Official Golf geeks gibber thread

Victorian

76 this morning in horrible conditions. On 14th club actually flew out my hand, twice, and nearly killed playing partner. Changed glove again ten. Lol. 3 bunker shots on the 15 killed my hopes of a really good score. Back out at 1.36 all waterproofs and gloves are in tumble dryer... Lol. Not fun at all.

I'm feeling your pain.

It was like a winter morning this morning. Cold, grey and pishing it down all round. Shot a 75 with a 7 up the first which was enough to lift the sweep money. :thumbsup:

Clubs all over the gaff and tumble dryer going trying to get everything dry for a pairs tie tomorrow morning :(

• Replies 14.9k

• hmfc_liam06

• Samuel Camazzola

• Irufushi

• Victorian

Interesting days play today.

Went out in the pishing rain this afternoon.

Jacked it in after 9 holes, was soaked to the skin and could barely grip the clubs on the 9th.

Started off quite well.

Bogey'd the first, with a nice two-putt from just off the green.

Parred the second with a one putt :o

Also sank a 40 footer on the 5th too!

Not sure why my putting seemed to work today, i think the slower greens thanks to the fact they were soaked helped for some reason!

well, played the second round on No.2 and shot an 80... was just so tough out there, soaked through and clubs slipping through your fingers, few putts missed, and a bad thin and a shank costing me 2 double bogeys.

Gutted, really thought I would qualify for the club champ this year, been hitting the ball great.

I am knackered, had my second shower and am now getting the warmth back....

3 ties to come this week and a medal... I am very popular at home!

lol

Anybody ever played Cawder in Glasgow up near Bishopbriggs? Played my third round of golf in about fifteen years there yesterday with a couple of friends from work. Had a 93, which included an 8 and two 7's. Highlights being five para including the extremely tricky second. Absolutely amazing course (Cawder) didn't play the other course (Keir). Only cost a tenner because one of the guys was a member. If you've never played it and get the chance I highly recommend it.

scots civil war

soon as i went out the door this moz,the ******* rain started and i knew i wasnt fully equipped for it when i reached dirleton,it was rather heavy out there.....didnt take me goretex trousers and shouldhave taken me big bag which has a cover for it

one should allways go prepared .....

respect to the punters who got out there and ground it out for their club champs qualifying...ive missed out now on mine ,was playing away last week and now missed 2 out of 3 counters...

Shaking with rage.its a two day qualifying, u play 2 rounds either on sat or Sunday. Guess I got the wrong day. Next year eh.

Pairs tie this morning. 3 down after 3 with the boys knocking in 3 birdies. We managed to get it back to 1 but ran out of holes eventually to lose 2&1.

Such is life!

grumpy rebus

I stay in Gorgie!

Is Gullane tough? Wouldn't want to embarrass myself round there.

I'm only a few shots better off than you (usually mid 90's), but you're welcome over at Burntisland if you fancy it.

Disser Pointon

Right guys, I've not hit a golf ball for over 3 years and even then i wasn't very good, joined Rutherford Castle for a year but only played 6 or 7 times so didn't rejoin. I was a high handicapper (19) Loved playing the game though. :thumbsup:

Anyway, I'm starting to get the itch to play again and wondered if any of you good people would be willing to let a hacker tag along sometime.

I can play pretty much anytime anywhere within reason although East or Mid Lothian would be better.

Much appreciated if anyone can oblige.

Oh, and willing to buy a few libations afterwards as way of thanks. :whistling:

Have arranged to take Graygo for a game at Monktonhall, Musselburgh, 4.30ish on 28 June. If anyone wants to make it a 3 or 4 ball for a mini JKB outing they are more than welcome as I can sign 3 guests on in midweek.

just got twatted in one of the singles knock-outs.

the guy tips up and goes on and on about how bad he's been playing... has a few bad holes... then plays like a cat-1 for the rest of the match. and i'm giving 4 shots away! him hitting one OOB and it hitting a fence and coming back in... and him holing a 20 footer to take advantage of it should have been the warning sign.

the guy in the last round did exactly the same thing with the 'i am playing pure shite hustle', but i got through that one. it's a real shame because this guy is a decent bloke and he played great golf which i would have heartily congratulated him for, but it leaves a bit of a bitter taste. i'm only annoyed at myself now for letting him get inside my head.

never again.

Having just got back playing again im looking to get a new set of irons but im looking for any advice from the JKB golfers.

Im hitting 92-95 in the 6-7 rounds since coming back but to be honest my short game is killing me from making it an 85-88 at worst.

I was looking at the Taylor Made R9 irons or the Taylor Made Burner Pro but im open to your pearls of wisdom.

My iron play is fairly solid but im looking for a little more distance and control (arent we all)

Anyway let me know what you use and how you find them or if you have any recommendations. thumbsup.gif

So... I turned up at the course on Monday night and actually felt like I didn't want to play.. OMG.. I think it is something to do with the fact I've been playing 3-4 rounds a week and on Sat had 2 rounds in the rain.. But I played anyway.

The comp is a special one. You give/get half the handicap difference and start that amount of holes up/down... SO on the first tee I was 5 down and there are no shots in the game. Its a great format and you can start 10 down and its very exciting. Well I was 6 down on the second tee after the 15 handicapper had a great 4 on the first, and the second, and the 3rd... WTF.. its bloody windy... He played so well. I played the back nine in 1 over par and won just 4 holes. Lost on the 18th.

Last night, was the first round of the club championship. Won 4 and 3 and played brilliant. Few birdies here and here, 1 under for the par 5s, hit every par 3 green, loved it.

Tonight, another medal...

I actually feel sorry for my lass sometimes..., But not much.

Having just got back playing again im looking to get a new set of irons but im looking for any advice from the JKB golfers.

Im hitting 92-95 in the 6-7 rounds since coming back but to be honest my short game is killing me from making it an 85-88 at worst.

I was looking at the Taylor Made R9 irons or the Taylor Made Burner Pro but im open to your pearls of wisdom.

My iron play is fairly solid but im looking for a little more distance and control (arent we all)

Anyway let me know what you use and how you find them or if you have any recommendations. thumbsup.gif

How much money are you prepared to spend on the irons?

If you are serious about playing a lot I would highly recommend getting fitted at the Mizuno centre in glasgow. So much better than a local pro or 'golf discount centre'. Best decision I ever made with clubs.

grumpy rebus

Tonight, another medal...

I actually feel sorry for my lass sometimes..., But not much.

So do I, but it's nowt to do with golf!! :whistling::whistling:;)

Played a mixed foursomes tie last night and we managed to squeak through on the 20th. My partner nailed a long putt on the 19th for half and i drove just short of the green on the 20th whilst our opponents got into a right stramash in the rough. Through to the quarter-finals now and we'll play better than we did last night.

Looking forward to first round of the Championship on Sunday. :thumbsup:

How much money are you prepared to spend on the irons?

If you are serious about playing a lot I would highly recommend getting fitted at the Mizuno centre in glasgow. So much better than a local pro or 'golf discount centre'. Best decision I ever made with clubs.

Yeah mate very serious about getting back into it basically played alot till I was 25 then due to a random eye condition had trouble seeing the flight of the ball but now that has been remedied with a decent contact im back to 20/20 and keen to play as much as I can.

As for how much Im willing to pay I dont really have a limit just want to get good irons that will improve my game.

thanks for the advice re Mizuno

midweek medal, 75-9=66. should be down to 7.9 now.

without shooting the lights out, that's the best medal round i've played in years. never holed a significant putt, never had a birdie. had 39 non-putt shots which is as low a number as i've had for quite a while. the only errant shots i had was one iron shot off the tee at a short par-3, and two drivers off the tee at the two long par-3s. everything else bang on the money (without getting many irons close to the hole).

golf is so enjoyable when you do virtually everything right (to one's own standard).

midweek medal, 75-9=66. should be down to 7.9 now.

without shooting the lights out, that's the best medal round i've played in years. never holed a significant putt, never had a birdie. had 39 non-putt shots which is as low a number as i've had for quite a while. the only errant shots i had was one iron shot off the tee at a short par-3, and two drivers off the tee at the two long par-3s. everything else bang on the money (without getting many irons close to the hole).

golf is so enjoyable when you do virtually everything right (to one's own standard).

