Jeremy Corbyn

joseywales

It's good to see others engaging with all parties to try and work out what is best in their opinion. Sadly, so many people seem totally entrenched in their views and ridicule or slander anything that they disagree with. It's incredibly tiresome and ruins every single political debate on here.

• Replies 912

I'll admit that I disliked the guy however I think he's come across very well. Admittedly I can't tell you whether their policies are any good!

The girl from the greens has also done very well and Angus Robertson comes over very well.

I'll spend next week looking at the policies but I'm not sure which way I'm leaning at the moment.

Robertson came across like his usual pompous self.

Saying Police Scotland numbers have stayed the same. No mention of the stress and extra workload Police Scotland are under, but hey the numbers have stayed the same so everything is fine.

It's good to see others engaging with all parties to try and work out what is best in their opinion. Sadly, so many people seem totally entrenched in their views and ridicule or slander anything that they disagree with. It's incredibly tiresome and ruins every single political debate on here.

Like quite a few others on here I largely skip most of the pish posted.

Trapper John McIntyre

Nope. Just not a fan of linking to sites that have an agenda. And being of socialist leanings, I'm always going to be a bit biased in my assessment. 

And, anyway, what would it matter if I were?

Its just that some of us remember Jeremy from days gone by...

That might be a problem for younger people who only see a loveable old eccentric who appears to mean well.

Trapper John McIntyre

Robertson came across like his usual pompous self.

Saying Police Scotland numbers have stayed the same. No mention of the stress and extra workload Police Scotland are under, but hey the numbers have stayed the same so everything is fine.

He'll have plenty of time to study his figures from next Friday morning.

Captain Sausage

me me me me me me, sums you up. Typical Houston punter, think they're it, when they usually come fae, Linwood, Johnstone and feegie.

May I ask why you want independence? It has nothing to do you thinking you'd be better off?

I'm from Glasgow if it makes you feel better. But that's the wrong Houston buddy.

Its just that some of us remember Jeremy from days gone by...

That might be a problem for younger people who only see a loveable old eccentric who appears to mean well.

You're younger than me, I don't remember JC. Just like the rest of us. Once he become a threat the establishment went to town.

Space Mackerel

He'll have plenty of time to study his figures from next Friday morning.

Hi John, you must have missed this earlier on another thread.

51....5-1'ed.

8cf6b312e92c743891f2053096273e92.png

Trapper John McIntyre

You're younger than me, I don't remember JC. Just like the rest of us. Once he become a threat the establishment went to town.

You've no idea what age I am. And with your strong grasp of political discourse and all round gravitas, I find it hard to accept you didn't know who Jeremy Corbyn was before he became Labour leader.

Trapper John McIntyre

Fair enough, he's not everyone's cup of tea.

But my god, May looks like Thatcher: The Resurrection Years! Her disdain for people not of her ilk is tangible, and will result in more misery for more people. At least JC's trying to help folk.

Thatcher had brains.

Trapper John McIntyre

Hi John, you must have missed this earlier on another thread.

8cf6b312e92c743891f2053096273e92.png

The same poll that said Nicola Sturgeon is now the most disliked politician in Scotland?

You've no idea what age I am. And with your strong grasp of political discourse and all round gravitas, I find it hard to accept you didn't know who Jeremy Corbyn was before he became Labour leader.

No idea. He's winning his election and the SNP will wipe the floor with the Tory scum up here.

Space Mackerel

The same poll that said Nicola Sturgeon is now the most disliked politician in Scotland?

Oh John, you've been hanging about the Brit Nats Twitter feeds too much today as per normal eh?

So do you think you'd be better off in an independent Scotland? If so, is it all about you you you you you and are you being a hypocrite? Or am I suffering from a logical disconnect somewhere?

Full democracy. Full power. Tell me why would anyone not want to run their own country. Weirdos.

Trapper John McIntyre

Oh John, you've been hanging about the Brit Nats Twitter feeds too much today as per normal eh?

Oh Spunker, just hanging around the same poll findings as you have.

Space Mackerel

Oh Spunker, just hanging around the same poll findings as you have.

