Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )

CJGJ

What's the story on face masks up there in Scotchland? 

Today's day 1 of it being compulsory down here in London. I've just been into Tesco Metro, all masked up like a hero, and I would say that a quarter of the customers in the shop didn't have masks. I asked one why she wasn't wearing one (thinking it might be a medical exemption) but the reason was simply that she didn't want to. Obviously, Tesco are in it for the money so the staff are not in a position to refuse entry or to refuse service even though all the staff were kitted up. What's the effing point in calling it mandatory and then having no powers to make it mandatory?

Hope it's an English arrogance thing and you guys back home are met with more sense.

• Replies 107.1k

• JudyJudyJudy

• Victorian

• redjambo

• The Real Maroonblood

23 minutes ago, jonesy said:

That’ll be the folk who have hit the drink or decided to end it as they lost their jobs and livelihoods, just as happens over Christmas. 

It’s impossible to calculate ‘what would’ve been worse’ and people will twist figures to suit their agenda, but I’m sure the measures put in place to restrict work, socialising and general daily life will have hit some very hard, sadly. 

When I asked him why, he cited loneliness and untreated conditions, but that's just one wee family business in the south of Scotland.  

I've no agenda either way re lockdown and I've no idea if it was right or wrong.  I just thought it was interesting given the ongoing debate on this thread

50 minutes ago, Montgomery Brewster said:

Typical daily express guff. Only surpassed by the Daily Mail.

not even fit to wrap chips in

My old man gets the mail and express and i actually get my pish at how far their tongue is up Johnson and the Conservatives ring whilst tearing into the SNP and Starmer. And it’s daily.
Almost a brainwash. At least The National makes no bones about it’s politics. 

I've decided to switch to home deliveries from now on now that the risk has increased such that it necessitates mask wearing. Got a big shop in yesterday while it was still safe.

13 minutes ago, jack D and coke said:

My old man gets the mail and express and i actually get my pish at how far their tongue is up Johnson and the Conservatives ring whilst tearing into the SNP and Starmer. And it’s daily.
Almost a brainwash. At least The National makes no bones about it’s politics. 

It's vomiting stuff from these 2 rags. 

Their hatred is frightening. 

Edited by The Real Maroonblood

8 minutes ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

It really is mate. Beyond anything you see going the other way. 

12 hours ago, MoncurMacdonaldMercer said:

that bozo referred to similarities to flu on at least 2 occasions

needs to get on here and get himself educated on this pathogen 

I love when posters on this use the word “

pathogen “ like they are epidologist experts and it somehow adds to their statement and adds gravitis lol it tends to be the more neurotic posters I’ve noted  

5 hours ago, jack D and coke said:

The time to judge in a year is spot on, for the virus and the economic and psychological aspects. The damage it’s done to people psychologically is going to be the worst imo. Personally I’d have much rather we had held firm here and went with the Swedish approach. 
The political shiteshow we live in now makes it near impossible though. Every day is an opportunity for political goals to be scored with everyone behaving like bairns trying to troll each other. Pre-internet there would have been no lockdown imo, it was bad enough we have social media political trolls and and ****ing bores but now we can add epidemiologist arseholes to add to that.
Facebook is an utter hell nowadays with all these *****. 

Well

said 

17 minutes ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

Foul pieces of paper wouldn’t even use it to wipe my bum 

6 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

Foul pieces of paper wouldn’t even use it to wipe my bum 

2 minutes ago, jonesy said:

Dodged a bullet. 

Did the same the Friday evening before masks became compulsory in Scotland. 

🤔

On 20/07/2020 at 22:20, davemclaren said:

Plus there was a shortage of face-masks earlier on in the pandemic. Last thing they wanted was folk ‘acquiring’ masks meant for frontline staff. 

This is how I feel about the change in stance. 

Look how the public reacted to toilet paper! 

On 20/07/2020 at 21:59, Cade said:

It's quite simple. 

Wearing a mask was always a good idea.

But when we were in full lockdown and were not mixing with people on a regular basis, their effect would be minimal.

Now we're getting back out to work, shops are open and we're mixing in public again, wearing a mask provides an extra layer of safety.

That's why mask wearing has gone from "good idea" to "strongly recommended" to "mandatory".

At one time you said they did nothing to prevent transmission.  Have you done a Boris and U turned?

3 hours ago, SE16 3LN said:

At one time you said they did nothing to prevent transmission.  Have you done a Boris and U turned?

I said they didn't prevent the wearer from contracting viruses, which is still the case unless it's a proper medical grade filter mask.

Regular every day masks stop people with the virus from expelling it into the air as far as they would without a mask on.

