Poor Show !

Gaz

may i just ask

whats wrong with the song ''big jock knew''???

theres nothing sectarian about that is there ?

no

so why is it so wrong?

• Replies 455
Captain Lithuania
It wasn't a group of 14-18 year olds.

It was the Robbo's crowd - again.

It was 14-18 year olds, I know a few of them and I have to say I was sickened by them.

Stamp collectors at Tynecastle, aw feck, wait till they find out where each other sit, then get together and start singing their songs, they have a little ditty about a penny black which could engulf the club in racism. ;)

Don't knock it til you've tried it.

Philately will get you nowhere.

Captain Lithuania
we had to put up with a bunch of despicable "traditionalists" in the centenary bar before the game, treating us to Hello Hello, Rule Britannia, Edinburgh is wonderful apart from....., the Famine song, and White is Right(!!!!).

Home fans in the place were commenting that they thought they were playing Hearts not Rangers.

An embarrasment to the club firstly and also to themselves.

Also well done to the two pillocks singing Hello Hello right in front of the Press box. Well done lads. You must be so proud.

They don't take points off Rangers for singing it, but I bet it happens to us.

may i just ask

whats wrong with the song ''big jock knew''???

theres nothing sectarian about that is there ?

no

so why is it so wrong?

No it's not sectarian.

But it's petty point scoring over child abuse allegations. Even if Jock did know, why is that a subject to gloat about?

we had to put up with a bunch of despicable "traditionalists" in the centenary bar before the game, treating us to Hello Hello, Rule Britannia, Edinburgh is wonderful apart from....., the Famine song, and White is Right(!!!!).

Home fans in the place were commenting that they thought they were playing Hearts not Rangers.

An embarrasment to the club firstly and also to themselves.

Also well done to the two pillocks singing Hello Hello right in front of the Press box. Well done lads. You must be so proud.

Oh they were Hearts fans?!

Could have sworn I had walked into a Klan meeting.

Not a brain cell between them.

I agree that they are Hearts fans as far as I can see. Our support is made up of Tories, Socialists, Unionists, Nationalists, Protestants, Atheists, Muslims, Catholics, Homosexuals, Lesbians, Philatelists, Royalists, republicans, Poles, Scottish, Irish, English, etc, etc.... Now, if everyone could just agree to leave all of that outside and just focus on Hearts then life would be much better.....most seem to manage that but certain groups seem to think they have some sort of pre-ordained right to exhibit and force their beliefs on others. :cool_shades:

The most sensible comment I have seen on this subject for a long time, We all have our own beliefs and agendas and are all fully entitled to them. What we should not do is bring them to a football match and in some perverse way link these beliefs to a football match and to HMFC.

One thing that i realised a long time ago is that the ned element don't sing these songs to annoy the opposition fans, they do so to annoy other Hearts fans. They know that the majority of Hearts fans detest them and the embarassment they bring to the club but they revel in being thick and acting hard like the bad boy at school who thought he was a hero for being in constant trouble. These people don't have any of the "we're all Hearts fans together" attitude or they would not behave like that and subject the rest of the support to their sad, Hun-like behaviour. They absolutely love it when other Hearts fans ask them to stop so they can reply "**** off" and act the big man in front of their sad, non-educated, schemie mates.

I picked up on this thread with regards to the title, i.e "poor show", I assumed it was aimed first and foremost at the performance.

And in terms of the performance to describe it as poor is being very kind, that wasn't poor, it wasn't even bad, it was quite literally s h it, s h it fecking awful.

Were Dundee United a good side, not on your nelly, they were average, very average at best, and they murdered us.

That was the worst performance by Hearts this season, as a football fan you can, and have to, accept defeat when beaten by a better side. When that defeat comes about as a result of a total lack of effort by all in Maroon and White it is quite simply unacceptable, we were rank fecking rotten today, and the result reflects that.

I think your being too generous.

I cant recall a worse performance.

Absolute embarrassment.

were as well playing a 5 5 0 formation. we were made of cardboard.we simply did not look like scoring - AT ALL.

FURIOUS.

Hearts are a protestant and a British club, therefore, we should be able to sing Rule Britannia etc. There is nothing bigoted or sectarian or racist about it.

How would you feel if you were booed while singing Flower of Scotland?

Hearts are a protestant and a British club, therefore, we should be able to sing Rule Britannia etc. There is nothing bigoted or sectarian or racist about it.

Really??

Get a life sonny.

One of the most ridiculous posts in JKB history.

I'm not a protestant and i'm a Scottish nationalist, am I not allowed to support the club any more?

When have Hearts ever been synonymous with any religeon? It's incredibly sad that any Hearts fan thinks the way you do.

As for singing Rule Britannia, most Hearts fans fon't want to hear that at games. Most want to watch football without having some neds political and religous views imposed on them. Why would you want to annoy so many of your own teams fans?

the vicar will not be happy why are you not in church?

I'm not a protestant and i'm a Scottish nationalist, am I not allowed to support the club any more?

When have Hearts ever been synonymous with any religeon? It's incredibly sad that any Hearts fan thinks the way you do.

As for singing Rule Britannia, most Hearts fans fon't want to hear that at games. Most want to watch football without having some neds political and religous views imposed on them. Why would you want to annoy so many of your own teams fans?

Yes you're allowed to support your club, just don't judge anyone because of their beliefs and opinions

You can have all of the beliefs and opinions you want but why must you try and impose them on others who don't want to hear? What do these opinions and beliefs have to do with Hearts or football?

Have your beliefs and opinions by all means, but don't bring them to football and in particular, Heart of Midlothian football club. You're not wanted.

For people telling HEARTS fans to '**** off to Ibrox'.. have a word with yourselves. We're all Jambos afterall, and it's no coincidence that these are the guys who are at every game.. home and away.

Gorgie Rules.

That's the thing that gets me. These guys follow Hearts every where. Where ever Hearts go, these songs go.

Say what ever you like about people who sing those songs, but they are the hardcore. The probably love Hearts more than the complainers.

That's the thing that gets me. These guys follow Hearts every where. Where ever Hearts go, these songs go.

Say what ever you like about people who sing those songs, but they are the hardcore. The probably love Hearts more than the complainers.

Indeed. I don't agree with some of the songs they sing. Some of the other songs they sing I have no problem with but wouldn't personally sing at a Hearts game.

Still these guys go to every game. They will be the ones who turn up to a 3rd round Scottish replay on a dreek Tuesday night in Alloa. I won't. So I don't think I have a right to abuse them for the songs they sing.

We know they are small in number. If the majority are so offended by their songs then create your own atmosphere. Sing other songs and sing them louder. The minority will soon get bored being drowned out.

Put up or shut up I say.

Either create your own atmosphere - or accept the atmosphere that is in place.

If you don't like it - change it. The majority has that power. Nothing can stop you. Make it happen or stop whinging about something you have the power to change.

In actual fact, you're probably right, which is where the "attention-seeking" bit comes in. At eyepox they'd blend-in Mod Edit: no-one would pay them any heed at all because they'd look and sound and act exactly the same as all the other halfwits there. They go to away games and act like they do so that they stand out - so that people "notice them" - and are quite happy to drag Hearts' reputation into the sewer as they do so.

It makes them feel important. It makes them feel that they somehow "matter".

As I said, karsten jankers the lot of them.

Mod Edit i was in this group these songs where not sectarian in anyway if your not happy with whats being sung don't attend games simple as that i've travelled to prague basle northern ireland england and all around scotland to see my beloved jambos play. and your Mod Edit get a grip of your life i support hearts we have different beliefs.

as for the support i can't say nothing we where tremendous and old rendition of billy boys great song , and some songs we sung where terrific aswell keep up the support

GORGIE RULES

No it's not sectarian.

But it's petty point scoring over child abuse allegations. Even if Jock did know, why is that a subject to gloat about?

it's not gloating , it's raising awareness and he did know.

Really??

Get a life sonny.

yes, we are obviously you didn't know that. we're a brittish club as a uefa spokesman said , Heart of Midlothian Football Club are a badge o honour among Edinburgh's Protestant community..UEFA SPOKESMAN

I KNOW WHO U WILL BE VOTING FOR THEN, SNP FOR YOU

PRO SNP VIEWS CAN FECK OFF.

It was 14-18 year olds, I know a few of them and I have to say I was sickened by them.

Then Robbos' should have it's license removed as a lot of those 14-18 year olds have been drinking in there for years.

You can have all of the beliefs and opinions you want but why must you try and impose them on others who don't want to hear? What do these opinions and beliefs have to do with Hearts or football?

i bet there are many more hearts *FANS* out there who believe or support loyalists or protestants, let us believe in that it's not as tho if you where a catholic we would stop you being one.

Indeed. I don't agree with some of the songs they sing. Some of the other songs they sing I have no problem with but wouldn't personally sing at a Hearts game.

Still these guys go to every game. They will be the ones who turn up to a 3rd round Scottish replay on a dreek Tuesday night in Alloa. I won't. So I don't think I have a right to abuse them for the songs they sing.

We know they are small in number. If the majority are so offended by their songs then create your own atmosphere. Sing other songs and sing them louder. The minority will soon get bored being drowned out.

Put up or shut up I say.

If you don't like it - change it. The majority has that power. Nothing can stop you. Make it happen or stop whinging about something you have the power to change.

Excellent point CC.

The problem is when the team is not giving us anything to shout about - the knuckle draggers resort to these really crap songs and chants.

Then Robbos' should have it's license removed as a lot of those 14-18 year olds have been drinking in there for years.

sorry but 18 year olds are allowed to drink?

Excellent point CC.

The problem is when the team is not giving us anything to shout about - the knuckle draggers resort to these really crap songs and chants.

maybe thats why we're not winning? an atmosphere created by whatever songs or singing or chants would possibly get the players spirits up letting them know that the fans are here for them and will back them all the way.

yes, we are obviously you didn't know that. we're a brittish club as a uefa spokesman said , Heart of Midlothian Football Club are a badge o honour among Edinburgh's Protestant community..UEFA SPOKESMAN

"Some of these morons who go on about being British couldn"t even spell it"

maybe thats why we're not winning? an atmosphere created by whatever songs or singing or chants would possibly get the players spirits up letting them know that the fans are here for them and will back them all the way.

what about the 5 catholic players on the field for Hearts yesterday

what about them, do they want medals for being catholic?

there no different to anyone else.

Excellent point CC.

But then you have to give the 'knuckle draggers' credit for at least singing when the team are playing **** ?

Fair enough you don't like their songs and that is your opinion. However just start singing even when we play **** and then you wont have to listen to their songs.

To be fair to these people they do regularly sing more 'acceptable' hearts songs all the time as well.

When I was younger I sang these sort of songs in the shed. Half of Tynie did as well !!

You change your views over time. I just don't let it bother me. I am rather thick skinned. :rolleyes:

These are just young lads supporting their team and being a bit controversial whilst winding people up. Not a huge deal IMO. Whenever the Hearts support is bouncing these songs are not a problem. Up to the majority to create a better atmosphere. I do think in a funny way a return to terracing would actually help. More people would be up for singing and the whole atmosphere would be far better.

Anyway not going to add anymore to this debate. It is sure to go on for another 10 pages !!

Put up or shut up I say.

Exactly. If everything went horribly wrong at Hearts, it would be these guys who'd be watching us week in, week out in the 3rd division.

No one, and I mean no one attempted to out sing these guys yesterday, all they did was boo. Which, frankly, is a joke. People might not agree with the songs they are singing but to boo is needless.

If the people who were offended by this started singing a Hearts song they felt was acceptable, I guarentee the lads who were singing their own songs, would have joined in.

Like I said earlier, well done to the lads. They went to the game, enjoyed themselves, created a good atmosphere and never gave in to the sweety rustlers.

First of all the game was totally pathetic, however, some of the songs from the support was pi** poor. They included from a small section of the support, lower tier.

-Rule Brittania

-big jock knew (Dead Original)

-The Billy Boys

-Oo aa **** The 'ra

-fly the union jack

why dont we just merge with the dirty huns ?

