Jamie Walker joins Wigan (updated)

Beats

Arnold Rothstein

The only reason Miko maybe hid in the odd game was because arseholes in our support were on his back contstantly. He was 21/22 in a foreign country ffs - i spent a lot of games feeling heart sorry for the lad. 

That goal against Hibs in the 3-2 game is one of my favourite goals watching Hearts. 

Sorry, slightly off topic!

• Replies 1.2k

• Spencer

• It should have been ten

• Lord Beni of Gorgie

12 minutes ago, Notts1874 said:

Not the biggest revelation in the world....done deal as Sky would say.

A pre contract or is he leaving now?

2 minutes ago, Arnold Rothstein said:

The only reason Miko maybe hid in the odd game was because arseholes in our support were on his back contstantly. He was 21/22 in a foreign country ffs - i spent a lot of games feeling heart sorry for the lad. 

That goal against Hibs in the 3-2 game is one of my favourite goals watching Hearts. 

Sorry, slightly off topic!

All spot on.

20 minutes ago, Victorian said:

Oh shit.  Thankfully TOTP1985 is about to start.   

Im crazy for you but prefer the football. Especially the World Cup when Messi begged dont cry for me Argentina. 

Thankfully like a prayer he get into the groove. The opposition defence was frozen and we live to tell and die another day. But the final he was sorry.

Shall I take a bow?

Just now, Sir Gio said:

Im crazy for you but prefer the football. Especially the World Cup when Messi begged dont cry for me Argentina. 

Thankfully like a prayer he get into the groove. The opposition defence was frozen and we live to tell and die another day. But the final he was sorry.

Shall I take a bow?

:kirklol:

cardboardcutout
32 minutes ago, Victorian said:

Papa don't preach.

Good luck to him, he’s earned the right to make himself a few quid and we will get some money in too!

3 minutes ago, Sir Gio said:

Shall I take a bow?

Not bad.

N-N-N-N-N-Nineteen / 20

Arnold Rothstein
9 minutes ago, Ryder said:

All spot on.

I don't think it's misty eyed to suggest Miko was a much better player than Walker is either. I also think that along with Zal, he was one of the Lithuanians who cared a great deal about Hearts. Loved the clips of him steaming after the cup final too!

8 minutes ago, been here before said:

Not bad.

N-N-N-N-N-Nineteen / 20

Felt I had to express myself.  Just human nature 

3 minutes ago, Arnold Rothstein said:

I don't think it's misty eyed to suggest Miko was a much better player than Walker is either. I also think that along with Zal, he was one of the Lithuanians who cared a great deal about Hearts. Loved the clips of him steaming after the cup final too!

You wont get any arguments from me in that one. I was a big fan of the lad. Opened my eyes to how much of a complete ***** Richard Gordon is too.

Independence
53 minutes ago, cardboardcutout said:

You do know there’s football on cooncil telly! ?

Aye and it’s dreadful! 

FarmerTweedy
4 hours ago, Dazzle said:

Maybe aye, maybe naw. If he fails to perform at Wigan and they offload him he could end up unemployed. Doesn't matter to me, I didn't rate him anyway. 

I'd imagine he'll only go to Wigan if he's offered a contract rather longer than to the end of this season! 

FarmerTweedy
2 hours ago, Diadora Van Basten said:

I think if we can get £300k for him then we should offer it to Hamilton for Temps.

We need to replace Walker as the squad isn’t good enough and Temps is bang on form after getting player of the month.

I don’t think Walker realised how good he has had it with Hearts as he is given a free role and looks short of pace and confidence. I hope he does well down south but can’t really see it.

I'd like to see us bring Temps back but if it would cost any more than about £50-75k to get him this month, I'd rather we signed him on a pre-contract and he rejoined in the summer. Paying £300k to get him 4 months or so earlier would be batshit crazy!

Jamie was part of a team that got me enjoying watching Hearts again after all the shenanigans with Vlad. Wish him all the best.

FarmerTweedy
2 hours ago, SpruceBringsteen said:

Whilst we're on the drink, we should also offer £1million for that Joe Cardle. :laugh:

Not after he murdered that Biffy Clyro song!

1 minute ago, escobri said:

Jamie was part of a team that got me enjoying watching Hearts again after all the shenanigans with Vlad. Wish him all the best.

That season under Locke was probably the worst I’ve ever suffered through.

John mcCartney

just popped on here and see that the templetonmeister`s in vogue

:compute:
(top old tune that btw)

5 minutes ago, Ryder said:

We were smashing the shite but.    Which is all that matters.

::troll::

FarmerTweedy
1 hour ago, Jodami said:

They need to be more strategic with contract offers for one. As there are only 2 transfer windows each year you need to have a contract signed or know that it will be refused with a sellable asset with at least 3 windows in hand and then decide on action to take i.e. 18 months in advance. It's about being decisive and proactive. With the amount of analysis that takes place in the game now I don't doubt there will people who specialise in advising clubs in this field. 

If a player turns down any offers of a new contract, there's very little the club can actually do, other than not play them any more. You're potentially going to need a pretty big squad if you're going to freeze out every single player that has less than 18 months left on their contract. 

4 minutes ago, Ryder said:

We had a good start pumping Hibs and Aberdeen at Tynie and the place was rocking, was just too big a handicap for a young team and inexperienced manager. Onwards and upwards ever since though.

2 minutes ago, Victorian said:

We were smashing the shite but.    Which is all that matters.

::troll::

It is to some actually, fair point. :lol:

Edited by Ryder

FarmerTweedy
1 hour ago, Diadora Van Basten said:

Transfer market values Temps at £225k so don’t think I was too far out with my valuation.

Only 28 so should have a good three seasons ahead of him.

