The 2015 General Election Megathread

Rand Paul's Ray Bans

Mazo, hombre, mazo de bien, guardacostas en el puto centro de la ciudad a cientos de kil?metros de la costa.

Pero no te preocupes porque "nadie va a leer el informe".

Awrite, river rescue.

Whit happened between them and the us navy?

• Replies 14k

• aussieh

• JamboX2

• TheMaganator

• Boris

TheMaganator

Explain please. I tried to engage gorgiewave on it so perhaps you can explain it as I'm not getting it.

Explain what?

The corner into which Sturgeon is backed.

The seethe.

The lack of clout.

I'm really not getting it.

Labour cannae form a government without SNP. SNP are by no means guaranteed to give him their votes without being given something in return (see the coalition of the last 5 years as an example)

The two options are a Labour govt backed by SNP or back to the polling booths (which would probably return the same bloody result anyways) 

The fact that so many senior Labour MPs are openly saying they'd talk to the SNP must surely mean that if Ed turns down power due to his blind hatred of the SNP, he won't be the leader come the second election.

Gorgiewave

Labour cannae form a government without SNP. SNP are by no means guaranteed to give him their votes without being given something in return (see the coalition of the last 5 years as an example)

The two options are a Labour govt backed by SNP or back to the polling booths (which would probably return the same bloody result anyways) 

The fact that so many senior Labour MPs are openly saying they'd talk to the SNP must surely mean that if Ed turns down power due to his blind hatred of the SNP, he won't be the leader come the second election.

Well. if they don't give them their votes, the Tories might well get in. The SNP has three options: not support Labour (risking Tories getting in); abstain (no voice for Scotland); support Labour. See the commutative law. Labour + SNP = SNP + Labour. They need each other, but since the SNP have been absolute, they can't negotiate with the Conservatives. They have to accept nerdy Ed's commands.

I was thinking he might be punted Friday morning, and Burnam annointed.

Well. if they don't give them their votes, the Tories might well get in. The SNP has three options: not support Labour (risking Tories getting in); abstain (no voice for Scotland); support Labour. See the commutative law. Labour + SNP = SNP + Labour. They need each other, but since the SNP have been absolute, they can't negotiate with the Conservatives. They have to accept nerdy Ed's commands.

Wrong  again

Labour Prime Minister Nicola Sturgeon, of an Independent Scotland. Sounds Braw. :)

Aye. That's what she'll do. "Hey Dougie, Kez, Gogsie and Jenny... Shift over guys. Just joined up and ready to lead... The past 30 years are in the past eh folks?"

Its a game of chicken. The question is who blinks first.

You know itll be the Ed of the Reds.(Tories), let us save you.

Aye. That's what she'll do. "Hey Dougie, Kez, Gogsie and Jenny... Shift over guys. Just joined up and ready to lead... The past 30 years are in the past eh folks?"

No need cause they, and MMM, will have join their true party the Tories. Edited by aussieh

It won't be a formal deal. It'll be an issue by issue arrangement. Much like Salmond and the Tories in 2007-11.

They'll work together. Labour will govern for a few years and then there'll end up being another election in a couple years time once they've got a few policies implemented but something breaks the camels back. Which there will be. Probably the SNP asking for another referendum.

I don't think Ed hates the SNP. I think his view of them is more mature than many think. He has to appease English and Welsh fears, no matter how ill placed they are over SNP influence and then has to actually fight them in an election to try protect his party.

You do understand he therefore may just have to belittle the mighty and great SNP for a few weeks.

Still doesn't mean they have him and Labour over a barrel.

jambo1185

You know itll be the Ed of the Reds.(Tories), let us save you.

Oh yeah i agree. No doubt he will cave.

Guest Trapper John

Nothing but Red Tories this, Blue Tories that from SNP supporters. Just hate filled irrationality. They cannot move on. Why should Labour want to do a deal them? I hope they don't touch them with a barge pole.

