Beginning of the end for Twitter?

3 minutes ago, Shooter McGavin said:

I can only see it appealing to incels who wish to live their entire lives from their bedrooms.

Heres a video which demonstrates a VR art gallery experience, it’s laughably tinpot, and Zuckerberg reckons this is the future 😂

It's as relevant as that Tory plan to help those on benefits save for a deposit by diverting their housing benefit. 

They're solving problems that don't exist, absolutely clueless about what life actually is.

• Replies 770

• Watt-Zeefuik

• Notts1874

• Unknown user

1 hour ago, Smithee said:

Zuckerberg's folly.

My mate made a good money in tech, developing 360° cameras in conjunction with Google maps, etc.

He was excited as anything about the metaverse, how it's going to change everything, how we'll do everything in VR rather than real life. That's what the metaverse is, just another virtual reality world where your avatar interacts with other avatars.

Pointless, stupid.

I tried to tell him, it might be exciting to tech guys, but they're not going to sell headsets at £1500 per person to companies so they can have VR meetings instead of zoom calls, they don't want it, need it, and neither does the man in the street.

This isn't something that enough people are willing to commit to, and they're already baws deep financially.

Yup. File alongside 3D TV

It's not a great film by any means, but Surrogates is interesting for anyone interested in the directions VR technology might go in the future.

52 minutes ago, Lord BJ said:

I’d probably side with your mate tbh, I can see huge applications for the technology. 

I think people think ready player 1 or something when they think about the technology. It’s very impressive and surprisingly cheap and likely to become cheaper. (You can get a headset for under £400 and you will be amazed with it, whilst VR porn will ****ing ensure its success 😂 like VCR) 

It’s really just a development of a lot of existing technology. A step along our evolution with technology, I guess. 

I see real uses in many areas. Design, medical (I was recently looking at something on medical and they’re trialing technology takes your medical readings etc whilst having your virtual appointment etc, it was impressive. It was an immersive doctors appointment) and social media are the ones that spring to mind. 

It’s not being pushed, hard, yet, well because the technology in reality is at the beginning of its commercial development journey. However, in less than 20 years it will be similar to our use of mobile phones I suspect. 

You’ll no longer sit bashing message on a keyboard. You will speak in the JKB message room, people will see your emotions etc as opposed, to the limitation that typed text can convey. It will be so much more immersive. People thought that chat rooms were pointless and stupid, once apon a time ago. Yet here we are😃

Technology cost drops and development continues. Future, generation are always more comfortable with new tech (they use it school for certain things). Think the first mobile phone to the current phone. VR will have a very similar evolution imho. 

I think medical technology is next generation big growth area tbh and see VR an integral part. That said, what do I know. I know even less than Zuckerberg 🤷🏻‍♂️ 

Aldo ties in with the subscription economic model, I fear, we’re moving to. 

(I think be will replace things like tvs. UFC and World Cup are trialing as if you were there events. It still early days but you’ll watch football like you were stand if you want imo in less than 10 years) 

It might well be something in 20 years, but it's not what people want now, or even that soon IMO. The tech's very impressive, from an MMO perspective if nothing else, but it doesn't bring much of value to the table. 

As with other attempts in the past, VR just doesn't catch, it's a niche market that they're trying to force because they have the tech and imagination.

Facebook's market cap is 40% what it was a year ago, meta just isn't impressing like it should. The trends are that visits from new accounts stop after a month, only 9% of places built by users have been visited by more than 50 people, and meta's own staff are being forced to use it.

Of course, you can argue that it's beta at the moment, but from what I read people just don't care for it.

16 minutes ago, Smithee said:

It might well be something in 20 years, but it's not what people want now, or even that soon IMO. The tech's very impressive, from an MMO perspective if nothing else, but it doesn't bring much of value to the table. 

As with other attempts in the past, VR just doesn't catch, it's a niche market that they're trying to force because they have the tech and imagination.

Facebook's market cap is 40% what it was a year ago, meta just isn't impressing like it should. The trends are that visits from new accounts stop after a month, only 9% of places built by users have been visited by more than 50 people, and meta's own staff are being forced to use it.

Of course, you can argue that it's beta at the moment, but from what I read people just don't care for it.

Live in Speedboats will be the big thing in 20 years.

1 hour ago, JFK-1 said:

Apparently 92% of all tweets are made by just 10% of the users. Probably the biggest mouths making us think they're relevant.

Is that JKB or Twitter?

34 minutes ago, Lord BJ said:

It’s an evolution. Time passes remarkably quickly. 5 years is a blink of the eye in reality, 

Meta verse looks is a portal to me to tachnology. Not dissimilar to Google and internet. 

