Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )

CJGJ

Captain Price
15 minutes ago, Back to 2005 said:

Hi mate

They dont ****ing work so I wont bother if thats all the same to you.

Good day.

Oh you little rebel.

• Replies 107.1k

• JudyJudyJudy

• Victorian

• redjambo

• The Real Maroonblood

6 minutes ago, Back to 2005 said:

A spitfire mask??!! 😂😂😂 what occasion would that be reserved for? 

Look them up. Google is your friend. 

22 minutes ago, Back to 2005 said:

Hi mate

Good day.

Last word to you from me as I suspect you are trolling. Masks do work that why the medical profession wear them. Plenty research out there for those who can be bothered looking instead of following the conspiracy nut jobs.

34 minutes ago, Boy Daniel said:

“The World Health Organization (WHO) has changed its advice on face masks, saying they should be worn in public where social distancing is not possible to help stop the spread of coronavirus.

The global body said new information showed they could provide "a barrier for potentially infectious droplets".

Some countries already recommend or mandate face coverings in public.

The WHO had previously argued there was not enough evidence to say that healthy people should wear masks.

However, WHO director-general Dr Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus said on Friday that "in light of evolving evidence, the WHO advises that governments should encourage the general public to wear masks where there is widespread transmission and physical distancing is difficult, such as on public transport, in shops or in other confined or crowded environments".

So the expert advice has changed now we are probably through the worse of the pandemic. I think WHO has now even admitted the virus probably originated in China and has stopped praising China for its handling of the initial outbreak as "exemplary". Experts eh? 

"... encourage the general public to wear masks where there is widespread transmission and physical distancing is difficult etc" falls some way short of imposing a national legal requirement supported by fines for breach. In most of the UK there is no widespread  transmission and the law is applied whatever the difficulty of social distancing. In London buses are limited to 12-14 passengers on single deckers and 30 on double deckers so social distancing is perfectly possible. (My wife and I were the only passengers on a central London bus yesterday).  Same goes for local shops which admit only one or two customers at a time and supermarkets and larger shops which limit the numbers of customers at any one time. 

35 minutes ago, Back to 2005 said:

A spitfire mask??!! 😂😂😂 what occasion would that be reserved for? 

I looked them up. Many of them seem designed to scare the **** out of the wee viruses.

52 minutes ago, Back to 2005 said:

Hi mate

Good day.

Wear a mask!

Back to 2005
3 minutes ago, Natural Orders said:

Wear a mask!

Why do all SNP voters act like they are part of some sort of mad cult?

Back to 2005
12 minutes ago, Francis Albert said:

I looked them up. Many of them seem designed to scare the **** out of the wee viruses.

Curiosity got the better of me. Can only assume the boy whatever he was called is expecting to get a job in Chernobyl.

7 minutes ago, Back to 2005 said:

Because that's what they are part of. A protest party that have no place in government. 

13 minutes ago, Back to 2005 said:

That's exactly what they are. Sturgeon can do no wrong.

17 minutes ago, Back to 2005 said:

What are you on about?

Now, now. Don't tar all is SNP supporters with the same brush. I'm a huge fan of Sturgeon, but she's only done marginally better than Boris (albeit somewhat constrained by UK activity) on this and the daily debates about exam results under the pretence of public health is a shambles.

Surely some of the posters on here are just on the wind up?? 

It's like they think the SNP started Covid 19 so they could shut the country down, absolute batshit mental.

Can someone explin to me why the government (Scottish or English) would want to cause severe damage to the economy; what could they possibly gain from it.  

Testing Testing Testing was the cry

Why has everyone in this country not yet been tested ?

Of course it will not solve the issue but it will help greatly and we can have records of just when people catch it and work on tracing from there

The mask issue to me is not the major issue but we have been requested to do it in certain places so do it we must

Lack of testing is a disgrace, trace and contact failures, the general public not following the rules and a lack of enforcement by pubs/restaurants as well as the police.....improve all that and things will improve

1 hour ago, jonesy said:

I wish you’d be consistent in your stance on this matter. It’s hard to keep track of all the flip flopping you’ve done. 

Since when did I say not to wear one mate?

