The rise and fall of The SNP.

2 minutes ago, Space Mackerel said:

Are only Tories allowed to be successful these days?

You'd know!

• Replies 16.3k

• Unknown user

• jack D and coke

• manaliveits105

• Roxy Hearts

Space Mackerel
1 minute ago, Dawnrazor said:

You'd know!

My full titanium Termigoni exhaust on my superbike which spews out god knows cost £1800.00 plus VAT. 😊

1 minute ago, Space Mackerel said:

My full titanium Termigoni exhaust on my superbike which spews out god knows cost £1800.00 plus VAT. 😊

Good god, that's more than the shite you spew out on here.

Space Mackerel

Good god, that's more than the shite you spew out on here.

Are you still hunting moles for a living up there? 😃

Space Mackerel

Exactly ya tube🤣🤣🤣

No excuse to self isolate then. I have gas central heating. 

2 minutes ago, Space Mackerel said:

No excuse to self isolate then. I have gas central heating. 

Can the mod's not do anything about your constant trolling ?

Space Mackerel

Can the mod's not do anything about your constant trolling ?

Awww, satire and wind ups not your thing? Bless your wee cotton socks. 😘

Just now, Space Mackerel said:

Awww, satire and wind ups not your thing? Bless your wee cotton socks. 😘

You've not got the grey matter for "satire" you're just a troll.

Space Mackerel
2 minutes ago, Dawnrazor said:

You've not got the grey matter for "satire" you're just a troll.

Oh dear. You’ll be going to the Livi game then?

8 hours ago, Dawnrazor said:

Again so it doesn't get lost in the trolling bull shit.

MORE hypocrisy from the SNP on the environment.

https://theferret.scot/peat-extraction-highland-climate-carbon/

What's the problem? No-one objected and the new work allows the whole peatlands to be restored.

Did you just read the headline?

13 hours ago, coconut doug said:

There's no tears and snotters from me, nor is there personal abuse. i am telling you quite openly that your responses and understanding are inadequate, you may well be a fine fellow when not disseminating your views on here but as far as i am concerned it is your posts that are full of bitterness as you frequently tell us how crap we are and how we could not survive without the help of the rUK. You frequently tell us you were lied to in the White paper on independence and seem unable to accept that there may be any upside to Indy as a result. Now that's bitterness for me.

It's not me that denies the ABM Amro was the major factor in the demise of RBS, it's the FCA. Check for yourself. https://www.fca.org.uk/publication/corporate/fsa-rbs.pdf  It was a contributory factor because RBS bought near worthless derivatives when they bought ABM and maybe that should have been picked up with due diligence but maybe not as practically every bank on the planet thought these derivatives were valuable. You will also see from the link that £14.5 billion of this RBS/ABM/Fortis debt was paid by the dutch government. The losses having been made in the Netherlands. The FCA report states specifically why RBS failed but it's a long read and i know you don't like them.

You start so many of your arguments from false premises derived from things you clearly do not understand. Why would a Scottish government want to bail out this bank when its losses were created through its casino banking arm in England and elsewhere? Why would a Scottish government allow reckless investment if they were liable for the losses? That's for the UK where the economy is so dependent on financial services it allowed the situation to develop through lax regulation (see fsa report). Iceland has asmaller economy than Scotland and had a large exposure to bank debt. It let the banks go under, imprisoned several bankers and recovered much more quickly than the UK .In fact we haven't recovered yet.  Iceland made their decisions for the good of the icelandic people, Scotland could have done the same for our people. The UK though always makes it's decisions based on the interests of the greedy elite or haven't you noticed.