51 seats, where have I seen these numbers before?

Captain Sausage

Full democracy. Full power. Tell me why would anyone not want to run their own country. Weirdos.

So, let me get this right...

I shouldn't vote for what I believe is best for both my family and the country, because that would be, what? Selfish?

Can you tell me why that is? Is my opinion wrong? Should we continue to rack up the deficit and burden future generations? I'm open to sensible discourse, but first I'd like you to clear up my first question - am I selfish for wanting the best for my family and the country?

Trapper John McIntyre

51 seats, where have I seen these numbers before?

51 seats. No power.

Trapper John McIntyre

Aye, she also had a remorseless hatred for anyone who wasn't her. Sorry man, just going to bail on this, as May is a horrible evil witch. Her policies have had a negative impact on my life, and that of my family. She is the reincarnation of Thatcher, who similarly had a negative impact on more people than is justifiable. Horrible women, supported by a horrible party. Enough now.

So she won't get your vote then?

51 seats. No power.

A bit like the Tories then. JC has risen. Nae luck, SNP at Holyrood and JC labour at WM. :rofl: after all the effort you put in to stop indyref2. Ha fecking ha. Traitors

Space Mackerel

51 seats. No power.

What if it's a hung parliament? You're getting a bit ahead of yourself here.

I know, just saying. I'd already slagged the way American pronunciation of Houston, donkeys ago. But hey you're still a #%?&.

**** me aussie you've got issues bud. Seriously [emoji15]

Aye, they're called traitors, just as well I'm not the justice secretary. Such fun to be had.

Warped pal. It's been said by many but it's people like you that give the SNP a bad name.

Answer this. Seeing as SNP are so vehemently against austerity, why haven't they used their powers to end it in Scotland?

Warped pal. It's been said by many but it's people like you that give the SNP a bad name.

Answer this. Seeing as SNP are so vehemently against austerity, why haven't they used their powers to end it in Scotland?

in brigadoon we dont have any, westminsters keeping our cut, the *******s wont even let us pay our share, westminster their monsters dont you know

I don't care about the SNP. Powers? Only &?&@%@%#& would be happy with small potatoes.

SHITEBAGS! and total treacherous lapdogs.

in brigadoon we dont have any, westminsters keeping our cut, the *******s wont even let us pay our share, westminster their monsters dont you know

Heath, Smith etc... And their backers were indeed monsters.

Space Mackerel

I don't care about the SNP. Powers? Only &?&@%@%#& would be happy with small potatoes.

SHITEBAGS! and total treacherous lapdogs.

Is this a quote from a Nigel Farage speech?

Aw naw, plagiarism.

Oh dear john, you will serious lose yer mind when we take your scum unionist Tory filth to the cleaners. Utter vermin filthy scum b@stards and any so called scot who votes Tory. Well...

Tick Tock unionist filth, traitors to Scotland. Bleach wouldn't even touch your shame.

You've lost your ****ing mind!

What a sad, sad post - filled with hatred. It's really sad that in 2017, there are still people this ignorant and aggressive.

Here here. An absolute sad sack. Probably scared of his own shadow in the real world.

Bugger the other leaders gibbering sh..e, I am really excited awaiting the roll out of Big Boris by the Tory Party to set us all straight as to what we should be voting for in this election. Bring on the super sub, you know he will make sense. This was true during Brexit, you can trust him, and them again. Go May go. By the way where has he been up to now?.

SwindonJambo

Oh dear john, you will serious lose yer mind when we take your scum unionist Tory filth to the cleaners. Utter vermin filthy scum b@stards and any so called scot who votes Tory. Well...

Tick Tock unionist filth, traitors to Scotland. Bleach wouldn't even touch your shame.

You are a deeply bitter,aggressive and sad individual. I actually feel sorry for you. Others on this thread might disagree but respect one another's right to their opinions. You come across as being extremely aggressive and do nothing whatsoever to win others over to your cause.

Agreed. He desperately needs to seek help.

The most important thing to my mind is the Tories not getting this huge majority that Mrs May seemed to take for granted when announcing the election.

Back in 2010 when it suited the coalition they decided on fixed term parliaments.

