SPFL and Covid ( Leagues 1 and 2 to restart )

Heres Rixxy

Ehllhayapeh
1 minute ago, maroonlegions said:

This is a total carve up. Those  corrupt blazers want us down. The 3 biggest club in Scotland that contributes financially way more than Hamilton  and St Lie Down  too.  Some might say we deserve it  but there is still only one person to blame and that person should have emptied our last joker of a manager after that lost in the cup final.  Still raging at that, fecking pure and utter lunacy there.

But do they?

How is the Premiership as a product enhanced in any way by not having Hearts in it? It isnt. Hearts and the edinburgh derby are part of what sells the league. Surely youre not suggesting the powers that be prefer to sell rights to St Mirren v Hamilton over Hearts v just about anybody else?

• Replies 93.5k

• Ethan Hunt

Just now, Fozzyonthefence said:

You’re forgetting the club that would have the biggest / more justified reason to make a legal challenge - Partick.  To relegate them based on average points per game would be disgraceful and I’d imagine  Villa will be looking on nervously with interest on that one since I think they’re in exactly the same boat.

Definitely. It would be a disgrace if Partick were relegated but they might not have the finances to mount a massive legal challenge against the SPFL. So they might just accept it. 

21 minutes ago, Mikey1874 said:

Calling the season allows funds to be released to clubs. Maybe help save some.

No immediate rush for Reconstruction though it does affect clubs like Hearts meantime.

It certainly does affect Hearts, and for that reason I don’t give a shit about saving any other clubs.

1 minute ago, Natural Orders said:

We don’t deserve to stay up

whats the worst that would happen if we go down?!

we might get rid of some of the wasters 

We would lose millions of £ in revenue. :facepalm:

David McCaig
Just now, Cruyff said:

Definitely. It would be a disgrace if Partick were relegated but they might not have the finances to mount a massive legal challenge against the SPFL. So they might just accept it. 

1 minute ago, Cruyff said:

Surely we could co-opt them into our case without asking them to contribute financially, the same with Falkirk as well.

38 minutes ago, DETTY29 said:

Restructure is the carrot go stop Hearts from taking early legal action as the clubs will have agreed phase 1.  And phase 2 (restructuring) is moot.

What could be better than a league where rangers can play all the top six teams at home twice in the first 33 and still get some home games in the last 5

This has and always will be a joke way to run a league 33 games then a split for 5 when the league is mostly already won - A farce

If all sponsors want 4 old biggots games then surely a league of 14 would work then split after home and away games and have home and away the top/bottom  7 you end up with the same amount of games but would guarantee fairness (Something not usually on the GFAs mind) you all get the same number of home and away games with this.

Would also give more revenue to another 2 teams and also with 2 up 2 down possibly with a play off  chance for other teams to be promoted giving a freshness to this stale old pile of pish.

2 minutes ago, Natural Orders said:

Bollocks, we don't deserve to go down

11 minutes ago, Paint the town maroon said:

Our legal position has been weakened significantly. I do hope Ann has her finger out and is speaking to the club lawyer right now but the minute the SPFL moved to create a vote amongst the clubs and restricted the options as part of that vote AND included a willingness to discuss league reconstruction, I can’t see what our grounds for legal action is now?

day one in court. So Mrs Budge, the other 42 clubs voted for this decision and a majority vote was achieved. Tell me again why you think the club have been unfairly treated legally?

Majority voted in HoC to prorogue parliament and that was overturned in court with the help of the MP for the constituency of Tynecastle Joanna Cherry QC . 

Just now, Cruyff said:

We would lose millions of £ in revenue. :facepalm:

So what 

with everything going on in the world we should cut our cloth accordingly.

maybe we should stop training at Riccarton too - less money out.

make other cut backs and get rid of the over paid wasters 

3 minutes ago, Natural Orders said:

We don't deserve to go down because the season is not finished.

Just now, Smithee said:

Bollocks, we don't deserve to go down

Ofcourse we do

open your eyes mate

you seen the table?

David McCaig
Just now, EIEIO said:

and we played St Mirren twice away and only once at home!!

Just now, EIEIO said:

So what

we are currently the worst team in the league.

David McCaig
Just now, Natural Orders said:

So what

That's not how relegation works!!!

16 minutes ago, Jamboelite said:

Its all clubs not just those that vote.

Indeed but presumably they came up with the new voting structure?

We will be relegated, no question, we will unite around the injustice of it all, but I for one wont now be too upset if some, or indeed most clubs go under…..If the way forward is for clubs only to think of themselves and go down the route of granting a tainted title to Celtic while screwing us over then its every man for themselves. 