This is a WESTMINSTER election. The settled will of the Scottish people last September was a desire to remain in the UK and that includes accepting the result of the Westminster election. No more whinging about the clear lie of Scotland not getting the government it voted for. 1707 was ratified finally by the people of Scotland and they democratically accepted the Union.

50-59 SNP MP's will be out in the cold. Just like Lib Dems have been for years prior to 2010. Stop whining about Scotland's voice not being heard. If you vote for a party that wants to separate from the country don't be so naive to think the major party's will want nothing to do with them and sideline them as much as they can. 

Pretty clear as I see it, if you want rid of the Blue Tories, vote for the Red Tories. Don't vote for the Tartan Tories.

Oh yeah i agree. No doubt he will cave.

depends on just how desperate Sturgeon is for power. They played hnd too early and this could lead to bear outcome for country as a whole, a Conservative win.

One last thing, wish you and other SNP disciples would stop saying red Tories when referring to Labour. Wasn't really fun weeks ago and it is really boring now.

Nothing but Red Tories this, Blue Tories that from SNP supporters. Just hate filled irrationality. They cannot move on. Why should Labour want to do a deal them? I hope they don't touch them with a barge pole.

This is a WESTMINSTER election. The settled will of the Scottish people last September was a desire to remain in the UK and that includes accepting the result of the Westminster election. No more whinging about the clear lie of Scotland not getting the government it voted for. 1707 was ratified finally by the people of Scotland and they democratically accepted the Union.

50-59 SNP MP's will be out in the cold. Just like Lib Dems have been for years prior to 2010. Stop whining about Scotland's voice not being heard. If you vote for a party that wants to separate from the country don't be so naive to think the major party's will want nothing to do with them and sideline them as much as they can.

Pretty clear as I see it, if you want rid of the Blue Tories, vote for the Red Tories. Don't vote for the Tartan Tories.

Oh Tripper.

There's been a fair chunk of hate filled irrationality from you and your tag team partner over the weeks.

So despite correctly pointing out this is a Westminster election and correctly identifying the result was the settled will, you then go banging on about the referendum again. You haven't moved on and the party that has appears to be connecting with the people of Scotland.

You're beginning to sound desperate. On Thursday the people will speak. Will you accept the result or twist on for 5 years about the injustice of your party's failings?

depends on just how desperate Sturgeon is for power. They played hnd too early and this could lead to bear outcome for country as a whole, a Conservative win.

One last thing, wish you and other SNP disciples would stop saying red Tories when referring to Labour. Wasn't really fun weeks ago and it is really boring now.

It may not be funny but it is true

Guest Trapper John

Oh Tripper.

There's been a fair chunk of hate filled irrationality from you and your tag team partner over the weeks.

So despite correctly pointing out this is a Westminster election and correctly identifying the result was the settled will, you then go banging on about the referendum again. You haven't moved on and the party that has appears to be connecting with the people of Scotland.

You're beginning to sound desperate. On Thursday the people will speak. Will you accept the result or twist on for 5 years about the injustice of your party's failings?

Oh Michty,

If you had taken the blinkers away you'd have noted that my point was all about the fact that this is a Westminster election. And Scotland has signed up to it now  regardless of the result through ratification of the treaty of Union. The SNP should stop whining about the fact that their feeble fifty-odd (I stress the word ODD) will be sitting on their hands or as more likely, propping up the bars of Westminster for the next five years. This is a UK election. Not a Scottish one.

I love it how the SNP like to remind us that there is nothing between the Blue and Red Tories, while cutting and pasting from Labour's manifesto and demanding that Miliband form an 'anti-Tory' alliance  against the Blue Tories! Such epic hypocrasy and you and all your pals have fallen for it! Talk about desperation!

I'm not desperate at all. The United Kingdom exists. Scotland is part of it. and I love it. Oh, God, how I love them both.

Glamorgan Jambo

Any chance of some discussion on the key election issues. You know like Miliband's desire to destroy the economic base of the country with his 'Hell yeah' type approach to the state finances...