Reduces the spread of infection in the general population but doesn't fully stop it.

9 minutes ago, Cade said:

I said they didn't prevent the wearer from contracting viruses, which is still the case unless it's a proper medical grade filter mask.

Regular every day masks stop people with the virus from expelling it into the air as far as they would without a mask on.

Reduces the spread of infection in the general population but doesn't fully stop it.

willie wallace

It has been on the news a lot today.Seems a lot of people down there don't quite get what mandatory means..

I have not seen anyone in the shops without a mask since it was introduced here.

It's not that difficult really.

I have no objection to wearing a face-covering in shops.

I did completely forget to put it on during a shop visit the other day and told the checkout operator this.

She merely shrugged her shoulders.

Anyway, I was extremely nervous about my error and left the shop immediately, hoping that Natural Ordure or one of his crumbly-boned cohorts were not waiting to remonstrate with me.

It's beginning to look like there isn't much left for Trump to turn to aside from the type of whooping idiots who turn up at those absurd rallies. There's a realisation emerging across a broad spectrum that the insanity of this orange buffoon has to be stopped.

This has to be unprecedented. The supporters of a party supporting the candidate of the opposing party to rid the nation and themselves of a curse on all of them

I feel the Republicans are grasping that if they don't get rid of this idiot their party is finished as a credible governing entity. Perhaps permanently.

The wealthy Republicans who want to oust Trump in November's election

WASHINGTON (Reuters) - Jimmy Tosh, who runs a multi-million dollar hog and grain farm in Tennessee, is a lifelong Republican. He is pro-gun, supports lower taxes and agrees with most of Republican President Donald Trump’s agenda.

He is also spending his money to help defeat Trump in November’s election. “I agree with 80% of the things he does; I just cannot stand a liar,” Tosh, 70, said of Trump.

Tosh is one of a growing number of wealthy conservative Americans who say Trump is a threat to democracy and the long-term health of the Republican Party. They are actively supporting his Democratic opponent in the Nov. 3 vote, former Vice President Joe Biden.

Several billionaire and millionaire donors to The Lincoln Project, the most prominent of Republican-backed groups opposing Trump’s re-election, told Reuters that elected Republicans should also be punished for enabling him. Some even support the ouster of vulnerable Republican senators to hand control of the chamber to Democrats.

Their money has fueled an unprecedented campaign from members of a sitting president’s own party to oust him from office. This is a sign that Trump has alienated some Republicans, most recently with his response to the coronavirus pandemic and nationwide protests over police brutality against Black Americans.

The ultimate impact of these actions remains to be seen in a country so deeply polarized. The “Never Trump” Republicans failed to stop his ascent in 2016 and became marginal figures as Trump came to dominate the party during his presidency. But this year could be different, some strategists from both parties said.

“The distinction in 2020 that we didn’t see in 2016 is the amount of money backing their efforts and their size,” said Karen Finney, a Democratic strategist and a spokesperson for Hillary Clinton’s 2016 presidential campaign.

“The number of people willing to go public about Trump and put serious money behind beating him — I don’t think we’ve seen an effort on this scale.”

Besides The Lincoln Project, several Republican-backed groups have been formed in recent months to support Biden including 43 Alumni for Biden, a super PAC involving hundreds of officials who served in Republican President George W. Bush’s administration, and a coalition of former Republican national security officials.

Others are skeptical, noting that Trump is vastly outraising and outspending the Never Trump groups and still enjoys nearly 90% support among Republicans. In June alone, Trump’s campaign raised $55.2 million, compared to the $20 million that The Lincoln Project has raised since its formation in December.

Yet in a close election, even peeling away a sliver of wavering Republicans and some independents could make a difference, analysts said.

Tosh, who has given $11,000 to The Lincoln Project after seeing one of their ads attacking Trump, said he might give to other Republican-led groups too.

“I made the decision I will not support a Republican candidate in an election until Trump is gone,” he said.

Other top individual donors to The Lincoln Project include Christy Walton, the Walmart heiress who has mainly given to Democratic candidates in recent years; hedge fund billionaire Andy Redleaf, who sits on the board of visitors at the conservative Federalist Society; and Sidney Jansma Jr., an oil and gas executive from Michigan and a frequent donor to Republican candidates and causes.

The Lincoln Project ads have attacked Trump over his response to economic and health crises and racial tensions, targeting wavering Trump voters and independents.

Democratic ad maker Jimmy Siegel who worked on Clinton’s 2008 campaign, said some of the spots, viewed by millions, could be persuasive to “teetering” Republicans on the fence.

