Official Golf geeks gibber thread

Victorian

i'm not sure i could push it to 100 yards but my current sand iron ( it's actually described as a zip-wedge ) is an absolute cracker. it has a really nice weight to it and has U-grooves whuch generate a huge amount of spin, even without being hit particularly hard, and even hitting out of the rough.

i would suggest doing some research and getting one or more new wedges because it doesn't half make a difference to have a club in your hands that you can fly all the way to the hole and have confidence that it won't go far once it gets there.

club manufacturers have cottoned on to the fact that players are more savvy these days when it comes to customising their bag. you now quite often see irons sets sold without sand irons and without 3-irons and even 4-irons because players are sourcing specific clubs to replace those ( specalised wedges and hybrids ). the irons i recently bought came as a 6 club set ( wedge to 5-iron ) and as a result, the cost is significantly reduced from a more traditional 9 club set.

Yup, specialised wedges are an absolute must ... & in my opinion, nothing betters the Titleist Vokey wedges. They are superb.

• Replies 14.9k

• hmfc_liam06

• Samuel Camazzola

• Irufushi

• Victorian

Cyprus Jambo

Looking for some advice gents, after a 3 wood (in case you hadn't seen an ealier post - broke Driver and 3 Wood). Got my Driver fixed but just doesn't feel the same and not confident enough with it and the 'old' driver is long but too high so no carry. Would rather use a 3 Wood as feel I'm a longish hitter and can't see that much use for a driver except on 3-4 holes at Haddington (2, 11, 13 and 15), decided to use Course Management!!!. Can normally get around 210-220 from rescue wood so any recommendations out there for a 3 wood to get me out to 230-250.

Have been reviewing the Taylor made R11 and R9 (various models) - anyone use these and thoughts.

Cheers

Yup, specialised wedges are an absolute must ... & in my opinion, nothing betters the Titleist Vokey wedges. They are superb.

aye. i know a few folk who swear by those vokey wedges.

Looking for some advice gents, after a 3 wood (in case you hadn't seen an ealier post - broke Driver and 3 Wood). Got my Driver fixed but just doesn't feel the same and not confident enough with it and the 'old' driver is long but too high so no carry. Would rather use a 3 Wood as feel I'm a longish hitter and can't see that much use for a driver except on 3-4 holes at Haddington (2, 11, 13 and 15), decided to use Course Management!!!. Can normally get around 210-220 from rescue wood so any recommendations out there for a 3 wood to get me out to 230-250.

Have been reviewing the Taylor made R11 and R9 (various models) - anyone use these and thoughts.

Cheers

i recently bought a second hand (virtually brand new) taylormade v-steel 5 wood off ebay for about ?20. fitted with a stiff flex fujikura vista pro 80 shaft. quite a low profile club which draws like a maddy but can be controlled... just. very powerful club as well.

there are lots of these (3 and 5) on ebay, and very reasonably priced if you can accept second hand.

Product_143802.jpg

grumpy rebus

95 in last night's medal. 3 pars in the last 5 holes, but a 3 putt on the last and 4 to get down from 30 yards on 16.

Rudi Skacel

Went round Haddington in 93 on Monday there.

The old touch is starting to come back.

Had a few birdie putts but just not consistent enough puttingwise.

Had a few cracking drives. Went round the last 5 holes in just 2 over and had birdie putts on 2 of them and par puts on them all.

Cyprus Jambo

Went round Haddington in 93 on Monday there.

The old touch is starting to come back.

Had a few birdie putts but just not consistent enough puttingwise.

Had a few cracking drives. Went round the last 5 holes in just 2 over and had birdie putts on 2 of them and par puts on them all.

How did you find the course - I think it's in very good shape at the moment and as we have recently had a new Head Green Keeper he has brought the high rough in a bit making less safe area's.

last 16 of the club matchplay the other night. beat 1 hole.

giving 7 shots away (3 in the first 6 holes) and really only one truly horrific hole played and i'm 5 down after 6. :vrface::facepalm:

9 holes later, and despite further horrendous self inflicted horrors, i'm level... but he's got one more shot to come, and he uses it well and we half the last two. oot.

you can sometimes do some utterly barmy stuff in matchplay that you would never do in medal play.

Folks, I need to learn to play golf! Wasn't something I was bothered about playing...hell, pitch and putt was hard enough.. :(

Just some emergency lessons....

(My brothers stag weekend involves a round of golf in ~6wks time.....suppose I could caddie and drink beer or something.)

Caddie advice: Just hit the bloody thing! :)

Had a works event yesterday round Shrigley Hall in Cheshire.

