Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )

CJGJ

8 minutes ago, Homme said:

She was working yesterday but I don't think she heard of any progress tbh. 

Next in on Monday again so would be nice to have better news then. 

Fingers crossed. 

• Replies 107.1k

• JudyJudyJudy

• Victorian

• redjambo

• The Real Maroonblood

9 minutes ago, iantjambo said:

Just a matter of time now for the wife’s mum sadly. Her major organs are failing and we’re basically just hoping for a huge miracle.

So sorry to hear that.

12 minutes ago, iantjambo said:

Just a matter of time now for the wife’s mum sadly. Her major organs are failing and we’re basically just hoping for a huge miracle.

Awful news. So sorry to hear about that during such a difficult time.  

Jambo-Jimbo

Welsh Government is to introduce a law, forcing employers in Wales to comply with the 2 metre social distancing between employees.

Sky News reports.

Dean Winchester
19 minutes ago, iantjambo said:

Cheers guys. Mrs tjambo is obviously in bits. I explained earlier that things between her and her mum hadn’t been good for many years but they had started building bridges again. She’s devastated that she’s unlikely to ever see her again and will be unable to patch their differences in person.

That's heartbreaking. Really sorry to hear :(

34 minutes ago, iantjambo said:

It's so hard to know what to say Ian. Sorry seems like nothing. Just know that we're with you, your wife and your family.

48 minutes ago, Homme said:

Mrs Homme got her appointment in for the breast clinic which is a huge relief. For next Thursday. 

Reckon she got in their system before any cut off took place.

Good to hear. Hope it all goes well for you both. ❤️

35 minutes ago, iantjambo said:

Sorry to hear that. ❤️

37 minutes ago, iantjambo said:

Sorry to hear that :(

The NHS is devolved in Scotland so all government bashing for lack of equipment/testing should be aimed at Holyrood and our FM 

1 minute ago, manaliveits105 said:

The NHS is devolved in Scotland so all government bashing for lack of equipment/testing should be aimed at Holyrood and our FM 

Stop already with the attempted political point scoring on this thread.

There’s a guy on here about to lose his mother in law to this awful disease so take your shite elsewhere. Cheers

Government should be facing criminal negligence charges. Now it seems that Cheltenham festival is a major source of the rapid spread despite our supposed science chief saying it wasn’t an issue. 

4 minutes ago, kingantti1874 said:

Government should be facing criminal negligence charges. Now it seems that Cheltenham festival is a major source of the rapid spread despite our supposed science chief saying it wasn’t an issue. 

Just read about that.Valance was a disgrace telling folk it was safe same with going to packed stadium all a load of shite

8 minutes ago, The Roller said:

There’s a guy on here about to lose his mother in law to this awful disease so take your shite elsewhere. Cheers

He's had a bleaching on the Salmond thread and is bringing his repetitive shite to this now. 

1 hour ago, Homme said:

Mrs Homme got her appointment in for the breast clinic which is a huge relief. For next Thursday. 

Reckon she got in their system before any cut off took place.

Great to hear, Homme.

11 minutes ago, kingantti1874 said:

It was madness to allow it, one of the reasons the North of Italy was badly hit was 40k Atalanta fans from Bergamo going to the Champions league game at the San Siro apparently. Nearly 69k on the Friday and over 250k in total over the week. Well done BJ.

49 minutes ago, iantjambo said:

Cheers guys. Mrs tjambo is obviously in bits. I explained earlier that things between her and her mum hadn’t been good for many years but they had started building bridges again. She’s devastated that she’s unlikely to ever see her again and will be unable to patch their differences in person.

That's awful, Ian. Big virtual hug to you at what must be a really difficult time for you and the Mrs.

11 minutes ago, kingantti1874 said:

I wondered at the time why no-one was calling for Cheltenham to be cancelled/postponed while at the same time other major sporting events were making that decision.

Anyone who has witnessed the Cheltenham Festival at the course and in the town centre will know how packed out it is.    Four days worth of that environment would have been like a giant Petri dish.

Extra wash basins in the toilets is one of the justifications.  

Edited by Victorian

1 minute ago, redjambo said:

I wondered at the time why no-one was calling for Cheltenham to be cancelled/postponed while at the same time other major sporting events were making that decision.

Was talked about a lot on the news etc but Valance said it was ok

4 minutes ago, redjambo said:

£££££££££££££££££'s and yet more ££££££££££££££££££££'s

Hell, even the EPL didn't take steps until Arteta fell ill.  Then there was the UEFA farce, allowing the Liverpool v Atletico game to take place thus inviting people to travel from Madrid.