I had actually started typing a reply out to frank but binned it. I joined this forum because I’m a Hearts man and that’s generally why I come on. Sometimes these threads interest me but tbh most of them come on when they find a meme that compares Mhairi Black to the baldy man or something, bizarre behaviour imo. 
Anyway Frank just doesn’t like the answer to the bank bailout and refuses point blank to admit it even though he clearly hasn’t ever looked into how it all worked. Broon and Darling told him Scotland was shit and would be bankrupt because of Fred Goodwin and he’s trying to tell himself and everyone else in his know it all refuse to accept anyone else’s opinion style. Don’t forget he claims he voted Yes so the bank bailout that he doggedly says would’ve bankrupted us didn’t deflect him from the putting his cross in the Yes box..aye?🤥

As my old granny would’ve said he’d argue a black man white and a white man nae colour at all despite his knowledge being around zero on the subject. Then when people get completely exasperated they call him out and he starts his “abuse” stuff. 
Tragic. 

Edited by jack D and coke

4 hours ago, ri Alban said:

What's the problem? No-one objected and the new work allows the whole peatlands to be restored.

Did you just read the headline?

"The whole peatlands to be restored" do you have any idea how long that peat has taken to form? Do you have any idea how long it will take to rebuild that amount of peat? That site will never properly be restored, it may be levelled and reseeded, a big part of what I do for a living, it will never truly be "restored".

coconut doug
1 hour ago, jack D and coke said:

I had actually started typing a reply out to frank but binned it. I joined this forum because I’m a Hearts man and that’s generally why I come on. Sometimes these threads interest me but tbh most of them come on when they find a meme that compares Mhairi Black to the baldy man or something, bizarre behaviour imo. 
Anyway Frank just doesn’t like the answer to the bank bailout and refuses point blank to admit it even though he clearly hasn’t ever looked into how it all worked. Broon and Darling told him Scotland was shit and would be bankrupt because of Fred Goodwin and he’s trying to tell himself and everyone else in his know it all refuse to accept anyone else’s opinion style. Don’t forget he claims he voted Yes so the bank bailout that he doggedly says would’ve bankrupted us didn’t deflect him from the putting his cross in the Yes box..aye?🤥

As my old granny would’ve said he’d argue a black man white and a white man nae colour at all despite his knowledge being around zero on the subject. Then when people get completely exasperated they call him out and he starts his “abuse” stuff. 
Tragic. 

It is very strange to feel so strongly about the bail out issue and then vote Yes in the referendum. Even more so when the main reason for changing to No is because you were "lied to" on finances in the white paper.

TBF i think many of us collect information to support our own views but sometimes and this is one of these times, the facts do not support the often quoted view that Scotland would be bankrupt because of RBS and Fred Goodwin. Watching somebody repeatedly argue this nonsense in such a strident and fact averse manner is disingenuous at best. The financial crisis and how it was handled is imo one of the best arguments in favour of Indy and to deny this is to deny reality.

Looking at how Scotland might have fared if we had taken Norway's lead in managing our oil or how much better we might have been had we followed Iceland's example on the banks. We can't do much about the past but there's another financial crisis on the way and the UK will suffer disproportionately again. The prospect of eternal Tory government also means the weakest and most vulnerable in our society will be hardest hit again. The Tories know this and want it as do many of their supporters on here.

It's the pretence that remaining in the UK will save us from the worst effects of being too wee, too poor etc argued on the basis that Scotland would be bankrupt because RBS were insolvent or the oil price dropped or the English would no longer trade with us that exasperates me. If they wont read long posts or wont read references its very difficult for them to update their knowledge and understanding. Sometimes when the comments are particularly ill informed i will respond but often many of the union supporters do themselves more harm than good on here. 

6 hours ago, Dawnrazor said:

"The whole peatlands to be restored" do you have any idea how long that peat has taken to form? Do you have any idea how long it will take to rebuild that amount of peat? That site will never properly be restored, it may be levelled and reseeded, a big part of what I do for a living, it will never truly be "restored".

Aa well! 

9 hours ago, Zlatanable said:

Hi @coconut doug 

This thread is called ' the rise and fall of The SNP'.

I specifically called this thread that, because to me, The SNP have had a rise, and currently, are in freefall. 

