• Radio Ga Ga

• luckyBatistuta

• ¼½¾

1 hour ago, Maroon Sailor said:

IMG_2604.JPG

St Cuthberts bakery and the head office. Fountainbridge. A St Cuthberts funeral/wedding car Daimler limo.

1 hour ago, Morgan said:

Thanks for posting all that, really interesting stuff :thumbsup: 

:thumb:

1 hour ago, Morgan said:

Thanks.

You should be a taxi driver.  

1 hour ago, 3fingersreid said:

Might try that sometime ?

You should :P

5 hours ago, Maroon Sailor said:

IMG_2603.JPG

THis thread is great. Not on since yesterday and 3 pages to catch up om

Is this the roundabout at Straiton - just down from MacDonalds?

19 hours ago, Maroon Sailor said:

IMG_2552.JPG

What a great photo - could this be when the fire station museum opened at Lauriston Place? I think it moved to McDonald Road (or vice versa).

53 minutes ago, Carl Fredrickson said:

What a great photo - could this be when the fire station museum opened at Lauriston Place? I think it moved to McDonald Road (or vice versa).

Pawnbrokers shop to the right of the second fire engine. Many years later there was a wee record shop on the right, going down towards Tollcross, called De Ja Vu.

29 minutes ago, 3fingersreid said:

Ooo get you ???

17 minutes ago, luckyBatistuta said:

Thought it was a fare point ?

10 minutes ago, 3fingersreid said:

Touché ?

Pistols at dawn?

:wink: 

3 hours ago, Maroon Sailor said:

IMG_2611.JPG

The Bailie pub on the right, heading into Stockbridge.

Edited by Morgan

9 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Pawnbrokers shop to the right of the second fire engine. Many years later there was a wee record shop on the right, going down towards Tollcross, called De Ja Vu.

Didnt you just say that? ?

Just now, Morgan said:

No, I was eating a bar of Old Jamaica.

Morgan. Simply the best chocolate bar in the world ever. Yum yum.

Just now, John Findlay said:

Morgan. Simply the best chocolate bar in the world ever. Yum yum.

I suppose it fits that you would like it John!

12 minutes ago, Morgan said:

The Bailie pub on the right, heading into Stockbridge.

And possibly the best baked tattie shop in Edinburgh opposite it. I seem to remember it had a really rubbish name like "play it again spud" or something. 

1 minute ago, Tazio said:

And possibly the best baked tattie shop in Edinburgh opposite it. I seem to remember it had a really rubbish name like "play it again spud" or something. 

Turns out it's still open, called Take It Away Spud. Used to love the option of garlic butter instead of normal in your potato. 

They were simpler times.

https://www.zomato.com/edinburgh/take-it-away-spud-stockbridge/menu#tabtop

2 minutes ago, Tazio said:

Don’t remember that but yes, hell of a name :facepalm:

1 minute ago, Morgan said:

You do realise that name will stick don’t you?

:sweeet:

Dont worry. It's what I get called by my laddie's football team coach. Well used to it. During the war...........:lol:

Just now, John Findlay said:

Dont worry. It's what I get called by my laddie's football team coach. Well used to it. During the war...........:lol:

Shut up you dodgy old git!  :lol: 

1 hour ago, Carl Fredrickson said:

THis thread is great. Not on since yesterday and 3 pages to catch up om

It is

7 hours ago, Maroon Sailor said:

IMG_2603.JPG

1 hour ago, Carl Fredrickson said:

18 minutes ago, Maroon Sailor said:

It is

That bloody roundabout is in total darkness most nights, no idea why?

7 minutes ago, luckyBatistuta said:

You coming along as my stand-in?

2F8C8314-B03B-4A9D-BDBC-D705C943F820.gif

Aye, sure thing.

You must be awfy good looking though?

2 hours ago, Carl Fredrickson said:

Never knew there was a Billiards Hall. When did that close down ?

IMG_2552.JPG

1 hour ago, Morgan said:

Pistols at dawn?

:wink: 

Use you for target practice ?

28 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Aye, sure thing.

You must be awfy good looking though?

Nah he’s not really ?

1 hour ago, luckyBatistuta said:

That bloody roundabout is in total darkness most nights, no idea why?

Try turning your headlights on ?

40 minutes ago, 3fingersreid said:

Use you for target practice ?

Nah he’s not really ?

36 minutes ago, luckyBatistuta said:

??

Think I’ll back off right now.

:wave1:

2 hours ago, Morgan said:

There's still a pawnbrokers there. Corner of Lauriston Place and Lauriston Street.

9 minutes ago, Carl Fredrickson said:

Try turning your headlights on ?

Don’t be daft, no lights and indicators on a taxi

13 minutes ago, Maroon Sailor said:

IMG_2625.JPG

I worked in the office building on the left from 1988-1990. Lothian Regional Council department of Education, Long time ago....

1 hour ago, Lemongrab said:

There's still a pawnbrokers there. Corner of Lauriston Place and Lauriston Street.

Is that Lauriston Street that goes down to the West Port?