"Super" John McGinn

wanderer

47 minutes ago, i8hibsh said:

It is not even quid pro quo as it is pretty much only Hibs who benefit, just one wee club pathetically getting the begging bowl out to the big bully in the playground to help them out.  Ambrose is class example.  Celtic have their back.

This is where you are wrong. Celtic have loaned players to both Hibs and Aberdeen. The two receiving clubs get players they couldn't afford normally..

What do Celtic get? Lawall gets three confirmed votes in any matters that get brought up in SPL/SFA meetings..

Aberdeen voted with Celtic about changing the voting numbers when Rangers were out the league (all of a sudden they get Mackay-Steven and Christie on loan). Lawall works Petrie from the back and in turn they get Celtic loan players. It's not rocket science.

• Replies 1.3k

• Rudy T

• Juanjo15

• jacklivi1874

28 minutes ago, RussAsia said:

This is where you are wrong. Celtic have loaned players to both Hibs and Aberdeen. The two receiving clubs get players they couldn't afford normally..

What do Celtic get? Lawall gets three confirmed votes in any matters that get brought up in SPL/SFA meetings..

Aberdeen voted with Celtic about changing the voting numbers when Rangers were out the league (all of a sudden they get Mackay-Steven and Christie on loan). Lawall works Petrie from the back and in turn they get Celtic loan players. It's not rocket science.

Seems like it. 

Extra extra read all about it, 'Fat Erse McGinn' pulls a muscle stepping off the plane and will not play this evening ensuring his transfer to his beloved Sellik and under the wing of his mentor Broon who will show him the ropes as to how you can kick,boot,snarl,scream and most importantly cheat while wearing the 'sellik hoops' and allow him to come off the bench a couple of times this season for the occasional appearance.

The loan system is a poison. Where the OF used to buy up the better players at other clubs just to bench them, now they can lend them out on the proviso that they cannot play against their parent club. Ergo whenever Celtic play Hibs, St Mirren or Aberdeen they are never playing the strongest line up. Got to be worth a few points over the course of a season.

11 minutes ago, Spellczech said:

The loan system is a poison. Where the OF used to buy up the better players at other clubs just to bench them, now they can lend them out on the proviso that they cannot play against their parent club. Ergo whenever Celtic play Hibs, St Mirren or Aberdeen they are never playing the strongest line up. Got to be worth a few points over the course of a season.

Also helps Celtic [if they need it] when these teams take points of Rangers , us and each other . To be honest don't think this is some kind of conspiracy just a condemnation of the loan system . Teams shouldn't be allowed to loan players to teams in same league

1 hour ago, RussAsia said:

Yep. 

1 hour ago, Jamdub said:

Extra extra read all about it, 'Fat Erse McGinn' pulls a muscle stepping off the plane and will not play this evening ensuring his transfer to his beloved Sellik and under the wing of his mentor Broon who will show him the ropes as to how you can kick,boot,snarl,scream and most importantly cheat while wearing the 'sellik hoops' and allow him to come off the bench a couple of times this season for the occasional appearance.

He has already attained these attributes under the tutelage of his current Manager/Coach

1 hour ago, johnthomas said:

Also helps Celtic [if they need it] when these teams take points of Rangers , us and each other . To be honest don't think this is some kind of conspiracy just a condemnation of the loan system . Teams shouldn't be allowed to loan players to teams in same league

Apart from Sammon to Well i agree

sairyinthat
1 hour ago, Spellczech said:

designed to take points from potential rivals give automatic entry to the European annual handout.

All Out Attack

Not buying this parent club, feeder club type stuff for Celtic and Hibs, it's just coincidence. 

Both of these sets of fans used to say the same about us and Rangers, just wasn't true either. 

Big Davy NacPherson went back and forward along the M8 like a yoyo. He was good for both of us. It happens sometimes. 

Edited by All Out Attack

6 minutes ago, All Out Attack said:

Not buying this parent club, feeder club type stuff for Celtic and Hibs, it's just coincidence. 

Both of these sets of fans used to say the same about us and Rangers, just wasn't true either. 

Big Davy NacPherson went back and forward along the M8 like a yoyo. He was good for both of us. It happens sometimes. 

OBOOOA BLAIR

Hibs are taking a chance playing him . Say he gets an injury like paterson . Then nae pennies for the hibees .

18 minutes ago, All Out Attack said:

Lennon, Stubbs, Stokes, Commons, Henderson, Ambrose, McGeouch, Brown, Griffiths, Riordan, McGinn...

Aye nothing in it.

The_razors_edge
4 minutes ago, gorgie rd eh11 said:

Lennon, Stubbs, Stokes, Commons, Henderson, Ambrose, McGeouch, Brown, Griffiths, Riordan, McGinn...

Aye nothing in it.

John Collins? Pat McGinley? Ulrik Laursen? Didier Agathe? 

and from Wikipedia (not always the best source, granted)....

