Should Scotland be an independent country?

Alex Kintner

Should Scotland be an independent country?  

505 members have voted

1. 1. Should Scotland be an independent country?

• Yes
    • No
    • Don’t know/ Abstain/ Spoil ballot

• Replies 13.3k

• Unknown user

• JudyJudyJudy

• jack D and coke

• The Mighty Thor

10 minutes ago, jack D and coke said:

A No vote again and it’s completely over for me. There really is only so often you can put everyone and yourself through this. 
Tbh it was settled if the media hadn’t gave so much time to that cockbag Nigel Farage and daft old bints like Anne Widecombe. 
They did though and then pricks like Johnson, Rees Mogg etc jumped aboard and here we are again with Truss telling us to be quiet and she’s not even in the seat yet. 
I have no idea how anyone who even slightly considers themselves Scottish isn’t a bit pissed off by it all. 
Just imagine for a second this was all the way round and some scottish would be PM was hooring themselves into the job telling them half of them would be ignored to a crowd of Jocks cheering.

Oooft :lol: 

The idiot, Truss, getting the gig would normally be a good thing in respect of how people may vote in a ref but I can see the Supreme Court scuppering the Nats and an almighty bunfight all the way to the next GE.

That will suit the No vote unfortunately, with all manner of shit thrown at the Nats for continuing to pursue a ref.

It will make the 2014 project fear look like a picnic.

Edited by Boab

18 minutes ago, Boab said:

The idiot, Truss, getting the gig would normally be a good thing in respect of how people may vote in a ref but I can see the Supreme Court scuppering the Nats and an almighty bunfight all the way to the next GE.

That will suit the No vote unfortunately, with all manner of shit thrown at the Nats for continuing to pursue a ref.

It will make the 2014 project fear look like a picnic.

Great :lol:

34 minutes ago, Dawnrazor said:

I was referring to be being accused of "running away" for saying the answers are in the thread and not directly giving a reason.

So you don't want to hear my reasoning and you don't want to give your reasoning.

It sounds like the debate's exhausted for you, fair enough, I'll engage with people who do want to talk about the subject.

Tacky boots on from Truss!

Tory leadership hopeful Liz Truss has claimed it is best to ignore "attention seeker" Nicola Sturgeon.
The foreign secretary criticised Scotland's first minister before ruling out a second independence referendum.

Speaking at a hustings event in Exeter, Ms Truss described herself as "a child of the Union", having spent some of her youth living in Paisley

Scotland's deputy first minister John Swinney said her comments were "completely and utterly unacceptable".

Talking to voters at the hustings event, Ms Truss said: "I really believe we're a family and we're better together."

Tory party members then cheered and applauded as she said: "I think the best thing to do with Nicola Sturgeon is ignore her.

"She's an attention seeker, that's what she is.

"What we need to do is show the people of Scotland, Northern Ireland and Wales what we're delivering for them and making sure that all of our government policies apply right across the United Kingdom."

Edited by Imaman

34 minutes ago, Smithee said:

So you don't want to hear my reasoning and you don't want to give your reasoning.

It sounds like the debate's exhausted for you, fair enough, I'll engage with people who do want to talk about the subject.

I've heard your reasoning god knows how many times, I'm undecided for the reasons I given in the thread god knows how many times, you asked for reasons in a thread with 99 pages of reasons from both sides, the reasons are for you.

3 minutes ago, Dawnrazor said:

I've heard your reasoning god knows how many times, I'm undecided for the reasons I given in the thread god knows how many times, you asked for reasons in a thread with 99 pages of reasons from both sides, the reasons are for you.

Cool, I'll leave you to it 👍

Why shouldn't Scotland be independent?

1 minute ago, Smithee said:

Why shouldn't Scotland be independent?

The reasons have been stated in this thread👍

1 minute ago, Dawnrazor said:

Numerous times it doesn’t sink in there’s no point in going round in circles 

like Liz says best ignored :greggy:

Just now, Dawnrazor said:

Yeah, they were shite, any good reason that the Scottish electorate should accept being irrelevant?

