our way. I suspect we will all be in full lockdown before we even give the latest measures a chance to work, please don't stop football again!

Can't see it. They are tip-toeing around because they know they can't afford a full lockdown

1 hour ago, Jambo-Jimbo said:

In your opinion that is.

Just because most people don't react to the pandemic like you do, doesn't mean that people are not taking this seriously.

Everyone copes with Covid-19 and the stress it brings differently, some people panic, some hide themselves away, other people just try and get on with things as best they can, and others make light of the situation, even cracking jokes about it, but almost all imo apart from the tiny tiny number of flat earthers who think it's all some hoax are taking Covid seriously and deal with the stress of it all, accordingly and in their own way.

And that's the key here, everyone deals with things differently and in their own way and just because that coping mechanism is different from yours doesn't give you the right to continually lambast other people because they deal with stress/covid differently from the way that you do.

Well said 

20 minutes ago, manaliveits105 said:

Rinse your hands would have been better 

Ken. More memorable and a bit of humour. Might've actually worked. 

I'm so much more pessimistic about this than I was back in the summer tbh. The way I see it now is there were 2 extremes - the New Zealand way (lock down ****ing everything, no one allowed in, take a short term economic hit and get back to normal quicker when the cases go down to zero and manage it from there) and the Sweden way (carry on almost as normal, introduce easy to understand measures to try and reduce the spread as much as possible while accepting that it will be there, take the deaths hit early on) and we, along with loads of countries, have been somewhere in the middle getting the worst of both worlds. Right now I don't see how it gets any better anytime soon. We're just stuck aren't we. Faffing around with tier systems and 'partial lockdowns' that barely make sense. I don't envy those who are having to make these decisions but **** me it really couldn't have been handled much worse could it. It's completely out of control again despite having about 4 months of relatively low case numbers to get a plan in place. Tough to see a way out of it. 

1 minute ago, weehammy said:

Is that you Jason? That acronym stinks of ripe cheese.

Couldn’t you have come up with something better like.....ARSE?

How mature mate 

1 minute ago, Mauricio Pinilla said:

Ken. More memorable and a bit of humour. Might've actually worked. 

I'm so much more pessimistic about this than I was back in the summer tbh. The way I see it now is there were 2 extremes - the New Zealand way (lock down ****ing everything, no one allowed in, take a short term economic hit and get back to normal quicker when the cases go down to zero and manage it from there) and the Sweden way (carry on almost as normal, introduce easy to understand measures to try and reduce the spread as much as possible while accepting that it will be there, take the deaths hit early on) and we, along with loads of countries, have been somewhere in the middle getting the worst of both worlds. Right now I don't see how it gets any better anytime soon. We're just stuck aren't we. Faffing around with tier systems and 'partial lockdowns' that barely make sense. I don't envy those who are having to make these decisions but **** me it really couldn't have been handled much worse could it. It's completely out of control again despite having about 4 months of relatively low case numbers to get a plan in place. Tough to see a way out of it. 

“ completely out of control “ I assume your joking ? Yes infections rates are higher but we have yet to reach the stage of March / April when it was about 100 a day dying for a few weeks . How do you know we will get to this stage ? The death rates are all over the place 7 one day zero another 15 yesterday . If there was a steady upwards trojectory I’d start to worry then.  

3 minutes ago, Jambo 4 Ever said:
4 minutes ago, weehammy said:

Is that you Jason? That acronym stinks of ripe cheese.

Couldn’t you have come up with something better like.....ARSE?

How mature mate 

:isee:

24 minutes ago, Greedy Jambo said:

I remember when you weren't allowed in Scotmid without a mask, when did that change? Hardly anybody wearing one now. 

NS said yesterday there would be an update re masks in today’s briefing, I think it will get a lot stricter. 

1 minute ago, obua said:

NS said yesterday there would be an update re masks in today’s briefing, I think it will get a lot stricter. 

Masks any time you pluck up the nerve to venture beyond your front door. Nap.

She can ram that one back up her farter too.

10 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

“ completely out of control “ I assume your joking ? Yes infections rates are higher but we have yet to reach the stage of March / April when it was about 100 a day dying for a few weeks . How do you know we will get to this stage ? The death rates are all over the place 7 one day zero another 15 yesterday . If there was a steady upwards trojectory I’d start to worry then.  

Covid-19 hospital admissions currently are as they were 1 week prior to full lockdown in March with the curve looking much the same. That's where we are - 1 week from that all over again.
Thankfully we have taken action this time which will hopefully prevent that curve rocketing further upwards again.

graph.jpg

16 hours ago, Roxy Hearts said:

I've thought it through. I get fed up with all the yaboo crap in Brit politics. Critisize all you want but it's the amplification when it's Scotland. Sturgeon is nowhere near the idiocy of Trump and Johnson but they try and make it look like it's all the same and that's not democracy. 

Cannot see anyone comparing Sturgeon to Trump or Johnson in her approach. But when the results are pretty much the same then of course we have the right to criticise. Not sure what you mean by amplification.

"People have Covid and are dying so why can't some folk be more empathetic instead of using it as an excuse to have a go. Weird behaviour!"

Again,  because people are dying, we shouldn't criticize whoever is ultimately in charge?

7 minutes ago, Governor Tarkin said:

Masks any time you pluck up the nerve to venture beyond your front door. Nap.

She can ram that one back up her farter too.

Yes I’ve done my bit regarding masks , in shops buses etc but would certainly not wear them in open spaces or the street if that became mandatory ( which would make absolutely no sense anyway) 

9 minutes ago, Brian Dundas said:

You could follow the 7 day average to see the trends though - for deaths in Scotland it has gone

Wed 23rd Sept - 1

Wed 30th Sept - 1.6

Wed 7th Oct - 2

Wed 14th Oct - 5.6

Granted there was a big spike yesterday but the day before the average was 3.6. I'd say that was a steady upwards trajectory myself. It is not as fast as March thankfully but it is consistently going up. 

