Levein’s time is up...

Heartsofgold

1 hour ago, Seymour M Hersh said:

So leave us manager-less as we approach the most important few weeks of the season? Genius idea.:facepalm:

If the players are not playing for him what difference does it make when he goes. Probably the sooner the better in terms of season ticket sales and allowing his replacement to sign the players he wants rather than inherit them from CL.

• Replies 20k

• Spoleto

• Alex Kintner

• JamboAl

30 minutes ago, JackLadd said:

It cost them 600k to fire Lennon. Well worth it though. 

Made up figure by you, but they took a risk and are moving up the table. Whether it's worth it? They'll need to wait til end of the season I suppose.

31 minutes ago, frankblack said:

Oh dear.  A sad little nat with a grudge trying to carry out vendettas from the shed into the terrace.

How sad, and you clearly don't know the history of the poster I referred to.  The guy got found out.

Im aw offended now Franko?

1 hour ago, Inch Hearts said:

Yeah, there's no chance of it happening though.   Now most certainly isn't the time to change managers. 

Correct. If Levein does leave it will be at the end of the season and dependent on where we are in the league and cup c/f now. 

From someone who's always been keen to back CL (not always though) and a fan of avoiding knee jerk sackings..

CL was the man who bough Vanacek, checked his condition in Spain, chose to play him, changed his mind and humiliated the guy in his second game and for what? What good is it supposed to have done? The bloke has likely gone further back than forward.

He never plays the same team twice. Players like Cochrane were staples last term and nowhere this one

We've signed players in the summer that never stood a chance of getting in the team, and haven't

Versus Partick he plays one sub from 3 when fresh legs would maybe have helped us - instead we tired players like Berra out even more by squeezing another fixture in

Vs Dundee, Partick, Partick again and Hamilton - we have, by all accounts, been utterly honking

I really appreciate what he has done at times - and I'm torn two ways - but what have we got to lose by rolling the dice and taking a gamble?

We face ICT in the cup - they are better than Partick - and then if we make it - we will get, most likely, savaged by Celtic in the final. Getting there and getting beat by a goal won't turn my season around.

That's it - our best chance this term comes down to that perhaps. So do we stick or twist? I don't see more risk either way really. But the answer cannot be to continually find reasons to stick. If you always do what you've always done - you'll always get what you're getting! ;)

Edited by Mollo
spelling

1 hour ago, frankblack said:

Oh dear.  A sad little nat with a grudge trying to carry out vendettas from the shed into the terrace.

How sad, and you clearly don't know the history of the poster I referred to.  The guy got found out.

Did I now, I showed you the proof and you said it proved your point ??.  What do thsee stars that another poster put up prove?

sted 1 hour ago

I understand the point being made about other teams but to be honest I couldn't really care about anyone else. 

I thought I'd have a look at some stats (taken from BBC) going back to after the semi final against Celtic as it seems to be pretty well accepted that it was after this game that our poor performances/form started (nearly 5 months ago). 

Hibs (H) - Goals scored 0, shots on target 1.

Celtic (A) - Goals scored 0, shots on target 1. 

Kilmarnock (H) - Goals scored 0, shots on target 3.

St Mirren (A) - Goals scored 0, shots on target 1.

Rangers (H) - Goals scored 1, shots on target 2.

St Johnstone (A) - Goals scored 2, shots on target 3.

Motherwell (H) - Goals scored 1, shots on target 4.

Livingston (A) - Goals scored 0, shots on target 0.

Aberdeen (A) - Goals scored 0, shots on target 1. 

Hamilton (H) - Goals scored 2, shots on target 4.

Hibs (A) - Goals scored 1, shots on target 5.

Livingston (H) - Goals scored 1, shots on target 4. 

Dundee (H) - Goals scored 1, shots on target 8. 

St Johnstone (H) - Goals scored 2, shots on target 7. 

Kilmarnock (A) - Goals scored 2, shots on target 3. 

Livingston (H) - Goals scored 0, shots on target 2. 

Auchinleck (H) - Goals scored 4, shots on target 8. 

Motherwell (A) - Goals scored 1, shots on target 3. 

St Mirren (H) - Goals scored 1, shots on target 6. 

Celtic (H) - Goals scored 1, shots on target 3. 

Partick (A) - Goals scored 1, shots on target 3. 

Dundee (A) - Goals scored, 1 shots on target 3. 

Partick (H) - Goals scored 2, shots on target 5.

Hamilton (A) - Goals scored 0, shots on target 1. 