This thread isn't about Scottish Nationalism. It is about The SNP.

That sounds more like wishful thinking, than factual.

The Nationalists knew the implications of the lie. In a leaked memo from John Swinney, they were told a lower oil price would put benefits and pensions at risk.

We now know that Scotland would by this year be £40 billion – repeat billion – worse off than predicated on the White Paper “average” oil price.

That’s a story the Scottish public should continue to be told based on diligent journalistic analysis.

Just one reason this yes voter wont be fooled again 

snp cannot be trusted 

1 hour ago, manaliveits105 said:

The Nationalists knew the implications of the lie. In a leaked memo from John Swinney, they were told a lower oil price would put benefits and pensions at risk.

We now know that Scotland would by this year be £40 billion – repeat billion – worse off than predicated on the White Paper “average” oil price.

That’s a story the Scottish public should continue to be told based on diligent journalistic analysis.

snp cannot be trusted 

Spot on 👍

snp cannot be trusted 

Doesn't that assume an SNP administration of an indy Scotland?

I, like many others I would assume, was under no illusion that independence would be a stroll, or that it wouldn't be tough to begin with. Longer term though I think it would be beneficial. Got to start somewhere.

snp cannot be trusted 

Unfortunately many voters will be fooled. Many are just racist against the English and want "Freedom". None can tell you of the tangible benefits with any evidence.

The incredible thing though is that the SNP shout "CLIMATE EMERGENCY" and continue to pump what they say is the problem out of the ground to make money. 

10 minutes ago, H2 said:

None can tell you of the tangible benefits with any evidence.

Getting a government we voted for that'll act in the interests of Scotland or be voted out by the people of Scotland. 

Q.E.D.

coconut doug
14 hours ago, Zlatanable said:

Hi @coconut doug 

This thread is called ' the rise and fall of The SNP'.

I specifically called this thread that, because to me, The SNP have had a rise, and currently, are in freefall. 

This thread isn't about Scottish Nationalism. It is about The SNP.

My post has nothing whatsoever to do with Nationalism, Scottish or otherwise, i am merely explaining why the the comments made by another poster are wrong and putting them in context.

You maybe right about the fall of the SNP but we haven't got there yet despite your assertions to the contrary. We might not ever get there either for a number of reasons not least because the alternatives are even worse.

It's you that conflates indy, Nationalism and the SNP, have a look at your own posts. Many indy supporters only vote SNP for one reason and have said so frequently on here and elsewhere. If the SNP are terminally damaged there will be another vehicle for Indy. The fall of the SNP, if it happens does not represent the destruction of the indy movement despite your frequent claims on here that it does.

17 minutes ago, Smithee said:

Getting a government we voted for that'll act in the interests of Scotland or be voted out by the people of Scotland. 

Q.E.D.

That's intangible.

1 hour ago, H2 said:

I guess that sums up your case, complete with evidence!

And I guess it shows that you'll ignore the absolute core of the whole debate when it doesn't suit a point you want to make.

2 hours ago, Smithee said:

And I guess it shows that you'll ignore the absolute core of the whole debate when it doesn't suit a point you want to make.

LOL - you have offered nothing that is better than the status quo. All productions are intangible.

And you have no evidence to back up your statement.

coconut doug
8 minutes ago, Zlatanable said:

Why do you think that?

What would be the longer term benefits?

Hi zlatanable. This thread is about the rise and fall of the SNP and not about the benefits of independence.

15 minutes ago, Zlatanable said:

Hi @coconut doug

Firstly, you saying 'the benefits of of independence' is part of why you, individually, are shan, and why the SNP are currently in a state of obliteration. 

Secondly, I get your point. I am sorry for correcting you, in public, then doing the same thing. 

You are quite correct to pull me up on it. 

My point about the 'Rise and Fall of The SNP' is what I see happening in front of me. 

Someone spiked yer hot cross buns.

