Fitness Thread

Coming off Jack3d is horrible.

Don't know if I will ever take it again. Great at the time though.

Been feeling :sob: since I stopped 5 days ago.

Coming off Jack3d is horrible.

Don't know if I will ever take it again. Great at the time though.

Been feeling :sob: since I stopped 5 days ago.

I stay away from pre-workout supps for this reason.

Maybe worth while going to a sports specialist doctor. Do you mean you are in a lot of pain if you lift your arm above your head?

Ye if I left my arm above it being straight along the shoulder it's pretty painful, some days it can be so bad that it wont go above at all, other days I can lift it up but it just feels extremely tight in the shoulder.

Sorry to hear that mate. If it was me, as I said I would go to a Sports Specialist Doctor and get it checked out.

Is there anything more frustrating that when tidy bursd are on the cross trainer and hold onto the top corners of the screen rather than the handles. As if theire arse wasn't distracting enough on that thing they have to make it even more.

Anyone know of any cheap websites to buy weights from?

Gym is always heaving and cannae be arsed wi it.

Was recommended this youtube channel for weight lifting advice

http://www.youtube.com/user/twinmuscleworkout?ob=0

It is superb, these types of videos are usually dull as feck but these two are twins and a brilliant laugh. Even if you aren't into weights give them a watch because their nutrition advice and general exercise advice is top class and delivered in a very funny way. Explained in simple terms as well.

It's generally pretty expensive to buy a good weights kit. My mate bought an Olympic bar which cost him about ?250. Then you have the actual weights to buy on top of that, and a squat rack/bench etc. Could cost you a fair bit of money and you still wouldn't have that much equipment TBH.

Maybe finding another gym would be a better option. What gym do you currently train at?

It's generally pretty expensive to buy a good weights kit. My mate bought an Olympic bar which cost him about ?250. Then you have the actual weights to buy on top of that, and a squat rack/bench etc. Could cost you a fair bit of money and you still wouldn't have that much equipment TBH.

Maybe finding another gym would be a better option. What gym do you currently train at?

I've already got a bench and about 80kg of weights, I'm not really planning on lifting too heavy so can get away with leaving the squat rack.

Using Pure Gym at the moment but the weights section is heaving constantly. I'll be running outside more as it comes into the summer so was going to pack the gym in and just train at home/outside.

I've already got a bench and about 80kg of weights, I'm not really planning on lifting too heavy so can get away with leaving the squat rack.

Using Pure Gym at the moment but the weights section is heaving constantly. I'll be running outside more as it comes into the summer so was going to pack the gym in and just train at home/outside.

Fair enough. Yeah I have heard this all the time about PureGym, it baffles me why anyone who is even semi-serious about getting in shape trains there??.

I guess with regards to your home gym, it depends on what your goals are - I don't think you will build a lot of muscle just with a bench press and 80kg worth of weights but if all you want to do is stay fit and slim etc I guess it would work ok.

Creepy Lurker

I used to train at Pure Gym at Lauriston Place and never had any problems: good free weights in comparison with most commercial gyms and I never personally had any issues with getting to use them. Was never usually in at peak times, though (the 24 hour opening time is, of course, one of the main advantages).

Never been to the gym mate. But from talking to a couple of people at my old work who did go there they said there is only 1 olympic bar and DB's that only go up to 35kg. If that's true, it's not even close to being up to the standard of the commercial gyms I have been to. The 2 guys I worked with that trained there had to train at about 2.30am to get in a decent workout. That's just not feasible for a lot of people.

Creepy Lurker

Never been to the gym mate. But from talking to a couple of people at my old work who did go there they said there is only 1 olympic bar and DB's that only go up to 35kg. If that's true, it's not even close to being up to the standard of the commercial gyms I have been to. The 2 guys I worked with that trained there had to train at about 2.30am to get in a decent workout. That's just not feasible for a lot of people.

This the one at Lauriston Place? There were a few olympic bars there, although there were only two squat racks. I never used their dumbells, so can honestly say that I don't even know how high they went.

