Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )

CJGJ

11 minutes ago, Brian Dundas said:

There is element of luck in the Vaccine procurement though, did you back the right horse? Also Brexit and the whole process may have influenced who backed which ones. Would it have looked different if we were still in the EU?

I think we have definitely benefitted on being out of the EU for Vaccines, but it could easily have gone the other way.

The UK Government has also been lucky and benefited from tens of thousands of people who would have been in line for the vaccination dying each month due to its utter incompetence. 

Bonus 👍

Edited by Weakened Offender

• Replies 107.1k

• JudyJudyJudy

• Victorian

• redjambo

• The Real Maroonblood

2 minutes ago, Brian Dundas said:

But the EU may have not made the same choices had Brexit never happened.

Mibbes aye mibbes naw, it's something nobody can tell.

24 minutes ago, Weakened Offender said:

The UK Government has also been lucky and benefited from tens of thousands of people who would have been in line for the vaccination dying each month due to its utter incompetence. 

Bonus 👍

Even if you attribute every UK Covid death to the Government(s) incompetence we are still streets ahead of the EU on the vaccination front. 

42 minutes ago, IronJambo said:

Easy for you to say that when you're not the one that has to enforce it. All that does is put drivers in danger. 

But they are ok to enforce ticket paying?  I’ve seen drivers reuse people on the bus if their bus pass has expired 

1 minute ago, Jambo 4 Ever said:

But they are ok to enforce ticket paying?  I’ve seen drivers reuse people on the bus if their bus pass has expired 

They probably aren't doing that either just now. They're at high risk in that drivers seat on the bus.

If it was me people could be walking on whether they paid a fare or not, and with or without a mask. A bus drivers are going to see a lot of people in a day and you can guarantee that all the radge's will be amongst those not wearing a mask. They'd only be confronting the confrontational. 

Adam_the_legend

The list of failings of the government during covid is extensive, ridiculous actually, but their vaccine procurement and distribution performance can’t really be criticised. They pre-ordered half a dozen vaccines to give the best chance of getting the first working vaccine. The brexit component is interesting as well but you can’t really argue (though I’m sure some will try) that not being part of the EU’s procurement framework has meant a quicker rollout in the U.K.

I’m just thankful there is someone somewhere in that government that’s not completely incompetent. 

44 minutes ago, Jambo-Jimbo said:

The only people I've seen without face masks in shops are young people, teens/20's, all of the older ones are wearing masks, although sometimes it's not covering their nose, but at least they've made the effort unlike some who don't give a feck about anybody else.

Yes, but Jambo 4 Ever is saying if you have an exemption you still shouldn't be allowed in, and should instead use the internet. I don't agree with him but not due to people not having internet access. What age group those people are in is neither here, nor there really.

Sorry, I assumed you'd read his posts when you picked him up about internet saturation levels.

Incidentally, I've seen people of all ages not wearing masks in the supermarket. Younger people either seem to do it, it not at all. Along with no masks, I've seen older people holding hankies and the like up to their face as if that's going to do anything but it is the right side of the rules I guess as it just stipulates a face covering not how it's attached or what material etc it's made out of. 

17 minutes ago, Francis Albert said:

Even if you attribute every UK Covid death to the Government(s) incompetence we are still streets ahead of the EU on the vaccination front. 

Perhaps. Its early days. Let's hope they finally managed to get something done correctly. 

1 hour ago, IronJambo said:

Easy for you to say that when you're not the one that has to enforce it. All that does is put drivers in danger. 

I am a driver...

Scottish numbers: 19 January 2021

Summary

• 1,165 new cases of COVID-19 reported [-264]
  • 13,193 new tests for COVID-19 that reported results – 11.1% of these were positive [-101; -1.2%]
  • 71 new reported death(s) of people who have tested positive [+71]
  • 150 people are in intensive care with recently confirmed COVID-19 [+4]
  • 1,989 people are in hospital with recently confirmed COVID-19 [+30]
  • 284,582 people have received their first dose of the COVID-19 vaccination and 3, 886 have received their second dose [+19,591; +188]

Captain Sausage
38 minutes ago, Brian Dundas said:

I think it is reasonable to wonder why Scotland is lagging behind, we should be up at 25k a day by now if England are at 270k a day. There might be reasons for this, but it is not unreasonable to ask the question.

Totally agree. I should’ve been clearer - I was referring to the U.K. government, not the Scottish gov. 

34 minutes ago, Francis Albert said:

Even in Scotland where a significant proportion of over 80s still haven't been contacted about getting their first jag?

They seem to have their act in gear down south with the vaccine while the SG sits with its thumb up its ass.