I would be beating one out on the 18th green if I had played your round laugh.gif well done mate sounds like the round you go home and think yup I love this game.

WHAT IS WRONG WITH ME????????

Out in 34 last night after 3 putting the 9th green....

Was so angry that I double bogied the 10th, 3 putted from 10 ft for a bogey on 11, and bogied 12......... got my head sorted going 3,3,3 in the next 3 holes with a cheeky wee eagle thrown in.... so 2 over par again.....

Played 17th great, and 3 putted after chasing the birdie...

Nearly drove 18th green, and took 4 from the side after trying to hole for the 2, then hit the birdie putt so hard that I ended with another bogey....

Why can't I hold it together..

In the first 8 holes I tapped in for par 7 times....

Bit of a golf bonanza for me this weekend.

Playing Fri/Sat/Sun.

Looking forward to it, and I may hang up the clubs if I don't get less than 100 in at least one of these rounds !!!

Was so angry that I double bogied the 10th, 3 putted from 10 ft for a bogey on 11, and bogied 12......... got my head sorted going 3,3,3 in the next 3 holes with a cheeky wee eagle thrown in.... so 2 over par again.....

Nearly drove 18th green, and took 4 from the side after trying to hole for the 2, then hit the birdie putt so hard that I ended with another bogey....

Sounds to me mate that your thinking about it too much, at your score your obviously a great player perhaps its a case of just slowing yourself down again after 1 bad hole.

That or practise your putting :lol: to be fair wish i had your issues.

Have arranged to take Graygo for a game at Monktonhall, Musselburgh, 4.30ish on 28 June. If anyone wants to make it a 3 or 4 ball for a mini JKB outing they are more than welcome as I can sign 3 guests on in midweek.

would love to play but got a midweek medal on that night.:angry:

ps. hi guys just found this thread.....wow some SF handicappers here nice to see.:rolleyes:

Chasing the score!

I'm convinced the more you chase the harder it gets. I have to admit that when the red mist comes down i'm usually fecked for 2 or 3 holes. :(

I only managed 9 last night and managed level par for 9 with only 1 par. Stupid game.

I would be beating one out on the 18th green if I had played your round laugh.gif well done mate sounds like the round you go home and think yup I love this game.

thanks very much. it's very nice to play a medal like that when you're virtually in complete control. had one or two slight wobbles on the green but got away with it. it's just a pity that i had nothing positive going for me on the greens otherwise it would have been lights oot.

that's unlucky mate. i know exactly what you mean by the frustration of leaked shots leading to even more leaked shots. as handicap golfers it's something that can affect anyone.

i'm a great believer in that it's vitally important that the mistakes come at the right time. if they happen early in the round and then you go on a good run, it can lead to a very good score. if they happen later then it lead to you screwing the nut to finish well and get a good score. if they happen mid-round it can sometimes lead to a collapse.

this is where the top pros are superb. they have the mental toughness and conditioning to operate like robots and instantly forget a bad mistake.

Guess The Crowd

73, net 68 for me today, knocked 0.2 off the handicap I think.

Much calmer weather than usual, cut out the double bogeys, one of these days when everything seemed much simpler.

Things I have worked on over the past few years:-

1. not being 'scared' to shoot a low score. If i'm one under, get to two under ...if i'm two under, get to three under.....etc, etc

2. you cant do anything about mistakes once they are made. Best way to bounce back is forget about it there & then & look to pick up shots in the next few holes to make up for it. Dont try & chase it straight-away. Try to be patient.

3. the time for self analysis & reasons for the mistakes is after the round. Dont think about it too much while you are playing, or frustration & annoyance will cause you to dwell on the mistakes.

