***Official FIORENTINA Travel Thread - Meet up arrangements ***

JimmyCant

4 hours ago, Morgan said:

I know there’s an official thread for this, but..

Edinburgh to Nice on EasyJet.  A 50 minute train journey from Nice to Ventimiglia (the first Italian town over the border).

A two hour (roughly) train journey to Genoa, then a train to Florence.

Just a thought/suggestion for anyone struggling to find a route.

Quite easy and relatively inexpensive.

Drive down to Stansted Airport  flights to pisa where £53 return last night ..train to Florence...

• Replies 5.6k

• graygo

• Stuart Jack

• Wee Mikey

• Heartsmad1874

3 of us flying EasyJet Manchester to Venice on 12th and return Jet2 on 14th again Venice to Manchester. I have done the Venice train before and it’s just over two hours to Florence. 

flights are £110 return. 

20 minutes ago, Jambomuzz said:

100%. I’m guessing your on those flights? We have a slightly earlier return flight from Pisa to Brussels. But the same outbound. £115 return all in, tank of petrol and £50 or so airport parking isn’t too bad. Booked sorriso hotel in Florence for 2 nights.

No guarantee we will get tickets for the game mind you 😂😂

Aye, saw the earlier flight but didn't fancy getting to Pisa that early with a beer heid  😄  See you at the bar in Manchester 👍

Edit: Hopefully we'll all be ok for tickets.

Edited by graygo

21 minutes ago, Chuck Berry said:

Where/what is the fans/safe zone?

Fan Zone is where the city and police gather all the away fans before football games. This is to cut down problems around the city to a minimum. After the game,away fans are kept inside until the police clear in and around the stadium and they take you back to the safe zone.

Pushing for the last train is very risky and I’ve seen many stuck in Naples over the years at 11pm without a hotel.

Anyone going down/up on a train I’d suggest sleeping in Florence.

23 minutes ago, JamboCampbell said:

Anyone book via lastminute.com? Says pending to be confirmed. Annoying would have done it via the actual airlines if I could go back! No confirmation we are even on the fecking flight!

I booked through them for London to Florence and got confirmation straight away. Hope you get yours confirmed. 

The Hogfather
6 minutes ago, SeanInRome said:

Fan Zone is where the city and police gather all the away fans before football games. This is to cut down problems around the city to a minimum. After the game,away fans are kept inside until the police clear in and around the stadium and they take you back to the safe zone.

Pushing for the last train is very risky and I’ve seen many stuck in Naples over the years at 11pm without a hotel.

Anyone going down/up on a train I’d suggest sleeping in Florence.

Even with a 6:45pm kick off? Trenitalia website is saying 23:07 for the last train back to Pisa and and 22:22 for Bologna.

21 minutes ago, taylor75 said:

Drive down to Stansted Airport  flights to pisa where £53 return last night ..train to Florence...

I was making a suggestion for people who live in Edinburgh.

I live in France and am taking the Ventimiglia/ Genoa/ Florence route. 👍

1 minute ago, The Hogfather said:

Even with a 6:45pm kick off? Trenitalia website is saying 23:07 for the last train back to Pisa and and 22:22 for Bologna.

The 23.07 train is a commuter train and those always run that little bit later. If it’s on the website it’ll definitely go! The trains are the only thing in this country that always works 😎

The last high speed trains usually leave around 22.40 give or take a few minutes.

I brought Leicester fans down last December to Naples from Rome on a r bus and a few fans who had a train return to Rome missed it.

It all depends on results and if there is any trouble before or during the game how long fans get kept inside.

With Man City a few years ago we were kept in the stadium for 1.5hrs and then on the buses for another hour before we moved.

The Hogfather
1 minute ago, SeanInRome said:

The 23.07 train is a commuter train and those always run that little bit later. If it’s on the website it’ll definitely go! The trains are the only thing in this country that always works 😎

The last high speed trains usually leave around 22.40 give or take a few minutes.

I brought Leicester fans down last December to Naples from Rome on a r bus and a few fans who had a train return to Rome missed it.

It all depends on results and if there is any trouble before or during the game how long fans get kept inside.

With Man City a few years ago we were kept in the stadium for 1.5hrs and then on the buses for another hour before we moved.

That's alright then, our flight back from Pisa is early morning on the Friday so hoping to make that 23:07 as a last resort.

Fiorentina fan here in peace! I'm hoping to get tickets for the game at Tynecastle as haven't seen them in Scotland since 2008 at Ibrox. As a Scottish/Glasgow-based Fiorentina supporter for around 30 years and having worked in Firenze and with knowledge of the city, if any Jambo wants advice, travel tips or recommendations for the away trip please let me know...happy to help!

19 minutes ago, Stuart Jack said:

Fiorentina fan here in peace! I'm hoping to get tickets for the game at Tynecastle as haven't seen them in Scotland since 2008 at Ibrox. As a Scottish/Glasgow-based Fiorentina supporter for around 30 years and having worked in Firenze and with knowledge of the city, if any Jambo wants advice, travel tips or recommendations for the away trip please let me know...happy to help!

Best pubs/areas for drinking?

Booked via Jet2, depart 10th, return 15th, 5 night stay.  Flights from Manchester to Pisa.  I always fancied making a short holiday of it if we got a good destination, rather than fly in and out in a couple of days and have little time to actually spend in the destination city.

I also can't be arsed with making some roundabout trip involving planes, trains and automobiles to save a bit of money.  The more steps involved in the journey, the more likelihood that something goes wrong, and I can do without any more stress than is absolutely necessary.

Am looking forward to combining the fitba with a bit of culchur, good scran and fine bevvy, being the connosoor that am ur.

30 minutes ago, Stuart Jack said:

I was thinking of visiting a few art galleries, given that Florence is known as 'the cradle of the Renaissance'.  Can you advise if any of the galleries have bars?  If not, I'm out!

periodictabledancer

The Rangers ticket allocation was just 2400 but many more fans found their way into the stadium.

Cops in Florence as well as  Strathclyde Police, who were in Italy,  said the Rangers supporters had behaved well.

Chief Superintendent Robin Howe said: "The conduct of the Rangers fans was outstanding during the day and there were no incidents."

The tension of the penalties was etched on the faces of supporters in the "fan zone" 200 yards from the stadium.

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scottish-news/joyful-rangers-fans-party-the-night-976144

2,400 should be plenty for us. 

Not thrilled about this fanzone idea and certainly not for being kept in for 90 minutes post match. 

2 minutes ago, RobNox said:

I was thinking of visiting a few art galleries, given that Florence is known as 'the cradle of the Renaissance'.  Can you advise if any of the galleries have bars?  If not, I'm out!

*****TOP TIP*****

Just go to a bar that's got pictures on the walls. 

periodictabledancer
2 minutes ago, RobNox said:

They have the world famous Uffizi but probably best book in advance. I didn't go when I was there in early 2020 as this was during the pandemic (the hub of it wasn't far from Firenze) but even so the place was heaving. 

No bars that I'm aware of. 😐

periodictabledancer
2 minutes ago, graygo said:

*****TOP TIP*****

There's a Hard Rock Cafe in Firenze, so something for everyone. 

7 minutes ago, periodictabledancer said:

There's a Hard Rock Cafe in Firenze, so something for everyone. 

What time are we likely to be able to sit with a beer till on the Thursday night?

Asking for a friend

2 minutes ago, periodictabledancer said:

They have the world famous Uffizi but probably best book in advance. I didn't go when I was there in early 2020 as this was during the pandemic (the hub of it wasn't far from Firenze) but even so the place was heaving. 

No bars that I'm aware of. 😐

Hip flask required then 😄.  

12 minutes ago, graygo said:

*****TOP TIP*****

Go and visit the Uffizzi, there's a cafe/bar inside. 

1 hour ago, SeanInRome said:

Thanks.  How does that work if you wander upto the stadium area a few hours before for a beer and hang around until the gates open, they surely cant round every single visiting fan into a specific area?

31 minutes ago, Chuck Berry said:

Thanks.  How does that work if you wander upto the stadium area a few hours before for a beer and hang around until the gates open, they surely cant round every single visiting fan into a specific area?

The fan zone is aka safezone. In the UK it’s quite easy to walk up to a stadium with your jacket zipped up and fit in with the crowd here in Italy you’ll be recognized as an away fan even without colors and that’s why the police set up these areas.

In Naples last year Leicester had no alcohol in the fanzine but in Rome for the Semi’s there was alcohol (even in the stadium)

I’d suggest from personal experience to stay in a group, especially the night before.

Like every team the majority of the fans are there to support their teams and have a good time but there is always a few in foreign cities who don’t even go to their stadium just looking to make trouble for traveling fans 

The palazzo vecchio is a must see , apart from the footie !  It’s a stunning building .  If your a avid film fan you may notice it’s the building from which inspector Pazzi lost his bowels in the brilliant “ Hannibal

EE5082E8-D5D0-403F-86A7-1E867FBFCC24.jpeg

Edited by JudyJudyJudy

If anyone is still looking to book,

stanstead to bolonga flying out 11th 18:45, return Saturday 15th at 11am is working out £45pp all in. 

one of our lot has to be back in Edinburgh for a wedding so we're flying back 6:20am on the Friday morning 😩 our flights have worked out £60 each. Hoping the bus service to Bolonga goes through the night or we might need to just head straight to the airport after the game so we dont miss the flight back in the morning. 

train to/from Stanstead costing £90 return but cant complain edinburgh to italy and back for £150. 
also theres a later flight out on the Friday which is half the price but gets in to stanstead too late for any flight or train back to edinburgh just incase anyone was tempted by it. 

