Should Scotland be an independent country?

Alex Kintner

Should Scotland be an independent country?  

505 members have voted

1. 1. Should Scotland be an independent country?

• Yes
    • No
    • Don’t know/ Abstain/ Spoil ballot

I'd much rather they spent this time addressing the issues the vast majority of us are experiencing just now. Instead of a tiny percentage. Its not unimportant but there needs to be some rational ffs. 

Cynical opinion: Genuinely feels like they knew this would get resistance from down the road which would in turn give them anti UK ammunition. 

Scotland independent or not needs rid of this party. 

• Replies 13.3k

• Unknown user

• JudyJudyJudy

• jack D and coke

• The Mighty Thor

7 minutes ago, No Idle Talk said:

The longer the SNP stay in power the less I want Independence and the more I wish they would just shut the Scottish Parliament down. I voted Yes in 2014 but no ****ing chance will I be voting Yes again if an Independence referendum comes up anytime soon.

16 minutes ago, i wish jj was my dad said:

I wouldn't have known who she was before I read the post but in that capacity she should be an authority on the equalities act. Caveat that she is a politician but you will get the drift. 

I've read a wee bit about her.

She had the Tory whip removed in 2019 before getting it back

She voted against the marriage (same sex couples) bill

She accused Stanley Johnson in November 2021 of inappropriately touching her in 2003

The Women and equality is a cross party committee

19 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

I've read a wee bit about her.

She had the Tory whip removed in 2019 before getting it back

She voted against the marriage (same sex couples) bill

She accused Stanley Johnson in November 2021 of inappropriately touching her in 2003

The Women and equality is a cross party committee

I didn't know any of this. Begs the question why she is chairing that committee I suppose but the reality is that she is. 

36 minutes ago, No Idle Talk said:

The longer the SNP stay in power the less I want Independence and the more I wish they would just shut the Scottish Parliament down. I voted Yes in 2014 but no ****ing chance will I be voting Yes again if an Independence referendum comes up anytime soon.

Fair comment 

29 minutes ago, indianajones said:

I'd much rather they spent this time addressing the issues the vast majority of us are experiencing just now. Instead of a tiny percentage. Its not unimportant but there needs to be some rational ffs. 

Cynical opinion: Genuinely feels like they knew this would get resistance from down the road which would in turn give them anti UK ammunition. 

Scotland independent or not needs rid of this party. 

I don't disagree with most of this but I genuinely don't think they concocted this to provoke a constitutional grievance. 

I do think that the Tories have galvanised support for an SNP leadership that was becoming increasingly stale and out of touch though. 

21 minutes ago, i wish jj was my dad said:

I don't disagree with most of this but I genuinely don't think they concocted this to provoke a constitutional grievance. 

I do think that the Tories have galvanised support for an SNP leadership that was becoming increasingly stale and out of touch though. 

You can't see the connection?

10 minutes ago, jonesy said:

I'd still consider voting for independence, but am with you on all other points.

This is no longer about bettering the lot for the people living in Scotland, it's a silly wee pissing contest between folk who can barely stop soaking their own shoes.

Says it all 

3E897D0B-6E84-436D-9716-4AB2D5BBE07E.jpeg

1 hour ago, No Idle Talk said:

Same . Covid tipped me over the  edge and this issue just confirmed it. Seek fed up of it all . 

5 minutes ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

Same . Covid tipped me over the  edge and this issue just confirmed it. Seek fed up of it all . 

That’s 3 of us that voted yes last time but the usual suspect will be along in a minute to tell us about the family of four next door who voted No but are now yes 

Indy is a dead duck 

Just now, manaliveits105 said:

That’s 3 of us that voted yes last time but the usual suspect will be along in a minute to tell us about the family of four next door who voted No but are now yes 

Indy is a dead duck 

You still pretending you voted yes last time 😂

How's the bollywood wife?

21 minutes ago, Dawnrazor said:

You can't see the connection?

I think they will be delighted that Jack has handed them the opportunity on a plate but I don't believe they tried to create and enact such a controversial bill so they could pick another fight with the Tories on the constitution. They don't have great public support for GR. Plenty other topics they could have provoked a fight over with far more public support.  

