The rise and fall of The SNP.

Can any of our unionist and or Scottish Conservative supporters here enlighten me as to what Ruth Davidson's remit is? it would appear to me that her sole role is to endeavour to bring down the FM

• Replies 16.3k

• Unknown user

• jack D and coke

• manaliveits105

• Roxy Hearts

5 minutes ago, jonnothejambo said:

I am not all that political but Sturgeon put Davidson back into her box at the end there re her pissing off to the House of Lords.

Sarwar came across well today too IMO. 

I'm not particularly a potlitical animal myself Jonno, but I was very struck by the way NS came out fighting in that exchange. She certainly gave RD a new outlet for her ample rear.

Yes Sarwar came across well too, he might just be a huge improvement on the wishy washy efforts of the previous 2 Labour Leaders.

3 minutes ago, Justin Z said:

Tbf it's a Westminster/Holyrood thing once again. Different standards allowed to each. As you can see from several desperate posters here, a “woman not being able to control her anger” and “bullying” are now bad things again, since the Home Secretary has kept her job. :lol:

😄 Quite !

55 minutes ago, Boy Daniel said:

I wonder if Sturgeon will accept a peerage at the Lords when she goes. She is certainly having a dig at Davidson for doing so. 

That is a hilarious thought!

2 hours ago, Maroon Sailor said:

Not really when Independence wasn't talked about as much as it has been recently SNP were never anywhere near the top table of Scottish politics.

Not sure what your point is. They have been at the top table in every election (Scottish, UK & European) for the last 10 years or so. Everyone knows the covet Independence but I'll tell you what, its the tolies that keep banging on about it.

Got a toly propaganda brochure through the door a coupe of weeks ago. No policies, just mentioning the SNP and Indy about 27 times over 4 pages. Its all the linesman bangs on about on TV/Radio as well.

1 minute ago, JJ93 said:

Question for SNP supporters - do you think Nicola should or will go?

If she's found guilty, she should go. If she isn't then she shouldn't. It's that simple. I'm no fan of Sturgeon. 

1 hour ago, Boy Daniel said:

Sturgeons lost it today at FMQs the angry face is on display and the venomous words are flowing. 

I watched her yesterday and you can just see her vicious character. She isn't doing herself any favours and looks guilty - I don't know if she is or not as I haven't had time to really dig into this.

I wonder if she stays on and they get a minority of votes whether there will be a coalition government in Holyrood to exclude her in May. Interesting thought!

20 minutes ago, whodanny said:

What was the legal advice given to Johnson on the prorogation of parliament ? Hasn't that been shown to be illegal? and I don't believe Johnson or anyone has published any advice given.

Edit: sorry I see others have made that point before me.

Johnson needs emptied. He’s a serial liar and not one who should hold such a position as PM never mind MP.

34 minutes ago, Maroon Sailor said:

The forgetful ferret has been like that for as long as I can remember.

You want to have seen her outside Faslane back in the day.

Alistair Darling used to be a commie. Now in the HOL now lapping it up. Boris Johnson used to burn money in front of homeless people and make racist remarks to people. David Cameron called Nelson Mandela a terrorist and wanted him hanged so you you shouldve seen them back in the day an aw eh!? 

Edited by jack D and coke

1 minute ago, Pans Jambo said:

Not sure what your point is. They have been at the top table in every election (Scottish, UK & European) for the last 10 years or so. Everyone knows the covet Independence but I'll tell you what, its the tolies that keep banging on about it.

Got a toly propaganda brochure through the door a coupe of weeks ago. No policies, just mentioning the SNP and Indy about 27 times over 4 pages. Its all the linesman bangs on about on TV/Radio as well.

Before the devolved parliament the SNP were nothing.

7 minutes ago, JJ93 said:

I watched her yesterday and you can just see her vicious character. She isn't doing herself any favours and looks guilty - I don't know if she is or not as I haven't had time to really dig into this.

I wonder if she stays on and they get a minority of votes whether there will be a coalition government in Holyrood to exclude her in May. Interesting thought!

All about perceptions but I thought yesterday she was at the brunt of vicious characters and came across as a very emotional human, thankfully we have a justice system and don't convict on whether someone looks guilty

1 hour ago, JackLadd said:

yet they are miles (four times) ahead of eu in vaccinations. Shame you left that off your natoganda list.

Barn doors slamming shut months after the horses bolted comes to mind.

Just now, Cruyff said:

Anas Sarwar is one to talk, he is up to his eye balls in dirty laundry.

He is known to block folk on Twitter for asking why his dad's business doesn't pay its employees Labour's recommended living wage :lol:

17 minutes ago, jonnothejambo said:

Don't know much about Sarwar but with elections in May they need to do something because that last tit they had was about as much use as a fart in a spacesuit.

As for that wank Douglas Ross well he is probably a better linesman than politician which shows how shite he is. 

Feckin bools in the mooth fud.

It's a mucky game the old politics.

I can't take Ross seriously as a linesman or a politician. Totally inept.

1 minute ago, Justin Z said:

He is known to block folk on Twitter for asking why his dad's business doesn't pay its employees Labour's recommended living wage :lol:

His dad was defo dodgy. He's been investigated more times than John Leslie. 

Anas Sarwar himself recently took a £4000 donation from a convicted paedo and has faced numerous questions in the past about his dodgy business dealings.

An absolute slimeball of a man. 

16 minutes ago, Boy Daniel said:

Johnson needs emptied. He’s a serial liar and not one who should hold such a position as PM never mind MP.

On that we agree !

6 minutes ago, Justin Z said:

That I didn't know, I may have to adjust my opinion, even though I thought he spoke well today.

31 minutes ago, jonnothejambo said:

I am not all that political but Sturgeon put Davidson back into her box at the end there re her pissing off to the House of Lords.

Sarwar came across well today too IMO. 

Good god, did she mention that again?  That's her go to dig at Ruth Davidson every week.

Caught a bit of it later and someone finished their question with "or has the FM forgotten about that too?  She fired up like a jack in the box who'd sat on TNT to remind us that she's been saving us all from a "GLOBAL PANDEMIC".  Another go to response.  Not an ordinary common or garden pandemic but a global one.

11 minutes ago, lou said:

All about perceptions but I thought yesterday she was at the brunt of vicious characters and came across as a very emotional human, thankfully we have a justice system and don't convict on whether someone looks guilty

Where it went wrong for those after Salmond. 

17 minutes ago, jack D and coke said:

Alistair Darling used to be a commie. Now in the HOL now lapping it up. Boris Johnson used to burn money in front of homeless people and make racist remarks to people. David Cameron called Nelson Mandela a terrorist and wanted him hanged so you you shouldve seen them back in the day an aw eh!? 

Not sure what your point is with that post

It doesn't change my opinion that Little Miss Amnesia has always seemed angry to me.

Edited by Maroon Sailor

12 minutes ago, Candy said:

Good god, did she mention that again?  That's her go to dig at Ruth Davidson every week.

Caught a bit of it later and someone finished their question with "or has the FM forgotten about that too?  She fired up like a jack in the box who'd sat on TNT to remind us that she's been saving us all from a "GLOBAL PANDEMIC".  Another go to response.  Not an ordinary common or garden pandemic but a global one.

Yep her party has indeed been concentrating on the pandemic and never ever  mention the May elections or indyref2

14 minutes ago, Maroon Sailor said:

Not sure what your point is with that post

It doesn't change my opinion that Little Miss Amnesia has always seemed angry to me.

I wouldn’t like there have to been videos of me when I was young tbh :lol: 

People change. Just because she was feisty and probably still is, you don’t get to where she is without being strong willed doesn’t mean she is the same hotheaded person. 
Amnesia also seems to quite a common trait in politicians of all colours I’d say. 

40 minutes ago, Maroon Sailor said:

Before the devolved parliament the SNP were nothing.

Aye that was 20 year ago mate

1 minute ago, Pans Jambo said:

Aye that was 20 year ago mate

Exactly and in that time what has changed with their policies that have people voting for them now that didn't vote for them 20 years ago ?

9 minutes ago, manaliveits105 said:

Yep her party has indeed been concentrating on the pandemic and never ever  mention the May elections or indyref2

Demanding neverendums is part of Sturgeon's covid response, along with squealing for more billions from Boris even though he foot the furlough bill. Now comes with added bonus of distracting from her rotten and despicable Salmondgate scandal.

1 minute ago, JackLadd said:

Demanding neverendums is part of Sturgeon's covid response, along with squealing for more billions from Boris even though he foot the furlough bill. Now comes with added bonus of distracting from her rotten and despicable Salmondgate scandal.

You have looked a bit dense many times in this thread and have failed to back your claims up at any point however claiming Boris or WM foot the bill for furlough has lost you that 0.001% credibility you may have had, a first year high school pupil could tell you that's wrong

2 hours ago, BarneyBattles said:

Good point. £22bn on track and trace that didn't work, many more billions buying PPE that didn't work from their mates resulting in the deaths of 1,000 front line staff - not a peep.