32 minutes ago, Jambo 4 Ever said:

The latest 7-day per-capita case rates around the councils. Still on a downwards trend, hopefully rapidly enough that we can start seeing a significant drop in the cases requiring hospitalisation.

7-day per-100,000 cases                
Council Area Tier Previous Today Yesterday     17 Jan 16 Jan 15 Jan 14 Jan 13 Jan ... 20 Dec
Scotland     209 222 -13   229 239 240 245 262 ... 98
Glasgow City 4 3 314 344 -30   360 365 363 374 383 ... 129
North Lanarkshire 4 3 303 327 -24   342 352 357 362 395 ... 119
Renfrewshire 4 3 294 306 -12   314 328 324 323 366 ... 116
Inverclyde 4 2 284 290 -6   294 342 370 389 411 ... 59
Clackmannanshire 4 3 281 277 +4   270 264 264 233 248 ... 148
East Dunbartonshire 4 3 272 273 -1   287 297 305 286 279 ... 70
North Ayrshire 4 3 266 289 -23   300 305 289 304 320 ... 175
South Lanarkshire 4 3 264 271 -7   274 280 278 289 299 ... 120
East Ayrshire 4 3 260 275 -15   283 293 276 269 289 ... 153
Dumfries & Galloway 4 1 255 279 -24   289 314 297 322 334 ... 32
West Dunbartonshire 4 3 246 246 0   259 272 277 272 250 ... 120
Dundee City 4 3 228 235 -7   237 256 261 273 313 ... 113
South Ayrshire 4 3 228 244 -16   246 241 226 218 228 ... 98
Aberdeen City 4 3 226 244 -18   244 257 257 254 250 ... 163
Falkirk 4 2 211 227 -16   239 239 231 232 265 ... 60
East Renfrewshire 4 3 185 208 -23   204 201 203 204 214 ... 101
Fife 4 3 169 175 -6   177 189 196 199 215 ... 97
Na h-Eileanan Siar 3 1 165 157 +8   105 105 52 56 30 ... 22
Angus Og 4 2 158 158 0   170 182 176 176 202 ... 37
Perth and Kinross 4 3 158 168 -10   184 217 222 236 249 ... 126
Stirling 4 3 151 148 +3   146 150 138 141 159 ... 70
West Lothian 4 3 143 156 -13   155 159 166 151 164 ... 83
Aberdeenshire 4 3 140 152 -12   156 158 174 186 221 ... 88
Scottish Borders 4 1 138 164 -26   171 197 213 209 241 ... 85
Edinburgh City 4 3 136 147 -11   150 162 170 171 192 ... 109
Highland 4/3 1 125 136 -11   154 165 184 174 187 ... 17
Moray 4 1 125 105 +20   101 120 118 120 135 ... 13
East Lothian 4 3 124 121 +3   112 105 99 93 108 ... 148
Midlothian 4 3 117 114 +3   109 117 127 119 151 ... 136
Shetland Islands 3 1 79 87 -8   74 74 83 74 96 ... 0
Argyll and Bute 4/3 2 64 75 -11   89 90 86 85 84 ... 29
Orkney Islands 3 1 27 18 +9   13 13 18 18 18 ... 0

Bigwig Scottish GP on radio this morning saying we have the staff we have the premises - we dont have vaccines !?

Edited by manaliveits105

1 hour ago, Jambo-Jimbo said:

The only people I've seen without face masks in shops are young people, teens/20's, all of the older ones are wearing masks, although sometimes it's not covering their nose, but at least they've made the effort unlike some who don't give a feck about anybody else.

So what does the internet have to do with any of this!?

The internet was brought up in relation to shops.

18 minutes ago, frankblack said:

Even in Scotland where a significant proportion of over 80s still haven't been contacted about getting their first jag?

They seem to have their act in gear down south with the vaccine while the SG sits with its thumb up its ass.

Yes. Scotland is streets ahead of the EU on vaccination, even if lagging slightly behind other parts of the UK. 

10 minutes ago, manaliveits105 said:

Bigwig Scottish GP on radio this morning saying we have the staff we have the premises - we dont have vaccines !?

Assume we will soon hear from Nicola if Scotland is not being allocated its fair share of the UK vaccine purchases. Unless it is down to distribution within Scotland.

14 minutes ago, redjambo said:

The latest 7-day per-capita case rates around the councils. Still on a downwards trend, hopefully rapidly enough that we can start seeing a significant drop in the cases requiring hospitalisation.