(None of that has anything to do with it compared to other causes of death)

Btw Hospital  numbers 7 day average of new admissions is going up by a third every week

Thanks for that info . However if the stats go downwards would that be due to the new restrictions ( well the last couple weeks) or were they naturally gonna fall ? If they do ? This is the big issue 

2 minutes ago, Enzo Chiefo said:

That pish has been superseded by Hands Face Space. Have you not seen the UK govt adverts??

That’s for england

FACTS is for Scotland 

1 hour ago, Jambo 4 Ever said:

Yes it does if it's done right.

Stop telling lies on this forum.

2 hours ago, Governor Tarkin said:

Despite all the social distancing and mask wearing me and the laddie are choked with the cold, Enzo. Sinuses are all blocked up I can hear **** all - which is quite handy as the Mrs has a right nark on at the moment. She has the immune system of fifteen burly men so is tip-top. The boy probably picked it up first drinking puddles and licking windaes, shopping trollies in Tesco, etc. Toddlers eh. Wee disease vector *******s.

Yes, you would think that would stop colds as well. A couple of beers will sort you out...although you'll have to find another cure for the boy!! I have to admit, I stopped licking Tesco shopping trolleys just after lockdown even before the FM outlawed it. The S in FACTS refers to shopping trolleys, I assume??

1 minute ago, Jambo 4 Ever said:

That’s for england

FACTS is for Scotland 

Not now, Boris has swatted Wee Burney aside and is punting Hands Face Space on TV. Have you not seen it? Easy to remember...another classic hit from Dom Cummings.  Get Brexit Done,  Take Back Control, Hands Face Space

3 hours ago, AlimOzturk said:

Isn’t the virus already spreading uncontrollably already? That would suggest to me that even with social distancing the virus isn’t contained. Might stop it spreading as rapidly but it spreads none the less. 

It's spreading but under some control.   Suppressed by way of the restrictions in place.   The current set of policies are not working to stop the ongoing rise.    There is no possibility of a relaxation of restrictions because of the unavoidable scale of what would result.

It's not even just the scale of deaths that's the problem.   The mortality rate is low.   Even the mortality rate of those hospitalised is low.   The reason it's low is because people are admitted to and treated in hospital.   These people do not get better on their own.   A relaxation of social distancing can only result in the scale of demand becoming too big to manage.   The NHS is not given over to treating only covid.   It needs to carry on dealing with everything else.

Current situation.   Virus levels are still quite low but the hospitals are seeing sharp rises in demand.   If virus really took hold then test,  trace & isolate will be swamped beyond any use whatsoever.   That's when the exponential growth of incidence will accelerate.   We just don't have the NHS capacity to deal with the resultant scale of the problem.

Suppression is here to stay.   100%   Currently the specific policies are not working.   They need to discover the right specifics.

12 minutes ago, Jambo 4 Ever said:

That’s for england

FACTS is for Scotland 

Hands, Face, Space - you'll die.

FACTS - you'll live.

It's a no brainer really.

Edited by graygo

1 hour ago, Jambo 4 Ever said:

how does track and trace not stop people catching it?

Even in the areas of highest prevalence the estimated percentage of current positives in the community is about 1%.   Look at that percentage.   Look at the current demand in the hospitals.   Imagine the world of shit we're in if the prevalence is allowed to increase to 3%.   8%?   17%?

1 minute ago, Boy Daniel said:

1300 positive cases. 161 in Lothian. 
691 in hospital 

51 in ICU.

13 deaths 

Not good at all

also puts the nonsense about nobody dying from this to bed too

5 hours ago, jack D and coke said:

I agree with all that but what if we don’t ever find a vaccine? Or better treatment than we have now? We live like this for how long? Year? Two years? Ten? Lockdowns and circuit breaks or whatever crap name they come up with for these? That’s what concerns me tbh.

Governments are in a tight spot I agree but at some point, somewhere down the line they’re going to have to come off this track. 

Are people willing to sacrifice their own lives for others to carry on as normal, or does it only matter if others die? 

Just now, Boy Daniel said:

We are in a strong position than we were in March. 

We're not.   Back then we had a general lockdown to eventually drive down the virus.   We don't have anything like the same lockdown to do the job this time.   We're also on the verge of the winter and winter flu.   

Sorry but we are simply not in a strong position.

No face coverings needed during your wedding.

Face coverings needed in work canteens and any corridors.

Maybe if workplaces are that unsafe they should be shut.

3 minutes ago, Jambo 4 Ever said:

Not good at all

Hi mate what ages were the people who died ? 

4 minutes ago, Jambo 4 Ever said:

Not good at all

Can you post a link to any post saying nobody is dying from this please?

Thanks.

Just now, jonesy said:

I thought we're supposed to print out the FACTS poster and stick it on our faces and hands? Getting mixed messages here.

With the National Socialist Party badge in a prominent position 👍

I was watching the briefing and burst out laughing when the “ big announcement “ was made regarding masks ! To be Married couples can now kiss each other once they have been officially married , they are allowed to take their masks off ! Talk about the nanny state , 😂

1 minute ago, Brian Dundas said:

Deaths today 13, so that suggests things are accelerating unfortunately, maybe we should have listened sooner?

Going by the 1st wave I don't think this falls by itself, the restrictions are now looking more and more necessary, the question is are the ones we have in place correct and will people follow them.

17 yesterday 13 today how’s that “ accelerating “ ? 

• davemclaren changed the title to Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )
  • JKBMod 12 featured, locked, unlocked and unfeatured this topic