1 minute ago, i wish jj was my dad said:

I think they will be delighted that Jack has handed them the opportunity on a plate but I don't believe they tried to create and enact such a controversial bill so they could pick another fight with the Tories on the constitution. They don't have great public support for GR. Plenty other topics they could have provoked a fight over with far more public support.  

We can agree to differ then 👍

26 minutes ago, jonesy said:

I'd still consider voting for independence, but am with you on all other points.

This is no longer about bettering the lot for the people living in Scotland, it's a silly wee pissing contest between folk who can barely stop soaking their own shoes.

It is tedious. A change at WM might be a start. I think it would take the wind from the SNP sails. 

11 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

My wife died she was Scottish 

13 minutes ago, manaliveits105 said:

Indy is a dead duck 

Lol of aye remember the guy who had been to a dinner party and miraculously all the other guests had been no but were now yes ! Lol . Think he was still pished . I honestly do not know anyone who has changed from No to yes . 

17 minutes ago, manaliveits105 said:

Indy is a dead duck 

Polls would suggest otherwise.

1 minute ago, Bobilius said:

Polls would suggest otherwise.

Did you miss the last poll Bob, a couple of weeks ago :kirk:

3 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

Did you miss the last poll Bob, a couple of weeks ago :kirk:

There was a poll suggesting support for independence was a ‘dead duck’?

Edited by Bobilius

1 minute ago, Bobilius said:

There was a poll suggesting support for independence was a ‘dead duck’?

Not really, but it put no ahead for the 1st time in ages.

Still far too close to call though.

It's been neck and neck for years now

1 minute ago, jonesy said:

The SNP responded by declaring dead ducks eligible to vote and that Westminster was discriminating against mortua anatis. 

and the Scottish people will foot the bill as usual 

1 minute ago, Nucky Thompson said:

Not really, but it put no ahead for the 1st time in ages.

Still far too close to call though.

It's been neck and neck for years now

So not a dead duck then? Manalive in talking shite shocker 🫠

There's not going to be a referendum for a very long time , the Supreme Court kicked it into touch 

And Sturgeon thinking the next GE is a de facto vote is a load of pish .

2 minutes ago, Jeffros Furios said:

There's not going to be a referendum for a very long time , the Supreme Court kicked it into touch 

The longer the time it takes, the more likely the result will be Yes imo.

periodictabledancer
13 minutes ago, Jeffros Furios said:

It might come as a surprise to you but every general election is a defacto vote for independence and you can be sure there will be plenty on here who will be saying so if the SNP/Green/indy share of the vote takes a hit. Like when the Tories got a 80+ seat majority that was a " mandate".  But when the SNP win likewise in a GE in Scotland that's not a mandate. 

So NS can quite easily say the next GE is a defacto referendum and if people don't vote for indy parties that should kill the indy debate for some time to come. 

Edited by periodictabledancer

3 minutes ago, periodictabledancer said:

It might come as a surprise to you but every general election is a defacto vote for independence and you can be sure there will be plenty on here who will be saying so if the SNP/Green/indy share of the vote takes a hit. Like when the Tories got a 80+ seat majority that was a " mandate".  But when the SNP win likewise in a GE in Scotland that's not a mandate. 

So NS can quite easily say the next GE is a defacto referendum and if people don't vote for indy parties that should kill the indy debate for some time to come. 

Do you think if the SNP got 60% of the vote that would make any difference? 

You think they will declare Independence? 

Personally I don't see them doing nothing unless its granted from Westminster .

9 minutes ago, periodictabledancer said:

The SNP have only had a majority government once 

18 minutes ago, Bobilius said:

The longer the time it takes, the more likely the result will be Yes imo.

Could be a long wait,  my priority is getting rid of the Tories and Starmer eventually exploring a return to the EU .

periodictabledancer

And how does that affect what I

posted ?

1 hour ago, The Mighty Thor said:

😁😁😁

periodictabledancer
5 minutes ago, Jeffros Furios said:

Do you think if the SNP got 60% of the vote that would make any difference? 