Hibs were the first club in Scotland who had been formed by members of the Irish Catholic population who had settled in Scotland during the 19th century. Their example led to the creation of Irish clubs in Dundee and Glasgow. These were Dundee Harp, Dundee Hibernian and Celtic.

Brother Walfrid regularly invited Hibs to play in Glasgow before Celtic were formed.[19] This included a match against Renton that drew a crowd of over 12,000.[19] Glasgow had a far greater Irish population than Edinburgh.[19] Brother Walfrid realised that a Glasgow club could do a lot more to help the Irish population in that city than relying on charity from an Edinburgh club.[19] This led in November 1887 to the formation of Celtic, who played their first match in May 1888 with players mostly borrowed from Hibs.[19][20]

The real danger to Hibs came from John Glass, who was the financial backer for Celtic. He had observed the coming of professionalism in England and correctly surmised that the same would happen in Scotland.[19] Celtic signed several of the Hibs players through offering financial inducements to the amateur Hibs players.[19] This effectively left Hibs without the team who had been highly successful in the preceding years. Celtic went on to win four league championships in the 1890s.

Mismanagement over the next few years led to the demise of Hibernians. The club inexplicably failed to attend a meeting which led to the formation of the Scottish Football Leaguein 1890. This meant that Hibs did not participate in the league, while Edinburgh rivals Hearts and St Bernard's were founder members of the league.[21] Not participating in the league meant that Hibs found friendly match opponents harder to come by, while the lease on Hibernian Park expired.[22] Hibs became homeless and the club effectively ceased operations during 1891, which meant that the remaining star players (including captain James McGhee) moved to Celtic.[2

But aye, as you say, nothing in it :rofl:

Edited by The_razors_edge

1 minute ago, gorgie rd eh11 said:

Forgot Scott Allen. There’s been so many of them.

Murdo McLeod another

Edited by Rudy T

4 minutes ago, Rudy T said:

Murdo McLeod another

The New Zealand lad.....Chris Killen was it? Another.......

52 minutes ago, All Out Attack said:

How many loans have we had from Rangers?

How anyone can argue Hibs aren’t Celtics feeder club is unbelievable.  They are both using the loan system to their advantage the same as many other clubs do too.  

6 minutes ago, south morocco said:

Darren Jackson, Andy Walker

We got Jackson on a free from Celtic did we not? 

All Out Attack
38 minutes ago, jonnothejambo said:

What a load of unadulterated pish. As usual. 

There were hefty transfer fees involved with MacPherson.

So now it's only non-transfer fee players that count. Some on here need to give up this conspiracy theory stuff. 

What about Alex Macdonald and Sandy Jardine who were Rangers legends. I'm pretty sure Jardine was a free transfer and went on to have player of the year with us. Macdonald we paid buttons for. 

The more I think about this, the more prevalent it becomes. I think we got Willie Johnston on a free or buttons. 

Whatever suits you though... 

1 minute ago, All Out Attack said:

So now it's only non-transfer fee players that count. Some on here need to give up this conspiracy theory stuff. 

What about Alex Macdonald and Sandy Jardine who were Rangers legends. I'm pretty sure Jardine was a free transfer and went on to have player of the year with us. Macdonald we paid buttons for. 

The more I think about this, the more prevalent it becomes. I think we got Willie Johnston on a free or buttons. 

In the last 20 years there has been very little movement between the clubs after they shafted us with Ritchie then Webster. 80s/90s there was a lot of movement between the clubs.  Alan Mclaren still gets my goat he was my first hero that wasn’t Robbo. 

1 hour ago, All Out Attack said:

Does not annoy you that your pathetic club live just inside Celtics a**hole

1 hour ago, The_razors_edge said:

Hibs were the first club in Scotland who had been formed by members of the Irish Catholic population who had settled in Scotland during the 19th century. Their example led to the creation of Irish clubs in Dundee and Glasgow. These were Dundee Harp, Dundee Hibernian and Celtic.

Brother Walfrid regularly invited Hibs to play in Glasgow before Celtic were formed.[19] This included a match against Renton that drew a crowd of over 12,000.[19] Glasgow had a far greater Irish population than Edinburgh.[19] Brother Walfrid realised that a Glasgow club could do a lot more to help the Irish population in that city than relying on charity from an Edinburgh club.[19] This led in November 1887 to the formation of Celtic, who played their first match in May 1888 with players mostly borrowed from Hibs.[19][20]

The real danger to Hibs came from John Glass, who was the financial backer for Celtic. He had observed the coming of professionalism in England and correctly surmised that the same would happen in Scotland.[19] Celtic signed several of the Hibs players through offering financial inducements to the amateur Hibs players.[19] This effectively left Hibs without the team who had been highly successful in the preceding years. Celtic went on to win four league championships in the 1890s.

Mismanagement over the next few years led to the demise of Hibernians. The club inexplicably failed to attend a meeting which led to the formation of the Scottish Football Leaguein 1890. This meant that Hibs did not participate in the league, while Edinburgh rivals Hearts and St Bernard's were founder members of the league.[21] Not participating in the league meant that Hibs found friendly match opponents harder to come by, while the lease on Hibernian Park expired.[22] Hibs became homeless and the club effectively ceased operations during 1891, which meant that the remaining star players (including captain James McGhee) moved to Celtic.[2

I suppose Celtic are actually Glasgow Hibernian

2 hours ago, gorgie rd eh11 said:

Aye nothing in it.

Luarsen, Killen, Collins, McGinlay to name a few more.

1 hour ago, Juanjo15 said:

How anyone can argue Hibs aren’t Celtics feeder club is unbelievable.  They are both using the loan system to their advantage the same as many other clubs do too.  

Just a shame Sevco don't have any players worth loaning out. They wouldn't loan em to Hibs for sure. 

3 hours ago, All Out Attack said:

Rubbish. I’m sure we paid for big Dave. I don’t remember us having any loans from rangers either

Does him scoring (therefor appearing) tonight make him ineligible for their parent club's CL games?

Edited by Seymour M Hersh

24 minutes ago, Seymour M Hersh said:

Does him scoring (therefor appearing) tonight make him ineligible for their parent club's CL games?

Only the qualifiers of the CL. He be eligible for any other games they play in Europe. 

29 minutes ago, Bighenry said:

Rubbish. I’m sure we paid for big Dave. I don’t remember us having any loans from rangers either

We didn’t when we sold AM

Oldco

3 hours ago, Bighenry said:

You mean Oldco sold us players like Derek Ferguson and McPherson for inflated fees. 

7 hours ago, The_razors_edge said:

By goodness Razor.  That is a good read.

I'm going to memorise it.

I presume McGinn would largely be warming the bench until Brown's career winds down in a couple of years.  That raises a critical question.

How wide is the Celtic bench?  I hope they've thought about that.

13 hours ago, All Out Attack said:

The issue is with loan players - not permanent transfers :facepalm: you don’t help yourself with the abuse when you come out with nonsense that’s not even related. McCann / McLaren / McPherson etc were all permanent transfers.

the Hibs are a feeder club because Celtic loan their players to them so that they are playing and likely to have a better chance of taking points off other teams (which they do) .

its really not rocket science and it’s not right. Hopefully the banjo boy train wreck of a transfer will see their relationship fall to pieces. But I doubt it. The B team from Leith will always have their trousers down for their Glasgow A team

All Out Attack
2 hours ago, 1971fozzy said:

The issue is with loan players - not permanent transfers :facepalm: you don’t help yourself with the abuse when you come out with nonsense that’s not even related. McCann / McLaren / McPherson etc were all permanent transfers.

the Hibs are a feeder club because Celtic loan their players to them so that they are playing and likely to have a better chance of taking points off other teams (which they do) .

its really not rocket science and it’s not right. Hopefully the banjo boy train wreck of a transfer will see their relationship fall to pieces. But I doubt it. The B team from Leith will always have their trousers down for their Glasgow A team

I never even mentioned McCann / McLaren. I mentioned MacPherson since he was a yoyo between the clubs, both ways. 

If you bothered reading it I also said, 

3 minutes ago, All Out Attack said:

I never even mentioned McCann / McLaren. I mentioned MacPherson since he was a yoyo between the clubs, both ways. 

None of them were loans and that's his point.

Are you deliberately trying to be obtuse or quite happy digging a bigger hole for youself?

4 minutes ago, All Out Attack said:

This was over 30 years ago though, and none of them were loans.

Hardly comparable to what that lot that you seem to be such a fanboy of are up to these days.

All Out Attack
3 minutes ago, Rudolf said:

None of them were loans and that's his point.

Are you deliberately trying to be obtuse or quite happy digging a bigger hole for youself?

The era was different, loan's did not occur but the same cosy relationship did. 

Free transfer and being immediately picked up by Hearts is just the same thing. 

Edited by All Out Attack

2 minutes ago, All Out Attack said:

The era was different, loan's did not occur but the same cosy relationship did. 

Free transfer and being immediately picked up by Hearts is just the same thing. 

No it isn't.

Loan players can't play against their parent club thus strengthening the team with the loan players against the loaners rivals. 

2 hours ago, 1971fozzy said:

Brilliant!

25 minutes ago, All Out Attack said:

Theres literally no point in conversing about this as your so full of holes it’s totally embarrassing.

Believe me when I say that loan player and a free transfer are completely different. Additionally a transfer (ala McPherson) and a loan player are also completely different. 

The reasons have been explained by many on this thread (if you bothered reading it ?)

Over and out.

14 minutes ago, CJGJ said:

seemingly new £2 million bid made By Celtic

Theyll bite with that. No question. The alternative is no fee come January and no Scott Allan.

fully expect a scarf over the mutant heid early next week.

Really wish Celtic would stop with bidding. Sign him up in jan for free - wouldn’t be too detrimental to Celtic but certainly would be for them 

9 hours ago, CJGJ said:

Good price that, for a player in the last year of his contract.

10 hours ago, CJGJ said:

Knocked back, according to The Sun.