Erin Perrine, a Trump campaign spokeswoman, said of the anti-Trump groups: “This is the swamp – yet again – trying to take down the duly elected president of the United States.” She said Trump’s level of support among Republicans is “something any former president of any party could only dream of.”

‘REPUBLICANS SHOULD BE PUNISHED’

It is not just conservatives giving to the Republican anti-Trump groups. The Lincoln Project, for instance, is also receiving large sums from wealthy Democrats, filings with the Federal Election Commission show. Its biggest single donation in June was $1 million from hedge fund manager Stephen Mandel, a prolific Democratic donor.

Reed Galin, one of the group’s founders who worked for Bush and the late Republican U.S. Senator John McCain, said Trump’s bullying brand of politics is “not good for the party, and it’s also bad for the country.”

Redleaf, founder of Minnesota-based hedge fund Whitebox Advisors, said Biden will be the first Democratic presidential candidate he has voted for.

Readleaf, who calls himself a “conservative libertarian,” has donated $35,000 to The Lincoln Project. He said he agreed with the group’s push to also target Republican senators who face tough re-election battles in November.

Tosh said he has “mixed emotions.”

“I’ve been a Republican all my life and want to stay Republican - but the Republican Party has to change after what it’s done over the past three years.”

https://www.reuters.com/article/us-usa-election-republicans-donors/the-wealthy-republicans-who-want-to-oust-trump-in-novembers-election-idUSKCN24P12Q

Meant to put that in the Trump thread, maybe I should take a cognitive test.

FORUM  SHED THREAD TRUMP POST

Aced it. 

20 hours ago, Ainsley Harriott said:

Oh dear seems like the persona swallowed by the gullable masses in Scotland isn't backed up by facts. Nicola isn't doing a good better job.

Ednq8HeWsAAikcP.jpeg.jpg

Aye?
A9BD0E84-207B-4407-A274-748F3A6B50AE.thumb.jpeg.cb511e0bafe6449bc5ceea04e69e7b01.jpeg 

From the Official website. Figures corrects as of 24th July.

One of those rates is wildly different from that Failly Express, wonder which one...

And the figure that I think matters most...

%of population who have died as a result of coronavirus:

England: 0.073383%

Scotland: 0.045673%

Ainsley Harriott
1 hour ago, gjcc said:

Aye?
A9BD0E84-207B-4407-A274-748F3A6B50AE.thumb.jpeg.cb511e0bafe6449bc5ceea04e69e7b01.jpeg 

From the Official website. Figures corrects as of 24th July.

One of those rates is wildly different from that Failly Express, wonder which one...

And the figure that I think matters most...

%of population who have died as a result of coronavirus:

England: 0.073383%

Scotland: 0.045673%

Intresting what's the website? The death rates dont actually vary massively between the UK areas however we are less densely populated so should be lower than england. Either way both governments have made an arse of things but the SNP PR machine seems to be in full swing.

12 minutes ago, Ainsley Harriott said:

Intresting what's the website? The death rates dont actually vary massively between the UK areas however we are less densely populated so should be lower than england. Either way both governments have made an arse of things but the SNP PR machine seems to be in full swing.

Your fake facts are shite, and no one but the traitors will help you with your delivery. 

12 minutes ago, Ainsley Harriott said:

Really! Scotland has 2000 more dead than we should have, because we couldn't shut our borders. That lies with Boris. 2000 dead because England own our country. Not for much longer. 

29 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

Your fake facts are shite, and no one but the traitors will help you with your delivery. 

Really! Scotland has 2000 more dead than we should have, because we couldn't shut our borders. That lies with Boris. 2000 dead because England own our country. Not for much longer. 

Bullshit. How many are dead in Scotland due to the care home fiasco?

Ainsley Harriott
27 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

Ah the Yestapo has arrived.

And 2000 more dead as Jane Freeman took the opportunity to empty some care home beds. Sturgeons perceived better handling of the pandemic is superficial and the number of deaths for a country our size tell those who aren't brainwashed she's really not done well.

Hector Riva

Spoke to someone today who works at a ICU dept in a hospital in Madrid Spain.

They are preparing now for the second peak.

Numbers going back up.

Hes head of the ICU and he is worried.

No deaths in Scotland yet again and 27 positive cases.

How high do you think we can go in positive cases before Sturgeon flexes her muscles again?

7 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

How high do you think we can go in positive cases before Sturgeon flexes her muscles again?

Apparently around 17 of them were from Lanarkshire, possibly from the call centre outbreak.

45 minutes ago, Walter Bishop said:

Another interesting read. 

