49 minutes ago, Maroon Sailor said:

IMG_2653.JPG

Fountainbridge has changed so much over the years *

*hope to hell it is Fountainbridge ?

6 hours ago, NANOJAMBO said:

What is the industry going on in that pic. Why so many chimneys ? 

I am not sure but Portobello had a power station and a brick works at one point. The tallest chimney, to the right of the photo has a couple of small rotundal buildings next to it. I think at least one of them is still standing next to a car park behind what was one of the amusement arcades.

The other stuff may be in the Baileyfiled/Sir Harry Lauder Road area. A lot of that is industrial now so may have historically been industrial. I am not from Porty or have much knowledge of the area but my little knowledge could be dangerous...

6 hours ago, 3fingersreid said:

Fountainbridge has changed so much over the years *

*hope to hell it is Fountainbridge ?

Aye - that’s how I remember it from childhood, passing under the McEwans bridge on the way into town. 

Does anyone one know when the bridge came down? Must have been mid-late 90s as fountain park was completed by 2000 at the latest. 

8 hours ago, NANOJAMBO said:

In the foreground is the Buchan Pottery with its bottle kilns, not sure if the tall chimneys belong to them though. We used to live next door to someone who worked there in the 1960s but too late to ask them now.

1 hour ago, been here before said:

Thats the canal when it was drained.

Probably late 90s as the brewery is still there although no steam so looks like it was already closed.

6 minutes ago, All roads lead to Gorgie said:

The EICC under construction ?

Yeah - another area that looks so different now

5 minutes ago, Maroon Sailor said:

Yeah - another area that looks so different now

New buildings are being added all the time and it has a real modern feel to it now.

9 hours ago, NANOJAMBO said:

There's quite a few pottery kilns (the conical structures), so that'll be part of the answer.

This one's from 1890.

s_830.jpg.1000x1000_q85.jpg

Edited by Lemongrab

McVitie's factory, Gorgie 1954.  I didn't realise McVitie's started in Edinburgh; in the 1830s apparently. This looks like something from an old sci-fi film.

Scran_biscuits_000-000-038-362-R_1.JPG.1

2 hours ago, Toggie88 said:

Aye - that’s how I remember it from childhood, passing under the McEwans bridge on the way into town. 

Does anyone one know when the bridge came down? Must have been mid-late 90s as fountain park was completed by 2000 at the latest. 

This was taken in 1994

IMG_2679.JPG

37 minutes ago, All roads lead to Gorgie said:

0_edinburgh_transport_buses_terminus_26_and_44_1960s.jpg.331ec6fa2215dc4626cd55b5de233f9a.jpg

Eastfield terminus

Regent Road Post Office instead of the route on the 26. Strange

8 minutes ago, Maroon Sailor said:

Eastfield terminus

Regent Road Post Office instead of the route on the 26. Strange

I think the driver would wind the route map on as the bus progressed but that looks unusual. I remember that was the furthest the city buses reached and you needed to board an East of Scotland bus to go to Musselburgh.

16 minutes ago, All roads lead to Gorgie said:

I think the driver would wind the route map on as the bus progressed but that looks unusual. I remember that was the furthest the city buses reached and you needed to board an East of Scotland bus to go to Musselburgh.

Same at the other end. As far as Juniper Green. SMT went to Currie and Balerno

28 minutes ago, SUTOL said:

Marchmont road, there's still a parking meter there. (well very close).

https://goo.gl/maps/HNmLgpkje7D2

I wonder how much they charged back then. It's £2.50 n hour now.

5 minutes ago, superjack said:

Does anyone remember where the venchie was? Used to love playing here when I was still a wee bairn.

FB_IMG_1536747375517.jpg

FB_IMG_1536747369390.jpg

I'm sure that's Hailesland Place.  I think other areas had venchies too.

Edited by Lemongrab

46 minutes ago, Lemongrab said:

I wonder how much they charged back then. It's £2.50 n hour now.

I'm sure that's Hailesland Place.  I think other areas had venchies too.

The original and the best venchie. Im sure I remember a certain Wattie B helped out building some of it.

14 hours ago, luckyBatistuta said:

Pretty sure that’s old Dawnrazor out for a wee Sunday four...oops oar ?

? How ****in rude.... I resemble that comment!! ? 

38 minutes ago, Maroon Sailor said:

IMG_2684.JPG

That looks like Sighthill View, looking up to Calder Road.  I can't remember the Gulf garage. Must be before my time.

40 minutes ago, Maroon Sailor said:

IMG_2700.JPG

The first power station in Edinburgh. Worked there from 1971. 

A great area for second rate pubs - the Ladyfield, Barley Bree, Bissets, the Crown in Torphichen Street.

As my taste in beer became more sophisticated, Mather's became my destination of choice at lunchtime.

55 minutes ago, stuart500 said:

Looks like Craigleith Road looking down towards Flora Stevenson School? Not 100% sure though.

I'm not too sure on this one.

44 minutes ago, Stuart Lyon said:

Is that Wilkie's at corner of Gt Junction St and Henderson St? If so what was the pub called?

Whitson and Brown

1 hour ago, Dawnrazor said:

? How ****in rude.... I resemble that comment!! ? 

Knew you’d like it :lol:

2 hours ago, Maroon Sailor said:

One in Niddrie

IMG_2695.JPG

Venchie?

4 hours ago, Maroon Sailor said:

IMG_2681.JPG

Can see my old house where I spent my first 11 years on this earth.?

Edited by luckyBatistuta

25 minutes ago, Maroon Sailor said:

Whitson and Brown

Thank you - any idea what year the photo was taken MS?

Edited by Stuart Lyon

17 minutes ago, luckyBatistuta said:

Knew you’d like it :lol:

Venchie?

Can see my old house where I spent my first 11 years on this earth.?

i assumed Venchie was an abbreviation of Adventure Playground