1. not being 'scared' to shoot a low score. If i'm one under, get to two under ...if i'm two under, get to three under.....etc, etc

There is always a little of this that gets me is when I'm on the 14th or so and i'm level or 1 over, I start thinking about the score and the round. Where as up to that point i'll be playing it shot by shot, hole by hole. I think its because I know I can shoot an under par round but have yet to do so in a medal. Maybe its playing on my mind

I watched the golf at the weekend and watching Day play was interesting. He took a deep breath before every single shot and it was like it was the most important shot he was about to hit ever......

I have worked out I need to work on Distance control.. Yes, I'll hit a great drive and a good shot onto the green, but I tend to be 10-15yrds long or short and that is like hitting one club more less sometimes. I might have to just hit the practice ground more and actually work out how far each clubs goes!

Had a club championship first round tie yesterday and won 1 up.

Tried to work on course management yesterday and never deviated from the plan even when i went two down after 11. Plugged and got 3 birdies in the last 6 holes to take it.

Quarter-finals next :thumbsup:

grumpy rebus

Really shit weekends play from me.

:down:

103 yesterday.

Started 8, 7 and finished 9, 6.

:blink:

I was only marginally better. If you fancy a round at Burntisland, let me know. We can compare horror stories! :ninja:

Played again last night... Foursomes tie... Through to Semi Finals now. I played 2 shots from the fairway all night and I didn't play that great at all. Luckily the other team didn't want to win so we took it on the 18th.

Highlight of the night was the par 3, 150yrd 9th. I hit a wedge into 8ft and got a clap from the 3 ball that were letting us through. Then my opponent, a CID officer who specialises in serious crimes including the sex register (I'll stop here, but he's a jambo and we had a good chat) hit the pin so hard and square on he was unlucky not to get a hole in one and it stopped 2 inches away. My partner, who was up at the green, walked up casually to ours and hold the putt. it was about 45 seconds to play the hole. Thats how you get through someone.

Only one more game booked in this week! Gym today.

Whitecapjambo

Hi Lads,

Looking for some advice here.

I have been playing regularly for about 6 years now and have seen a steady improvement year on year. I am not a member of a club, I live in vancouver and it's stupidly expensive, but I track each score online. I am playing of 14 at the moment but, as everyone does, I feel I leave a few shots out there each round. My average score is probably about 85.

Would you recommend that I spend a lot of money on lessons? I have never had a professional lesson. Part of me is worried about the time it would take to implement major swing changes as I have gone so long with what I have. I think I have a fundamentally strong swing, I hit the shot I want to consistently and I seem hit the ball a decent distance (drive av 240 ish, 8 iron 150). Much of my focus on the moment is on my short game, I get to the range/putting green at least twice a week and will play at least one round.

What have your experiences been with lessons?

How long has it taken for you to feel comfortable with changes?

Has anyone been in a similar position?

Cheers,

WCJ

WCJ

What makes you think you would need major swing changes? Get yourself videoed and you'll spot yourself if you are doing something bad (or maybe even correct)...

AS for lessons. The best thing A pro can help with IMO is your setup. Most peoples faults usually come from a setup problem. Be it your stance / alignment / grip or whatever. A pro can really help with this. So book one lesson, and see what happens.

Whitecapjambo

WCJ

What makes you think you would need major swing changes? Get yourself videoed and you'll spot yourself if you are doing something bad (or maybe even correct)...

AS for lessons. The best thing A pro can help with IMO is your setup. Most peoples faults usually come from a setup problem. Be it your stance / alignment / grip or whatever. A pro can really help with this. So book one lesson, and see what happens.

Cheers Bigsmak,

I am pretty sure I don't, just without knowing anyone here who could recommend a good pro I am just a bit concerned about the advice I would get. To be honest I am pretty happy with how I have been playing. I am coming home next week and am looking forward to playing some courses I haven't played in a few years and comparing how I have improved (hopefully).

I think I will look into a lesson or analysis, there are a few places around that do it.

Cheers Bigsmak,

I am pretty sure I don't, just without knowing anyone here who could recommend a good pro I am just a bit concerned about the advice I would get. To be honest I am pretty happy with how I have been playing. I am coming home next week and am looking forward to playing some courses I haven't played in a few years and comparing how I have improved (hopefully).

I think I will look into a lesson or analysis, there are a few places around that do it.

http://www.todaysgolfer.co.uk/Golf/Forums/Rate-My-Swing-Results/?N=487

Here is a place where you can get your swing rated!

Edited by Bigsmak

Cheers Bigsmak,

Not sure where you're based about, but from personal experience I would recommend David Gemmell the pro at Aberdour GC.

Keeps it nice and simple, doesn't bog you down with loads of jargon and you definitely go away feeling more positive about your game.

If that's too far away the guys at the Braid Hills golf centre are very good too.

Give lessons a go, they will definitely will help your game - trust me!

scots civil war

get lessons chief defo,just 2 or 3 in 6 months say.....i wouldnt advise having a lesson on synthetic surface.....

get video`d if poss and equat that with the swing of your most impressive golfer on tour....luke donald etc

study their swing and gain knowledge on all the components of the movement

work on what the pro says to you,as well,and practice all the time

tie tonight in the main club matchplay. ground through 2/1 after having to give away 10 shots to an opponent who can play the game. :smug: that's the sort of opponent i don't mind giving away a shed load of shots to... someone who's completely honest and has a realistic handicap. i had to play very well to win narrowly and if i hadn't have, i would have lost. a proper test. not a wild goose chase, giving away too many shots to dick turpin.

i was gracious enough to repay him for his honesty by giving the guy some pointers to address his weak points.

Had a good win last night in one of our summer cups. Beat my winter league partner 6&4. Missed nowt all night and was 1 under thru 14 holes. Hitting a bit of form just at the right time :thumbsup:

Cyprus Jambo

Only thing I would recommend (and surprised its not been said), is go and get your clubs custom fitted. A good pro who does this for you will be able to see where you are hitting the ball and adjust the clubs to help and make you hit the 'sweet' spot a bit more regularly.

Although I got custom fitted - while buying new clubs (which is slightly different) I went from 13 -9 in the sapce of a few months last year. Still through in the odd wobble on 1-2 holes a round so can't get under 9. Played at 76 and 79 8 days apart to get cut so bad (Par 71).

Only thing I would recommend (and surprised its not been said), is go and get your clubs custom fitted. A good pro who does this for you will be able to see where you are hitting the ball and adjust the clubs to help and make you hit the 'sweet' spot a bit more regularly.

Although I got custom fitted - while buying new clubs (which is slightly different) I went from 13 -9 in the sapce of a few months last year. Still through in the odd wobble on 1-2 holes a round so can't get under 9. Played at 76 and 79 8 days apart to get cut so bad (Par 71).

GF is getting me a new set of Taylor Made Irons and Woods for Xmas - go the fitting session booked already, can't wait

I was only marginally better. If you fancy a round at Burntisland, let me know. We can compare horror stories! :ninja:

I might take you up on that one day mate.

I bought a putter for a 5er last week out of Sports Direct.

My putting was different class on Saturday, seriously! :rofl:

Shame my tee shots were beyond shite and ended up with a 104.

:(

I might take you up on that one day mate.

I bought a putter for a 5er last week out of Sports Direct.

My putting was different class on Saturday, seriously! :rofl:

Shame my tee shots were beyond shite and ended up with a 104.

:(

I had my first game tonight for 3 years (thanks to bleedsmaroon for the game) my body now feels like it has been hit by a big truck, not looking forward to tomorrow!! :o

Played absolute sheite but to be honest not much worse than I did the last time I played.

Merse, you should have come and played with us as 104 would probably have seen you taking a ? or two from me.

Bad as I was though I still really enjoyed it and the better half was glad to see me getting a bit of exercise instead of lounging about the house, might even give it another go. :thumbsup:

SunBurn

OMG played yesterday afternoon, in shorts, back of legs are burnt as is my head!

Played the back 9 in 2 under par so that was good as well.

But mostly, hit a 4 iron off a tee and the rescue club 5 times. I am really starting to get the idea of course management. Takes some bunkers out of play completely.

Playing again today in a tie, lets see if I can keep it going!

Disser Pointon

I had my first game tonight for 3 years (thanks to bleedsmaroon for the game) my body now feels like it has been hit by a big truck, not looking forward to tomorrow!! :o

Played absolute sheite but to be honest not much worse than I did the last time I played.

Merse, you should have come and played with us as 104 would probably have seen you taking a ? or two from me.

Bad as I was though I still really enjoyed it and the better half was glad to see me getting a bit of exercise instead of lounging about the house, might even give it another go. :thumbsup:

You've got a decent swing mate, if you work on that grip and play a bit more often there's definitely a golfer in you! And we came from 3 down with five to play to finish all square, almost winning it at the last!

Disser Pointon

SunBurn

OMG played yesterday afternoon, in shorts, back of legs are burnt as is my head!

Played the back 9 in 2 under par so that was good as well.

But mostly, hit a 4 iron off a tee and the rescue club 5 times. I am really starting to get the idea of course management. Takes some bunkers out of play completely.

Playing again today in a tie, lets see if I can keep it going!

Must admit, my irons have come on recently which means I no longer feel the need to be bombing the driver off the tee all the time to get bas close to the green as I can, although you need to take driver on most holes at Monktonhall!

grumpy rebus

You've got a decent swing mate, if you work on that grip and play a bit more often there's definitely a golfer in you! And we came from 3 down with five to play to finish all square, almost winning it at the last!

Did you not get kicked off the course for that? :whistling:

Seriously, if any of the higher handicappers fancy a game, let me know.

as far as i'm concerned, this 'course management' thingymabob off the tee is really only for the long hitting, consistent striking players like i suspect bigsmak is from his posts on here. i'm off 8 myself and as straight as the next guy but i'm not nearly long enough to even contemplate using anything else but the big stick off the tee. my home course isn't littered with fairway bunkers in any case to make it a necessity.

i've seen a lot of players get far better course management from using irons, woods and hybrids off the tee. every time it's been a guy who can belt it a long way. i've also seen many players who continue to use the driver when it's been patently obvious that they would knock 5-10 shots off their scores by taking something else at certain holes. you don't even need to be a single figure h/c player to benefit from this... but you most certainly do need to be long(ish) and a consistent striker with your irons/hybrids. there's no point taking a 4 iron off the tee at a 300 yard par 4 and then proceed to hit it thin about 120 yards.

generally speaking, distance is everything in golf. either learn to hit the driver consistently or take advantage of your hitting by using the noddle every so often and keep it on the island with something else. the trick is knowing your limitations.

there's no point taking a 4 iron off the tee at a 300 yard par 4 and then proceed to hit it thin about 120 yards.

If its only 300 Yrds I'll take the driver and try and put it on the green! .. .

But if it is 320-380 i'll hit my rescue club (about 250) and it gives me a full wedge / sandwedge to the green. I'd rather hit a full wedge than a 3/4 one.

Played yesterday in a foursomes with a partner of 9. We gave 9 shots away and shook hands on the 13th. We finished 1 over par.

Played today and gave 6 shots to a good player. Shook hands on the 14th. I was 2 over at the time (1 bad drive and 12 missed put on the hardest hole) ... He was so amazed that I beat him like that as he played very well. I was hitting my drives very long and straight today into the wind. Makes a huge difference when I am hitting a 9 iron to the green and he has a wood in his hands 80 yards behind me.

Length in matchplay can make a huge difference.

Played in a championship quarter final tonight and I squeaked through against a big hitter!

I stuck to the plan tonight taking irons or hybrids off the tee to take the trouble out of play and was often 40/50 yards behind him but in good old matchplay style playing in first suits me and I was piling the pressure on the other guy every hole and it paid off in the end.

• Maple Leaf changed the title to Official Golf geeks gibber thread