Poor Show !

Gaz

Loyalist (join the orange lodge and celebrate it)

Irish Republican (join some marching band and celebrate it)

Protestant (get yourself along to the Kirk and celebrate it)

Roman Catholic (get yourself along to mass and celebrate it)

Jewish (get yourself along to the Synagoge and celebrate it)

Nationalist (Join the SNP and vote for them)

Unionist (Join the tories and vote for them)

Socialist (Join the Labour party or whoever and vote for them)

Communist (wave a red flag and remember the old days)

Me, i may be more than one of the above, but come Saturday at 3pm i am a Hearts fan and i do not know what any of the above have to do with supporting my team.

IMO football songs about my team or rivals will help drive my team on, not some songs which have nothing to do with football.

I have no problem with any Hearts fan next to me being any of the above as long as he leaves those beliefs behind for 90mins and gets right behind the Heart of Midlothian FC by belting out Hearts football songs.

He can then go and celebrate his beliefs (wether i agree with them or not) at an appropriate place as listed in above brackets.

Still think Dave McLaren's lesbians should be allowed, though...

• Replies 455
Dunk-Section G

Me, i may be more than one of the above, but come Saturday at 3pm i am a Hearts fan and i do not know what any of the above have to do with supporting my team.

IMO football songs about my team or rivals will help drive my team on, not some songs which have nothing to do with football.

I have no problem with any Hearts fan next to me being any of the above as long as he leaves those beliefs behind for 90mins and gets right behind the Heart of Midlothian FC by belting out Hearts football songs.

He can then go and celebrate his beliefs (wether i agree with them or not) at an appropriate place as listed in above brackets.

You mean join any political party considering all support the Union except for the SNP and the Greens (plus the Socialists).

Great reply but undoubtedly wasted. Unlikely that squirrel brain will be able to deal with an ology.

you stay in LA just stay there don't come back,

as for that halfwit, HEARTS ARE BRITISH AND PROTESTANT PROVEN FACT.

u can **** your pro snp views aswell.

:bravo:

I fear you are mising the point.

People were more religous in the pas, but because everyone was more or less of the same persuasion there was no need to to sing songs about it.

I have no idea about Tynie1974, neither do I wish too - it is not relevant to the basis of my point.

no i don't goto church never have never will.

Christ (:rolleyes:) your an angry wee man.

You mean join any political party considering all support the Union except for the SNP and the Greens (plus the Socialists).

Way off topic, but is there a Hearts fan out there who would even contenplate voting for a 'Green' party? :eek:

I'm actually going to take your advice and stop listening to at least 1 deluded plum from JKB.

The deluded plum I've chosen to stop listening to is you.

Your in a minority amongst the Hearts support and you always will be.

Dunk-Section G
Way off topic, but is there a Hearts fan out there who would even contenplate voting for a 'Green' party? :eek:

Ha ha, good point.

Also, I hope everyone knows that new leader of the Scottish Labour MSPs is of course a Hibee - Mr Iain Gray!

A uefa Spokesman said so.

we play in britain

The British part is undeniable, all clubs that play in the British leagues are. I'm more interested in the proof of the other half of your statement.

For Hearts to be a protestant club surely it should be part of the clubs policies and marketing. If you could provide proof from the club then I would accept it.

I fear you are mising the point.

People were more religous in the pas, but because everyone was more or less of the same persuasion there was no need to to sing songs about it.

I have no idea about Tynie1974, neither do I wish too - it is not relevant to the basis of my point.

Not missing the point at all. You say that because everyone was more religious in the past and of the same persuasion there was no need to sing these protestant / loyalist songs. Now that society is no longer as religious or protestant then that's why these songs are sung.

It would be logical to assume that you think the singers are therefore religious people.

Rule Brittania was writen by a Scotsman so that gives us a right to sing it!

So was sunshine on leith and i have no wish or need to sing that either!.

heartgarfunkel

you must be a deep-lying Hibby infiltrator!:hobofish:

Very, very clever - trying to make HMFC fans look like illiterate, bigoted morons in the hope the press pick up on it! :cheese:

"Some of these morons who go on about being British couldn"t even spell it"

There's a definite pattern emerging here...

Rule Brittania was writen by a Scotsman so that gives us a right to sing it!

Not sure what the fuss is all about.