Footballing matters, if csaba IS picking that team we have serious problems, stevie wonder can see what is wrong with that team. Centre back playing centre mid, A centre mid playing right back. Takes stewart off when good old kiss the badge is doing absolutly nothing. 2 amataur centre backs, if you look at their 2 centre backs, dodds and wilkie, not great players but experienced and can do their job, then look at ours, while berra is improving still very amataur. Csaba talks all week about tactics and how we will change with Mike coming back then plays the same team, lets be honest we were very lucky to win last week and if we play like that at easter road we will get totally pumped senseless.

p.s who ever told lee wallace he was a footballer ?

I welcome any singing to be honest. There ahs been no atmosphere at games for about 2 years.

Also the Huns do not have exclusive rights to being British!

And anyone who wants to sing anti - terrorist groups songs is fine by me

Would you have a problem if someone sang oo ah **** the Taliban?

what about them, do they want medals for being catholic?

there no different to anyone else.

if they struck medals for being for being thick as mince,you would need a big chest

Mod Edit

Don't listen to it mate. People might not agree with what you were singing, but there was nothing wrong about it.

Keep singing what you want, just make sure it won't get you lifted.

it's not gloating , it's raising awareness and he did know.

Sorry Tynie, your posts are usually laughable but this is a new level of comedy, even for you.

There's no way that anyone believes what you've posted.

"Some of these morons who go on about being British couldn"t even spell it"

Game, set and match to the Colonel.

Best post ever.

Bomber Harris' Best Mate

Some people see themselves as British first, some see themselves as Scottish first, some see Hearts as a British club, some see Hearts as a Scottish club.

Nothing wrong with Rule Britannia, those of you who dont like it how about singing flower of scotland to drown it out ?

Nobodys going to get a slagging for singing flower of scotland.

How about the right on right on gnash gnash gansh brigade led by Captain Cosanostra give us a list of songs that are acceptable. We wouldnt want to hurt those sensitive little ears of yours at a football match.

Gnash gnash gnash.

Pointless even replying as I or any of the other 'Brits' wont be going to Ibrox or anywhere else, we're Hearts end of.

Some people see themselves as British first, some see themselves as Scottish first, some see Hearts as a British club, some see Hearts as a Scottish club.

Nothing wrong with Rule Britannia, those of you who dont like it how about singing flower of scotland to drown it out ?

Nobodys going to get a slagging for singing flower of scotland.

How about the right on right on gnash gnash gansh brigade led by Captain Cosanostra give us a list of songs that are acceptable. We wouldnt want to hurt those sensitive little ears of yours at a football match.

Gnash gnash gnash.

Pointless even replying as I or any of the other 'Brits' wont be going to Ibrox or anywhere else, we're Hearts end of.

I'm not sensitive or PC or any of the other sad labels the JKB bigots like to throw around. I just don't see the relevance that politics and religeon have to a football match. Like I said, the neds just want to annoy other Hearts fans. Self indulgent, pathetic and embarassing behaviour aimed at winding up other Hearts fans is poor form.

Hmm i have followed hearts home and away for a good part of my adult life ,when i pick up my maroon and white scarf ,thoughts on my nationality and non religious beliefs never cross my mind or have i ever thought about the need to tell the world about them .

(i imagine i would look daft if i started singing the "Internationale " in the stands maybe boris would join in ).

I prefer to sing songs that refer to the team on the pitch and the badge they are wearing .

I agree with CC in relevance to it being in part a lot of young lads trying to be controversial ,but there are a good few grown ups with the sense of a pea also.

If the game had been all ticket and they were dispersed all over the ground they would have sung more hearts songs and less of the rest as in Hamilton and Falkirk .

Its a shame but i dont think the clubs will go for an all cash gate next time.

Bomber Harris' Best Mate
I'm not sensitive or PC or any of the other sad labels the JKB bigots like to throw around. I just don't see the relevance that politics and religeon have to a football match. Like I said, the neds just want to annoy other Hearts fans. Self indulgent, pathetic and embarassing behaviour aimed at winding up other Hearts fans is poor form.

JKB bigots

sad labels to throw around

Rule Britannia is no more or no less political than Flower of Scotland, and nobody would complain if you sang that.

Stop acting like the Mary Poppins of the board and chill out a bit eh.

Rule Britannia is no more or no less political than Flower of Scotland, and nobody would complain if you sang that.