The application and possibilities are enormous with VR. From entertainment to education it covers a lot of areas. it’s a lot more than upgraded version of Sims. It’s an access point to first steps of integrated technology. 

Not sure why you want to bring Meta market cap in😂  The technology is still the technology. NASDAQ is down over 30% last 12 months. Shit happens in the current climate, I wager a large sum in 18-24 month it gains that and plus probably about same again. 

Im genuinely surprised you see it as a niche market. It’s pretty much the exact opposite imo, due to areas it touches. It’s not really about the now, it’s about being positioned for future. 

People might not care for the sims version of it but I think they care about it when they can connect to internet, watch and be part of entertainment, go to doctors and live a virtual life etc etc it becomes something else, 

Technology advancements don’t work linear. It’s the future you look at not the now. 

Anyway, take it easy. ✌🏻

I bring up the market cap because their backers are losing faith in the project. I've watched and read a few things on this recently, it's hard to get everything across fully with the minimum effort I prefer to expend. But in short, it's far less popular than they wanted, every minimum expectation has had to be tempered, it's an enormous money pit and a personal obsession for Zuckerberg above anything else.

This could be wrong of course, but I'm not seeing much in the way of opposing arguments out there 

2 hours ago, Smithee said:

I bring up the market cap because their backers are losing faith in the project. I've watched and read a few things on this recently, it's hard to get everything across fully with the minimum effort I prefer to expend. But in short, it's far less popular than they wanted, every minimum expectation has had to be tempered, it's an enormous money pit and a personal obsession for Zuckerberg above anything else.

This could be wrong of course, but I'm not seeing much in the way of opposing arguments out there 

I get what you're saying, but...

...some years ago people all got a mixture of annoyed and amused at Google Glass.  So glasses with extra info and onboard cameras disappeared.  Except they didn't.  They're making a comeback, but this time without the noise and fanfare.  They'll be adopted gradually by people until eventually there's a fair chance they'll become pretty commonplace.  I was in a couple of shops in Spain recently and the big thing being marketed (albeit quietly) was camera-enabled sunglasses.

Business will always try to figure out how to sell.

43 minutes ago, Ulysses said:

I get what you're saying, but...

...some years ago people all got a mixture of annoyed and amused at Google Glass.  So glasses with extra info and onboard cameras disappeared.  Except they didn't.  They're making a comeback, but this time without the noise and fanfare.  They'll be adopted gradually by people until eventually there's a fair chance they'll become pretty commonplace.  I was in a couple of shops in Spain recently and the big thing being marketed (albeit quietly) was camera-enabled sunglasses.

Business will always try to figure out how to sell.

I've had camera sunglasses for years!

I don't think it's got huge appeal to people with limited fun tokens and I don't see what problem it's solving in the workplace, but we'll see I suppose.

2 hours ago, Lord BJ said:

Metavwerse may well not be doing as well as initial projections. however, it still a market that is projecting massive growth. From a quick google it’s expected to grow fro just over 20Bn now to 1000 Bn in 2030. 

Also the meta verse isn’t really just Zuckerberg, it’s loads of other people including the likes of Microsoft, as I say meta verse just seems like a access point to the VR and AR technology. That’s one of the reason I think it will be successful is too many big players are piling money and time into this. Whilst, bairns are already intergrated to the space via things like Roblox etc and that is increasing quickly. The boy recently did a museum trip, in Egypt. with the school via one. Children are our future and let us bleed them dry of their money, will be big business view and that tends to lead where we go.

On your last para, likewise, I’m not seeing an argument against outside you don’t think it works. Your market cap valuation is a misplaced metric it doesn’t intake failure. Investors always have doubts, Tesla is probably a good example, yet there it is the most valued company in a world or amongst them. 

I think our different views is you don’t see any use for it. I do masses, especially in the work place. The likes of JP Morgan and HSBC have entered the meta verse in relation to banking facilities. Retailers have already done the same and entered the area and Gucci have collaborated with Roblox and the likes. I think it we see it use in supporting/revolutionising remote working, education (teaching and simulations), medical, architecture and design (instead of drawings we have VR builds),esports and gaming, social media and entertainment. Even things like real estate will be revolutionised imo, we will be able to view a property from our house.  (I would happily explain uses but I’m not sure either is all that vested in it)

You see pm to think it’s too expensive a technology. Maybe it is but I don’t think it is. Most people are sitting with phones that cost a grand to buy and think nothing of it. Whilst, I think it replaces many current devices. Games consoles being the most obvious as they will be replaced by VR and AR etc for much more immersive experiences. I suspect we will see price points to fit most budgets as it grows.