SG spend £500k on legal fees and it's an outrage, heads must roll, Westminster must take over, scrap the SG, etc. etc. 

Absolute nonsense.

Don’t do irony do they?

23 minutes ago, Maroon Sailor said:

Exactly and in that time what has changed with their policies that have people voting for them now that didn't vote for them 20 years ago ?

SO nothing has happened in the last 20 years that's pissed off the Scottish electorate and woken them up to Westminster and their shenanigans?

Don't focus on the SNP, its the shit show from Westminster that you should focus on because the SNP are the ONLY alternative to what's on offer for there. Labour, Lib-Dems and now the tories are all finished up here.  

As a Labour voter my entire adult life up until about 12 years or so ago I am embarrassed at what has happened to that party. The labour and SOCIALIST party now has a man running their show thats officially a "Sir". WTF?

Tories, well they are still the lizards they have always been but now they are even more to the far right. They will all be wearing brown shirts shortly!

Lib Dems. Oh please?

Edited by Pans Jambo

14 minutes ago, lou said:

You have looked a bit dense many times in this thread and have failed to back your claims up at any point however claiming Boris or WM foot the bill for furlough has lost you that 0.001% credibility you may have had, a first year high school pupil could tell you that's wrong

Indeed. The UK needed to borrow 34.1bn of that money themselves. 

2 hours ago, BarneyBattles said:

Good point. £22bn on track and trace that didn't work, many more billions buying PPE that didn't work from their mates resulting in the deaths of 1,000 front line staff - not a peep.

SG spend £500k on legal fees and it's an outrage, heads must roll, Westminster must take over, scrap the SG, etc. etc. 

Absolute nonsense.

On a pound-for-pound basis, using ONLY the track-and-trace figure, Hancock would have to testify for eight hours a day for about fifteen years straight without a single day off to get the same return on time spent :lol:

And that's only assuming ten hours of testimony in total from Sturgeon.

43 minutes ago, lou said:

Liar. 

51 minutes ago, Maroon Sailor said:

Propaganda and a poor defence of the Union by inept politicians. 

You are right - a lot changes in 20 years... but a lot will change in 20 years from now. I am always aghast at how pessimistic some people are. What is popular today won't necessarily be popular tomorrow. I wouldn't be surprised if the SNP die out in the next 20 years. Things have their peaks and there's only so long an irrational cause can stay at a height before coming down.

29 minutes ago, Footballfirst said:

More UK tax payers money lost?  Who was responsible for this one?

Hah, funny that

16 minutes ago, Candy said:

Good to see whitabootery is alive and well 

Your hypocrisy on who you choose to hold to account is noted :smile:

3 hours ago, mutley said:

I haven’t followed this much so I’m unsure what all the fuss was about salmond finding out the names of the accusers. Is he not allowed to know? Surely that makes defending himself pretty tough. Can anyone shed any light on it for me

It was allegedly leaked by a high ranking government official, they’re trying to say NS either sanctioned or or didn’t know apparently 🤔? NS said he knew who they were when he told her he was being investigated for 14 alleged offences. 

11 minutes ago, jack D and coke said:

Although I’m well aware Sarwar is massively soiled and sodden goods I’d forgotten about a lot of that. 
The nick of Labour man. 

He's no Labour man, he and his family are merely in it to further their own interests. 

I was shocked that Monic Lennon didn't get the nod ahead of that snake oil salesman. 

Jamstomorrow
2 hours ago, Justin Z said:

The sins of the father, etc!

6 minutes ago, Cruyff said:

He's no Labour man, he and his family are merely in it to further their own interests. 

I was shocked that Monic Lennon didn't get the nod ahead of that snake oil salesman. 

Since probably Johann Lamont Scottish Labour have been a joke. Sarwar is the latest person in their to attempts to mug Scotland off. 

Non stop what aboot the toaries though seems to be the nervous nationalists only defence of deceitful Nicky and the SG 

James Hamilton wont be interested in that thankfully if she broke the ministerial code she is oot .

I see WM have been robbing women of their pensions. I wonder how long that investigation will last. 

1 hour ago, Footballfirst said:

More UK tax payers money lost?  Who was responsible for this one?

We'll need to wait for Boris to make himself available for 8 hours of scrutiny before we find out. Could be a long wait....

Jamstomorrow
4 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

I see WM have been robbing women of their pensions. I wonder how long that investigation will last. 

If Scotland gains independence, I suspect you will see pension robbing (or call it re-directing if you like) turned into a fine art.