Didn't think so

Oh Michty,

If you had taken the blinkers away you'd have noted that my point was all about the fact that this is a Westminster election. And Scotland has signed up to it now regardless of the result through ratification of the treaty of Union. The SNP should stop whining about the fact that their feeble fifty-odd (I stress the word ODD) will be sitting on their hands or as more likely, propping up the bars of Westminster for the next five years. This is a UK election. Not a Scottish one.

I love it how the SNP like to remind us that there is nothing between the Blue and Red Tories, while cutting and pasting from Labour's manifesto and demanding that Miliband form an 'anti-Tory' alliance against the Blue Tories! Such epic hypocrasy and you and all your pals have fallen for it! Talk about desperation!

I'm not desperate at all. The United Kingdom exists. Scotland is part of it. and I love it. Oh, God, how I love them both.

The feeble fifty will be sitting on their hands? Oh dear. As the realisation hits home the vitriol of the last 2 months turns to bitterness as the day Scottish Labour dies draws closer. :jjyay:

She is more of a socialist than any of that lot.

deesidejambo

Depends on what socialism means to you.    To me it means whats best for everyone.   To Nicola its whats best for everyone, as long as they live in Scotland.

Any chance of some discussion on the key election issues. You know like Miliband's desire to destroy the economic base of the country with his 'Hell yeah' type approach to the state finances...

Didn't think so

Judging by your comment, it would be a complete waste of time having a discussion with you on economics as you clearly don't have a clue.

Just for your information, Labour did not destroy the economy, they saved it.  Labour did not create the Credit Crunch, they were left to react to it.  All the major western economies followed Brown's lead on tackling the depression caused by the Credit Cruch.  Here is some comment from a Nobel prizewinner in Economics:

http://www.theweek.co.uk/people-news/22207/paul-krugman-backs-gordon-brown

Perhaps you want to tell us you know more about economics than a Nobel prizewinner?!!

I've already in this thread posted some real facts regarding Labour's last spell in office which proved that Labour were not destroying anything, quite the opposite.

It is tory cuts that will continue to destroy the economy and our country.  Just as Thatcher's tactics and policy destroyed our industry and society years ago.

Guest Trapper John

The feeble fifty will be sitting on their hands? Oh dear. As the realisation hits home the vitriol of the last 2 months turns to bitterness as the day Scottish Labour dies draws closer. :jjyay:

But the Union remains.

Depends on what socialism means to you. To me it means whats best for everyone. To Nicola its whats best for everyone, as long as they live in Scotland.

Ok then, lets have U.W.

It may not be funny but it is true

If you are stupd enough to believe that then perhaps we should have IQ tests before being allowed to vote.

Guest Trapper John

She's about as Socialist as Alf Garnett.

And if she is one, it's a very recent (and convenient) conversion.

Edited by Trapper John

They will be too busy nutting the opposition and calling them quislings. Salmond( if he wins) will be kept busy trying to keep them in check.

Guest Trapper John

Make way SLab, for the The Scottish National Labour Party.

Hold it a moment, Aussie...

A workers national party??

Reminds me of something else...

deesidejambo

Ok then, lets have U.W.

I don't know what that means, but I've been drinking again, so I'm advised to stay away from a keyboard for a while.  It may be of interest to Nats that I'm drinking english wine, and, yes, it is gash.

Gorgiewave

They will be too busy nutting the opposition and calling them quislings. Salmond( if he wins) will be kept busy trying to keep them in check.

We're going to be a laughing stock with all these idiots in Parliament.

deesidejambo

He won't win.    When he gets gubbed I will personally waggle my nob out the window and post the photo.  and Anne Begg will retain Aberdeen South so I will waggle it twice. 

Hold it a moment, Aussie...

A workers national party??

Reminds me of something else...

Glamorgan Jambo

Judging by your comment, it would be a complete waste of time having a discussion with you on economics as you clearly don't have a clue.