1000AE31-8FFB-44A4-BFF0-33CBAF64203D.png

9 hours ago, Stuart Jack said:

Brilliant mate, thanks for the offer. No doubt you’ll be peppered with questions between now and then 😊👍🏼

Quick question regarding visas/covid passports, as I ain’t got a clue 🙄

We are travelling Edinburgh - Dublin - Milan (BGY), then returning Milan (BGY) - Gdańsk - Edinburgh. What exactly will I need to enter into Ireland and Poland? And Milan for that matter? Got my covid passport on my phone (and a paper copy too), is there anything else I’ll need? Cheers 👍🏼

Midloth_Iain
9 hours ago, Stuart Jack said:

Best way to get to the 'away' sector of the stadium from the centre - safely ?  (staying near the train station - Santa Maria Novella)

TIA

Rudi Hates Hibees
4 minutes ago, Mr Sifter said:

Quick question regarding visas/covid passports, as I ain’t got a clue 🙄

We are travelling Edinburgh - Dublin - Milan (BGY), then returning Milan (BGY) - Gdańsk - Edinburgh. What exactly will I need to enter into Ireland and Poland? And Milan for that matter? Got my covid passport on my phone (and a paper copy too), is there anything else I’ll need? Cheers 👍🏼

Nothing. There’s no restrictions anymore. 
https://www.euronews.com/travel/amp/2022/06/20/what-s-the-latest-on-european-travel-restrictions

Quick question for anyone who’d know….

When arriving at an airport (Amsterdam) and you have a connecting flight (Florence) do you have to go through passport control and customs and then essentially re enter the airport and go through security before the flight to Florence?

There will be no baggage reclaim as it’ll be hand luggage only. I have a couple of hours between arriving in Amsterdam and the departure to Florence but was just wondering about the procedure involved? 

9 minutes ago, Chevy Chase said:

When arriving at an airport (Amsterdam) and you have a connecting flight (Florence) do you have to go through passport control and customs and then essentially re enter the airport and go through security before the flight to Florence?

There will be no baggage reclaim as it’ll be hand luggage only. I have a couple of hours between arriving in Amsterdam and the departure to Florence but was just wondering about the procedure involved? 

Last time I went through Schipol airport I did have to go through passport control when I was just connecting through, absolutely loads of booths with people checking your passports so it’s a pretty painless experience 👍

9 hours ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

The palazzo vecchio is a must see , apart from the footie !  It’s a stunning building .  If your a avid film fan you may notice it’s the building from which inspector Pazzi lost his bowels in the brilliant “ Hannibal

EE5082E8-D5D0-403F-86A7-1E867FBFCC24.jpeg

It's a stunning city !
If you do nothing else, get a steak !

Early morning flight from Edinburgh to Stanstead. Onto Venice. Onto Florence via train. Two nights in Spirit of Florence boutique hotel. Anyone else staying here? Great location! Travel back home on Friday. £249 all in.😍

Not so fortunate with Riga and not booked up.

Midloth_Iain
10 minutes ago, Braminho said:

Last time I went through Schipol airport I did have to go through passport control when I was just connecting through, absolutely loads of booths with people checking your passports so it’s a pretty painless experience 👍

Last time I went thru Schiphol (April) we had a different, painful experience. Not a connecting flight though so that may be different.

At passport control

Huge quesues for British nationals (non EU booths). 2 booths open, 2 closed

8 EU Booths with few passenger arrivals. Lots of staff. 

Seemed like they were trying to piss off British arrivals 😔 75 minutes to get through P.C.

However I believe there was a separate 'in transit' section for connecting flights, which I hope would be more straight forward.

13 hours ago, SeanInRome said:

Hi Everyone,

I’m new here and just wanted to point out the trains can be a great way to get around Italy albeit no away fans ever make the last high speed trains after games on the night.

The police can keep fans inside for up to 2 hours after a game but always a minimum of 45 minutes, then you are escorted to the fans/safe zone.

I live and work in tourism in Italy so if anyone need some info they can’t find on the web they can PM me.

Welcome pal

Looking forward to hearing your tips etc

6 minutes ago, Midloth_Iain said:

Last time I went thru Schiphol (April) we had a different, painful experience. Not a connecting flight though so that may be different.

At passport control

Seemed like they were trying to piss off British arrivals 😔 75 minutes to get through P.C.

However I believe there was a separate 'in transit' section for connecting flights, which I hope would be more straight forward.

Travel is such a pain now since Brexit

Do you know need a 'through ticket to use the transit section?

10 minutes ago, Midloth_Iain said:

At passport control

I had the same experience with this unfortunately. Schipol is occasionally a bit of a disaster when connecting flights. 