It's the usual arrogance shown by those who have an interest in money and money only.

UEFA are still threatening clubs that if leagues don't get finished, they'll forfeit European places. Arrogance pure and simple. Spain, Italy etc should all tell them to go **** themselves.

Edited by BlackJAC?

12 minutes ago, kingantti1874 said:

Before looking at the government for that particular issue I’d be looking at the organisers who flew in the face of what almost every other large event had decided to do that week, before it was compulsory, and I’d be looking at people who still attended without a second thought about the possible impact.

Given that the situation is uncharted waters in a massive scale and the government have had to do most of this off the cuff, the time to judge would be at the end of this when we see how many died and what the impact on the economy was, comparing both in a global basis with similar developed countries.

No doubt mistakes are being made and lessons being learned but criminal negligence ??

2 hours ago, JimmyCant said:

If you log in to PornHub now you get an online form in Italian inviting you to claim benefits. There is also some useful advice on having your washing machine fixed and a helpful video. 

1 hour ago, kila said:

In the form of a porno?

I've been sent something on WhatsApp that purports to be an instructional hand washing clip. Safe to say, I wouldn't wash my hands up there and, if I happened to have my hands up there, I'd spend more than 20 seconds washing them afterwards. 

1 minute ago, JimmyCant said:

Before looking at the government for that particular issue I’d be looking at the organisers who flew in the face of what almost every other large event had decided to do that week, before it was compulsory, and I’d be looking at people who still attended without a second thought about the possible impact.

Given that the situation is uncharted waters in a massive scale and the government have had to do most of this off the cuff, the time to judge would be at the end of this when we see how many died and what the impact on the economy was, comparing both in a global basis with similar developed countries.

No doubt mistakes are being made and lessons being learned but criminal negligence ??

This.   It was unfortunately just too soon to be caught in the official response.    The industry is to blame for this.    Most of the stakeholders will have seen that it was going to be the last big pay-day for a while.    

For the inquiry,   the first thing I would be doing would be to have a forensic look at what went on between The Jockey Club and the betting industry.    The truth lies there imo.

Mac_fae_Gillie
31 minutes ago, The Roller said:

Another 684 dead.

Lockdown now on day 11. so about 1 week more of rising case numbers and 2weeks of rising deaths before it levels off, still horrific number but expect worse before April is done.

1 hour ago, East Lothian Jambo said:

It was nice and Scottishy 

Pathetic. Can you not just leave this thread for serious discussion on the virus and keep your politics to the other tgreads

4 minutes ago, neilnunb said:

Queen to address nation on Sunday

Aye, that'll help 🙄. The last thing we need is words of wisdom from that crusty auld fossil.

30 minutes ago, The Roller said:

Was going to reply to that pathetic unionist troll but you have said what needed to be said. Not that the moron will listen. What is wrong with these people????

3 minutes ago, Mac_fae_Gillie said:

Lockdown now on day 11. so about 1 week more of rising case numbers and 2weeks of rising deaths before it levels off, still horrific number but expect worse before April is done.

It'll continue to get worse because a lot of people are still not taking it seriously. 

The roads are busy today. 

The 10 days is too much for people to get their heads around. They'll get a shock when the 'lockdown' is extended for another 3 weeks and hopefully further restrictions are imposed on the ****wits who still dont get it. 

1 minute ago, Victorian said:

This.   It was unfortunately just too soon to be caught in the official response.    The industry is to blame for this.    Most of the stakeholders will have seen that it was going to be the last big pay-day for a while.    

For the inquiry,   the first thing I would be doing would be to have a forensic look at what went on between The Jockey Club and the betting industry.    The truth lies there imo.

In hindsight the government erred on the side of personal freedom for a week too long and trusted People and organisations to do the right thing. When it became clear that every measure needed had to be enshrined in law to ensure compliance by those who didn’t give a shit and did what they damn well wanted some damage was already done and those individuals and companies and organisers who carried on regardless despite suggestions and advice  have a lot to answer for.

23 minutes ago, redjambo said:

Plenty of people were questioning it -  The problem is that the people in power are casual about the repercussions of wrong decisions and mistakes as they know that the investigation will be years later and probably a whitewash... These people should be getting shunted aside now. January and February were about inaction. March was a laying a disaster in place. April is going to be the chickens coming home to roost...

Edited by Spellczech

Mac_fae_Gillie

Several healthcare workers in India have been attacked as they battle to stop the spread of the coronavirus.

Reports say doctors have been spat at and chased away from homes, and that in one case patients directed abusive and vulgar language towards female nurses.

Some physicians and their families have also been ostracised by their neighbours because of their exposure to patients infected with Covid-19.