So in the last 24 games we've had:

Scored 0 goals - 8 games

Scored 1 goal - 10 games

Scored 2 goals - 5 games

Scored over 2 goals - 1 game

The stats for shots on target in most away matches doesn't make for great reading:

Hamilton - 1 shot on target

Dundee - 3 shots on target

Partick - 3 shots on target

Motherwell - 3 shots on target

Kilmarnock - 3 shots on target

Hibs - 5 shots on target

Aberdeen - 1 shot on target

Livingston - 0 shots on target

St Johnstone - 3 shots on target

St Mirren - 1 shot on target

Celtic - 1 shot on target

53 minutes ago, jack D and coke said:

Im aw offended now Franko?

I had both Fwanks on ignore now I’ve had to engage with him again ???.

5 hours ago, Boab said:

The strange thing is, the next three games are high profile games that need no motivation. Quickly followed by a Semi-Final. Games that really should take care of themselves in terms of atmosphere etc.

Probably a good thing  !

How we do in those games  ?

Two victories, a draw and a defeat and CL goes nowhere.

Only problem is Partick away, Celtic at Murrayfield, Rangers at home were high profile games and we we were extremely poor in them. He can’t morivate them in games against most of the bottom 6, only one of whom haven’t beat us this season.

Inch Hearts
7 minutes ago, Pasquale for King said:

Did I now, I showed you the proof and you said it proved your point ??.  What do the stars prove?

sted 1 hour ago

I understand the point being made about other teams but to be honest I couldn't really care about anyone else. 

I thought I'd have a look at some stats (taken from BBC) going back to after the semi final against Celtic as it seems to be pretty well accepted that it was after this game that our poor performances/form started (nearly 5 months ago). 

Scored 0 goals - 8 games

Scored 1 goal - 10 games

Scored 2 goals - 5 games

The stats for shots on target in most away matches doesn't make for great reading:

Hibs - 5 shots on target

That's actually horrendous but what is the comparison with say Aberdeen and Hibs? 

Just now, Inch Hearts said:

That's actually horrendous but what is the comparison with say Aberdeen and Hibs? 

Who knows, I think the guy who looked that up has done enough. This thread is about Levein, not Aberdeen and Hibs.

Inch Hearts
5 minutes ago, Pasquale for King said:

Who knows, I think the guy who looked that up has done enough. This thread is about Levein, not Aberdeen and Hibs.

Too true. 

13 minutes ago, Pasquale for King said:

I had both Fwanks on ignore now I’ve had to engage with him again ???.

With the I got reply you’d be forgiven for thinking I stalk him about the board digging him out for telling porkies and then him telling me to trawl back through the board 4 years to find his posts so he can be vindicated?

#sumboyfranko

2 hours ago, Seymour M Hersh said:

So leave us manager-less as we approach the most important few weeks of the season? Genius idea.:facepalm:

Put Naisy in charge till the end of the season. He gets more respect, &. More effort out the players than anyone else atm.

8 minutes ago, jack D and coke said:

With the I got reply you’d be forgiven for thinking I stalk him about the board digging him out for telling porkies and then him telling me to trawl back through the board 4 years to find his posts so he can be vindicated?

#sumboyfranko

Both Fwanks do that, have you ever seen them on the same thread at the same time ??????

2 minutes ago, sac said:

Put Naisy in charge till the end of the season. He gets more respect, &. More effort out the players than anyone else atm.

Definitely, tell the other coaches to pick a different stand between them to watch the game from and to update their CVs.

38 minutes ago, Pasquale for King said:

Did I now, I showed you the proof and you said it proved your point ??.  What do thsee stars that another poster put up prove?

sted 1 hour ago

Scored 0 goals - 8 games

Scored 1 goal - 10 games

Scored 2 goals - 5 games

Hibs - 5 shots on target

:shocked3: wow - grim reading

As per recent post - if we keep doing what we are doing, we'll keep getting what we are getting.... get the dice oot Anne and give them a roll..

3 minutes ago, Mollo said:

:shocked3: wow - grim reading

As per recent post - if we keep doing what we are doing, we'll keep getting what we are getting.... get the dice oot Anne and give them a roll..

Definition of insanity, keep doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results. I think Ann’s legacy might be tarnished by her blind faith towards Levein.

3 hours ago, Seymour M Hersh said:

I'd take that over Levein every day of the week 

Would beat going to Hampden to play for penalties twice 

Gibson_HMFC

Give the job to Daly until the end of the season. Might freshen things up a bit with new ideas.

Surely he couldn't make us any worse?

6 minutes ago, Gibson_HMFC said:

Give the job to Daly until the end of the season. Might freshen things up a bit with new ideas.

Surely he couldn't make us any worse?

Daly is one of the coaches training this lot 3 days a week whilst CL deals with his DOF duties.

