*** Official Heart Of Midlothian versus Inverness Caledonian Thistle match thread ***

cookieboy

It's not a great draw for us, certainly not at this stage. We should have managed the 2 goals today but didn't.

However, to me, awarding teams a 3-0 victory for a covid cancellation doesn't make sense when there is a seeding system in place for the first knock out round. A 1-0 award would be fairer to the other clubs in the respective groups and certainly overall. The points awarded but no unfair advantage over other teams involved in the competition. Especially this year with 5 European qualifiers instead of the usual 4. 

Why does it have to be 3? Just because that has been the punishment to teams who have broken rules in the past? 

• Replies 1.2k

• sadj

• Hearts007

• Cruyff

• neilnunb

1 minute ago, DH1986 said:

Stop peddling this myth.

Exactly - it’s garbage!

16 minutes ago, Thomaso said:

I get the feeling Celtic will prove to be a slightly more challenging opposition than the four teams we have beaten…..

And we rise to the challenge ! Too many greetin' faced wimps on here shitin' themselves already, we've not even kicked a ball against them yet and these bairns are all "aw naw, we'll get pumped, ah want ma mammy. it's no' fair, waaaaaaaaaaaaa!" . 

I'll remain positive thanks very much, and on the day, if we do lose, well, that's football, and I'll always back my club. HHGH !

27 minutes ago, alwaysthereinspirit said:

Real Hearts fans already creaming their already crusty underwear in the hope that Celtic pump us raw. Couldn’t make it up.

This place stinks sometimes.

****ing embarrassing. Complete helmets every single one of them. 

There is something incredibly frustrating about winning every pool match, narrowly missing out on seeding, thinking ‘probably won’t make much difference’ and then being handed Celtic away. FFS.

Tbf, 4 wins, 8 goals scored and 0 conceded should be enough to be seeded.

Add in the 3-0 award wins (far too much, imo) and we have been unlucky.

Still not convinced by Neilson, however.

We're treading water while he's the head coach. Just as we did with Craig "I've been speaking to Robbie this week" Levein.

I'm 53 and the last 4/5 years have been squandered.

How many more?

Edited by martoon

Knowing they had to score twice and failing again , players need to step up but the main blame lies at the feet of he who can’t inspire . 
slow slow slow backwards slow 

https://t.co/Wxa44TGA7R

Match Report from the game 

Desperately disappointing not to get ourselves seeded and the result of the draw puts a massive dampener on the evening. 

We created plenty chances, but I thought there were a fair few areas of concern too. 

Credit to Inverness, they’ll have another good season.  Ridgers always seems to have a good game against us. 

Souttar back into training midweek and hopefully okay for Saturday.

Saturday or Sunday tie

It's Celtic so it'll be on Premier Sports and if I was a betting man the Rangers tie will also be on live tv that weekend

3 minutes ago, Kiwidoug said:

I know it's only a pre-season friendly but Celtic 2, West Ham 6 fills me with optimism.  They could be looking at two defeats from Hearts in the space of a fortnight.

That's how I'm looking at it.

Can I remind you they were playing West Ham…..

1 minute ago, Thomaso said:

What a load of shit Frank!

Many Clubs have won a cup without beating one of the OF!

Who said we should signing crap? It was acknowledged at the end of last season we had to seriously strengthen the team for the Premier League - we play Celtic next week and we still haven’t done so!

Not shitting my pants  - just being realistic but you bash on with yer heed firmly stuck in the sand!

Try to read before you burst a bloodvessel with your seethe.  My point was qualified that you very rarely win any cups without facing or beating one or both of Sevco or Celtic.

Your pathetic attempt to stir up crap just shows you are a complete panic merchant.

Just now, frankblack said:

Try to read before you burst a bloodvessel with your seethe.  My point was qualified that you very rarely win any cups without facing or beating one or both of Sevco or Celtic.

Your pathetic attempt to stir up crap just shows you are a complete panic merchant.

And yours confirm you are a complete happy clapping numpty!

😂😂😂😂😂

2 minutes ago, 3fingersreid said:

Knowing they had to score twice and failing again , players need to step up but the main blame lies at the feet of he who can’t inspire . 

Yet 20+ shots , 12 on target ?

Just now, Thomaso said:

And yours confirm you are a complete happy clapping numpty!

😂😂😂😂😂

Back to the happy clapping cliches.  Truly desperate - you raging, aye?

9 minutes ago, Boab said:

Was a good night that. As was the last time we beat the demons at Parkhead.

LC as well. Scorer ? Step forward Michael Stewart !

Was that a penalty.

What was the score, not etched in mind this one.

2 minutes ago, johnthomas said:

and an Inverness keeper playing out of his skin !

15 minutes ago, KyleLafferty said:

Can honestly tell a mile off people on here who have never played football at any level 😂

Yip

6 minutes ago, Thomaso said:

Can I remind you they were playing West Ham…..

It was the complete team disarray that gives me optimism.

7 minutes ago, Doc Rob said:

There is something incredibly frustrating about winning every pool match, narrowly missing out on seeding, thinking ‘probably won’t make much difference’ and then being handed Celtic away. FFS.

At least it's not Brora

McGlynn The Money
36 minutes ago, Silvery_Moon said:

Let's be honest. We are out. 

36 minutes ago, KyleLafferty said:

People Shitting it from Celtic, absolute loser mentality 😂😂😂

Nobody will shit it from them more than our manager. They are "there for the taking" but the usual piss poor performance along the M8 is on its way.