India has reported more than 2,300 cases and at least 50 people have died.

One video, which has gone viral, showed a mob throwing stones at two female doctors wearing personal protective equipment in the central city of Indore.

The doctors had gone to a densely-populated area to check on a woman suspected of having Covid-19 when they came under attack.

from BBC website.

Would expect Indian numbers to skyrocket soon but if the public are scared of healthcare workers the numbers could be in the millions.

Anyone who seriously thinks we're in lockdown and this will flatten in the next week or so, just needs to visit a shop today.  It is heaving in some shops.  It is heaving outside here in Musselburgh. It's just slightly less busier than it would have been before all of this. Joke measures.  It's gonna just go back to normal as it gets warmer.  Next weekend will be a complete and utter farce. 😂

It was so busy in Lidls today, I looked in and decided just to go home. Iceland and Aldi's was no better.  I'm assuming Home Bargains was similar, but didn't actually check in there.

11 minutes ago, whodanny said:

Aye, that'll help 🙄. The last thing we need is words of wisdom from that crusty auld fossil.

It won't help but I certainly know people who have wondered when she would make a speech. There's the answer.

🙄

Nice weather weekend will lay it all bare.    Just think of the different types of lunacy.      I was going to do a shop tomorrow but might now leave that until Monday morning.

22 minutes ago, neilnunb said:

Queen to address nation on Sunday

I’m sure there will be a small percentage of the population who will find what she has to say to be highly relevant and inspirational. The rest of us will wonder why her and her disjointed family are still receiving multiple millions of pounds of taxpayers money to be nothing more than an outdated tourist attraction 

6 minutes ago, JimmyCant said:

I’m sure there will be a small percentage of the population who will find what she has to say to be highly relevant and inspirational. The rest of us will wonder why her and her disjointed family are still receiving multiple millions of pounds of taxpayers money to be nothing more than an outdated tourist attraction 

Furlough them. £2500 between them per month

12 minutes ago, BlackJAC? said:

Anyone who seriously thinks we're in lockdown and this will flatten in the next week or so, just needs to visit a shop today.  It is heaving in some shops.  It is heaving outside here in Musselburgh. It's just slightly less busier than it would have been before all of this. Joke measures.  It's gonna just go back to normal as it gets warmer.  Next weekend will be a complete and utter farce. 😂

It was so busy in Lidls today, I looked in and decided just to go home. Iceland and Aldi's was no better.  I'm assuming Home Bargains was similar, but didn't actually check in there.

The government won’t tolerate that. And the measures to deal with those idiots will be made even tougher if we see people out for a holiday weekend. You make a law to save lives, if people ignore the law, you need to go in harder and harder until you get compliance. If your not willing to deal with people ignoring the law you’d be as well letting us all out and it’s very man for themselves 

7 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

Furlough them. £2500 between them per month

That made me laugh. Thanks. 🤣

Here's an idea..  let's completely undermine the police's authority to manage it by getting the MSM and politicians,   even senior police officers,   to woof on about inconsistency blah blah.    Yeah that'll keep 'em all in line.   That'll no encourage people to push the boundaries.

Lockdown of consent.     The buzz phrase for a nation of morons.

37 minutes ago, whodanny said:

Not my cup of tea but if it helps some people I see no harm in it. 

22 minutes ago, Victorian said:

Nice weather weekend will lay it all bare.    Just think of the different types of lunacy.      I was going to do a shop tomorrow but might now leave that until Monday morning.

I'm expecting a proper clampdown come Monday, the lunatics will be out in force on Sunday down south if it is a really nice day. 

Jambo-Jimbo
25 minutes ago, JimmyCant said:

In hindsight the government erred on the side of personal freedom for a week too long and trusted People and organisations to do the right thing. When it became clear that every measure needed had to be enshrined in law to ensure compliance by those who didn’t give a shit and did what they damn well wanted some damage was already done and those individuals and companies and organisers who carried on regardless despite suggestions and advice  have a lot to answer for.

Exactly I'm afraid, Boris Johnson in one of the early pressers said that he was trusting that the British public would be sensible & grown-up about the advice which was being giving out, or words to that effect.

How wrong was he to believe that much of the public would heed the warnings, indeed many still aren't, and if the weather is nice this week-end then I can see it being like Saturday night at the fair, so when a stricter lock-down comes into force next week it'll be the 'feck the rules' idiots to blame.

2 hours ago, iantjambo said:

So sorry to hear that Ian

• davemclaren changed the title to Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )
  • JKBMod 12 featured, locked, unlocked and unfeatured this topic