Stop acting like the Mary Poppins of the board and chill out a bit eh.

I don't see the point in singing Flower of Scotland either tbh.

Stop copying the style of Therapist.

Your not as bright or funny and you end up looking a bit silly.

Hmm i have followed hearts home and away for a good part of my adult life ,when i pick up my maroon and white scarf ,thoughts on my nationality and non religious beliefs never cross my mind or have i ever thought about the need to tell the world about them .

(i imagine i would look daft if i started singing the "Internationale " in the stands maybe boris would join in ).

I prefer to sing songs that refer to the team on the pitch and the badge they are wearing .

I agree with CC in relevance to it being in part a lot of young lads trying to be controversial ,but there are a good few grown ups with the sense of a pea also.

If the game had been all ticket and they were dispersed all over the ground they would have sung more hearts songs and less of the rest as in Hamilton and Falkirk .

Its a shame but i dont think the clubs will go for an all cash gate next time.

I would join in with you and Boris.

What the bigotlite brigade hate is being laughed at and having the pesh ripped out of them,that is not the response they are trying to provoke from other Hearts supporters

Bomber Harris' Best Mate
I don't see the point in singing Flower of Scotland either tbh.

Stop copying the style of Therapist.

Your not as bright or funny and you end up looking a bit silly.

"copying the style" of someone online. And im the one who looks silly. :)

You should try stand-up Mary.

I know him personally and believe me hes thick as mince ;)

Having sung probably a lot worse songs and behaved in a less than socially acceptable way at the football (all be it several several years ago) I am not really in a position to judge the young lads who were singing the songs yesterday. I was sat just in the next block to the group in the upper section yesterday and I thought fair due to them as they were the ones making some noise and having a bit of a go at lifting the atmosphere. Yes some of the songs could be considered as a bit "rankers" like and I would prefer that we were not labelled as"mini" huns etc but let's not all get the girl pants on and debate it to death.

Someone made the point earlier, they will probably grow out of it and these songs will continue to become less acceptable at the football, but it will take a bit of time.

Funnily enough I was sat next to a complete erse yesterday, who never sang any of the 'naughty' songs, but was quite happy to shout (and I quote) "I hope you die of f'n aids Macdonald", "Your a f'n rapist Macdonald", "I hope your wife dies of cancer Macdonald". I was kinda more offended by this than the young lads songs! When I asked him (politely) to calm it - he not so politley told me where to go! Oh the banter!!!!

"copying the style" of someone online. And im the one who looks silly. :)

You should try stand-up Mary.

I know him personally and believe me hes thick as mince ;)

OK Susan.

I prefer not to get dragged into these sort of petty squabbles so this will be my last reply to you. There's little point in getting personal with some random on a football forum.

Mod Edit i was in this group these songs where not sectarian in anyway if your not happy with whats being sung don't attend games simple as that i've travelled to prague basle northern ireland england and all around scotland to see my beloved jambos play. and your calling me a Mod Edit get a grip of your life i support hearts we have different beliefs.

as for the support i can't say nothing we where tremendous and old rendition of billy boys great song , and some songs we sung where terrific aswell keep up the support

GORGIE RULES

Chill and read his post again, I think the Mod Edit he was talking about were in fact the Hun fans and not the Hearts fans at Ibrox

Theoretically speaking, how would you react if someone in the Hearts section sung Follow Follow or the Fields of Athernray?

Hello hello is finally back.. What a proud moment. Nothing sectarian about it.

Obviously as long as the 'f' word is not included and I don't mean feck :)

Out of curiosity as I asked the same question and didn't get an answer in a previous thread, why include the 'Billy Boys' part too, I might be way off mark (don't think so) but I've always associated that with the Hun, isn't there an alternative?

Just a thought but if the attention seekers were really just trying to get a bit of atmosphere going and weren't actually just trying to court attention, then why not sing Hearts songs that every Hearts supporter will want to sing? Surely the more people singing, the better the atmosphere will be.

We keep hearing about how they really, really are Hearts fans and go home and away week in, week out. They should by now know the words to Hearts songs and not just religious/political songs.

Or maybe they are just attention seekers scheemie neds afterall.