Should Scotland be an independent country?

Alex Kintner

Should Scotland be an independent country?  

505 members have voted

1. 1. Should Scotland be an independent country?

• Yes
    • No
    • Don’t know/ Abstain/ Spoil ballot

18 minutes ago, Ray Gin said:

I've never been in such a situation, but I'd imagine most of the people who have life bad cannot afford to uproot and move elsewhere. 

Me either the comment was aimed at those who keep saying how unbelievably shit Britain is. 

• Replies 13.3k

• Unknown user

• JudyJudyJudy

• jack D and coke

• The Mighty Thor

6 minutes ago, Dazo said:

Me either the comment was aimed at those who keep saying how unbelievably shit Britain is. 

You can think somewhere is shitshow while enjoying a comfortable life on a personal level.

1 hour ago, Ray Gin said:

You can think somewhere is shitshow while enjoying a comfortable life on a personal level.

Aye that’s fair enough. I’m not sure what someone in such a position would get out of constant moaning about something but not actually doing anything about it though. You make a good point though. 

On 21/01/2023 at 20:42, manaliveits105 said:

Aw naw :rofl:

3B70366F-C7EC-4A22-80BC-497C0B0F58C1.jpeg

664C6BFB-0F8A-4A17-B665-DAE7E92848F8.jpeg

The Smurfs only want to talk about polls when they go in their favour  :seething:

Think it’s hard to properly second guess a referendum outcome but one thing’s for sure - Sturgeon is doing nothing for the yes vote, quite the opposite.

Time to get rid and turn to fresh blood 

6 minutes ago, That thing you do said:

Uk is getting better!!!! Climbing up the league. Its of corruption but something improved after Brexit.

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-11695545/UK-scores-WORST-score-global-corruption-report.html

The UK including Scotland is rife with corruption 

That thing you do
18 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

The UK including Scotland is rife with corruption 

Didnt say anything other than corruption appears to be the Brexit bonus.

7 minutes ago, That thing you do said:

Didnt say anything other than corruption appears to be the Brexit bonus.

Corruption in governments was rife long before brexit.

49 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

Yeah, Johnston Press owned by National World who are owned by that N.I. Newspaper guy David Montgomery. 

A unionist right wing newspaper executive who used to work at Rupert Murdoch's News of the world.

That Scotsman? Aye, that'll be completely impartial like!

6 hours ago, Dawnrazor said:

Corruption in governments was rife long before brexit.

Certainly was and still is. People's moral fibre is posted missing a lot of the time. Everywhere. 

4 minutes ago, SwindonJambo said:

Certainly was and still is. People's moral fibre is posted missing a lot of the time. Everywhere. 

Brexit was just one thing more for some folk to rip of the tax payer.

Just now, Dawnrazor said:

Brexit was just one thing more for some folk to rip of the tax payer.

Certainly is. 3 years in and we're still waiting for the so called Brexit Dividend. Bunch of manipulative self serving frauds and charlatans.

Thunder and Lightning
3 hours ago, Pans Jambo said:

Yeah, Johnston Press owned by National World who are owned by that N.I. Newspaper guy David Montgomery. 

A unionist right wing newspaper executive who used to work at Rupert Murdoch's News of the world.

That Scotsman? Aye, that'll be completely impartial like!

Can you please list the website and press associations that you belive are impartial? 

10 minutes ago, Thunder and Lightning said:

Can you please list the website and press associations that you belive are impartial? 

What's that got to do with it?

Being called the Scotsman doesn't make it pro independence or pro anything Scottish. Like the vast majority of media in the UK, it's in the pockets of the right wing.

That's just a fact.

Edited by Smithee

Thunder and Lightning
1 hour ago, Smithee said:

What's that got to do with it?

Being called the Scotsman doesn't make it pro independence or pro anything Scottish. Like the vast majority of media in the UK, it's in the pockets of the right wing.

That's just a fact.

Are you his spokesperson? 

He rubbished a source so I asked what he considers credible.

Also, can you point out where I said being called The Scotsman meant it was any of your wee rant? 

3 minutes ago, Thunder and Lightning said:

Also, can you point out where I said being called The Scotsman meant it was any of your wee rant? 

I didn't have a rant bud, it's an entirely factual post.

If you didn't want anyone chipping in, you should have PM'd him.

