• Maroon Sailor

• Radio Ga Ga

• luckyBatistuta

• ¼½¾

12 hours ago, NANOJAMBO said:

Carruthers was sold in 1975 so probably not.  Hearts centenary year celebrations ? 

Yep, 1974 for me too.

Brown, Carruthers, Jefferies, Prentice,  Callachan, Kay, Garland, Dick (?) and Ford.   I think!

1 hour ago, obua said:

I knew in a drunken haze I’d heard it.

I do that too obua!

I just happen to have bloody loads of stuff about Scottish/any football in general and Hearts in particular!  

19 hours ago, Morgan said:

Yep, 1974 for me too.

Brown, Carruthers, Jefferies, Prentice,  Callachan, Kay, Garland, Dick (?) and Ford.   I think!

Spot on, apart from the fact it's Alfie Conn next to Donald Ford, not Ally Dick.

6 minutes ago, argyjambo said:

Spot on, apart from the fact it's Alfie Conn next to Donald Ford, not Ally Dick.

It was actually David Dick that I thought it was!

1 hour ago, argyjambo said:

No way is that Alfie Conn - he didn't sign for Hearts until 1980

IMG_2502.JPG

Edited by Maroon Sailor

9 minutes ago, Maroon Sailor said:

IMG_2502.JPG

I agree.  Still think it’s David Dick.

28 minutes ago, Morgan said:

David Dick, between Dave Clunie and Roy Kay.

E8AEED28-55AB-4CC9-9BE3-1226CEDADD61.jpeg

London Hearts confirms on his profile.

He's the only one I didn't know - never saw him play. 

Scnorthedinburgh
On 31/08/2018 at 16:38, SE16 3LN said:

I remember when the press were all over the place, Marinello, the Scottish George Best, was away to Arsenal. He drank like George Best when I met him.

If you can find it his biography is fantastic. If you were from that area and same age lots of good name checks.

1 hour ago, Maroon Sailor said:

London Hearts confirms on his profile.

He's the only one I didn't know - never saw him play. 

Thanks MS!

I think I only saw him play a few times and it was for the reserves at that!

2 hours ago, Maroon Sailor said:

IMG_2502.JPG

I stand corrected, Ally Dick would have been at Spurs then, & never played for us...ever. looks awfy like Alfie Conn though.

8 hours ago, argyjambo said:

I stand corrected, Ally Dick would have been at Spurs then, & never played for us...ever. looks awfy like Alfie Conn though.

Aye, right enough.  Could almost be twins :qqb010:

BACEC683-E009-49DE-A729-676B8885B06A.jpeg

3 minutes ago, Tazio said:

You know how the 2nd photo has Liberton Brae printed on it...

You know I missed my last appointment at the opticians. Worse eyesight than Ray Charles and Stevie Wonder put together. DOH ME!

1 hour ago, John Findlay said:

You know I missed my last appointment at the opticians. Worse eyesight than Ray Charles and Stevie Wonder put together. DOH ME!

But you've still got better eyesight than the Ref & Linesman at the Partick v Morton game. ?

20 minutes ago, ando1504 said:

Yeah, junction of Kirk/Liberton Braes and Mayfield Road.

I thought it was but couldn't see the traffic lights, just out the picture by the looks of it. Cheers.

6 hours ago, ando1504 said:

Liberton Brae.jpg

libertonbrae.jpg

Julie Andrews and Dick van Dyke in a scene from Mary Poppins?

Edited by systemx

Montgomery Brewster
27 minutes ago, FORTHCLYDE said:

Screenshot_(2).png

The wee building on the right . 

During the summer holidays in the 70’s there used to be a kind of summer club run by students for the local kids. In the meadows.

They kept kit in there , cricket stumps, tennis bats etc. 

On 31/08/2018 at 22:20, Maroon Sailor said:

The days when a club legend had to help carry injured players off the pitch

IMG_2501.JPG

" Get your macaroon bars ,spearmint chewing gum!!!"

Ah the good old days.

11 minutes ago, Maroon Sailor said:

That's a great gif. You can see by looking at the bonds at the top right how we moved the pitch slightly to the east to allow room for the Wheatfield. 

1 hour ago, merrymac said:

" Get your macaroon bars ,spearmint chewing gum!!!"

Ah the good old days.

That was Glasgow/Hampden.  This was Kia Ora & Chipmunk crisps. :biglaugh:

7 minutes ago, NANOJAMBO said:

You are right- thinking about our very occasional Hampden trips obviously.

Memory not as good as I thought:o

No pictures to provide,but how about a wee Edinburgh quiz?

1.  Where would you find the Iron Duke in bronze, by Steell?

2. Where is the Cat's Nick?

3. On which street was Sir Arthur Conan Doyle born?

4.  Before the Scottish army went to Flodden it raised its standard in a bore stone.  Where can you see that bore stone today?

5. What famous Scot lived at 17 Heriot Row?

6. Which very famous Scot is buried in a graveyard that has been turned into a parking lot?

7. Most of us know where the Nor' Loch was located, but where was the South Loch?

8. Which corps takes precedence over all Royal guards and troops in Scotland?

9. How was the Gutted Haddie formed?

10. Which street used to be called "The Lang Gait"?

6. Which very famous Scot is buried in a graveyard that has been turned into a parking lot?

John Knox - a parking lot at Parliament Sq? Just round the corner from the Merket Cross it has a wee yellow square as a marker. 