7-day per-100,000 cases                
Council Area Tier Previous Today Yesterday     17 Jan 16 Jan 15 Jan 14 Jan 13 Jan ... 20 Dec

14 minutes ago, redjambo said:

7-day per-100,000 cases                

Edinburgh City dropping down the league table 25th now hopefully when we come out of lockdown we will go into our rightful Tier 2 oh wait a minute forgot we get lumped in with the Westies lol

13 minutes ago, redjambo said:

7-day per-100,000 cases                

Edinburgh and the Lothians creeping closer to a promotion place while Greater Glasgow still struggling

18 minutes ago, redjambo said:

7-day per-100,000 cases                

Angus Og?   There’s a blast from the past!

5 minutes ago, jonesy said:

Is there an archive of The Fish's daily 'briefings' anywhere? I'd like to send myself into oblivion by doing a drinking game based on her bullshit.

if you cant state what FACTS stands for in 10 seconds take a drink each time you fail 

HANDS FACE SPACE 

Just now, FWJ said:

Angus Og?   There’s a blast from the past!

:D It gets a wee bit monotonous producing the stats so I decided a few posts ago to start introducing a funny name for one council each time just to break the monotony - we've had Fife and Drum, Moray Eel and Angus Og so far, and you're the first to notice. I suppose it's the equivalent of an office worker in a standard grey suit at a dreary job wearing a colourful tie. ;) I may start running out of fun names soon though - what can you change East Renfrewshire to, for example?

1 minute ago, manaliveits105 said:

if you cant state what FACTS stands for in 10 seconds take a drink each time you fail 

HANDS FACE SPACE 

What does FACTS stand for? I'm aware a certain poster on here kept saying it for a while on here but never bothered to look it up. 

Lockdown will last till polling day in May and only those vaccinated and carrying a snp membership card will be allowed out for a non essential purpose 

10 minutes ago, jonesy said:

Is there an archive of The Fish's daily 'briefings' anywhere? I'd like to send myself into oblivion by doing a drinking game based on her bullshit.

She has zero warmth or positivity  emanating from her.  A cold fish !  Usual bullshit today from her. Its pathetic.  

5 minutes ago, Taffin said:

What does FACTS stand for? I'm aware a certain poster on here kept saying it for a while on here but never bothered to look it up. 

****ing arseholes can’t take seriously 

https://www.gov.scot/publications/coronavirus-covid-19-facts-poster-including-translations-and-accessible-formats/

More info

25 minutes ago, manaliveits105 said:

Its ok stand down  its the bloody toaries fault 

Haven't been on here for while. We still in the pre Christmas circuit breaker or the post Christmas 3 week restriction lockdown?

Can't believe people are still listening to the daily soundbite from FM. 

2 minutes ago, Pasquale for King said:

****ing arseholes can’t take seriously 

Stronger than I expected. I figured it would be more something like:

Follow Authority Control The Spread.

After sifting through some general Scottish facts (such as Edinburgh was the first city in the world to have it's own Fire Brigade), I've since found what it stands for. It's not very memorable I must say, but the message is good.

7 minutes ago, redjambo said:

:D It gets a wee bit monotonous producing the stats so I decided a few posts ago to start introducing a funny name for one council each time just to break the monotony - we've had Fife and Drum, Moray Eel and Angus Og so far, and you're the first to notice. I suppose it's the equivalent of an office worker in a standard grey suit at a dreary job wearing a colourful tie. ;) I may start running out of fun names soon though - what can you change East Renfrewshire to, for example?

I think i heard a gun going off for East Renfrewshire. if i remember correctly when Terry Butcher was co commentating on the Hearts 4-1 Rangers cup game at Tynie i think they mentioned that someone had a large bet due to come up until we got the fourth goal and his quote was 'i think i heard gunshot in Paisley' or something like that. thanks for the updates

10 minutes ago, Taffin said:

Tried to remember what it means but my work has enough daft acronyms that fill that space in my brain so just use hands, face, space instead and tell my kids that as well as easier for them

1 minute ago, Malinga the Swinga said:

Haven't been on here for while. We still in the pre Christmas circuit breaker or the post Christmas 3 week restriction lockdown?

Still waiting for the 16 day circuit breaker from October to end!

1 minute ago, Doogz said:

Still waiting for the 316 day circuit breaker from October to end!

fixed that for you

4 minutes ago, Malinga the Swinga said:

It's still a bun fight on this thread. 

1 minute ago, Lord Inglis said:

Tried to remember what it means but my work has enough daft acronyms that fill that space in my brain so just use hands, face, space instead and tell my kids that as well as easier for them

I've since looked it up, I saw it on an advertising hoarding in a Hearts game too so at one point did know what it stood for I guess. 

It's more detailed than Hands, Face, Space but in terms of an easy to remember thing I think you're right, Hands, Face, Space is more effective...despite Bumbling Boris making a hash of it when they launched it 😂

4 hours ago, Governor Tarkin said:

Perhaps he could just isolate forever.