Just now, Smithee said:

Yeah, they were shite, any good reason that the Scottish electorate should accept being irrelevant?

Yep, they're in the thread, they're not all "shite" maybe you disagree or can't answer the questions put to you.

1 hour ago, jack D and coke said:

A No vote again and it’s completely over for me. There really is only so often you can put everyone and yourself through this. 

Yep

4 minutes ago, Dawnrazor said:

Yep, they're in the thread, they're not all "shite" maybe you disagree or can't answer the questions put to you.

You're getting pretty close to trolling now lad, if you don't want to debate, don't debate.

Edited by Smithee

You're getting pretty close to telling now lad, if you don't want to debate, don't debate.

🤣 "getting close a telling"🤣

You're not interested in debating, you're arguing for arguings sake, you're in no way open to debate you just desend into name calling and claiming people are running away, alright Lad!!

3 minutes ago, Dawnrazor said:

🤣 "getting close a telling"🤣

You're not interested in debating, you're arguing for arguings sake, you're in no way open to debate you just desend into name calling and claiming people are running away, alright Lad!!

Close to trolling, I edited the typo 👍

2 minutes ago, Smithee said:

Close to trolling, I edited the typo 👍

How you've got the neck to say anyone else is trolling is peyond parody 🤣 

Behave yourself man.

The answers are there for you to read.

Edited by Dawnrazor

Just now, Dawnrazor said:

How you've got the neck to say anyone else is trolling is peyond parody 🤣 

Behave yourself man.

The answers are there for you to read.

I'm trying to prompt debate on the subject of the thread, what are you doing?

I take it there’s none of these hustings north or the border?
We no important enough no? 
Id quite like to see the reaction to the questions up here tbh. 
Darlington even? 

Just now, Smithee said:

I'm trying to prompt debate on the subject of the thread, what are you doing?

Pointing you in the direction of the answers to the questions you've continually asked, the answers you ignore when you can't answer whats put to you or you dont like, you're not prompting debate, you're just looking for someone to call a name after a few posts, look at your record on this thread, some people have genuinely engaged and talked sensibly about this subject, there was some great debates some nights, you were never part of these conversations because of your ridiculously entreched views, I respect your right to hold the views you hold, but don't claim you're trying to prompt debate when you're obviously just trolling.

3 minutes ago, Boab said:

Look at how Scotland votes compared to England.

and ? Labour and Tory aren't that different now .  Before there were significant differences but not now. 

2 hours ago, Smithee said:

It'll give us a better system, the governments are up to us.

I can’t see it being worse, that’s true. But Scotland isn’t a utopia for talented politicians. Quite the opposite, from what I can see.

3 minutes ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

and ? Labour and Tory aren't that different now .  Before there were significant differences but not now. 

Why are the Tories not replacing Labour in Scotland then ?

I know the answer but I'd like your take on it !

Edited by Boab

2 minutes ago, Dusk_Till_Dawn said:

I can’t see it being worse, that’s true. But Scotland isn’t a utopia for talented politicians. Quite the opposite, from what I can see.

I look around the countries I know anything about, I don't see much in the way of talented politicians anywhere TBH.

I'd take having a government we could turf out if we didn't fancy them though.

31 minutes ago, Smithee said:

I look around the countries I know anything about, I don't see much in the way of talented politicians anywhere TBH.

I'd take having a government we could turf out if we didn't fancy them though.

Aye, fair play. Funny thing is, I think Sturgeon would get dumped rapido without the protection of chasing Indy 

1 hour ago, manaliveits105 said:

Numerous times it doesn’t sink in there’s no point in going round in circles 

like Liz says best ignored :greggy:

Move along Volodja .... 

43 minutes ago, Dusk_Till_Dawn said:

Aye, fair play. Funny thing is, I think Sturgeon would get dumped rapido without the protection of chasing Indy 

Dougie Ross? Wee Anus Sarwar? Really?

Shes maybe not everyone’s cup of tea and I’m not a huge fan tbh but my shes head and shoulders above the other party leaders here. 
She’s a bit of a juggernaut truth be told for a wee lassie.
It’s the ones behind her that don’t seem to be up to much. 