Some will survive but only after invoking article 12 on most or all their squads.  Some will go into admin and may come out of it quickly, Some will find that hard as buyers will be in short supply.  I think we will be in the first category, All I have to say to that is if that turns out to be the case that there is an enforced cull  then with a massively dignified response I say…GIRUY

Next season wont be as planned by the SPFL,  There will only be a certain amount of clubs left and very little worth watching without us in it (TV deal)

If I was Sky who need to encourage subscribers back to the sports package,  I would not want one of the main box office stars to be absent.  Still St Mirren v Hamilton    or Hearts v ICT!!!! what would have the best viewing figures?

Nobody has ever paid money to watch the Washington Generals  I will renew my season ticket but won’t be enabling my sports package anytime soon

4 minutes ago, Drumjambo said:

What could be better than a league where rangers can play all the top six teams at home twice in the first 33 and still get some home games in the last 5

This has and always will be a joke way to run a league 33 games then a split for 5 when the league is mostly already won - A farce

If all sponsors want 4 old biggots games then surely a league of 14 would work then split after home and away games and have home and away the top/bottom  7 you end up with the same amount of games but would guarantee fairness (Something not usually on the GFAs mind) you all get the same number of home and away games with this.

Would also give more revenue to another 2 teams and also with 2 up 2 down possibly with a play off  chance for other teams to be promoted giving a freshness to this stale old pile of pish.

Perineal bottom 6 teams would only get 2 instead of 3 games at home against Rangers, Celtic.

So they miss out too

Its why 12 works.

Edited by DETTY29

Just now, Natural Orders said:

Ofcourse we do

open your eyes mate

you seen the table?

Yep, we deserve to be bottom, and if we were still bottom after 38 games then we'd deserve to be relegated. 

But the league season has never been about who's bottom after 29 games so we don't deserve to go down.

7 minutes ago, Cruyff said:

Not sure if that lottery winner left them anything in his will?

Randy Marsh

Hoping Livingston and St.Johnstone might help us out and vote against finishing the league as it stands.  Both those teams would miss out on a bumper gate against us next season. Sensible thing would be to promote Kelty and Brora into League 2 and promote the top 2 clubs in each division whilst scrapping relagation.  A 14 team top flight next season which splits 6/8 after 26 matches.  The bottom clubs might not like losing 1 home old firm match but they would benefit from and extra home gate.  Plus an expanded top tier means less chance of relegation for them in future seasons. 

9 minutes ago, Natural Orders said:

We are bottom yes but we are not down and out yet.

3 minutes ago, David McCaig said:

That's not how relegation works!!!

Ironically, our best chance of staying up is not playing the last 8 games!

The Huns will vote against and so will we. Problem is, I doubt anyone else will care enough to oppose it. But hope I’m wrong 

CONSIDERING the current circumstances and increased speculation surrounding the ongoing impact of the Coronavirus pandemic on Scottish football, we felt it is incumbent that we provide clarity in relation to our position.

For the avoidance of doubt, Rangers firmly believe that the 2019/20 season is only complete when all 38 games have been played to a finish.

Nevertheless, we are conscious of the ongoing financial hardships faced by many clubs within the Scottish game. No business is immune from the impact of Coronavirus and we were proud of our players and senior staff’s voluntary decision to defer their wages to ensure job security for their colleagues at Ibrox. Furthermore, many clubs urgently require financial support to maintain cash flow and allow them to survive this current impasse so they can return to normal business when the current government lockdown is relaxed. It is important to recognise that these clubs across all the leagues are now in a financially precarious situation.

As a club, Rangers will immediately propose a member’s resolution which would release prize money to be distributed to all clubs throughout Scotland urgently. We believe that this is the priority in the present circumstances. It is vital to show respect for all clubs across the Scottish game, regardless of league position or financial standing. We must work together with a unity of purpose for the betterment of the Scottish game.

We are also acutely aware of other issues which are less pressing but, are forming key parts of the football narrative in Scotland. Nothing is more important than protecting the future of every club in Scotland as we are cognisant that this has a direct impact upon people’s livelihoods. It is abhorrent that certain clubs could be unfairly relegated if the current SPFL proposals were implemented. We must future proof the Scottish game.

Any restructure of the SPFL or other solutions to the current impasse must be afforded time to scrutinise in detail and consider all options. The consequences of forcing through change without due care and attention will have severe consequences for the Scottish game.

Scottish football must work together for the common good of every club, their staff and supporters. Any attempts to railroad changes to existing rules or run roughshod over corporate governance will be opposed in the strongest possible terms. We must allow decisions to be made in a rational, fair and balanced manner.

In the meantime, we expect clubs to support our member’s resolution which will provide financial support to those who need it most.