Just for your information, Labour did not destroy the economy, they saved it.  Labour did not create the Credit Crunch, they were left to react to it.  All the major western economies followed Brown's lead on tackling the depression caused by the Credit Cruch.  Here is some comment from a Nobel prizewinner in Economics:

http://www.theweek.co.uk/people-news/22207/paul-krugman-backs-gordon-brown

Perhaps you want to tell us you know more about economics than a Nobel prizewinner?!!

I've already in this thread posted some real facts regarding Labour's last spell in office which proved that Labour were not destroying anything, quite the opposite.

It is tory cuts that will continue to destroy the economy and our country.  Just as Thatcher's tactics and policy destroyed our industry and society years ago.

I don't recall saying anything at all about who caused the credit crunch but there you go.

I was passing comment on (and I get addressed letters daily from Labour as I live in one of the most marginal seats in the UK) that Miliband has campaigned solely based on the politics of envy and hasn't proposed one concrete policy about how he would help businesses to grow and create the jobs that will be needed for everyone's benefit. He got a doing at the candidates QT from a real business owner and his response was to try and discredit the lady not to assuage any of her, and other business owners, genuine concerns.

But crack on with your assumptions and tired clich?s. I just voted BTW

I don't know what that means, but I've been drinking again, so I'm advised to stay away from a keyboard for a while. It may be of interest to Nats that I'm drinking english wine, and, yes, it is gash.

United World.

Better than drinking Gin.

deesidejambo

United World.

Better than drinking Gin.

Don't be a git - nothing is better than drinking gin.     Word.  end of.  gtf.   G&T with pink grapefruit in it is magic.   Thats a fact.

He won't win.    When he gets gubbed I will personally waggle my nob out the window and post the photo.  and Anne Begg will retain Aberdeen South so I will waggle it twice. 

Friday should be quite a day

Can i come and visit you in jail ?

Don't be a git - nothing is better than drinking gin. Word. end of. gtf. G&T with pink grapefruit in it is magic. Thats a fact.

Aye, if youre a wummin.

If you are stupd enough to believe that then perhaps we should have IQ tests before being allowed to vote.

Labour are deed in Scotland they are now the Red Tories

He won't win. When he gets gubbed I will personally waggle my nob out the window and post the photo. and Anne Begg will retain Aberdeen South so I will waggle it twice.

Move along nothing to see.

deesidejambo

Friday should be quite a day

Can i come and visit you in jail ?

Nae probs.     Beware the tactical voters.    And I won't get jailed for waggling my nob out the window, it will just be a caution.

deesidejambo

Aye, if youre a wummin.

**** rubbish.  Try it.  you will never look back.    Or try it packed with freshly-cut cucumber.  In fact I'm gonna get th encumber and pink grapefruit in for Friday to celebrate Anned Beggs glorious victory.   Then at th weekend QOS dumping the huns.   whats not to like?  eh?

deesidejambo

**** rubbish.  Try it.  you will never look back.    Or try it packed with freshly-cut cucumber.  In fact I'm gonna get th encumber and pink grapefruit in for Friday to celebrate Anned Beggs glorious victory.   Then at th weekend QOS dumping the huns.   whats not to like?  eh?

In fact when Anne storms to victory I will post a photo of my nob next to a beautiful ice-cold G&T with pink grapefruit.  If the Mods don't mind.

Sorry dee its rotten, I'll have plenty Cider for celebrating, might buy Whisky if it goes tits up. :)

Edited by aussieh

deesidejambo

Sorry dee its rotten, I'll have plenty Cider for celebrating, might buy Whisky if it goes tits up. :)

Thats an idea.   I've a bottle of Ardbeg on the go.        Its expensive stuff but it will go down a treat while watching Ecks greeting pus.

Thats an idea. I've a bottle of Ardbeg on the go. Its expensive stuff but it will go down a treat while watching Ecks greeting pus.

The GLS will be fine, im sure.:)

Eric Joyce jumped ship?