You think they will declare Independence? 

Personally I don't see them doing nothing unless its granted from Westminster .

If the independence parties get more voters to turn out and get a bigger share of the vote then you have to ask where is the democratic route to independence. It would heap enormous pressure on London. NS needs to rally the troops and if they will not support her then she has to accept the indy debate won't be settled any time soon. 

4 minutes ago, periodictabledancer said:

If the independence parties get more voters to turn out and get a bigger share of the vote then you have to ask where is the democratic route to independence. It would heap enormous pressure on London. NS needs to rally the troops and if they will not support her then she has to accept the indy debate won't be settled any time soon. 

There is no democratic route as Westminster won't change thier position. 

4 minutes ago, Jeffros Furios said:

You mean the 'real' Government?

:greggy:

periodictabledancer

Is my point and also Westminster would be under huge pressure. 

You say Westminster won't change its position. 

Time will tell. 

The enertainment on here never ends. The last what, dozen or so polls all point to a majority of Scots positive about independence. What was the last number? 56 or 58%? Whatever…

But theres THREE on here who absolutely will be voting no! And so will that bloke who works in the fish mongers!

Must be a dead duck then :rofl:

22 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

Because the Holyrood election system was specifically designed to stop any party getting a majority. The fact they got one once and nearly a second time shows their dominance.

periodictabledancer
Just now, Bobilius said:

Because the Holyrood election system was specifically designed to stop any party getting a majority. The fact they got one once and nearly a second time shows their dominance.

Stop with the facts. 😁

3 minutes ago, Pans Jambo said:

The enertainment on here never ends. The last what, dozen or so polls all point to a majority of Scots positive about independence. What was the last number? 56 or 58%? Whatever…

But theres THREE on here who absolutely will be voting no! And so will that bloke who works in the fish mongers!

Must be a dead duck then :rofl:

That's what I'm talking about Pans.

The only time you here about polls on here is when it shows Yes in front.

The last one which showed No in front has never been mentioned until Tonight

2 minutes ago, periodictabledancer said:

Stop with the facts. 😁

It's not really working out well having to rely on the Greens to prop up their minority government.

Held to ransom springs to mind

8 minutes ago, periodictabledancer said:

Is my point and also Westminster would be under huge pressure. 

You say Westminster won't change its position. 

Time will tell. 

Why would they change thier position?  You seem convinced they can without saying how it's achieved .

2 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

That's what I'm talking about Pans.

The only time you here about polls on here is when it shows Yes in front.

The last one which showed No in front has never been mentioned until Tonight

When i said “Three” I meant 3 people. 

periodictabledancer
Just now, Nucky Thompson said:

It's not really working out well having to rely on the Greens to prop up their minority government.

It's working out fine. The Greens are pro indy. But totally irrelevant to what I posted.

Come on Nucky. Our parliament was designed to be a minority government system. You can’t whip that out as some failing of the SNP.

1 minute ago, Pans Jambo said:

When i said “Three” I meant 3 people. 

Kickback is in no way representative of the wider public, bud. Thank ****.

periodictabledancer
1 minute ago, Jeffros Furios said:

Why would they change thier position?  You seem convinced they can without saying how it's achieved .

I didn't say that, I didn't even suggest it. 

I'm certainly not convinced. 

I'm not even convinced NS is capable of galvanising the pro indy vote.

1 minute ago, periodictabledancer said:

I didn't say that, I didn't even suggest it. 

I'm certainly not convinced. 

I'm not even convinced NS is capable of galvanising the pro indy vote.

You said Westminster would be under huge pressure and time would tell .. 

What pressure would make them change thier mind ? 

If you don't have a proper answer say so .

You said Westminster would be under huge pressure and time would tell .. 

What pressure would make them change thier mind ? 

If you don't have a proper answer say so .

If the Jockanese Liberation Front sacked Newcastle and put York to the torch.

10 minutes ago, Dirk McTarkin said:

Kickback is in no way representative of the wider public, bud. Thank ****.

Agreed