Season 2007/08 league Cup QF venue Celtic Park. Result Celtic 0 Hearts 2.

Season 2009/10 League Cup QF venue Celtic Park Result Celtic 0 Hearts 1.

In Season 2007/8 we had played Celtic only once in the league before the league Cup game and been hammered 5-0 at Celtic Park.

In Season 2009/10 we had again only played Celtic once in the league before the league Cup game and been beaten 2-1 at Celtic Park.

I am sure many never gave us a chance back then either.

We have done it before and we can do it again.

Edited by John Findlay

2 minutes ago, Vlad the impaler said:

Neilson’s first failure of the season  

strap in lads,plenty more to come!

😂😂 ... away back to dotnet man, see you on 12th of September.

Four wins from four and it's a failure 😂.

4 minutes ago, Tommy Brown said:

Was that a penalty.

1-0 it finished. I think that was a year after we beat them 2-0 with a Velicka double. 

13 minutes ago, Fozzyonthefence said:

Probably better directing that question to Neilson

No doubt he will be happy creating chances while the Tic take them!

Jambo in Yorkshire
2 minutes ago, whodanny said:

That’s your view, every shot was hit at him apart from Pollocks and he had half the goal to score.

Gnando twice, Walker twice, GMS would all have scored if they missed the keeper who was standing as he stopped the shots.

12 minutes ago, martoon said:

Tbf, 4 wins, 8 goals scored and 0 conceded should be enough to be seeded.

Add in the 3-0 award wins (far too much, imo) and we have been unlucky.

Still not convinced by Neilson, however.

We're treading water while he's the head coach. Just as we did with Craig "I've been speaking to Robbie this week" Levein.

I'm 53 and the last 4/5 years have been squandered.

How many more?

I'm 60 so I'd guess another 7 at least!

9 minutes ago, 3fingersreid said:

Should have been all out attack today - goals were more important than a clean sheet.

13 minutes ago, Doc Rob said:

You forgot not conceding a goal in the process

9 minutes ago, frankblack said:

Back to the happy clapping cliches.  Truly desperate - you raging, aye?

Can’t find a better description for you Frank!

Raging? 😂😂😂😂

Just now, Jambo in Yorkshire said:

That’s your view, every shot was hit at him apart from Pollocks and he had half the goal to score.

Gnando twice, Walker twice, GMS would all have scored if they missed the keeper who was standing as he stopped the shots.

Why did Boyce in the centre of the goals with defenders stretched pass to Walker who would be narrowed down? Beats the feck out of me!

Just now, Jamhammer said:

You forgot not conceding a goal in the process

You forgot the calamities that could/ should have lost us a goal!

Just now, Maroon Sailor said:

Should have been all out attack today - goals were more important than a clean sheet.

A 2-1 win was good enough to get us seeded

Looked slow and disjointed at times.

This ****ing around with formations is just making the players slower. I was expecting 3-5-2 and Popescu to be filling in for Souttar. OK he's pish but at least we'd still be playing the same formation so the rest of the team is familiar with each other and movements.

We were there for talking at times, a better team would've scored a few.

Edited by kila

9 minutes ago, Vlad the impaler said:

Neilson’s first failure of the season  

strap in lads,plenty more to come!

Im sure he will be delighted to have got sellik away, ready-made excuse

Just now, Jambo in Yorkshire said:

It's a goalkeepers job to stop shots, he doesn't get to choose where the player hits it. He made excellent stops from Boyce and  Pollock in the first half .

1 minute ago, Jambo61 said:

You forgot the calamities that could/ should have lost us a goal!

But didn’t. We could/should have won by 3 or 4 today but didn’t. The clean sheets are a fact not an opinion

16 minutes ago, johnthomas said:

12 minutes ago, whodanny said:

Against one on target by ICT.

And Richard Gordon asking Alan Preston if he thought Hearts would have deserved a two goal win.

Edited by upgotheheads

13 minutes ago, johnthomas said:

As I said players need to step up but the man in charge cannot inspire 

3 minutes ago, Maroon Sailor said:

100% correct , 

Folk call Robbie and Hearts players shite bags, yet look at how many posters are filling their pants at the thought of playing celtic. 😂

Just now, Thomaso said:

Can’t find a better description for you Frank!

Raging? 😂😂😂😂

I am happy Hearts won, kept a clean sheet and created a number of good chances to add to our lead.  Sometimes you give the opposition keeper a bit of credit, no?

Your seethe is truly pathetic.  Its not big or clever for a grown man acting like a spoiled greetin' bairn.

Just now, Jamhammer said:

But didn’t. We could/should have won by 3 or 4 today but didn’t. The clean sheets are a fact not an opinion

Fair enough, so you think that defence is good enough for the season?

Relegation was a fact as well and Neilson seems indifferent as he is playing a similar mom-style........fact!

12 minutes ago, Tommy Brown said:

Was that a penalty.

It was the season after we beat them in the LC 2-0 at Parkhead. 
It was a pen. Bizarre as we couldn’t buy a win in the league and put them out the LC two years running.

Game was dull but always good to get it up them.

Mars plastic

This year’s target is to consolidate our position in the league, which I’m assuming is ninth or above, so the cups, just like last season, are expendable. 

1 minute ago, Smith's right boot said:

Folk call Robbie and Hearts players shite bags, yet look at how many posters are filling their pants at the thought of playing celtic. 😂

Its mostly the same bunch of losers that stink up every thread.