We need fresh ideas which means fresh faces.

Gibson_HMFC
6 minutes ago, DH1986 said:

Daly is one of the coaches training this lot 3 days a week whilst CL deals with his DOF duties.

We need fresh ideas which means fresh faces.

Aye, i know, but it's the only real option while we look for a new manager. 

He's done pretty well when given the chance to take control of the first team in the past. 

His team looked nothing like Levein's. 

Plus, he told Brenda Rodgers where to go. haha. 

Edited by Gibson_HMFC

13 minutes ago, kimosavi said:

I'd take that over Levein every day of the week 

Would beat going to Hampden to play for penalties twice 

I'd be delighted if we were taking penalties at Hampden twice.

That would mean we were taking penalties to win the cup.

A cup win is a cup win I'm not choosy ☺

So Hearts have no way of employing a manager. Our board can't do their job. There is only one man who can manage Hearts.

Really Seymour M Hersh.....

There's a very simple solution to the current situation. Apologies if anybody else has mentioned it but Ann Budge should elevate CL back to DOF ( with the proviso he helps his mouth shut) and appoint Naismith as player manager. 

3 hours ago, Inch Hearts said:

Yeah, there's no chance of it happening though.   Now most certainly isn't the time to change managers. 

This is the perfect time.

27 minutes ago, Pasquale for King said:

Definition of insanity, keep doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results. I think Ann’s legacy might be tarnished by her blind faith towards Levein.

:thumbs_up:

Gibson_HMFC
1 minute ago, Prof said:

There's a very simple solution to the current situation. Apologies if anybody else has mentioned it but Ann Budge should elevate CL back to DOF ( with the proviso he helps his mouth shut) and appoint Naismith as player manager. 

Naismith has no managerial experience whatsoever and when Levein goes, he needs to COMPLETELY go. 

It's a no from me. 

3 hours ago, mitch41 said:

We all know that if Levein wasn’t an ex-player who was well liked he’d of been sacked by now.

On top of that him being the Director of Football makes him fireproof because Ann Budge has 

relied on him from day one and she’d find it impossible to sack him and his Bootroom even 

though the vast majority of fans know this job is too big for him.

I’d urge CL to swallow his pride, do the right thing, resign with immediate effect and maybe 

just as important take no part in the selection of a new management team.

Mitch, you have won a watch! 

3 minutes ago, Prof said:

That would not work. Even if he did agree to keep out of first team activities, team selection etc the first time something goes wrong he would be accused of meddling even if it was not the case.

So if he goes he should be relieved of all footballing duties. We would also stand a better chance of getting in a better Coach who would not fear any interference from Levein if he was still DOF. Despite the many good things he has done during his tenure at the club there are still a lot of people involved in football who don't like him and would never work alongside him.

Folk wanting Naismith as player-manager are a mix of stupid and crazy.

We need a proper manager here....not another guy who hasn’t managed a day in his life.

Inch Hearts
12 minutes ago, DH1986 said:

We need a proper manager here....not another guy who hasn’t managed a day in his life.

"Hello Norwich, it's Hearts here, ken that player we have on loan fae you this season?  Can we appoint him manager too please? "

:lol: :lol: 

17 minutes ago, DH1986 said:

STUPAZY the lot of them.

1 hour ago, mitch41 said:

So Hearts have no way of employing a manager. Our board can't do their job. There is only one man who can manage Hearts.

Really Seymour M Hersh.....

You don't half talk some mince! :laugh:

Jim Jeffries until the end of the season please then bump him up to director of football and let him spend the summer recruiting the right managerial type for Hearts. I doubt at his age he'd want a fulltime managers job but he'd be the perfect appointment for Ann. He wouldn't sign countless nobodys who don't make an impact saving us wages etc. He'd sign decent quality coaches and he'd soon weed out the not good enoughs while improving the rest.

3 hours ago, Pasquale for King said:

Did I now, I showed you the proof and you said it proved your point ??.  

No you didn't.  Where were the details of Oshinawa's payoff in the accounts?

Similarly with season ticket sales you actually proved my point.

3 hours ago, Pasquale for King said:

What do thsee stars that another poster put up prove?

sted 1 hour ago

Scored 0 goals - 8 games

Scored 1 goal - 10 games

Scored 2 goals - 5 games

Hibs - 5 shots on target

And what?  Did you read my posts earlier today.

11 minutes ago, jambonian said:

Jim Jeffries until the end of the season please then bump him up to director of football and let him spend the summer recruiting the right managerial type for Hearts. I doubt at his age he'd want a fulltime managers job but he'd be the perfect appointment for Ann. He wouldn't sign countless nobodys who don't make an impact saving us wages etc. He'd sign decent quality coaches and he'd soon weed out the not good enoughs while improving the rest.