Was player of the month ahead of a lot of supposedly better players.

https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/david-templeton/profil/spieler/54268

Think it would be a mistake to wait until the Summer as our squad is too small and Temps plays the same position as Walker. He has also been playing regular so should be fit and able to hit the ground running.

You're at least  £200k out with your valuation, probably a good bit more!

1 minute ago, escobri said:

We had a good start pumping Hibs and Aberdeen at Tynie and the place was rocking, was just too big a handicap for a young team and inexperienced manager. Onwards and upwards ever since though.

It was the most frustrating season I can remember. Every time we lost and gave up on the pitch, Locke would talk about how nobody expects us to stay up anyway and it’s an impossible task... putting his arm around the kids etc. Drove me mental.

definitely onwards and upwards since though mate. :thumbsup:

Just now, escobri said:

The first few games were incredible, including the draw at Partick with Jamie scoring a cracker.

The derbies will also live long in the mind.

In fact in many ways they were among the best derby results ever.

However  most of the season was horrific. 

5 hours ago, Texia said:

I always found the comments Don Cowie made about him interesting, basically said that if he could bring himself to knuckle down and make some sacrifices he would be a sensational player but he didn’t think he had it in him. Walker definitely came across that way, rakes of natural ability but lacks the dedication to be a great player. 

Wish him luck either way even if he is a wee bit of a hun. 

FFS 

Why is it taking all weekend to complete a medical ?

I hope this deal is not going to fall through because of his injuries .

STV news just said EXPECTED to sign on Monday after a medical.

2 minutes ago, luckydug said:

Why is it taking all weekend to complete a medical ?

I hope this deal is not going to fall through because of his injuries .

STV news just said EXPECTED to sign on Monday after a medical.

He picked up an injury halfway through the medical and it's been adjourned.

2 minutes ago, Victorian said:

He picked up an injury halfway through the medical and it's been adjourned.

Don't !

Many a true word said in jest.:D

15 minutes ago, Ryder said:

What part?

The "wee bit of a hun " part.

The rest I'd broadly accept. 

What if I posted a player was broadly fine but a wee bit of a Tim?

53 minutes ago, Ryder said:

Better than boy wonder Cathro though :rofl:

Edited by kingantti1874

6 minutes ago, MacDonald Jardine said:

The "wee bit of a hun " part.

The rest I'd broadly accept. 

What if I posted a player was broadly fine but a wee bit of a Tim?

If said player was a bit Celticky, then I wouldn’t have an issue tbh.

1 hour ago, FarmerTweedy said:

I'd like to see us bring Temps back but if it would cost any more than about £50-75k to get him this month, I'd rather we signed him on a pre-contract and he rejoined in the summer. Paying £300k to get him 4 months or so earlier would be batshit crazy!

Celtic pay £50-£75k for ten year olds!

We turnover about £10 million a year so how is spending £300k on a player to improve us for the second half of the season crazy?

We have written off the second half of the season two years in a row following poor transfer windows so why make the same mistake again.

6 minutes ago, Diadora Van Basten said:

We turnover about £10 million a year so how is spending £300k on a player to improve us for the second half of the season crazy?

We have written off the second half of the season two years in a row following poor transfer windows so why make the same mistake again.

I think the point was more that it wouldn’t cost anything like that much to get him. I’d like us to bring him back too.

3 minutes ago, Ryder said:

I think the point was more that it wouldn’t cost anything like that much to get him. I’d like us to bring him back too.

Possibly but I can’t see Hamilton being in any rush to sell him given his performances this year.

18 minutes ago, Diadora Van Basten said:

Possibly but I can’t see Hamilton being in any rush to sell him given his performances this year.

That’s a very good point. He could be the difference between them staying up or not. Personally I’d like to sign him, but I wouldn’t want us to spend anything like that amount on him. 

1 hour ago, FarmerTweedy said:

If a player turns down any offers of a new contract, there's very little the club can actually do, other than not play them any more. You're potentially going to need a pretty big squad if you're going to freeze out every single player that has less than 18 months left on their contract. 

That's clearly not what I'm saying. You identify potential high value assets and act accordingly. You wouldn't stop playing them if they didn't sign, you would make it known within the game they were available. At the same time you would start the process of recruiting in that position if there is no one you think can be promoted from the under 20s.That's what a director of football should be doing. 

2 minutes ago, Jodami said:

That's clearly not what I'm saying. You identify potential high value assets and act accordingly. You wouldn't stop playing them if they didn't sign, you would make it known within the game they were available. At the same time you would start the process of recruiting in that position if there is no one you think can be promoted from the under 20s.That's what a director of football should be doing. 

We offered to make him our highest paid player, continued to play him and attempted to recruit new players whilst also promoting kids. 

FarmerTweedy
3 hours ago, Diadora Van Basten said:

If you can't see why paying £300k to get David Templeton from Hamilton for half a season (actually a little less than half!) would be batshit crazy, there's no hope for you really! 

5 hours ago, FarmerTweedy said:

If you can't see why paying £300k to get David Templeton from Hamilton for half a season (actually a little less than half!) would be batshit crazy, there's no hope for you really! 

I think I have explained why I think it’s worth it, perhaps you could explain why you feel it’s not rather than getting personal.

Thought Police
6 minutes ago, Diadora Van Basten said:

I think I have explained why I think it’s worth it, perhaps you could explain why you feel it’s not rather than getting personal.

The guy has a long history of injury problems that only seem to have gone away in the last 6 months or so. His contract is up at the end of the season and I can’t see a clamour of clubs going after him. So I’d say £300,000 is excessive just in the hope he improves us for less than half a season.

• redm changed the title to Jamie Walker joins Wigan for £300k (updated)
  • davemclaren locked this topic