23 minutes ago, Paint the town maroon said:

Our legal position has been weakened significantly. I do hope Ann has her finger out and is speaking to the club lawyer right now but the minute the SPFL moved to create a vote amongst the clubs and restricted the options as part of that vote AND included a willingness to discuss league reconstruction, I can’t see what our grounds for legal action is now?

day one in court. So Mrs Budge, the other 42 clubs voted for this decision and a majority vote was achieved. Tell me again why you think the club have been unfairly treated legally?

Especially if the club decide to take part in the vote then go to court if the vote doesn’t go in favour.  I think the club might abstain from voting tbh. 

If cash flow is the apparent biggest issue and the need to release prize money to save some clubs in short term, then why not release the money to the clubs based on current League position, complete the season when we can, then true the prize money up from the following season’s award ?

If contract expiry extension is not dealt with centrally via FIFA then contracts etc will sort themselves out due to market forces (the holy mother of all transfer deadline day in the proposed new period pre start up).

Our precarious position aside, the politics and agendas in this type of vote are to numerous to properly predict or calculate - that’s the real issue. 

David McCaig
2 minutes ago, Hagar the Horrible said:

CONSIDERING the current circumstances and increased speculation surrounding the ongoing impact of the Coronavirus pandemic on Scottish football, we felt it is incumbent that we provide clarity in relation to our position.

For the avoidance of doubt, Rangers firmly believe that the 2019/20 season is only complete when all 38 games have been played to a finish.

Nevertheless, we are conscious of the ongoing financial hardships faced by many clubs within the Scottish game. No business is immune from the impact of Coronavirus and we were proud of our players and senior staff’s voluntary decision to defer their wages to ensure job security for their colleagues at Ibrox. Furthermore, many clubs urgently require financial support to maintain cash flow and allow them to survive this current impasse so they can return to normal business when the current government lockdown is relaxed. It is important to recognise that these clubs across all the leagues are now in a financially precarious situation.

As a club, Rangers will immediately propose a member’s resolution which would release prize money to be distributed to all clubs throughout Scotland urgently. We believe that this is the priority in the present circumstances. It is vital to show respect for all clubs across the Scottish game, regardless of league position or financial standing. We must work together with a unity of purpose for the betterment of the Scottish game.

We are also acutely aware of other issues which are less pressing but, are forming key parts of the football narrative in Scotland. Nothing is more important than protecting the future of every club in Scotland as we are cognisant that this has a direct impact upon people’s livelihoods. It is abhorrent that certain clubs could be unfairly relegated if the current SPFL proposals were implemented. We must future proof the Scottish game.

Any restructure of the SPFL or other solutions to the current impasse must be afforded time to scrutinise in detail and consider all options. The consequences of forcing through change without due care and attention will have severe consequences for the Scottish game.

Scottish football must work together for the common good of every club, their staff and supporters. Any attempts to railroad changes to existing rules or run roughshod over corporate governance will be opposed in the strongest possible terms. We must allow decisions to be made in a rational, fair and balanced manner.

In the meantime, we expect clubs to support our member’s resolution which will provide financial support to those who need it most.

Well said Rangers!!

That has got to be the most dignified and decent staement from Statement FC ever...Jabba has clearly gone then.  But Sevco stating that they hope and want to work together for the benefit for all clubs.......Common sense shockerooonie

Credit where credit is due wll done Rangers FC....I am speachless,  Its Hannable Lecter promoting Veganism

Ehllhayapeh
17 minutes ago, David McCaig said:

I think the Championship is the only division that may potentially vote against but that assumes that Inverness aren't completely skint.

The other issue they would need to consider is that Hearts going down effectively removes the automatic promotion spot for the other clubs in the Division next season.

If you look at club by club

WFDUFC  - Would vote for as is - Yes  Would vote for reconstruction - Yes Void the season - No

ICT              Would vote for as is - No (no playoff and no way to improve income - Would vote for reconstruction - Yes Void Season - No

FTD 83  - Would vote for "as is " - No (loss of United and revenue) Would vote for reconstruction - Maybe. Particularly if Hearts arent coming down theyd have a shot of winning it next season Void season - Maybe

AYR   Would vote for "as is" - Maybe  Would vote for reconstruction - Maybe Would vote to void season - Maybe

ARBROATH Would vote for " as is" - Yes Would vote for reconstruction - Yes Void season - No

MORTON would vote for "as is " - Yes, probably  Would vote for reconstruction - Maybe Void season - Maybe

DUNFERMLINE would vote for "as is" - Maybe Would vote for reconstruction - Probably Yes Void season - Maybe

QOTS would vote for "as is" - Yes  Would vote for reconstruction - Maybe Void season - Dont think so

ALLOA would vote for as is - Yes Would vote for reconstruction- Yes Void season - No.

