Indy Ref Part Deux

Armageddon

Cruyff Turn

Stay in the UK and get on with it?

I voted Yes in 2014 and voted Leave last year but feel alienated now.

Personally the UK is working for me, I'm currently working in Devonport and waiting for a start on the new nuclear submarines the Dreadnought class. Call it selfish if you will but I'm happy with this just now.

Stay and get on with it? :laugh: yes, because we've had a cracking deal from being in the Union right enough.

Fair enough, that is what it is all about and good luck to you, works work but will you be allowed to vote if you aren't a resident?

• Replies 3.9k
Space Mackerel

Stay in the UK and get on with it?

I voted Yes in 2014 and voted Leave last year but feel alienated now.

Personally the UK is working for me, I'm currently working in Devonport and waiting for a start on the new nuclear submarines the Dreadnought class. Call it selfish if you will but I'm happy with this just now.

See that's fine, your job is tied to the UK defence industry, much like mine was 20 years ago, arguments are better if people divulge a wee bit personal info about them and their reasons.

Far too many sniping on here with their usernames with no reason to back up other than they like being British. The arguments are way more important than you're self identity. My arguments are based on economics, politics and socially, not because I'm "Scottish"

Space Mackerel

If the UK has one of the worst performing currencies in the world and coupled with a trade deficit of ?133bn , and also a national debt approaching ?17tn could it then be a justifiable question to pose to Teresa May and her ilk this.

Does she and her government really believe that the UK can afford to be an "INDEPENDENT" country ???

This was posed to her at prime minster"s questions by an SNP MSP.

You mean this? [emoji1]

https://twitter.com/daily_politics/status/841990980404367360

I think this thread has established that politicians are self serving liars who will say anything to get elected.

Under independence my vote has a better chance of getting rid of a government I don't like

Not a fan of his by any means but looked for his comments on Hillsborough. He didn't mock the victims.

Apologies mocked was probably the wrong word.

PRO-INDEPENDENCE writer Stuart Campbell refuses to backtrack on his twisted claims view despite a court ruling the supporters were blameless and were unlawfully killed.

fc5c87aeab8bb021e1c0324a436539b6.jpg

Absolutely vile little man. And I'm nonLiverpool fan by the way, I can't stand Liverpool but draw the line at that kind of thing

There's more.

Campbell also wrote a blog defending his claim and complaining about ?the unending, maudlin obsession of the club?s fans? with the disaster.

But when asked on Twitter about the verdict yesterday, he said: ?My thoughts are that anyone trolling for a reaction on it can go and get ****ed.?

All of the above... absolute horse****. You are completely deluded.

For starters, Brexit was the result of internal politics within the Conservative Party. The result being the mess that the country is in now.

Absolutely fecking bonkers that the SNP are getting the rap for brexit now tae???!

I voted Yes, for Brexit and I don't like the SNP how does that compute??? WORK ME OOT FRANKYBOY[emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]

I don't believe the SNP want that agreement. I believe they want to give the impression that Indy2 is their only option and blaming it on Westminster an ideal scenario.

The Brexit vote was a lifeline for the SNP, not a disaster.

Space Mackerel

Apologies mocked was probably the wrong word.

PRO-INDEPENDENCE writer Stuart Campbell refuses to backtrack on his twisted claims view despite a court ruling the supporters were blameless and were unlawfully killed.

fc5c87aeab8bb021e1c0324a436539b6.jpg

Absolutely vile little man. And I'm nonLiverpool fan by the way, I can't stand Liverpool but draw the line at that kind of thing

There's more.

Campbell also wrote a blog defending his claim and complaining about ?the unending, maudlin obsession of the club?s fans? with the disaster.

But when asked on Twitter about the verdict yesterday, he said: ?My thoughts are that anyone trolling for a reaction on it can go and get ****ed.?

Actually, you're just s bad as him, bringing up this tragedy to political point score on here. Think about it.

You mean reminding people of this guys character is equal to what he says?

I mean that's a streatch even for you. This is the guy who said a few weeks back that he wished an MSPs father had come out as gay earlier in life to stop him being born... a man of pretty vile opinions.

Actually, would the Scottish Broadcasting Corporation not have to buy Eastenders from the BBC? Can't see that being allowed.

It will be wall to wall River City.

(Probably for another thread, not a particularly useful contribution!)

Do you think BBC Scotlands output is crap because we're just shite as a nation at absolutely everything or maybe because the budgets are low? Do you think with a bigger budget we'd just produce more River City type garbage seeing we're just total numpties up here and we need the actual BBC to produce real quality television like Eastenders?

The ROI gets the BBC for free too btw. Add to the fact the BBC makes about ?300m per year selling all their output ie everything they produce to every country on the planet, so potentially 7 billion people and we contribute more than that to the BBC coffers ourselves per year in our rubbish wee country of 5 million.

So my point really is how much do you think it would cost us to buy that shite from them? A billion? They'd just refuse to sell us it out of spite?

Do you think BBC Scotlands output is crap because we're just shite as a nation at absolutely everything or maybe because the budgets are low? Do you think with a bigger budget we'd just produce more River City type garbage seeing we're just total numpties up here and we need the actual BBC to produce real quality television like Eastenders?

The ROI gets the BBC for free too btw. Add to the fact the BBC makes about ?300m per year selling all their output ie everything they produce to every country on the planet, so potentially 7 billion people and we contribute more than that to the BBC coffers ourselves per year in our rubbish wee country of 5 million.

So my point really is how much do you think it would cost us to buy that shite from them? A billion? They'd just refuse to sell us it out of spite?

I don't care.

But Space Mackerel "friend" clearly does.

Space Mackerel

You mean reminding people of this guys character is equal to what he says?

I mean that's a streatch even for you. This is the guy who said a few weeks back that he wished an MSPs father had come out as gay earlier in life to stop him being born... a man of pretty vile opinions.

I really couldn't care less about what his opinions are on that day. Maybe you should focus your anger on North Yorkshire Police and the UK state subsequent cover up?

And as for that tweet to Mundell, it's been brushed away as a bit of a tasteless joke. There's been plenty gay folk backed him up on it if you care to do some background reading.

Never ceases to make me laugh when people use a tweet to back up their point about some "vile" individual as if it totally vindicates the viewpoint they believe to be right.

Somebody said a bad word or said a bad tweet on the internet? Dry your ****ing eyes. Wings is a blogger and he can say what he wants, don't you guys know how the Internet works yet naw?

Never ceases to make me laugh when people use a tweet to back up their point about some "vile" individual as if it totally vindicates the viewpoint they believe to be right.

Somebody said a bad word or said a bad tweet on the internet? Dry your ******* eyes. Wings is a blogger and he can say what he wants, don't you guys know how the Internet works yet naw?

True. But that's not the point.

He's a hinderance not an asset to independence.

So are the SNP. Alistair Darling and Goagsy Broon were both a hindrance to Better Together. What's your point?

Space Mackerel

What about that Daily Telegraph lady who penned that article today saying NS should be beheaded? Any comment?

So are the SNP. Alistair Darling and Goagsy Broon were both a hindrance to Better Together. What's your point?

No they weren't. They led it and won it.

The hindrance of Yes was the SNP's white paper. Not necessarily the SNP.

No they weren't. They led it and won it.

The hindrance of Yes was the SNP's white paper. Not necessarily the SNP.

The SNP are a hindrance to Indy imo.

I think pretty much any politician is a hindrance to a cause. They're all lying, conniving tossers yet for some reason people seem to believe one and then try to show the other up it's hilarious. They couldn't lie straight in their beds the whole lot of them

For example on brexit I had Cameron and Gideon on one side and Gove and Johnson on the other. How the **** are you meant to pick a winner out of that?

What about that Daily Telegraph lady who penned that article today saying NS should be beheaded? Any comment?

Another ill informed pig headed loud mouth. Why are you arguing such a position? Why do you assume I think that's any better?

You linked a man who has 0 tact and is regularly abusive to a number of groups and peoples due to nothing more than his own prejudice.

Like Melanie Phillips or that woman you refer to in the Telegraph. Best avoid such people. They'll rot your brain Cosmic Cod :thumbsup:

Space Mackerel

Another ill informed pig headed loud mouth. Why are you arguing such a position? Why do you assume I think that's any better?

You linked a man who has 0 tact and is regularly abusive to a number of groups and peoples due to nothing more than his own prejudice.

Like Melanie Phillips or that woman you refer to in the Telegraph. Best avoid such people. They'll rot your brain Cosmic Cod :thumbsup:

I linked an article that explains in detail why GERS is a bag of shite.

I even stated in my OP I wouldn't link it for the subsequent nonsense I would attract.

Debate the points in the article, not the author please.

The SNP are a hindrance to Indy imo.

I think pretty much any politician is a hindrance to a cause. They're all lying, conniving tossers yet for some reason people seem to believe one and then try to show the other up it's hilarious. They couldn't lie straight in their beds the whole lot of them

For example on brexit I had Cameron and Gideon on one side and Gove and Johnson on the other. How the **** are you meant to pick a winner out of that?

Stop looking at the salesman and listen to the substance perhaps? If more folk did Cameron would've been humped in 2015. We'd probably have a bigger LibDem party as well tbh!

Think you've gone a tad far on the other side of the coin mind.

Stop looking at the salesman and listen to the substance perhaps? If more folk did Cameron would've been humped in 2015. We'd probably have a bigger LibDem party as well tbh!

Think you've gone a tad far on the other side of the coin mind.

Listen to the substance from that bunch of lying toe rags????

Not sure if serious.....

I linked an article that explains in detail why GERS is a bag of shite.

I even stated in my OP I wouldn't link it for the subsequent nonsense I would attract.

Debate the points in the article, not the author please.

But i never debated that point. I picked you up on playing the man yourself!

If GERS is shit, which it's not and many posters have explained why here and elsewhere, the Scottish Government, which is SNP led should amend the parameters of their reporting to be more accurate. They can do so. It's their figures and their report.

If that bad, why don't they?

Listen to the substance from that bunch of lying toe rags????

Not sure if serious.....

Everything Remain had argued is largely happening. Devalued pound, political instability, independence on the cards, an intransigent and bitter EU...

The message matters. Listen to it and engage there.

I agree Cameron's a twat. But I'd happily take him, Clegg and Miliband back with open arms. This lot are a shambles - May, Jez and little Tim Farron.

Space Mackerel

But i never debated that point. I picked you up on playing the man yourself!

If GERS is shit, which it's not and many posters have explained why here and elsewhere, the Scottish Government, which is SNP led should amend the parameters of their reporting to be more accurate. They can do so. It's their figures and their report.

If that bad, why don't they?

Go and read the article.

Everything Remain had argued is largely happening. Devalued pound, political instability, independence on the cards, an intransigent and bitter EU...

The message matters. Listen to it and engage there.

I agree Cameron's a twat. But I'd happily take him, Clegg and Miliband back with open arms. This lot are a shambles - May, Jez and little Tim Farron.

I listened, ignored them all and made up my own mind by reading things and trying to do a bit research. There are few decent politicians nowadays, they all look and sound like these management type wankers who speak a lot but say nothing.

Independence will be on the cards for years and years. Labour are irrelevant even in Scotland and with perpetual Tory governments that's not going to go away.

Space Mackerel

I listened, ignored them all and made up my own mind by reading things and trying to do a bit research. There are few decent politicians nowadays, they all look and sound like these management type wankers who speak a lot but say nothing.

Independence will be on the cards for years and years. Labour are irrelevant even in Scotland and with perpetual Tory governments that's not going to go away.

You can add in the MSM news output too on tv these days. It's actually embarrassing the standards now when you think of the hard hitting old school reporters from the 70's and 80's.

deesidejambo

You can add in the MSM news output too on tv these days. It's actually embarrassing the standards now when you think of the hard hitting old school reporters from the 70's and 80's.

Except for The National of course.

Space Mackerel

Except for The National of course.

You moaning about having a solitary daily newspaper in the U.K. that is pro Independence?

If you actually bothered to read it, in between your copies of OK and Womans Own, it can be actually quite critical of the SNP. It stirs debate.

I really couldn't care less about what his opinions are on that day. Maybe you should focus your anger on North Yorkshire Police and the UK state subsequent cover up?

Quite right. Delighted that the 99 campaign has succeeded. Although the Rev wouldn't have thought it should've given his views Liverpool fans were the cause and fault. Not the Police.

And as for that tweet to Mundell, it's been brushed away as a bit of a tasteless joke. There's been plenty gay folk backed him up on it if you care to do some background reading.

Nice edit. I suppose we could brush some of the Salmomd and Sturgeon as tasteless jokes as well?

Look, independence (like Brexit) is on the cards until it happens then it's not an issue.

Perhaps, just maybe, to stop perpetual SNP grievance mongering and the diminishment of debate over our public sevices and how our state in Scotland relates to its people. Because right now none of it works well.

Space Mackerel

Quite right. Delighted that the 99 campaign has succeeded. Although the Rev wouldn't have thought it should've given his views Liverpool fans were the cause and fault. Not the Police.

Nice edit. I suppose we could brush some of the Salmomd and Sturgeon as tasteless jokes as well?

Still trying to point score over a daft tweet, you'll never make the upper echelons that Donald Findlay got to with that mindset.

Read the article yet? Got anything to say to dismiss his arguments or a wee bit scared of a few truth bullets?

This thread is like de Ja vu.

Scotland has been stuck in some sort of temporary flux, a sort of time loop where we keep going over and over the same discussing a with no progress being Made.

Roxy Hearts

Ian Murray MP specifically asked the question of Theresa May yesterday about plans to take back powers from Holyrood. She confirmed that no powers would be taken back and the likeliehood was that further powers would be devoled post Bexit.............so who is telling porkies.

Space Mackerel

Ian Murray! Labour. Enough said.

Wrecked his supposedly Socialist party for his own personal grievance and Blairite vision.

I actually glad this cretin is nowhere near our club now. And as a FoH member, I'll be vocal as **** if he ever gets near involved in HMFC again.

Still trying to point score over a daft tweet, you'll never make the upper echelons that Donald Findlay got to with that mindset.

Read the article yet? Got anything to say to dismiss his arguments or a wee bit scared of a few truth bullets?

Like many won't support the Daily Mail with reading their page. I am slightly hesitant to give the Rev anymore than he needs.

Not a court lawyer mate. Much better lawyers than Donald out there in that field you'd want to aspire to.

Space Mackerel

Like many won't support the Daily Mail with reading their page. I am slightly hesitant to give the Rev anymore than he needs.

Not a court lawyer mate. Much better lawyers than Donald out there in that field you'd want to aspire to.

I'm sure a 0.00000000001p won't matter to big economic picture. After all, can you put a price on education?

Actually, thinking about, there's no adverts on it, it's all subsidised with donations, he recently got ?120,000 in 2 weeks, you're safe.

Wrecked his supposedly Socialist party for his own personal grievance and Blairite vision.

I actually glad this cretin is nowhere near our club now. And as a FoH member, I'll be vocal as **** if he ever gets near involved in HMFC again.

Tut tut. Man not ball eh?

End of the day though he's right to ask that question. Callum McCaig and Joanna Cherry asked charged questions on party politics lines, Murray asked if Scotland would get more powers from Brexit. Why have the SNP, party of Scotland (so we are told), not?

You're in the party? Care to explain why seeking extra powers as a plan b to independence has not been as prominent?

I'm sure a 0.00000000001p won't matter to big economic picture. After all, can you put a price on education?

Actually, thinking about, there's no adverts on it, it's all subsidised with donations, he recently got ?120,000 in 2 weeks, you're safe.

You can put a price on education. Check the figures on cuts to education under the SNP.

I can't believe we are going to go through all this again within a few short years.

I voted no last time but won't bother voting at all this time. I'm sick of it. The way people conducted themselves last time out was nothing short of disgusting and that's both sides of the argument. You can see it creeping in on here already and I'll bet for sure it's started with gusto on other social media platforms.

This is now the only such platform I have an account for. Deleted Facebook a week or so after the last referendum due to the abuse given out by a large element of the so called "45". "Ashamed to know you" "you can't seriously say your Scottish anymore" were a few of the more light hearted comments.

What will be will be and good luck to whoever prevails but I'm out. Things will be much more rabid this time around.

http://chokkablog.blogspot.co.uk/2017/03/richard-murphy-gers-denier.html?m=1

A response.

deesidejambo

I can't believe we are going to go through all this again within a few short years.

I voted no last time but won't bother voting at all this time. I'm sick of it. The way people conducted themselves last time out was nothing short of disgusting and that's both sides of the argument. You can see it creeping in on here already and I'll bet for sure it's started with gusto on other social media platforms.

This is now the only such platform I have an account for. Deleted Facebook a week or so after the last referendum due to the abuse given out by a large element of the so called "45". "Ashamed to know you" "you can't seriously say your Scottish anymore" were a few of the more light hearted comments.

What will be will be and good luck to whoever prevails but I'm out. Things will be much more rabid this time around.

Fear not. May and Sturgeon will work out a deal in the next week now that both prefer Single Market.

If they are smart that is

The similarities between the Brexit scenario and this are so obvious.

May's comments regarding being stronger in a Union, while at the same time taking us out of one are stupifying (or patronising or arrogant or dismissive or all of the above).

It's all quite funny, in a way.

It is.

As is the snp stance of wanting to leave a union because we cant remain in one.

By The Light..

The SNP are a cult.

Far too much politics, in fact most of their MSPs are career politicians who offer nothing but political point scoring.

Delivering nothing except a 17.5% rise in my council tax and more income tax.

If they did something serious like the war cry "its Scotlands oil" and invade Norway and take all the oil cash but ffs what are they offering, freedom from westminster, whoopdee do, freedom to do what?

The SNP are a cult.

Far too much politics, in fact most of their MSPs are career politicians who offer nothing but political point scoring.

If they did something serious like the war cry "its Scotlands oil" and invade Norway and take all the oil cash but ffs what are they offering, freedom from westminster, whoopdee do, freedom to do what?

Ah the old council tax issue. Criticised for freezing it, criticised for unfreezing it. Also, the SNP didn't raise it, the council did.

zoltan socrates

The SNP are a cult.

Freedom to gain our independance so that we can piss it up the wall relinquishing it to the ailing eu

Your exact words were that the SNP engineered brexit but don't trust me, here's your post below;

Try quoting the original post rather than taking a post out of context.

You are a third-rate poster who has gone for the childish approach to attack the man rather than debate a post in context.

I have never added a poster to the ignore list but you could be the first.