It was a good atmosphere in the corner and hello hello was generally sung with the Hibee blood lyrics anyway.

hearts back in the day where known as loyalists if that is the correct word to use, we're trying to bring back that reputation

And thanks to the wonders of evolution we are no longer back in the day (though I have yet to see any evidence that back in the day Hearts were formed to be or ever publically declared themselves as a Protestant football club) but have evolved into a multi-cultural football club with a largely broad minded and tolerant support. With a squad full of differing religious beliefs, nationalities and personal opinions and a support likewise.

And because of this I'd suggest any attempt to try and bring back a Loyalist reputation to the club will be about as sucessful as we were at Tannadice yesterday.

The funniest thing when talking to some people about religion is that they believe that just because they are not catholic then they are Protestant.

I am a catholic and i am proud of that however when i go along to tynecastle or i go to other grounds across Scotland i couldn't give a flying **** what religion myself or anyone else follows when connected to football.

hahaha! Typical pesh that happens wen this kinda stuff happens...

Some agree and some don't - big deal. All everyone is doing is slagging each other off.

Why should ppl care and make it a point to hav a go at ppl for singing in what they belive?

And this feck off to ibrox pesh n all! Wtf!

Im a die hard hearts fan from northern ireland, now go on, hav a go at me then. I went to NI Vs scotland and many other games and sung these types of songs and may join in at hearts games when we play the big teams (if feelng fired up) so should i, a 10 year season ticket holder feck off to ibrox?? Grow up mate!

A cracking read that article. I must have been on holiday or something at the time it was published.

It lets some of our less intelligent and less tolerant fans see that Hearts are a great club with a proud tradition of embracing all members of the community.

The only thing that should matter is a love of football and the

FAMOUS JAM TARTS:flagwave::flagwave::flagwave:

This thread is funny.

An interesting point to note about this thread, it's funny how, (for the most part) all the people on one side of the debate can spell, and all the people on the other side cannot.

This thread is funny.

An interesting point to note about this thread, it's funny how, (for the most part) all the people on one side of the debate can spell, and all the people on the other side cannot.

What I also find interesting is the attitude of many of those who are deeply offended by these songs. They are more than happy to resort to personally abusing those with opinions they disagree with.

Doesn't exactly help their cause.....:rolleyes:

A few choice quotes from those on the 'right' side of this debate:

--------------------------------------------------------------------

those wee feckers

the IQ of a hobo in Europe

**** off to Ibrox

but just type in your sat nav, **** box, and you will feel right at home

immature

mentally-subnormal

wannabe-hun

karsten jankers

Neanderthals walking this Earth

rest of the [filter edit]

halfwits

Not a brain cell between them

non-educated

schemie mates

thick as mince

attention seekers scheemie neds

--------------------------------------------------------

And that was only the first half of this thread :eek:

Simply an observation.

What I also find interesting is the attitude of many of those who are deeply offended by these songs. They are more than happy to resort to personally abusing those with opinions they disagree with.

Doesn't exactly help their cause.....:rolleyes:

A few choice quotes from those on the 'right' side of this debate:

--------------------------------------------------------------------

those wee feckers

the IQ of a hobo in Europe

**** off to Ibrox

but just type in your sat nav, **** box, and you will feel right at home

immature

mentally-subnormal

wannabe-hun

karsten jankers

Neanderthals walking this Earth

rest of the [filter edit]

halfwits

Not a brain cell between them

non-educated

schemie mates

thick as mince

attention seekers scheemie neds

--------------------------------------------------------

And that was only the first half of this thread :eek:

Simply an observation.

I hope you don't mean me, I am neither deeply offended or particularly bothered, just thought it was interesting.

Nah just making an observation like yourself.

I don't quite see how some people can try to take the 'moral highground' whilst calling someone a [filter edit] or a schemie !!

Calling someone a tattie muncher = Unacceptable.

Calling someone a [filter edit] = Acceptable.

Does not compute....

Nah just making an observation like yourself.

I don't quite see how some people can try to take the 'moral highground' whilst calling someone a [filter edit] or a schemie !!

Calling someone a tattie muncher = Unacceptable.

Calling someone a [filter edit] = Acceptable.

Does not compute....

Surely though singing "White is right" in a public place is not acceptable?

Perhaps I am giving them too much leeway by assuming that they don't have the intelligence to realise how horrific they sound.

I have no doubt that many of these 'fans' love the 'shock' value of their little ditties. They are looking for a reaction and know exactly what they are doing.

Now if they truly believe in these sentiments that is their prerogative, but when they are identifying themselves as Hearts fans I'm sorry but it just fills me with shame.

They ARE an embarrassment.

I'm playing Devil's Advocate here (I won't even bother to explain that if you don't understand it) but take this quote from "The Hearts 1874 to 1924" by William Reid:

"Interest in the game in Edinburgh was really created by the old-time meetings of the Hearts and the Hibernians, into which there then entered racial jealousy, even sectarian bitterness"

The story of Elias Furst serves to prove Hearts were not anti other religious or racial groups, as does the story of John Walker. http://www.londonhearts.com/images/jwalker.htm

Therefore............

So was sunshine on leith and i have no wish or need to sing that either!.

That is completely different. That was written for something you hate.

And what I find interesting is that everyone calls us bigoted and racist etc, but you guys aren't that different to us.

Why don't you join us up Easter Road in a couple of weeks time for a sash bash?

I'm playing Devil's Advocate here (I won't even bother to explain that if you don't understand it) but take this quote from "The Hearts 1874 to 1924" by William Reid:

"Interest in the game in Edinburgh was really created by the old-time meetings of the Hearts and the Hibernians, into which there then entered racial jealousy, even sectarian bitterness"

The story of Elias Furst serves to prove Hearts were not anti other religious or racial groups, as does the story of John Walker. http://www.londonhearts.com/images/jwalker.htm

Therefore............

HEARTS sectarian support evolvd as a reaction to Celtic and Hibernians,much as Rangers did.

Hibernians were formed with a practicing catholic only signing policy,Celtic were formed along similar lines.

Hearts like rangers were formed as non religous clubs but evolved to represent

to some a Proddy alternative.

More so rangers obviously

Surely though singing "White is right" in a public place is not acceptable?

Perhaps I am giving them too much leeway by assuming that they don't have the intelligence to realise how horrific they sound.

I have no doubt that many of these 'fans' love the 'shock' value of their little ditties. They are looking for a reaction and know exactly what they are doing.

Now if they truly believe in these sentiments that is their prerogative, but when they are identifying themselves as Hearts fans I'm sorry but it just fills me with shame.

They ARE an embarrassment.

That has nothing to do with my observation. Some people are coming on here and having a go at people for saying things that are 'unacceptable' in a public place.

Whilst doing this they are calling these people [filter edit] and such.

Pot + Kettle.....

Complete hypocrites. FACT. :P

That is completely different. That was written for something you hate.

And what I find interesting is that everyone calls us bigoted and racist etc, but you guys aren't that different to us.

Why don't you join us up Easter Road in a couple of weeks time for a sash bash?

son I could give you

Dollys Brae

The Old Orange flute

To receive the bright Orange and blue

one verse of the sash(with the wrong words) shows you up as a novice.

I think you should have highlighted this bit, otherwise - great post

no i don't go to church never have never will.

You don't seem to have quite got the hang of Protestantism, it is a Christian faith, followers of that faith attend church, it is not a type of football fan.

And there is no point in discussing Loyalists with you, as you appear not too sure if that is what you actually are.

I don't know why people get so worked up about it.

Just let them do what they want. It's not harming you.

As has been said, it's these guys who follow Hearts through thick and thin. Probably better supporters than a lot of people on this thread.

If they want to make an erse of themselves then fair enough, they will soon grow out of it.

We have all been there and sung daft songs. I remember the majority of Tynecastle singing Hello Hello FFS.

STOP PRESS

Alan Partridge in sensible post shocker :)

That has nothing to do with my observation. Some people are coming on here and having a go at people for saying things that are 'unacceptable' in a public place.

Whilst doing this they are calling these people [filter edit] and such.

Pot + Kettle.....

Complete hypocrites. FACT. :P

Quite frankly a bit of name calling is the least they deserve. If they dish it out they've got to take it.

Calling someone a moron is not that same as revelling in hatred.

It's hardly like for like.

Quite frankly a bit of name calling is the least they deserve. If they dish it out they've got to take it.

Calling someone a moron is not that same as revelling in hatred.

It's hardly like for like.

It is completely hypocritical.

And the word was '[filter edit]' not 'moron'....

Abusing the handicapped - abusing someones religion...

Seems pretty 'like for like' to me...

STOP PRESS

Alan Partridge in sensible post shocker :)

I'm not taking that from the worst poster on the board.

I'm just going to remind you that YOUstarted a thread a few days ago slating Euan Cameron and YOU ended up defending him and calling everyone playground bullies!

Now away and blow out your candles. :)