PARTICK would vote for as is - No Would for reconstruction - Yes void season - Maybe

Based on That

As is definite votes yes (5) including maybes (6) - on a majority basis it could fail or pass.

This would change if as is promoted the team in 2nd as play off winners as ICT would be all over that.

Reconstruction definite yes (6) including maybes (8) - On a majority basis that passes in my opinion

Void season - assumes that void season also means voiding prize money. If voiding season included receiving the money anyway that might have some interesting changes to votes

Edited by Ehllhayapeh

6 minutes ago, Barack said:

😳

Ken.  Ffs. The world has gone mad. 

Edited by Last Laff

7 minutes ago, Randy Marsh said:

Hoping Livingston and St.Johnstone might help us out and vote against finishing the league as it stands.  Both those teams would miss out on a bumper gate against us next season. Sensible thing would be to promote Kelty and Brora into League 2 and promote the top 2 clubs in each division whilst scrapping relagation.  A 14 team top flight next season which splits 6/8 after 26 matches.  The bottom clubs might not like losing 1 home old firm match but they would benefit from and extra home gate.  Plus an expanded top tier means less chance of relegation for them in future seasons. 

This has been floated but quite a few clubs against it including our wee neighbours I believe. 

1 minute ago, Natural Orders said:

So what

That is so not how it works, and you know it.

Last season:

After Games 1 and 2:  Hearts 1st, Motherwell 12th
After Games 3 to 12: Hearts 1st, Dundee 12th

After Game 30: Celtic 1st, St Mirren 12th.  <- This is the Game/Week our season is currently on.

Dundee went to on get relegated, and were 11 points adrift after the final 8 games of the season were played.  St Mirren, actually beat Dundee in Game 31 to put them above them in the table, which would be the very next game to be played had that season stopped at the same point as ours has. 

Applying the current situation from 2019/20 to 2018/19, would have seen St Mirren relegated, even though that's not how the season ended up panning out, because "they were currently the worst team in the league".

Class of 75
2 minutes ago, David McCaig said:

Well said Rangers!!

I second that. For me if the League cannot be brought to a conclusion then it has to be null and void. No different to the Scottish Cup where if no games can be played this season that will be declared null and void also. 

9 minutes ago, Jee said:

Game changer. No way proposal will get through now with two of country’s biggest clubs against it. Just waiting for the Celtic statement now. 
Rangers proposal is so much common sense that it makes it even more clear that Doncaster and his team should be emptied. 

Dare I say it, that’s a good and sensible statement from Rangers, although obviously not one they would have made if they were 13 points clear! 

5 minutes ago, David McCaig said:

Well said Rangers!!

Feels wrong, doesn't it?  They are bang on the money though.

David McCaig
3 minutes ago, RonnieG said:

Game over.  just need to ensure we get some money.

That's a bizarre interpretation of the Rangers statement

Just now, soonbe110 said:

Game changer. No way proposal will get through now with two of country’s biggest clubs against it. Just waiting for the Celtic statement now. 
Rangers proposal is so much common sense that it makes it even more clear that Doncaster and his team should be emptied. 

Rangers and Hearts only get 2 votes out of 42 though!

Craig Herbertson
18 minutes ago, Rannoch said:

What I’m saying is if we meekly accept this we are gutless. Of course Doncaster has had discussions on reconstruction and it’s a non starter for his bosses- TV companies and Celtic. We go down without a fight and I’m taking up golf instead. 

It's completely unacceptable, on any principle, to award a tournament which hasn't been won to the leading contender and relegate last place. It might be unlikely that someone else could win and it might be unlikely that we could stay up but the thing isn't finished and anything could happen.  This should be fought to the last breath.

10 minutes ago, Cruyff said:

I'm sure we would. 

You're a moron. 

Right enough mate 👍 

I don’t believe he is. I believe he has just fooled a lot of people in to believing he is, by acting like one at every available opportunity. He’s getting his kicks.

9 minutes ago, Dusk_Till_Dawn said:

The Huns will vote against and so will we. Problem is, I doubt anyone else will care enough to oppose it. But hope I’m wrong 

Don’t underestimate the clout Rangers have at some clubs. We now have two of the country’s biggest clubs saying they are against it. Unlikely to go through now. Rangers proposal gives the clubs the same financial boost without calling the leagues. Lots of clubs will support Rangers counter proposal, certainly enough of them to scupper Doncaster’s proposal. 

• jkbmod 9 changed the title to SPFL declare league (2019/20) due to Covid (Arbitration panel upholds SPFL decision )
  • davemclaren changed the title to SPFL and Covid ( Leagues 1 and 2 to restart )