I genuinely amazed you are struggling to see uses for it. Albeit, you are not really the target demographic I would suggest.  Like you said time will tell but I’ll get my avatar to bump this thread in 15 years😂 We can have a game of pool, in the virtual pub and share a virtual spliff. It will be a good night 😁

Im not actually sure how I feel about the development in real terms. It seems the more connected we become, the less connected we become in many ways. Whilst, AI scares me a little, 

We rarely see things the same tbqhwy.🤷🏻‍♂️ So probably best agreeing to disagree as we will probably go round in circles.

Anyway, have a good day 👍I’m just off to your neck of the woods to watch my boy batter some people, well 🤞 in a tournament today. Actually wish they did it in the meta verse as would save me having to go and making small talk with other parents.🤪

I'm talking specifically about Facebook's metaverse, as I've already said I don't doubt that in 20 years time they could be on to something but it's just a swagger just now, as useful as augmented reality was. That's maybe a good example actually, it's still kind of there, just in a behind the scenes tech kind of way, and I can see that.

But Facebook have put tens of billions into meta since 2014 and they've taken their eye off the main business, FB numbers are falling, the young aren't interested in it.

Meanwhile, Apple have put a switch into ios which turns off website tracking, and suddenly FB's constantly updating data points are gone. From what I've read, FB believe that the hardware manufacturers control the data, and that's why they're baws deep in becoming the next hardware manufacturer. 

But people don't really like the experience, it isn't gaining traction, and I'd put money on that it'll be what kills, or at least maims FB.

It's not really that I don't see what vr could be used for, more that I don't see what it could be used for in the short to medium term that people would be willing to buy into.

Was it Vox Populi to let Andrew Tate back on Twitter too?

The far right is going to get an awful shock when they discover the ex people trafficker is now an ardent follower of Allah, and will probably be encouraging their sons to join Isis

1 minute ago, escobri said:

I never usually go on Twitter but I've been on daily to check if it's still working, and see what flavour of arse he's making of himself today.

I wouldn't brag about being an enormous freak show myself.

1 minute ago, Smithee said:

I never usually go on Twitter but I've been on daily to check if it's still working, and see what flavour of arse he's making of himself today.

I wouldn't brag about being an enormous freak show myself.

Did you think it was going to break?, like other platforms it might fade out over time but for now it's better imo, and definitely won't just die overnight just because some of the snowflakes go elsewhere.

3 minutes ago, escobri said:

Did you think it was going to break?, like other platforms it might fade out over time but for now it's better imo, and definitely won't just die overnight just because some of the snowflakes go elsewhere.

Yes, and I still think it's a distinct possibility. They sacked all their infrastructure guys and are unable to react to the daily issues that crop up in such massive scale server use. It's got eff all to do with snowflakes, plenty to do with what happens when you sack entire departments without understanding their importance to the core business.

I wouldn't be at all surprised if it went offline.

10 minutes ago, Smithee said:

Yes, and I still think it's a distinct possibility. They sacked all their infrastructure guys and are unable to react to the daily issues that crop up in such massive scale server use. It's got eff all to do with snowflakes, plenty to do with what happens when you sack entire departments without understanding their importance to the core business.

I wouldn't be at all surprised if it went offline.

I don't know the finer details of who's been paid off but it kind of looks like their jobs were not very important, the roles if any that need filled again will be i would imagine, time will tell I suppose. 

33 minutes ago, escobri said:

I don't know the finer details of who's been paid off but it kind of looks like their jobs were not very important, the roles if any that need filled again will be i would imagine, time will tell I suppose. 

Their jobs are important, and if they're replaced, it'll be with people who don't know how the intricacies and will need to learn from scratch.

The situation's already cost Eli Lilly a LOT of money, and as a large advertiser, that's a dangerous foot to tread on. I'm sure you'll know the effect it's had on twitter's advertising revenue, but the reputational damage is brutal.

Because of impulsive decisions re the blue tick, Lilly were impersonated and lost a fortune in stock value.

Because of the staff Elon had sacked, their attempts to contact Twitter and get the offending tweets taken down weren't actioned for hours.

He looks like a clueless narcissist who's unable to leave his new toy alone, and that's unlikely to attract advertising bucks.

He's already $44bn down, never mind how the value of Twitter and his other stocks have been affected.

Edited by Smithee

On 21/11/2022 at 23:17, escobri said:

I used to work in IT infrastructure, the kind of people  at Twitter who were among those that Musk basically just either fired or scared off.

Everything will keep working for a while. But things will get increasingly brittle. Outages will slowly become more frequent, then more rapidly. Security exploits will go unpatched and then there will be a series of compromises that will also grow because he's fired the people that would respond to them.

It's possible he can somehow outsource it, but it's going to be hugely more expensive than his internal workers would have been.

You can say the jobs weren't that important, but company with over 7k employees is down to something in the 1600 range by some estimates, with entire teams that provided critical services totally gone.