4 hours ago, jambos are go! said:

When will Derek McKay resurface and face the music?

Self isolating taken to the extreme! 

On 14/03/2020 at 12:02, frankblack said:

The Scotsman quotes Robert Peston and is putting the boot in big style to both the BBC's coverage and the SNP white paper:

https://www.scotsman.com/news/opinion/columnists/lesson-about-journalistic-balance-snp-and-price-oil-brian-wilson-2450456

Eye watering stuff. 😳

People should read the link and see that it was not the BBC manipulating an anti SNP agenda but the SNP who were manipulating  the BBC to prevent justifiable criticism of the case for Independence!!  Lets not forget that. Don't worry I won't let that happen

coconut doug
4 minutes ago, jambos are go! said:

People should read the link and see that it was not the BBC manipulating an anti SNP agenda but the SNP who were manipulating  the BBC to prevent justifiable criticism of the case for Independence!!  Lets not forget that. Don't worry I won't let that happen

I've read the article and i can't see how the SNP were manipulating the BBC. Perhaps you can explain.

Roxy Hearts
15 hours ago, Zlatanable said:

I don't agree with Richard Leonard on everything, but I agree with him on this. 

What policies should we vote for from that idiot Leonard's party? Labour were in power for decades in Scotland and it shows. Useless corrupt hypocrites!

16 hours ago, Zlatanable said:

Is spiking hot cross buns an SNP thing?

I thought yer carer had put LSD in yer HCB, yer clearly hallucinating.

22 minutes ago, coconut doug said:

I've read the article and i can't see how the SNP were manipulating the BBC. Perhaps you can explain.

There's an article about Robert Peston's predictions about the negative impacts of independence in a program being pulled by BBC Scotland due to the predicted fall out from Salmond. 

42 minutes ago, Dawnrazor said:

There's an article about Robert Peston's predictions about the negative impacts of independence in a program being pulled by BBC Scotland due to the predicted fall out from Salmond. 

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.express.co.uk/news/uk/1252350/BBC-news-rob-peston-SNP-BBC-brexit-bias-alex-salmond-ITV-news/amp

strappingjock

Whine oh whine oh whine.

SNP spent so much time with its head buried in its own rectum that it has missed something?

They forgot to ask  the old enemy if they really want to keep such a whining little outfit of 8% of UK population

Northerners want Hadrian back and the London bubble does not even think about Carlisle never mind anything further north.

Be good sports and give Barnier something to give himself wet dreams

Just think, if coronavirus kills 10% there will be no jocks left anyway

Edited by strappingjock

4 hours ago, Dawnrazor said:

Anyone know the content of his report , apart from it being "damning" ?

Maybe it was factually shaky, like the price per barrel quoted in his critique of the White Paper, and that's why the BBC pulled it ?

1 minute ago, felix said:

Anyone know the content of his report , apart from it being "damning" ?

Maybe it was factually shaky, like the price per barrel quoted in his critique of the White Paper, and that's why the BBC pulled it ?

I don't know, sorry.

1 hour ago, strappingjock said:

Whine oh whine oh whine.

SNP spent so much time with its head buried in its own rectum that it has missed something?

They forgot to ask  the old enemy if they really want to keep such a whining little outfit of 8% of UK population

Northerners want Hadrian back and the London bubble does not even think about Carlisle never mind anything further north.

Be good sports and give Barnier something to give himself wet dreams

Just think, if coronavirus kills 10% there will be no jocks left anyway

Big strapping coak is back 

3 minutes ago, Zlatanable said:

Do you mean this?

Yes. What was in his report that was pulled ?

Or maybe he just "f*cked things up..  reporting false storeies" , like he admits to in the link you posted ?

3 minutes ago, Zlatanable said:

Do you mean this?

Yes. What was in his report that was pulled ?

Or maybe he just "f*cked things up..  reporting false storeies" , like he admits to in the link you posted ?