Now in 2017 again when it suited them they forced parliament to allow an election .

They should not have been allowed to manipulate the democratic system to suit their own ends.

It would fun watching TM squirming with an even smaller or no majority. It would certainly keep her on her toes and stop her agreeing to any old deal in Europe.

I feel if she gets a big majority she will have no one to challenge her which would be bad for Brexit.

SwindonJambo

The most important thing to my mind is the Tories not getting this huge majority that Mrs May seemed to take for granted when announcing the election.

Back in 2010 when it suited the coalition they decided on fixed term parliaments.

Now in 2017 again when it suited them they forced parliament to allow an election .

They should not have been allowed to manipulate the democratic system to suit their own ends.

It would fun watching TM squirming with an even smaller or no majority. It would certainly keep her on her toes and stop her agreeing to any old deal in Europe.

I feel if she gets a big majority she will have no one to challenge her which would be bad for Brexit.

Spot on. Complete Dominance by 1 party is never healthy.

I disagree with you on Brexit but then that's because I believe there is a lot of fluff and bluster going on. Europe are shit scared of losing money and straight access to the world's deepest capital market. Britain is shit scared of the mess of an Irish border with customs and tariff walls preventing free trade. There will be a convoluted deal on all this with a fudge created on migration.

You are correct about the EU losing financially but I can't see us winning financially either.  

Why do you think Teresa was straight over to kiss Trump's arse? He's got the contract to build the wall and the EU are paying for it. As you know, Scotland needs immigration so your lot are coming over here and the immigrants are going in the walled off province.

Seriously though, the border question must be uppermost in your thoughts, for obvious reasons, but free trade is gone without free movement of people so the fudge would have to be a down right lie or a very costly, in through the back door, fudge that wouldn't be brexit at all, or maybe it would be and that's why they aren't calling it UKexit. With that lot anything's possible.

You are correct about the EU losing financially but I can't see us winning financially either.

Why do you think Teresa was straight over to kiss Trump's arse? He's got the contract to build the wall and the EU are paying for it. As you know, Scotland needs immigration so your lot are coming over here and the immigrants are going in the walled off province.

Seriously though, the border question must be uppermost in your thoughts, for obvious reasons, but free trade is gone without free movement of people so the fudge would have to be a down right lie or a very costly, in through the back door, fudge that wouldn't be brexit at all, or maybe it would be and that's why they aren't calling it UKexit. With that lot anything's possible.

Free trade isn't gone. Free trade and the single market are hugely different. Canada has Free Trade with the EU but not Single Market access.

Free movement of people isn't necessary for free trade to occur. There's no people movement in the Ceta deal, for example. You're correct in saying that the right to work anywhere is the bone of contention.

Can't disagree with that assessment. God knows what the thinking was with announcing that tax on property for people requiring care - a massive vote loser.

One thing the 'salt of the earth folk oop north' have never got is that for the South, Maggie's story and focus on business was the ultimate girl made good story for the Souths working\ aspirational class. How they so misjudged this with the ultimate symbol of this (home ownership) reeks of complacency.

Jambo-Jimbo

For once I'm going to agree with you on this.

it's just a pity the SNP will hand that democracy and power straight over to Brussels if the SNP get their version of what they think Independence means.

zoltan socrates

We already do weirdo

jambo lodge

Spot on. Complete Dominance by 1 party is never healthy.

It certainly isn't , just look at Scotland. Ten years of power and nothing to show for it except declining Education and NHS............and the parliament has the powers to change that.

Have you had a look at the NHS or Education system down South? Much, much, much worse. 

Still that doesn't support your political agenda, so you'll just ignore it. 

Have you had a look at the NHS or Education system down South? Much, much, much worse. 

Still that doesn't support your political agenda, so you'll just ignore it.

SNP in a nutshell type response

The Scottish Parliament Elections are set up in such a way that one party dominance shouldn't happen.

It's just that the opposition parties are too incompetent to get their message across to voters or the voters don't like their message anyway. Let's face it the Tory recovery in Scotland is largely down to them wrapping themselves round the Union Flag to claim most of the anti Independence vote.