Thunder and Lightning
Just now, Smithee said:

I didn't have a rant bud, it's an entirely factual post.

If you didn't want anyone chipping in, you should have PM'd him.

U did have a rant, you failed to answer the question about credible sources tho. 

Perhaps rant was incorrect, political grandstanding would be more accurate. 

For you everything is right wing. 😂 

13 minutes ago, Thunder and Lightning said:

Pipe down. I know exactly why you asked the question and so do you. The (anything but) Scotsman is a right wing screaming pile of pish and so anything written in it in the negative about Scottish politics, should be understood that its agenda is exactly the same as the Evening Standard, Daily Mail, Telegraph, Express etc etc

Anti anything remotely Scottish!!!

6 minutes ago, Thunder and Lightning said:

U did have a rant, you failed to answer the question about credible sources tho. 

Perhaps rant was incorrect, political grandstanding would be more accurate. 

For you everything is right wing. 😂 

0I2BRb8.gif

Factual statement bud 🤷‍♂️

Thunder and Lightning
1 minute ago, Pans Jambo said:

Pipe down. I know exactly why you asked the question and so do you. The (anything but) Scotsman is a right wing screaming pile of pish and so anything written in it in the negative about Scottish politics, should be understood that its agenda is exactly the same as the Evening Standard, Daily Mail, Telegraph, Express etc etc

Anti anything remotely Scottish!!!

I asked the question so you would state what you belive to be a credible media source. 

Are you going to elaborate on said sources? 

Thunder and Lightning
2 minutes ago, Smithee said:

0I2BRb8.gif

Factual statement bud 🤷‍♂️

If that helps you sleep, I'm happy with that. 

Have a good one. 

2 minutes ago, Thunder and Lightning said:

I asked the question so you would state what you belive to be a credible media source. 

What sources??? I was asked “if the Scotsman would do” to which I answered. I didnt even click on his link. Its the Scotsman. A pile of right wing shite! Clickbait. 

2 minutes ago, Thunder and Lightning said:

220px-The_Scots_Independent_May_2020_edi

National-1m-e1636980134206.png

1390749208_download(6).jpeg.e652981625e65c7cca8edf4f3cb1cf23.jpeg

5 minutes ago, Thunder and Lightning said:

I’ve stopped excusing my sources , so what if they are “ right wing “ whoop ta doo . The so called “ left wing “ aren’t reporting anything at all which may criticise Sturgeon et al . 

2 minutes ago, Dirk McTarkin said:

What a bloody waste of paper with that “ Indy paper “ to hit a million homes ! What’s Pat H saying about it ? So called green ? Aye green with envy about anyone who is working hard and contributing higher taxes . 

7 minutes ago, Pans Jambo said:

What sources??? I was asked “if the Scotsman would do” to which I answered. I didnt even click on his link. Its the Scotsman. A pile of right wing shite! Clickbait. 

Yes, but that means on to the obfuscation stage.

12 minutes ago, Dirk McTarkin said:

Comics. And have you seen the “Sports” pages in the National? They should just stop and call it the “Glasgow” and be done with it!

15 articles on the arse cheeks then 3 on the rest of Scottish football from the point of view of rangers or cellic. 

If you support Independence its an echo chamber, but its a rank amateur in comparison to the right wing gutter press like The Daily Mail etc.

Edited by Pans Jambo

Thunder and Lightning
7 minutes ago, Smithee said:

Isn't that pretty deeply unpleasant?

Changing people's posts? You tell me.

14 minutes ago, Smithee said:

Isn't that pretty deeply unpleasant?

You've got to be able to take it if you dish it out Smithee

42 minutes ago, Thunder and Lightning said:

Changing people's posts? You tell me.

No, attributing this to me:

"I'm workshy so vote SNP as they pay my bills."

35 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

You've got to be able to take it if you dish it out Smithee

Who can't take it?

No lids being flipped, no petted lips, no reports to mods, just a straight call out of a deeply unpleasant post 🤷‍♂️

Thunder and Lightning
3 hours ago, Smithee said:

No, attributing this to me:

"I'm workshy so vote SNP as they pay my bills."

Who can't take it?

No lids being flipped, no petted lips, no reports to mods, just a straight call out of a deeply unpleasant post 🤷‍♂️

Does it apply to you? I wouldn't know. Only you would. 

If it doesn't apply then I don't see how you could be offended or upset.