Really interesting track which makes Swanston look flat, but the worst greens i've putted in years. Hollow-cored with huge patches of blight which totally spoiled the course. :(

Played OK with 35 points and a nearest the pin prize but as usual a 28 handicapper won it with 47 points :o

Hit an 83 yesterday at craigentinny, two 6s on the front and a 6 and a 8 on the back. If i just kept my game together i could have been in the seventies for the first time aaaaaaaaaaaarrrrrrrrrrrrrrrgggggggggghhhhhhhhh :yucky:

scots civil war

you will get there mate

course management must be the issue

craigentinny is a short course,must be your decision making on how to get to the green

you will get there mate

course management must be the issue

craigentinny is a short course,must be your decision making on how to get to the green

It isnt just craigy, im in the 80s at carrick and silverknowes. But yeah ur right i attack the greens regardless what hazards are infront of me. Should start maybe laying up to save lost shots.

Rudi Skacel

If anyone fancy's a game round Haddington give me a shout. Im not the best but can hold my own. Im not a member but I will of course pay my way.

None of my pals play golf so I struggle to get out for rounds haha.

belly putter report. first time use of, at the weekend.

wowzer!

takes a little bit of a practice to get used to the action but it would appear to well worth the experiment. drained three birdie putts and holed out from 4-6 feet on another few occasions, albeit a couple were missed. 32 putts (inc no 3-putts). round in 72.

there may be an element of 'devil-may-care', first time joy that you can get when trying out a new club (like a putter or driver). quite often you get the impression that it's the best thing since sliced bread but can then regress a bit. but the first impression of this putting style is mega-promising.

the next step is to stick with it for a while and see if the method and putter will produce consistent results, even if a few are missed. the first round proves that it can work well so it's worth an extended run.

scots civil war

where was that about mate

i saw a punter bellyputting at gullane on sunday morning

its a rare occurence for me

where was that about mate

i saw a punter bellyputting at gullane on sunday morning

its a rare occurence for me

not guilty m'lud. t'was not me doon at gullane. my home course shall remain nameless on here.

honestly though, there is a distinctly different feel to that putting method. you have no other choice but to stroke it smoothly at the hole and the putting stroke is protected from any extraneous hand/finger twitches at the hit.

holing some great putts and holing out well from 'knee-jerker' distance a good few times isn't the be-all-and-end-all of my obvious excitement. it's really more about the tremendous action the method promotes. and it's completely effortless to achieve.

if people get a chance to try one out, i strongly recommend having a go. i'm already well prepared for this initial promise to regress a bit but i'm definitely in for the longer term.

Captain America

Just ordered a set of Mizuno MX 100s irons.

Been using my dad's old Slazengers that he got out of JJB about 4 years ago.

Won my first Trophy for a few years last night. The Summer foursomes comp. ... SO it was only really 50% of a win... lol

However in another final this Thursday, giving about 7 shots so lets see how it pans out....

Disser Pointon

Played in an Open at Machrahanish on Saturday, cracking course although a long way to go, I was in Campbeltown for a christening anyway. Shot at 79 which was not bad for a first outing on the course but should have been at least 2 better.

Definitely worth a visit if you are down that way although it is a dear round without a member ?90 I think.

I used to play golf all the time but kind of gave up when I got married / had kids / became crap. I used to be a member at Duddingston and my handicap generally drifted up and down from 5 or 6.

Anyway, I had my first game in over a year at the 9 hole course at Musselburgh Racecourse a couple of weeks ago. It was a mixed bag to say the least - I had mostly pars, couple of bogies and a disaster at the 4th - a car had to brake sharply to avoid my approach shot!

However, my shoulder was getting sorer the further we went. By the next day I was in total agony and by the middle of the night it was a trip to A&E as I was almost in tears with pain. Seems I had tendonitis in my shoulder, lasted about a week with some serious painkillers being needed. It's all clear now and I quite fancy a game again but I'm shi**ing it to play in case it goes again!!!

Woo won my second trophy in a week tonight. Singles knock-out. Was 2 under par at the turn having 3 putted the first as well. Should have been 4 or 5 under, didn't hole a putt over 6ft. Then went par par par to win quite comfortably. The guy I beat said he had never been thrashed like that before so quite happy with how I played.

So no trophy's for a few years and then 2 in a week. :whistling:

Woo won my second trophy in a week tonight. Singles knock-out. Was 2 under par at the turn having 3 putted the first as well. Should have been 4 or 5 under, didn't hole a putt over 6ft. Then went par par par to win quite comfortably. The guy I beat said he had never been thrashed like that before so quite happy with how I played.

So no trophy's for a few years and then 2 in a week. :whistling:

well done mate great effort

scots civil war

yeah congrats man

was at leven links today,sunny......course was very green and a 15mph westerly wind prevailed

top links course,might join it as the glen does my nut in....very hard to play to your hcap round there

leven thistle and the golfing society have mid season memberships available for 160-170 squid,so thats the punter got 6 months for that n all

grumpy rebus

Playing the Carrick at Loch Lomond next week in an open.. Anyone played there before? Any advice?

Get a hole in one on the 16th? :whistling: :whistling:

lol.... I wish.. I actually hit a 7 iron into 4ft.... I was a little excited when it was in the air?!

Hope you had a good day as well.. was great!

grumpy rebus

lol.... I wish.. I actually hit a 7 iron into 4ft.... I was a little excited when it was in the air?!

Hope you had a good day as well.. was great!

Was certainly one of the better events. So good that even my cr4p golf didn't spoil it.

Im in the seventies for the first time. Par 67 so still 11 over, not great but glad to hit the seventies for the first time ever.....

Now you know you can do it there is nothing to stop you again... Next target is to do it two rounds running..., 79s still count. Then you need to hit 75.. That is a real milestone..

Good luck.. and remember that if you shave off 3 putts a round (which is doable) you will get this a lot easier.

Disser Pointon

Outing at Duddingston tomoz, never played it before but heard it's nice, weather looks like it should hold up as well. Beats working!

Had a game planned tonight.. Cancelled due to the wind..

Playing a medal tomorrow... looks like it will be hell due to the wind.. Still, might give me a chance if I can handle it and others cant!

Disser Pointon

Outing at Duddingston tomoz, never played it before but heard it's nice, weather looks like it should hold up as well. Beats working!

I must say that, whilst it was a nice layout, if I was paying a grand a year in subs I would expect my course to be in better condition, the greens and fairways were pretty scrappy.

Shot a 90 - net 85 today.. I think it is my worst score for 3 years...

A tad windy I think

Since you mentioned bad rounds Bigsmak - played a medal at the weekend, level par after 6. Get away with a driver at 7 (yard from the water) only to pull an 8 iron 20 yards wide as tried to thimp it instead of easy 7. Result - Double Bogey, bogied the next, 2 lost balls on next for a 10, 8 on next (lost ball - as a result of a SHANK!!!!!!!!) and well you can guess the rest - NR.

How can you play with so much confidence then let it disappear and although it was a bad iron shot it affects my driving which is the worst part of my game.

Even worse - bought a new 3 wood last week, hit it well on the screen thingy at th eshop, not too bad at the range but a disaster on the course.

Why still golf do that to you ARGHHHHHHHHHHH

I feel your pain Cyprus..

I played with Andrew Doctor and Keith Nicholson yesterday both Haddington members. Keith off +3... Was strange as I was hitting the ball ok off the tee, (except one or two holes where it cost me 7s) but the +3 didn't hit the ball any better than me, but he just did it the same every time. Every time. .. I hit one left, then one right, then one straight... but not always in that order...His short game was flawless though.. I will give him that.

I feel your pain Cyprus..

I played with Andrew Doctor and Keith Nicholson yesterday both Haddington members. Keith off +3... Was strange as I was hitting the ball ok off the tee, (except one or two holes where it cost me 7s) but the +3 didn't hit the ball any better than me, but he just did it the same every time. Every time. .. I hit one left, then one right, then one straight... but not always in that order...His short game was flawless though.. I will give him that.

Not had the pleasure of a round with Keith but he's not the umpteen times club champion for nothing.

Anyone recall a website where you send them a video of your swing and they make comments on it?

Anyone want to look at my swing - see You Tube and search for Mark Golf Swing 2.mp4 (sorry I can't get the link as You Tube barred at the office). Comments welcome.

Not had the pleasure of a round with Keith but he's not the umpteen times club champion for nothing.

Anyone recall a website where you send them a video of your swing and they make comments on it?

Anyone want to look at my swing - see You Tube and search for Mark Golf Swing 2.mp4 (sorry I can't get the link as You Tube barred at the office). Comments welcome.

Need more information to find it.. lots of mark golf swing videos..

Whats your user name on Youtube

Need more information to find it.. lots of mark golf swing videos..

Whats your user name on Youtube

try this:

youtube.com/watch?v=BhrlMXXWCOw

if no good - user is CyprusJambo

scots civil war

check you right leg in the backswing....its like a jelly

should be slightly flexed but vertical

cut out the lateral movement and rotate the torso

most of us are guilty of this movement.....its bad for consistency

kilspindie tomora,cant wait

check you right leg in the backswing....its like a jelly

should be slightly flexed but vertical

cut out the lateral movement and rotate the torso

most of us are guilty of this movement.....its bad for consistency

kilspindie tomora,cant wait

Will try keeping the right leg more still tomorrow. 2 Day comp this weekend, hope the weather improves

• 3 weeks later...

Any tips for a beginner?

Keep your head still and down

Go on you tube and look for Tips (jeff Ritter is very good)

Don't try to hit it too hard

Practice putting - it is the easiest way to get better - probably half your shots will be putts and it is the easiest to practice.

Only take 3/4 swings at the beginning.

Try and enjoy yourself!

Greedy_Jambo

Keep your head still and down

Go on you tube and look for Tips (jeff Ritter is very good)

Don't try to hit it too hard

Practice putting - it is the easiest way to get better - probably half your shots will be putts and it is the easiest to practice.

Only take 3/4 swings at the beginning.

Try and enjoy yourself!

Cheers. Defo enjoying it. Been going to the driving range recently since the weather is mince (They make you go for power over technique unfortunately, gonna try to change that next time). Those Jeff Ritter clips are good like.

• Maple Leaf changed the title to Official Golf geeks gibber thread