19 minutes ago, Maple Leaf said:

4.  Before the Scottish army went to Flodden it raised its standard in a bore stone.  Where can you see that bore stone today?

7. Most of us know where the Nor' Loch was located, but where was the South Loch?

I'd never heard of the south loch before. As I had to Google it I won't post the answer.

I think the lang gait was princes street. Pretty sure I remember my grand father telling me that years ago.

25 minutes ago, Maple Leaf said:

1.  Where would you find the Iron Duke in bronze, by Steell? East End of Princes Street outside Registrar House

3. On which street was Sir Arthur Conan Doyle born? Picardy Place

5. What famous Scot lived at 17 Heriot Row? Robert Louis Stevenson

8. Which corps takes precedence over all Royal guards and troops in Scotland? Royal Company Of Archers

9. How was the Gutted Haddie formed? Soldiers digging trenches in a mutiny

The only ones I think I know. 

26 minutes ago, Maple Leaf said:

Outside St Andrew'S house. East end of Princes Street.

Nobidea

Picardy Street.

Calton Hill

Robert Louis Stevenson

John Know. 

Braid hills

Duke of Argyll armym

No idea

Princes street

32 minutes ago, Maple Leaf said:

2. Where is the Cat's Nick?  Queens Park, Arturs Seat

3. On which street was Sir Arthur Conan Doyle born? Great King Street

4.  Before the Scottish army went to Flodden it raised its standard in a bore stone.  Where can you see that bore stone today? Morningside Road just down from Churchill

5. What famous Scot lived at 17 Heriot Row? The author Stevenson

6. Which very famous Scot is buried in a graveyard that has been turned into a parking lot? John Knox

8. Which corps takes precedence over all Royal guards and troops in Scotland? Royal Company of Archers

9. How was the Gutted Haddie formed? Lava flow from Arthurs Seat

10. Which street used to be called "The Lang Gait"?  Leith Walk

Not perfect by a long shot but I tried

On 5 September 2018 at 19:33, NANOJAMBO said:

On 5 September 2018 at 19:43, merrymac said:

You are right- thinking about our very occasional Hampden trips obviously.

Memory not as good as I thought:o

Remember the spam rolls covered in dust when we scored at Hampden?

1 hour ago, Maple Leaf said:

The Iron Duke, in bronze, by Steel was in the gardens in St. Andrews Square.

17 Heriot Row was the home of the author of Treasure Island because, from his window, he could see a small pond in the gardens between Queen Street and Heriot Row.

Just read through to page 17, amazing thread with some stunning pics.

love this sort of thing.

My addition, Hutchison House and Moat House Have an interesting fact, they were both built back to front, was only when they got to building the first/second floor the mistake was noticed but they decided to continue anyway, that is why the main entrance of both flats are at the ‘back’ of Hutchison Road.

C3DCF717-CAC4-45A0-8719-822BDD21045B.jpeg

2 hours ago, Lido said:

Remember the spam rolls covered in dust when we scored at Hampden?

The old , giant egg boxes full of home made salmonella ridden  ,  "get yer ham rolls, cheese rolls". Absolutely honking. 

2 hours ago, Carl Fredrickson said:

John Knox - a parking lot at Parliament Sq? Just round the corner from the Merket Cross it has a wee yellow square as a marker. 

Correct.  :thumb:

2 hours ago, superjack said:

I'd never heard of the south loch before. As I had to Google it I won't post the answer.

I think the lang gait was princes street. Pretty sure I remember my grand father telling me that years ago.

The Lang Gait was indeed Princes Street. :thumb:

3 hours ago, Maple Leaf said:

1.  Where would you find the Iron Duke in bronze, by Steell? On horseback in front of Register House.

2. Where is the Cat's Nick?  The highest point of the Salisbury Crags

3. On which street was Sir Arthur Conan Doyle born? Picardy Place

4.  Before the Scottish army went to Flodden it raised its standard in a bore stone.  Where can you see that bore stone today? On the wall of Morningside Parish Church

5. What famous Scot lived at 17 Heriot Row? RLS

6. Which very famous Scot is buried in a graveyard that has been turned into a parking lot? John Knox (Parliament Square)

7. Most of us know where the Nor' Loch was located, but where was the South Loch? The Meadows

8. Which corps takes precedence over all Royal guards and troops in Scotland? The Royal Company of Archers

9. How was the Gutted Haddie formed?  Torrential thunderstorm in 1744

10. Which street used to be called "The Lang Gait"? Princes Street.

The members of JKB are not only endowed with good looks and charm, they also know the history of their city.  :biggrin:

7 hours ago, Maple Leaf said:

I didn't know those ones.  I'd heard of the Cat's Nick and the Gutted Haddie, but couldn't remember where or what they were. Never heard of the Lang Gait.

The South Loch was also called the Burgh Loch;  the street Boroughloch and one of the paths across the Meadows being named after it.