1 hour ago, CJGJ said:

Of course it will not solve the issue but it will help greatly and we can have records of just when people catch it and work on tracing from there

The mask issue to me is not the major issue but we have been requested to do it in certain places so do it we must

Lack of testing is a disgrace, trace and contact failures, the general public not following the rules and a lack of enforcement by pubs/restaurants as well as the police.....improve all that and things will improve

Have you been tested?

I'm getting really fekin sick of the screaming .

Man up and start contributing.

I was out for a good few the night and folk are policing themselves just fine .

It's like some folk are desperate for a police state.

The general public have been barry apart from a few arseholes.

Include yersel in that .

Nippy as fek .

Away and scream if ye want .

Us men will behave like men.

1 minute ago, jake said:

Have you been tested?

Include yersel in that .

Nippy as fek .

15 minutes ago, jake said:

Have you been tested?

Include yersel in that .

Nippy as fek .

Well said.

16 minutes ago, jake said:

Have you been tested?

Include yersel in that .

Nippy as fek .

Yes I have been tested

Just why you are acting like a child baffles me

You may well be doing fine but i'm afraid many are not and if people cannot be trusted than we need to close the bars etc as that is where the rise is coming from in the majority of cases

Not much of a man though are you..a child perhaps but no man

1 hour ago, CJGJ said:

What would be the point in testing everyone in the country?

Unless you could test everyone every day then it would be pointless as you might test negative today and catch it tomorrow.

Testing everyone with symptoms and isolating the ones who are positive alongside a "working" track and test process is what should be aimed for.

17 minutes ago, CJGJ said:

Yes I have been tested

You may well be doing fine but i'm afraid many are not and if people cannot be trusted than we need to close the bars etc as that is where the rise is coming from in the majority of cases

Apart from the Aberdeen outbreak .

There hasnt been much pub related cases in the uk..

Most rises seem to be coming from factories, some m+s sandwich supplier in northampton is  the latest outbreak down south.

Also a food importer seems to be top suspect for the virus turning up in  New Zealand again.

But naw, just blame it on the pubs..

37 minutes ago, CJGJ said:

Yes I have been tested

I like my child like qualities.

I trust people in general.

Because for my lifetime they have managed just fine.

Policing by consent is one of the things I enjoy in a mature country.

Scotland and it's people are arseholes .

We can manage .

Bye bye mr adult 

14 minutes ago, Zlatanable said:

The intellectual fallacy of Scottish Nationalism is removing individuals from their ability to think adequately. imo

Actually the fallacy is that removing individuals from their ability to take responsibility is to be dependant on perceived hand outs.

You seem to think that being a conservative is tied to a government benefit in the form of the barnet formula.

Bit strange.

Standing on your own two feet is the very essence of that.

You are a unionist which is fine but dont confuse being an individual with that as you are making a mistake.

Stop relying on handouts .

It's very socialist.

coconut doug
5 minutes ago, Zlatanable said:

I genuinely don't understand what you typed out here

You must have lost your ability to think adequately, assuming you ever had such an ability. 

15 hours ago, Governor Tarkin said:

You could always just politely disagree. 

There's no real need for the insults and internet indignation.

We've never faced an existential and economic crisis like this in the internet age and folk are bound to express themselves differently. We are all rationalising this in the way that suits and helps us best to get through it, you included, but that doesn't mean that any of us are right. Of course some opinions are better informed than others, but there is very little by the way of absolute objectivity to be found. We all pick and choose. That's the only indisputable fact.

Your diatribes on the Trump thread are a joy to read, but that style doesn't translate well to a subject as necessarily subjective as this one. 👍

I don't bring opinion or subjectivity, I read scientific data and post links to it. That's about as objective as it can get. I'm not going to pick and choose between data being produced by experts in the field and the 'opinion' of some non entity who by comparison knows nothing about the science.

It's simply reality. There are millions out there who reject the absolute reality of Darwins theory of evolution in favour of instant life by magic spell. In fact instant universe by magic spell too. Simply because they like the magic spell idea better.

I wouldn't humour that either.

5 minutes ago, coconut doug said:

You must have lost your ability to think adequately, assuming you ever had such an ability. 

Tbf, it was a complete montage of utter pish.. 

coconut doug
Just now, Weakened Offender said:

You should see the mutual flagellation on the other thread.

2 hours ago, CJGJ said:

How often should everyone in the country be tested?

1 hour ago, jake said:

Have you been tested?

Include yersel in that .

Nippy as fek .