43 minutes ago, Chevy Chase said:

Yes, because you are entering the EU.  Pain in the butt bit did it last month in Ams and CDG. 

12 hours ago, JamboCampbell said:

Anyone book via lastminute.com? Says pending to be confirmed. Annoying would have done it via the actual airlines if I could go back! No confirmation we are even on the fecking flight!

Never EVER book flights through a 3rd party agent. Especially now with so many cancellations and delays. All good if the flight runs smoothly but you’ll wait months to get money back if it doesn’t and you will have to rely on the agent to make alternative solutions, which frankly they don’t give a toss about doing. Learnt this on a recent botched trip to Budapest where the return flight was cancelled and we had to pay for another one. Still haggling for a refund and that was April.

Edited by JimmyCant

10 hours ago, SeanInRome said:

The fan zone is aka safezone. In the UK it’s quite easy to walk up to a stadium with your jacket zipped up and fit in with the crowd here in Italy you’ll be recognized as an away fan even without colors and that’s why the police set up these areas.

In Naples last year Leicester had no alcohol in the fanzine but in Rome for the Semi’s there was alcohol (even in the stadium)

I’d suggest from personal experience to stay in a group, especially the night before.

Like every team the majority of the fans are there to support their teams and have a good time but there is always a few in foreign cities who don’t even go to their stadium just looking to make trouble for traveling fans 

Naples was a farce … organised buses to the match that should have taken a 30 minute journey which were sent on a 60 mile detour with only the fans on the first bus getting in as the KO whistle blew … others were straggling in up HT. I’d be very wary about taking advice from police in Italy.

Rome there was no fanzone per-say just a meeting point in a huge park to get buses to the stadium. However these buses did go straight to the stadium. Many took taxis or walked! And the walkers found it ok despite all the scary stories!

Bologna a few years ago (Joe must go) getting buses away from the stadium was compulsory regardless of how you got there, police made no exceptions. Then once the buses were loaded they took the most direct route with sirens blaring to the main route where Italians were leaving from!

Alas the Italian police regard away fans as a bit fun to play with!

32 minutes ago, Midloth_Iain said:

At passport control

Done transfers here a lot. As you’re entering Schengen you have to go through passport control. Length of queue can be horrible for non-EU if lots of US and transcontinental flights also just arrived (they all seem to land same time in morning). If time is short - and you look stressed they do bump you up the queue if you ask nicely. Biggest issue is it’s such a long airport I always feel like I’ve run a marathon by time I get to gate.

Bit late in booking (waiting on all 4 of us agreeing 🤣) and can only do Wed-Fri so booked these last night;

*WED* 
Edi 0700 > Luton 08.20
Lut 13.20 > Ven 16.30

(Train to Florence £19)

*FRI* 

(Train to Venice £19)

Ven 16.35 > Lut 17.50
Lut 19.15 > Edi 20.30

(£209.69 total each)

Which Piazza is everyone likely to meet up in Florence ??

JamboCampbell
1 hour ago, JimmyCant said:

Never EVER book flights through a 3rd party agent. Especially now with so many cancellations and delays. All good if the flight runs smoothly but you’ll wait months to get money back if it doesn’t and you will have to rely on the agent to make alternative solutions, which frankly they don’t give a toss about doing. Learnt this on a recent botched trip to Budapest where the return flight was cancelled and we had to pay for another one. Still haggling for a refund and that was April.

Yeah agreed! 

Thankfully they have a booking ref for my outbound flights and I have managed to get seats book with KLM so we going! Its the direct return thats not been confirmed but noticed a couple other return flights back from Rome and Milan if that went tits up. Getting their was the main thing!

53 minutes ago, Deans Jambo said:

Bit late in booking (waiting on all 4 of us agreeing 🤣) and can only do Wed-Fri so booked these last night;

*WED* 
Edi 0700 > Luton 08.20
Lut 13.20 > Ven 16.30

(Train to Florence £19)

*FRI* 

(Train to Venice £19)

Ven 16.35 > Lut 17.50
Lut 19.15 > Edi 20.30

(£209.69 total each)

Which Piazza is everyone likely to meet up in Florence ??

What airline is that mate?

hope no one is using Air France article on the Beeb just now prepare to take your boxing gloves.

Two Air-France pilots have been suspended after a physical altercation in the cockpit, reports say.

The pilot and co-pilot exchanged blows as they flew an Airbus A320 from Geneva to Paris in June, Swiss news outlet La Tribune said.

Members of the cabin crew intervened after hearing the noise. One crew member stayed in the cockpit until the flight landed safely.

The incident did not affect the flight, the airline told La Tribune.

• davemclaren changed the title to ***Official FIORENTINA Travel Thread - Meet up arrangements ***