Makes you wonder who and what stayed. When he twatted about working 80 hour weeks at a frantic pace or alternatively get out with 3 months pay, the majority selected option 2.

So what now? This 1600 or so are left to work 100 hour weeks at an even more frantic pace?  And you might think they may find it difficult to hire new people given the publicity.

Come work for Elon, 80 hours a week working like a beast of burden but free blue check on your twatter. What a shitshow.

Not surprised there are more daily active users.  I used to look in about once every two months for just one account (Larry the Number 10 cat) , but have been checking regularly just in case the guy ported to another platform after Musk threatened parody accounts.  So not so much i though Twitter was about to immediately burn, but I was worried someone i followed would jump ship.

Also, i imagine a fair few new or returning people would have been to see what the three roasters Trump, Kayne West  and Andrew Tate have to say.

9 minutes ago, Captain Slog said:

Not surprised there are more daily active users.  I used to look in about once every two months for just one account (Larry the Number 10 cat) , but have been checking regularly just in case the guy ported to another platform after Musk threatened parody accounts.  So not so much i though Twitter was about to immediately burn, but I was worried someone i followed would jump ship.

Also, i imagine a fair few new or returning people would have been to see what the three roasters Trump, Kayne West  and Andrew Tate have to say.

Probably a lot of people around the world looking in just to see if it's still there.

dobmisterdobster
1 hour ago, escobri said:

This man is going to break the internet not just twitter 🤣 lucky he's built a back up

72% in favour is much higher than the Trump poll. An Amnesty seems to be quite popular.

8 minutes ago, dobmisterdobster said:

72% in favour is much higher than the Trump poll. An Amnesty seems to be quite popular.

Musk is just generating interest in the platform. Very smart of him. Controversy *always* sells.

30 minutes ago, redjambo said:

Musk is just generating interest in the platform. Very smart of him. Controversy *always* sells.

I'm glad someone else thinks this. As much as id like to see the end of twitter I think stories of it's impending demise are much exaggerated.

I might join and abuse all the people who think the own they world. I'll try not to break the law. 

On 25/11/2022 at 04:07, ri Alban said:

I might join and abuse all the people who think the own they world. I'll try not to break the law. 

You and @Jeffros Furios would get along well, although over the years it has been mostly Russian mobsters or Central Asian warlords that have threatened to have him decapitated or whatever.

3 hours ago, Dirk McClaymore said:

You and @Jeffros Furios would get along well, although over the years it has been mostly Russian mobsters or Central Asian warlords that have threatened to have him decapitated or whatever.

🤣 Is that what happens on there. They'd get a 3 month ban on here for that.

Mac_fae_Gillie
On 24/11/2022 at 22:13, dobmisterdobster said:

People with banned accounts very often have more accounts and a large interest in getting thier original accounts unbanned, can assume larhge portion of votes came from banned peoples 2nd/3rd/4th etc etc accounts. I never even knew the poll was happening same with Trumps.

dobmisterdobster

FipSBEiXgAE54hW.png.2f47a5f3842a0595574576c33251dc5f.png

Elon sleeps with a Diamondback replica pistol from Deus Ex (and Team Fortress 2) on his bedside table. I officially love him now.

2 hours ago, Smithee said:

FB_IMG_1669768128201.thumb.jpg.c3f53f97411faad959ad45733d43e4ac.jpg

That @PleaseBeGneiss guy was pretty funny more often than not. One of the accounts I miss seeing.

The Twitter implosion is the biggest bummer for guys like him (I think it was a guy IIRC) — I think he was a comedy writer in his day job and got middling jobs but has a huge Twitter following which helps him get exposure and gigs. Musk is just setting that all on fire out of spite and hubris.

And I've just heard that Mr. "Free speech open town square" has now banned several prominent antifascist accounts, including Chad Loder, a journalist. The sum total of which appears to be that fascist troll Andy Ngo told Musk that he should.

This is going great.

Quite a night on Twitter last night it seems, with Kanye West's pro-nazi meltdown resulting in him and Elon Musk having a fall out. You can get the jist of it from this account...

54 minutes ago, Sooperstar said:

Quite a night on Twitter last night it seems, with Kanye West's pro-nazi meltdown resulting in him and Elon Musk having a fall out. You can get the jist of it from this account...

This guy is fecking broken. It’s coming to something when even Alex Jones looks scared by your rhetoric 

Elon slowly finding out that the world in his head does not work the same way as the real world.

Making a total tit of himself and Twitter.

7 hours ago, ri Alban said:

He's dangerous(Kanye West). He's gonnae do something evil.

Of all the far right idiots out there, Ye is dangerous mostly because of what he’s legitimizing. The chances of him personally doing anything actually harmful personally are almost zero.