:greatpost:

8 minutes ago, coconut doug said:

And this from a Russian internet spam bot. By God those algorithms are good.

:cornette_dog:

2 minutes ago, Weakened Offender said:

So eh, can we chuck montage on to that list too then?

coconut doug
1 minute ago, Zlatanable said:

'Actually,

the fallacy is that removing individuals from their ability to take responsibility

is to be dependant on perceived hand outs.

You seem to think that being a conservative is tied to a government benefit

in the form of the barnet formula.

Bit strange.

Standing on your own two feet is the very essence of that.

You are a unionist which is fine but dont confuse being an individual with that as you are making a mistake.

Stop relying on handouts .

It's very socialist.'

Translate this then. 

No. Work it out for yourself. It's perfectly understandable to anybody with adequate thinking capacity. I think you are Sea Lioning again.

15 minutes ago, Governor Tarkin said:

:greatpost:

And this from a Russian internet spam bot. By God those algorithms are good.

:cornette_dog:

So eh, can we chuck montage on to that list too then?

Here's the main man. 😁

56 minutes ago, Zlatanable said:

I genuinely don't understand what you typed out here

That's because unlike me you really are not a conservative.

Or not in a free market sense.

You believe in keeping Scotland in a benefit trap.

I dont want to get a job why should I because the barnet formula pays my rent.

That help.

Grow a set of balls.

Stop waiting on handouts.

Believe in the entrepreneurial spirit of Scotland.

Understand now?

40 minutes ago, Francis Albert said:

Well I'd say for the screamers every time you breathe out.

48 minutes ago, Weakened Offender said:

That's what dribbles doon yer trousers ya wee fud.

Although tbf that's just the front.

Fek knows what's gawn oan doon the back.

Although tbf it was a bit incoherent so I've replied with what I hope was a better reply.

I look forward to your next reply .

Hopefully it's not as infantile as mine

Just now, Zlatanable said:

did you sign my UB40?

No I used it as roaches.

😁

Enjoy yer handouts .

I like to make my own way in life.

And I'd like that mirrored in the country I live in.

Enjoy the beg theres a guid socialist .

8 minutes ago, jake said:

That's what dribbles doon yer trousers ya wee fud.

Although tbf that's just the front.

Fek knows what's gawn oan doon the back.

Although tbf it was a bit incoherent so I've replied with what I hope was a better reply.

I look forward to your next reply .

Hopefully it's not as infantile as mine

Glue night, pal? 

5 hours ago, Francis Albert said:

When they show symptoms. 

1 hour ago, Lord BJ said:

I believe the Canary Islands and a region of Spain have banned smoking as a result of COVID in public in certain scenarios over fees of it spreading COVID. 

https://apple.news/AlEGbPx9DQcGsTzE4P-soMg

I remember in the early days there was a theory (based on some statistics of the prevalence of the disease in smokers) that smoking might actually offer some protection against the virus. Haven,t heard any more till now.

8 hours ago, Weakened Offender said:

Here's the main man. 😁

We can get a room if you like. :wub:

6 minutes ago, Governor Tarkin said:

We can get a room if you like. :wub:

Busy day ahead feeling important on the Internet? 😊

Malta on the shit list.

I know boys who went there this week for 5 nights cos its 'bombproof likes' 

Enjoy daytime TV for the next 14 days boys 😂

7 minutes ago, Weakened Offender said:

Busy day ahead feeling important on the Internet? 😊

I'm important full stop, buddy, the internet is just a minor sideline.

1 minute ago, Governor Tarkin said:

I'm important full stop, buddy, the internet is just a minor sideline.

Suspected as much, Boss. Have a bold day. 👍

5 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

Malta on the shit list.

I know boys who went there this week for 5 nights cos its 'bombproof likes' 

Enjoy daytime TV for the next 14 days boys 😂

Travelling abroad is nuts atm.

Guys in my industry (that are still working) are having to quarentine for 2 weeks on arrival in whichever country before joining their vessel, do a double trip (12 weeks), quarentine for 2 weeks once ashore again, then quarentine a further 2 weeks once they arrive home. 

**** that.

3 minutes ago, Weakened Offender said:

Suspected as much, Boss. Have a bold day. 👍

Will do, cheers.

giphy.gif

• davemclaren changed the title to Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )
  • JKBMod 12 featured, locked, unlocked and unfeatured this topic