Jim signed a few duff players in his time. 

11 minutes ago, jambonian said:

He signed countless nobodies too I’m afraid, and put us millions in debt doing so. We need to move forward, all JJ would do is reappoint Locke.

10 minutes ago, frankblack said:

No you didn't.  Where were the details of Oshinawa's payoff in the accounts?

Similarly with season ticket sales you actually proved my point.

And what?  Did you read my posts earlier today.

No you’re on ignore, did you disprove my assertation that Osh was one of our highest earners? His payoff would be in the accounts somewhere, maybe not listed as Osh payoff but as i had to explain to you all money paid out has to be accounted for doesn’t it?

The proof crowds dropped by 2k in Leveins last spell, somehow that proves season ticket sales didn’t drop?

We have barely troubled a gk for months but it’s not Leveins fault and he’s making progress?

1 hour ago, DH1986 said:

I think the point was to do it til the end of the season.

1 hour ago, Inch Hearts said:

"Hello Norwich, it's Hearts here, ken that player we have on loan fae you this season?  Can we appoint him manager too please? "

:lol: :lol: 

It does sound daft when you put it like that ?

grumpyespana
2 hours ago, Prof said:

Great idea but would Naismith not need to get certain coaching badges.

I’ve defended Craig a lot, there’s no doubt there are some on this board want levein out regardless of how well he does, and they’ve undermined their position by being critical even when we were playing well.. also the reaction on here to results when we lost so many players through injury was ridiculous.

However, Injuries ate not a factor anymore, and there is no doubt we are nowhere near the level we set at the start of the season, all confidence is gone and the fact that Craig doesn’t seem to know how to change it is extremely worrying.  Massive improvements required in the remaining fixtures otherwise it’s game overview at the end of the season for me

1 hour ago, Seymour M Hersh said:

You don't half talk some mince! :laugh:

Steak mince is lovely jubely.

18 minutes ago, Pasquale for King said:

No you’re on ignore, did you disprove my assertation that Osh was one of our highest earners? His payoff would be in the accounts somewhere, maybe not listed as Osh payoff but as i had to explain to you all money paid out has to be accounted for doesn’t it?

The proof crowds dropped by 2k in Leveins last spell, somehow that proves season ticket sales didn’t drop?

We have barely troubled a gk for months but it’s not Leveins fault and he’s making progress?

Wow. 

1. You gave a specific figure for his salary, payoff, agent fees etc. 

2. When challenged to provide a source you said the accounts.

3. Another poster linked to the published accounts and those clearly do not provide itemised figures.

4.  You then backtracked and said you read it somewhere on a forum.  Yeah, cause some random has access to strictly confidential information and leaked it somewhere no one else remembers...

Next was your assertion that attendances plummeted during Levein's first spell.   You provided eventually average attendances which failed to support your claim.  Attendances naturally drop the second year after a cup win and we were in financial trouble then.

Neil McCann and Steven Naismith as Co-Managers with Sandy Clark as assistant Manager. Is a possibility.

The current set up will undoubtedly remain in place until Ann Budge is no longer the owner, possibly not in its current form but the same personnel will be there just in different roles. Ann wants  her cash and those she has around her she trusts, I’m afraid that’s the price of her saving the club. Keep paying your FoH subs and change will happen eventually and fortunately and thanks to Ann the club will be in a good place.

6 hours ago, mitch41 said:

We all know that if Levein wasn’t an ex-player who was well liked he’d of been sacked by now.

On top of that him being the Director of Football makes him fireproof because Ann Budge has 

relied on him from day one and she’d find it impossible to sack him and his Bootroom even 

though the vast majority of fans know this job is too big for him.

I’d urge CL to swallow his pride, do the right thing, resign with immediate effect and maybe 

just as important take no part in the selection of a new management team.

Why would she find it impossible to sack  him and his staff? 

CL must be aware that current form is unacceptable. The comparisons with the Cathro era are realistic - we look that bad at times. Sadly, we seem to have once again signed players not up to the job. There are exceptions such as Uche and Haring but even they are starting to look a bit lost.

I’m a big supporter of CL but have serious doubts if he is taking us in the right direction.

The good news after nearly a month and 61 pages of drivel later is we fortunately have people in charge of the club who know what they are doing. No end of protracted, negative, sustained pish from the same people day after day will change that.

• JKBMod 12 changed the title to Levein’s time is up...
  • davemclaren pinned and unpinned this topic
  • davemclaren locked this topic