Would we notice

47 minutes ago, frankblack said:

Is that accurate abiut over 80s iv not followed the vaccination programme structure here or in England. I do know that nonfrontline staff are being vaccinated this week. At least up here. The programme structure is different up here so figures arent very useful for comparison of whonis being targeted surely 🤷🏻‍♂️

25 minutes ago, jonesy said:

Someone has to keep firing out those truth bullets.

🤣🤣

22 minutes ago, **** the SPFL said:

Edinburgh City dropping down the league table 25th now hopefully when we come out of lockdown we will go into our rightful Tier 2 oh wait a minute forgot we get lumped in with the Westies lol

Probably pretty pointless lifting restrictions for anyone until all 50+ are vaccinated UK over.

6 minutes ago, Malinga the Swinga said:

WM (Tory) and SG (SNP) pretty much aligned.  Minor nuances wirh restriction type and a few days here or there when restrictions, circuit breakers, lockdowns take place

Labour have been calling for a full UK March type lockdown since last October, without managing any of the purse strings.

Lib Dems, irrelevant.

Edited by DETTY29

30 minutes ago, Do The Dance said:

So what does the internet have to do with any of this!?

The internet was brought up in relation to shops.

The internet was brought up in as much that vulnernable people didn't need to go to the shops, all they had to do was go online or get someone else to do their shopping, however for some neither is an option, that's my point I was making.

1 minute ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

It's still a bun fight on this thread. 

Isn’t it just.... My dad will batter your dad miin....your da sells avon....i can piss higher up a wall than you...wait sre you tory or snp i can’t remember..shit am I on the same page as you or not...🤷🏻‍♂️🤣

6 minutes ago, Taffin said:

Stronger than I expected. I figured it would be more something like:

Follow Authority Control The Spread.

After sifting through some general Scottish facts (such as Edinburgh was the first city in the world to have it's own Fire Brigade), I've since found what it stands for. It's not very memorable I must say, but the message is good.

I edited and put this link https://www.gov.scot/publications/coronavirus-covid-19-facts-poster-including-translations-and-accessible-formats/

2 minutes ago, **** the SPFL said:

I think i heard a gun going off for East Renfrewshire. if i remember correctly when Terry Butcher was co commentating on the Hearts 4-1 Rangers cup game at Tynie i think they mentioned that someone had a large bet due to come up until we got the fourth goal and his quote was 'i think i heard gunshot in Paisley' or something like that. thanks for the updates

The wild west. :D

With reference to your previous post, I've been impressed at how low the case rates in all the Lothians have been recently compared to the national situation. They must be doing something right. And it *is* going to be fun and games when we come out of lockdown and the SG has to decide which tiers the councils go into because we're looking at quite a changed picture in some areas compared to the one we had before we went into lockdown.

Just now, redjambo said:

With reference to your previous post, I've been impressed at how low the case rates in all the Lothians have been recently compared to the national situation. They must be doing something right. And it *is* going to be fun and games when we come out of lockdown and the SG has to decide which tiers the councils go into because we're looking at quite a changed picture in some areas compared to the one we had before we went into lockdown.

How have Aberdeen and Shire been doing. My mate snapchatted me earlier and Duthie Park and the Beach looked like a 25degree sunny June precovid day. 

1 minute ago, redjambo said:

cheers i think iv'e asked this before but my in-laws who are in a nursing home had three tests each in the space of ten days all positive does each positive test get counted on a daily basis if so it kind of smudges the number of individual people testing positive. They are fine now think the vaccine helped just prior to xmas.

4 minutes ago, sadj said:

Isn’t it just.... My dad will batter your dad miin....your da sells avon....i can piss higher up a wall than you...wait sre you tory or snp i can’t remember..shit am I on the same page as you or not...🤷🏻‍♂️🤣

The experts on here still regurgitating the same pish. 

1 hour ago, Taffin said:

Yes, but Jambo 4 Ever is saying if you have an exemption you still shouldn't be allowed in, and should instead use the internet. I don't agree with him but not due to people not having internet access. What age group those people are in is neither here, nor there really.

Sorry, I assumed you'd read his posts when you picked him up about internet saturation levels.

Incidentally, I've seen people of all ages not wearing masks in the supermarket. Younger people either seem to do it, it not at all. Along with no masks, I've seen older people holding hankies and the like up to their face as if that's going to do anything but it is the right side of the rules I guess as it just stipulates a face covering not how it's attached or what material etc it's made out of. 

And neither do I agree with him because there are some people who will be genuinely exempt, and whilst it's easy to say well do online shopping or get someone else to do their shopping for them, that won't always be an option for some people, albeit a small minority but there will still be some people who don't have this choice.

• davemclaren changed the title to Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )
  • JKBMod 12 featured, locked, unlocked and unfeatured this topic