I wasn't there at times as strange as that, to be fair. I certainly think that unless you're pretty serious about packing on muscle (which I'm not, as I think we've discussed before), it's more than adequate and certainly better value for money than any commercial gym I've been to.

For my requirements (I usually start with strength work on one of the big compound lifts, followed by high intensity complex training with lowish weights), it was perfect at the price.

Fair enough. Yeah I have heard this all the time about PureGym, it baffles me why anyone who is even semi-serious about getting in shape trains there??.

I guess with regards to your home gym, it depends on what your goals are - I don't think you will build a lot of muscle just with a bench press and 80kg worth of weights but if all you want to do is stay fit and slim etc I guess it would work ok.

What else do you think you really need?

I've got a bench, barbell, dumb bells and a pull up bar.

This the one at Lauriston Place? There were a few olympic bars there, although there were only two squat racks. I never used their dumbells, so can honestly say that I don't even know how high they went.

I wasn't there at times as strange as that, to be fair. I certainly think that unless you're pretty serious about packing on muscle (which I'm not, as I think we've discussed before), it's more than adequate and certainly better value for money than any commercial gym I've been to.

For my requirements (I usually start with strength work on one of the big compound lifts, followed by high intensity complex training with lowish weights), it was perfect at the price.

Maybe they got more Olympic bars in. The 2 guys I worked with was back in the summer of 2010, so not the most up to date info I have on the place. As you say depends on your goals, it isn't a gym I would like to train at - but as you say I suppose it would be ok for keeping in shape. Which I guess is what it is aimed towards being in the center of town - the office crowd.

What else do you think you really need?

I've got a bench, barbell, dumb bells and a pull up bar.

Didn't realise you have DB's as well - how heavy?. I thought you said you don't have a squat rack, so I struggle to see how you would get a good leg workout. No Squats, leg press, leg curl, hack squat machine etc.....The only leg exercises you could do are SLDL's and lunges, I would imagine. Personally I also like using cables - think they are a really useful tool for isolation exercises. As I said before all down to what your goals are?

I can only do relatively light squats anyway because I've damaged the cartlidge in my knee playing fives and currently waiting on physio. Squats, deadlifts and lunges certainly leaves me unable to walk the next day! :laugh:

I reckon I can get a decent workout and get into shape with the equipment I have. Compound movements and a few isolations on at the end of the workout. Not a fan of 6/7 isolation exercises in one session.

How long do you spend in the gym? I try and keep it 40/45 minutes and only about 12-15 sets.

Edited by Alan Partridge

I can only do relatively light squats anyway because I've damaged the cartlidge in my knee playing fives and currently waiting on physio. Squats, deadlifts and lunges certainly leaves me unable to walk the next day! :laugh:

I reckon I can get a decent workout and get into shape with the equipment I have. Compound movements and a few isolations on at the end of the workout. Not a fan of 6/7 isolation exercises in one session.

How long do you spend in the gym? I try and keep it 40/45 minutes and only about 12-15 sets.

Alright, sorry to hear about the injuries mate. I haven't worked out in quite a long time. But when I did normally about 75mins in the gym. About 16 working sets, per workout depending on what my split was at the time. And what muscles were being worked.

Creepy Lurker

Maybe they got more Olympic bars in. The 2 guys I worked with was back in the summer of 2010, so not the most up to date info I have on the place. As you say depends on your goals, it isn't a gym I would like to train at - but as you say I suppose it would be ok for keeping in shape. Which I guess is what it is aimed towards being in the center of town - the office crowd.

Yeah, probably about right. As I said, given that I'm not aiming to gain weight (it isn't necessarily a good thing when the main focus of your training is a weight class sport!) it was more than adequate for my requirements. The fact that it was mainly the office crowd that trained there was even a good thing from my point of view on the basis that they had a set of kettlebells which pretty much gathered dust in the corner and were available whenever I wanted them. laugh.gif

Just home from Pure gym (Ocean T), **** it was busy as I was leaving!

Monday was dead though, so guessing that made matters worse.

Pure Gym has everything I need. My only slight annoyance is the fact I can't go heavier than than 36kg on single arm dumbbell rows. But there's loads of ways to train your back. Plus I can always leave it until last when im weaker.... Top gym for the cash.

Those who moan about it being too busy need to man up and ask each other how many sets they have left or if they can work in!

What Pure you at Partridge? Guessing you have a lot of sp?ce if your thinking about getting some equiptment?

This might be worth a watch.

Horizon: The Truth About Exercise, tonight on BBC2 at 9pm.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FZ_BGhA7SK8&feature=player_embedded

Watched this last night. The big discovery was that HIIT exercise is effective and walking about is good for you.

:wow:

Tried to claim that 20% of the population aren't receptive to aerobic exercise though which I'm skeptical about.

As someone who is doing a degree related to a lot in the above mentioned program, it was a poor effort from the BBC. The bit that riled me the most was the boy saying 12 mins of high intensity exercise per week was all that was needed. Yes it will aid in improving resting heart rate and slightly in aerobic function, but Britain is full of people who will watch that and think they can do go the gym, work hard for a grand total of 12 mins and they needn't do much more.

Ridiculous.

Creepy Lurker

...Britain is full of people who will watch that and think they can do go the gym, work hard for a grand total of 12 mins and they needn't do much more.

Ridiculous.

Yup.

My favourite kind of advice is stuff like 'take the stairs instead of the lift at work'. Yeah, 'cause that'll make a difference.

As someone who is doing a degree related to a lot in the above mentioned program, it was a poor effort from the BBC. The bit that riled me the most was the boy saying 12 mins of high intensity exercise per week was all that was needed. Yes it will aid in improving resting heart rate and slightly in aerobic function, but Britain is full of people who will watch that and think they can do go the gym, work hard for a grand total of 12 mins and they needn't do much more.

Ridiculous.

I watched some of it (had it on in the background whilst on the laptop). I didn't think it was that bad on the whole. The 12 minutes thing was all to do with HIIT from what I saw, it seemed they were just trying to show people that there is more than 1 way to skin a cat, in terms of losing weight - didn't think it seemed particularly miss-leading. Also thought it was interesting what they were saying about HIIT and insulin sensitivity - I didn't know that before.

I am not sure what you were expecting from the show?. If the entire show had just been about - go to the gym 4 times a week and do an hour of cardio sitting on the bike and running on the treadmill, it wouldn't have been a very intresting show, as everyone has heard that method. They were trying to inform people of other methods, such as HIIT.

What degree are you doing?

Creepy Lurker

Can someone put in to straight forward terms what the benefit of improved Insulin Sensitivity is?

Cheers!

Creepy - http://www.bbc.co.uk...pisode/b01cywtq

It's widely held that if you're more sensitive to the insulin that your body releases, you'll gain more muscle and less fat (or lose more fat and less muscle whilst cutting).

Thanks for the link, but iPlayer doesn't work overseas. Was just wondering if it's available elsewhere.

Im finished with my regular "Whey Protein". I was looking to take the next step to Weight Gainer. Whats the best value for money, highest calorie count per serving? And where would i bu it?

Keep your whey protein and add enough oats/oil until you reach your desired carb/calorie amount.

Well ive finished it so thought i may aswell just buy an all in one thing thats easier to make than adding lots of different ingredients together!

Creepy Lurker

Creepy, google expat shield. Think it let's you watch iplayer etc when abroad.

Cheers mate, will check it out later on.

Well ive finished it so thought i may aswell just buy an all in one thing thats easier to make than adding lots of different ingredients together!

It's also more expensive and will almost without exception contain poorer quality ingredients.

Creepy Lurker

Interesting piece on whole grains here if anyone's interested.

Not entirely convinced by it - always moderately sceptical of research that flies in the face of what's generally believed in any area - but it's always interesting to see another side to the story.

Wow, what a night. Decided to have 5 scoops of Jack3d before leaving for gym (around 7) and half way down to gym had to pull over for 5 minutes as my legs were shaking so much. Eventually got the gym and had the weirdest session ever, must have looked like I was on some serious gear as I looked like a man possessed. Almost felt like I was drunk, and so light headed. Still feeling fecked now, dunno if I'll sleep tonight.

5 scoops! Nutter!

2/3 sent me bananas. :lol:

Had a really bad come down for about a week after my last 6 week Jack3d cycle.

Vowed never to go back to a pre workout sup again.

After last night I don't know if I'll use it again, slept but woke up like once an hour which is totally unlike me. Stuff can't be good for you!

Pretty sure Jack3d is one of the supplements getting banned soon isn't it? Or more accuratly one of the ingredients is getting banned, so they won't be able to sell it anymore

Edited by TheOak88

After last night I'd probably say thats a good idea! I was just stupid and took a bit too much but it could seriously feck you up!

Creepy Lurker

As of tomorrow, I'll be trying to incorporate some of these principles into my diet. Seems like good science; I'll report back on how it goes.

So in a nutshell, you are going to eat low carbs (AM) and high carbs (PM). What would be your measure of success from this?

Creepy Lurker

So in a nutshell, you are going to eat low carbs (AM) and high carbs (PM). What would be your measure of success from this?

AM will be LCHF (30g carbs max per meal, lower than protein), PM HCLF.

(it's not as simple as an AM/PM split, btw)

Success = higher energy levels, better body composition, improved sleep; those are the claims he makes, and Blade's pretty well respected. I'll be slightly changing my macros to make this a bit easier, losing a few carbs and replacing with fats (was previously aiming to have fats within the 15-20% range of overall calories, now aiming for 20-25%).

Ultimately, if my macros are still good then at the very least it shouldn't have a horrendously negative impact, although I'd have thought that GL might be an issue.

Edit: Blade's own blog can be found here.

Second edit: wish I hadn't posted that link now, as 'the perfectionist' in his last entry is pretty much me. sad.gif

Edited by Creepy Lurker

How sore do you guys get after back workouts?

I'm really, really struggling to even bend over today and I'm concerned my form is off.

How sore do you guys get after back workouts?

I'm really, really struggling to even bend over today and I'm concerned my form is off.

Pretty sore, but your talking lats, rhomboids, rear delts and traps.

Never sore bending over, so guessing its lower back pain?

Been deadlifting or squatting?

Creepy Lurker

The apparent war on the sports nutrition industry continued last night: protein products, creatine and carb drinks to be made subject to 20% VAT.

'Meal replacement drinks for slimmers and invalids' are okay, though, apparently. huh.gif

Pretty sore, but your talking lats, rhomboids, rear delts and traps.

Never sore bending over, so guessing its lower back pain?

Been deadlifting or squatting?

Aye it's lower back pain. I went a bit heavier on bent over rows yesterday so I'm thinking my forms wrong from that although I do try and be careful.

Was getting the same pain from running recently as well so going to have to watch.

The apparent war on the sports nutrition industry continued last night: protein products, creatine and carb drinks to be made subject to 20% VAT.

'Meal replacement drinks for slimmers and invalids' are okay, though, apparently. huh.gif

Can see this being the end of many protein retailers. Never understood how some of them can afford a whole shop like the one on Leith Walk. Fair enough the online ones like Edinburgh Supps, just shows you how much these people make on the stuff!

Big rise though your talking ?40 tub rising to ?48!

Aye it's lower back pain. I went a bit heavier on bent over rows yesterday so I'm thinking my forms wrong from that although I do try and be careful.

Was getting the same pain from running recently as well so going to have to watch.

Ahh, that makes sense.

Never thought of that because I don't do bent over rows.

For that very reason. Was killing my lower back.

Just avoid them now.

Get your deadlift strength up and you won't need to worry about things like bent over rows. In fact, even if you didn't do DL's, there's plenty other back exercises without risking injury tbh.

After last night I'd probably say thats a good idea! I was just stupid and took a bit too much but it could seriously feck you up!

A bit too much - definately agree. I've been using Jack3d for nearly 5 months on and off and swear by it. However 2.5 scoops gives me one hell of a buzz, only taken 3 scoops a couple of times and that one extra scoop made a big difference. 5 scoops is forbidden territory for me, and i can probably see why it ruined your workout. Still, nice to know im not the only one who's considered 5 scoops :)