The guy who thinks cholesterol and it’s affect on human health is a big con. The current crisis is a conspiracy theorists dreamscape. 

10 minutes ago, Walter Bishop said:

And another well worth listening to. 

This guy might well be worth listening to. I don’t know one way or another.  Malcolm Kendrick is a publicity hungry conspiracy theorist. 

42 minutes ago, GinRummy said:

This guy might well be worth listening to. I don’t know one way or another.  Malcolm Kendrick is a publicity hungry conspiracy theorist. 

Dr Malcom Kendrick is a GP who offers some very good information based on his expertise. 

Michael Levitt is a Stanford Prof. of Biophysics, Cambridge PhD and DSc, 2013 Chemistry Nobel Laureate (complex systems), FRS & US National Academy member. 

Just now, Walter Bishop said:

Dr Malcom Kendrick is a GP who offers some very good information based on his expertise. 

Michael Levitt is a Stanford Prof. of Biophysics, Cambridge PhD and DSc, 2013 Chemistry Nobel Laureate (complex systems), FRS & US National Academy member. 

Dr Malcolm Kendrick is a gp but believes unlike the rest of the medical profession that cholesterol plays no cause in heart disease. Like it or not, usually when you think one thing and the rest of the world thinks another you are wrong. His outspoken opinions make him a dangerous conspiracy theorist in my eyes. 

As I said I know nothing about Levitt.  

2 hours ago, Nucky Thompson said:

If positive cases were to consistently get up to 50+ a day, I think rightly there would be some worry, and potential slowing down of re-opening. 

7 minutes ago, TheOak88 said:

If positive cases were to consistently get up to 50+ a day, I think rightly there would be some worry, and potential slowing down of re-opening. 

With death rates staying the same? Why? 

12 minutes ago, Walter Bishop said:

Think it would be more to do with a potential spike in further cases which would then eventually lead to a higher death rate.

21 minutes ago, Walter Bishop said:

Well, the deaths would follow of course. 

Secondly, it has been noted there are potential long term health effects from contracting Coronavirus, so there are possibly other considerations outside of just death. 

The name of the game has to be try make sure as few people as possible get it. 

6 minutes ago, TheOak88 said:

Well, the deaths would follow of course. 

Secondly, it has been noted there are potential long term health effects from contracting Coronavirus, so there are possibly other considerations outside of just death. 

The name of the game has to be try make sure as few people as possible get 

We have had 1 death in past 15 days.

People are receiving better treatment, elderly and vulnerable are being shielded better and its a younger average age group that are contracting more cases, which generally means less hospitilations and more serious issues. 

People returning to England from spain need to quarantine for 14 days from Sunday. Did Scotland not just change their 14 day stance on this?

42 minutes ago, Walter Bishop said:

We have had 1 death in past 15 days.

People are receiving better treatment, elderly and vulnerable are being shielded better and its a younger average age group that are contracting more cases, which generally means less hospitilations and more serious issues. 

Immune system works better in the summer too though. The wind is in our sails for the moment at least.

Folks coming back from holiday in Spain hit with 14 day quarantine will be hard for them especially if they have work to go to. 
The Government should be offering tests as they arrive of the plane or whatever mode of transport they used. That way they would only need to isolate till the results came in. 

10 minutes ago, connlach said:

People returning to England from spain need to quarantine for 14 days from Sunday. Did Scotland not just change their 14 day stance on this?

Back to 14 days for Scotland now.

20 minutes ago, connlach said:

Aye. Sturgeon took Spain off the list when their infection numbers were going up. 

She's fecking clueless :rofl:

Her political games are now making her look stupid

10 minutes ago, Newton51 said:

Back to 14 days for Scotland now.

She only lifted it a couple of days ago.

She doesn't know what she's doing

7 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

Aye. Sturgeon took Spain off the list when their infection numbers were going up. 

She's fecking clueless :rofl:

Her political games are now making her look stupid

Her games are catching up with her.

6 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

Its a nightmare. I haven't booked to go abroad again after my plans were cancelled. So risky.

It does look bad especially if we are going at different times from Westminster when the

Restrictions changed

8 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

UK government took Spain off the list 3 weeks ago and now have put them back on.  Boris doesn't know what he's doing as well I assume?

Or perhaps this is a constantly changing environment.

UK/England has always been a 2-3 weeks ahead of Scotland with their ease of restrictions of measures - so kind of ties in that Scotland eased the restriction when it looked favourable and over the last few days Spain's numbers have shot up and countries are acting appropriately.

Could it be that too?

Edited by Gards

• davemclaren changed the title to Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )
  • JKBMod 12 featured, locked, unlocked and unfeatured this topic