Ainsley Harriott
4 hours ago, The Mighty Thor said:

It's the bit that people are still not getting. 

England is heading in a very different direction from us socially and economically, never mind the political rush to pseudo-fascism. 

The driver behind it all? English Nationalism.  

You saw the underlying elements of it last night with the whooping and clapping of the Tory party members after Truss' ridiculous and offensive statements on Sturgeon.

These dicks are emboldened by the racism they got away with under the guise of Brexit and now they think that the 'make England great again' current direction of the UKIP/BNP hybrid government is how it all should be. 

But we're all the same likesy.  

As apposed to Scottish nationalism dressed up as socialism. Never nice to back the Nationalist Socialists ask the Germans 

1 hour ago, Dusk_Till_Dawn said:

I think so too. It's really a false position we're in politically, the SNP are a hodge podge of ideals with only one thing in common. She's been successfully beige enough to keep support strong all this time.

She’d chuck that other pair about like cheap tracksuits regardless of indy imo. 
I think she’s close to the end of her shelf life though but head and shoulders above the rest still. 
She’s no Smith or Cook or even Salmond imo but she’s not terrible at all like or loathe her. 

1 minute ago, jack D and coke said:

She’d chuck that other pair about like cheap tracksuits regardless of indy imo. 
I think she’s close to the end of her shelf life though but head and shoulders above the rest still. 
She’s no Smith or Cook or even Salmond imo but she’s not terrible at all like or loathe her. 

I could see the public getting tired of her shit though, and the party too. She’s a proper ned.

10 minutes ago, Ainsley Harriott said:

As apposed to Scottish nationalism dressed up as socialism. Never nice to back the Nationalist Socialists ask the Germans 

1/10, must try harder

3 minutes ago, Dusk_Till_Dawn said:

I could see the public getting tired of her shit though, and the party too. She’s a proper ned.

A ned? I’ve never thought her that. 
I think you get fed up with any party after a while. Natural you get fatigued. 

periodictabledancer
12 minutes ago, Ainsley Harriott said:

Embarrassing 

Really embarrassing that people actually post tripe like this. 

More trolling dressed up as debate.

Ainsley Harriott
3 minutes ago, XB52 said:

1/10, must try harder

What did I say that isnt true. Are you and your chums nationalists? Yes obviously are the Scottish Government pretend left wing? Yes absolutely 

1 minute ago, Ainsley Harriott said:

What did I say that isnt true. Are you and your chums nationalists? Yes obviously are the Scottish Government pretend left wing? Yes absolutely 

The word apposed for a start

Ainsley Harriott
10 minutes ago, periodictabledancer said:

Embarrassing 

So the SNP aren't Nationalists and they don't pretend they are left wing?

First time I’ve ever posted anything from the national :lol: 

Imagine though someone shouted something like that in Scotland…

They love us though🥰🥰
I’ll mention again why aren’t they up here doing these interviews? We no matter? We’ve just to look in the windae to see who’s gonna ignore us aye? 

15 minutes ago, jack D and coke said:

First time I’ve ever posted anything from the national :lol: 

Imagine though someone shouted something like that in Scotland…

They love us though🥰🥰
I’ll mention again why aren’t they up here doing these interviews? We no matter? We’ve just to look in the windae to see who’s gonna ignore us aye? 

Unfortunately they are coming to Perth

34 minutes ago, periodictabledancer said:

Embarrassing 

He's just a shite troll, never any intention of debating. As bad as iq5

1 hour ago, Ainsley Harriott said:

The clues in the title.  Scottish NATIONAL party 

14 minutes ago, XB52 said:

Time to move on yoldas 

Ainsley Harriott
17 minutes ago, XB52 said:

You still can't tell me what's untrue in my statement. Troll when I point out some truths you don't like.

1 hour ago, Ainsley Harriott said:

Provide pacific evidence that the SNP are in ANY way comparible to the Nazi party.

1 minute ago, Konrad von Carstein said:

Provide pacific evidence that the SNP are in ANY way comparible to the Nazi party.

They do hate a specific group of people :lol: