Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )

CJGJ

AlimOzturk
1 minute ago, Old Blue Eyes said:

Talk is, virus is here to stay, folk foolishly might ***k it up.

When we say it here to stay then in what capacity are we taking about. Are we going to constantly get spikes in numbers and have down lockdown to contain it or will it be managed and we will have an acceptable range of  infection and deaths. Will it just be the the case that it will.be accepted as another type of flu that kills thousands? 

• Replies 107.1k

• JudyJudyJudy

• Victorian

• redjambo

• The Real Maroonblood

The economic rescue schemes are very impressive and went beyond what I would have expected.    But at the end of the day,   there was no choice.    You can't leave tens of millions of people destitute as it's basically asking for biblical types of civil deterioration.

The acid test for any political philosophy is in how you pay for it.    The bill will likely be between £500bn and £1000bn.    Many people are calling for it to be treated the same as WW2 war debt.    Managed over a number of decades,   rather than austerity.

Iain Duncan Smith thinks it can be easily solved with tax cuts.

AlimOzturk
6 minutes ago, jack D and coke said:

The furlough and help for people like me who are self employed imo. Never thought I’d see a Tory government for such socialist things tbh. 
You don’t have to agree of course im not looking for an argument about politics bud. 

They aren't doing it through charity but more that they had no other choice. If they didn't then the job losses, business loss, poverty and such would be at a unrecoverable level

me and the better half are desperate to see our kids and grandkids but they live in Tweedbank and Crailing so we were hoping to drive down next Friday and meet them one household at a time so that parts ok but it's driving 40 miles that worries me either the A7 or A68 guaranteed there will cop cars somewhere and they will check the reg and see it's Edinburgh and we'll get pulled over bit of a bummer if that happens. it's not like we're going to a tourist destination just to meet them in parks that are near them. Any thoughts seeing that 5 miles is the preferred maximum distance.

1 minute ago, AlimOzturk said:

They aren't doing it through charity but more that they had no other choice. If they didn't then the job losses, business loss, poverty and such would be at a unrecoverable level

Oh yeah I know it ain’t free money we’re going to be paying this back. I was still surprised and relieved tbh. I didn’t earn a shilling for weeks it was worrying time. I’ve got my grant through from government other day and pressure off tbh. Can relax and I’m sure a lot of other people in my boat feel similar relief. 

Apparently Pritti Vile is going to announce the mandatory 14 day isolation thing for arrivals into the UK from June 1st.

The horse hasn't bolted. It died of old ****ing age. 

2 hours ago, Governor Tarkin said:

Think someone must've shat in his falafel.

The poor man's FA.

Loads of folk have been doing this already. 

Can't say I blame them.

2m in the queue at Tesco or B&Q is no different to 2m in someones back garden.

The powers that be will have been fully aware that this would be widely flouted and will have factored it in to their models.

Fair enough, did it myself once when I was getting my click and collect Tesco order. Dropped a bottle of wine at my son's and had a wee blether in the garden.

Would rather wait for the ok when it comes to my 76 year old mum though.

5 minutes ago, jack D and coke said:

Oh yeah I know it ain’t free money we’re going to be paying this back. I was still surprised and relieved tbh. I didn’t earn a shilling for weeks it was worrying time. I’ve got my grant through from government other day and pressure off tbh. Can relax and I’m sure a lot of other people in my boat feel similar relief. 

That’s good to hear.

AlimOzturk
3 minutes ago, jack D and coke said:

Dinny get me wrong when I got my grant money I was relieved as well will keep the wolves away from the door for a while. Like you though I am worried about the aftermath off all this. Dunno if my way of making a living will be viable In the short term. Going to take advantage of the skills scotland and business gateway services and look at retraining. Have to do something can't bum it forever haha

9 minutes ago, **** the SPFL said:

me and the better half are desperate to see our kids and grandkids but they live in Tweedbank and Crailing so we were hoping to drive down next Friday and meet them one household at a time so that parts ok but it's driving 40 miles that worries me either the A7 or A68 guaranteed there will cop cars somewhere and they will check the reg and see it's Edinburgh and we'll get pulled over bit of a bummer if that happens. it's not like we're going to a tourist destination just to meet them in parks that are near them. Any thoughts seeing that 5 miles is the preferred maximum distance.

Where are you seeing the 5 miles thing?

AlimOzturk
7 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

Apparently Pritti Vile is going to announce the mandatory 14 day isolation thing for arrivals into the UK from June 1st.

That just confirms to me that tourism in this country is a long way away. 

Spellczech
13 hours ago, Malinga the Swinga said:

What do you want, a medal?  Easiest thing in the world to say I said this and that when in reality, the guys in charge were damned if they did and damed if they didn't. Still folk who say economy more important than some lives being lost so please spare us the Imsaw this happening statements.

If the "guys in charge" did not want to be in that position they how did they get themselves in that position? The question is about their competency to be in that position...You may be a mindless sheep who thinks Boris is doing a great job in a difficult position but many of us don't agree.

3 minutes ago, graygo said:

i think Jimmie Krankie quoted it at the briefing yesterday she said the preferred travel was 5 miles. May be some leeway as she said preferred

3 minutes ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

That’s good to hear.

Cheers👍🏼

2 minutes ago, AlimOzturk said:

Dinny get me wrong when I got my grant money I was relieved as well will keep the wolves away from the door for a while. Like you though I am worried about the aftermath off all this. Dunno if my way of making a living will be viable In the short term. Going to take advantage of the skills scotland and business gateway services and look at retraining. Have to do something can't bum it forever haha

Haha defo not mate and aye I know it must be concerning for you in your line of work. I did give some sort of re-training consideration and I might still depending on how this all pans out. 

7 minutes ago, graygo said:

In addition, people will be able to travel - preferably by walking or cycling - for recreation, although they will be asked to remain "where possible" within or close to their own local area.

That's from the BBC website, but during her talk she mentioned five miles however looking at that 'where possible' i would say well my kids/grandkids live 30/40 miles away so that may be okay it's all down to interpretation.

John Gentleman
22 hours ago, Montgomery Brewster said:

Correct

they have the highest death to population rate in the world 

They're eighth with 384/per M

The UK is sixth with 531/per M

Of the major/mid sized western countries, Italy is fifth, Spain is fourth and Belgium is second.

Source: https://www.worldometers.info/coronavirus/

1 minute ago, AlimOzturk said:

When we say it here to stay then in what capacity are we taking about. Are we going to constantly get spikes in numbers and have down lockdown to contain it or will it be managed and we will have an acceptable range of  infection and deaths. Will it just be the the case that it will.be accepted as another type of flu that kills thousands? 

A major benefit would be proven DIY testing kits.  

26 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

She'll announce 1st June and then  quarantine/ isolation will be relaxed / scrapped from 1st July (I think). Too little too late and the tourist economy needs to reopen. Complete stable door scenario.

14 minutes ago, **** the SPFL said:

i think Jimmie Krankie quoted it at the briefing yesterday she said the preferred travel was 5 miles. May be some leeway as she said preferred

It's in Phase 1 - recommended travel is : : - "..(broadly within 5 miles) and travel by walk, wheel and cycle where possible.

Edited by felix

17 minutes ago, **** the SPFL said:

:cornette_dog:

Spellczech
12 hours ago, Lord BJ said:

Did I say a question mark invalidates an opinion? I didn’t even insulate it. That is you making something up, to try and strengthen a piss poor argument.

I merely pointed out you asked a question in your posts. Everything else is you making stuff up 😂

Yes I agree the government have been responsible for deaths. The Scottish Govt failure to sort the care home out and test and tracing strategy out (even saying it was a distraction) is extremely disappointing. I feel massively let down by the Scottish Gov. Don’t get me started on the UK govt.

Other may not agree with that, though. Hence why its opinion. 

You think Scottish Govt made mistakes?

Your post was not factual its was an opinion. 

I think the Scottish Govt got trapped by Boris in his best Churchillian imitation telling them and a leaderless Labour party that the country needed to unite in a crisis and move together behind his coterie of scientists and himself. I think that Scottish scientist who sounds like a PR man really let her down by buying into the herd immunity thing along with the rest of SAGE - would be fascinating to understand the makeup of SAGE and whether it was variegated enough, or if it was politically driven..  I expect books will be written about the early days and it wil be noted as one of Sturgeon's biggest political regrets. She timed her press briefings so that her far-superior communication skills were front and centre but she'll wish she'd broken from the Tory lead sooner...SNP really blew a chance to actually get their Independence IMO..

Edited by Spellczech

4 minutes ago, Spellczech said:

I think the Scottish Govt got trapped by Boris in his best Churchillian imitation telling them and a leaderless Labour party that the country needed to unite in a crisis and move together behind his coterie of scientists and himself. I think that Scottish scientist who sounds like a PR man really let her down by buying into the herd immunity thing along with the rest of SAGE - would be fascinating to understand the makeup of SAGE and whether it was variegated enough, or if it was politically driven..  I expect books will be written about the early days and it wil be noted as one of Sturgeon's biggest political regrets. She timed her press briefings so that her far-superior communication skills were front and centre but she'll wish she'd broken from the Tory lead sooner...SNP really blew a chance to actually get their Independence IMO..

There has been a shift in the past few weeks, infections are down, serious cases are down, deaths are down all over Europe. In countries who relaxed lockdowns weeks before us the R number isnt increasing, if anything it's going down. This has all the hallmarks of SARS, which died out on its own. 🤞

I am alot more optimistic now than i was 4/5 weeks ago. 

Just now, Walter Bishop said:

There has been a shift in the past few weeks, infections are down, serious cases are down, deaths are down all over Europe. In countries who relaxed lockdowns weeks before us the R number isnt increasing, if anything it's going down. This has all the hallmarks of SARS, which died out on its own. 🤞

Good to see a positive post.

Spellczech
35 minutes ago, Lord BJ said:

My opinion based on little, is the governments will try to spend their way out of the recession. I understand that isn’t traditionally a Tory approach but I think the uniqueness of the situation will probably demand it.

I also wouldn’t be surprised to see taxes being cut, as counter intuitive as that sounds. I think economically they are going to pull a few different economic levers around this, to try and restart the economy with minimum damage. Tax cuts in certain areas would help this. I think the pain starts when the economy is a safe as it can be.

I agree. It has been proven time and again that it is the only way. I strongly believe that it MUST be infrastructure spending though - like Italy & Germany did with motorways after WW1 and US did with Hoover Dam etc under Roosevelt after the Great Depression. The UK must become less London-centric. No other country puts all its economic, political, artistic etc eggs into just the one basket (city)

I'm not convinced High Speed rail is the right option as all it does is link cities, and they still want the trains to stop in nonsense places to pick up the CEOs from villages or small towns - far better to lengthen platforms so that we can have longer trains with more carriages. Another option is moving to the wider European guage so that wider carriages can be used but this would be hugely expensive, unless they perhaps create a hybrid period and lay wide guage rails as well on the same track...(but I don't know if this is possible)

Edited by Spellczech

5 minutes ago, Spellczech said:

I think it’s been more difficult for her tbh. She riles unionists just by breathing and some of the messages I’ve had from some friends about NS in recent weeks that would seriously make you wonder about them and their thinking tbh. Everything she does differently is a stunt and political posturing or one upmanship. 
My tuppence worth is this isn’t the time for any of it really. Let’s get out of this and then we can have inquiries into how and where our approach was right/wrong. 

Spellczech
1 minute ago, jack D and coke said:

I think it’s been more difficult for her tbh. She riles unionists just by breathing and some of the messages I’ve had from some friends about NS in recent weeks that would seriously make you wonder about them and their thinking tbh. Everything she does differently is a stunt and political posturing or one upmanship. 
My tuppence worth is this isn’t the time for any of it really. Let’s get out of this and then we can have inquiries into how and where our approach was right/wrong. 

She riles unionists because she is a far better politician and speaker than anyone the other parties can put up (last GE showed that). I am not SNP and I don't believe there are any economic arguments for Independence, and if we got it we may remove the chip from our collective shoulder and be forced to become more dynamic, but it would be at a cost of several, perhaps many generations of hardship...

Mac_fae_Gillie
3 minutes ago, Walter Bishop said:

Is this still not exactly as expected??.. Lockdown takes time to work, it slowed now it is very low in West Europe but they started to open and it will take a couple weeks but it will just re ignite as before. Not sure if worse as there are more cases around to start with or less as people are still practicing some form of SD and/or wearing masks. Would hardly say it has just died out like SARS though. I think we ill get waves of infections for a solid year or more as Governments flatten each to allow Hospitals not to get  crushed by demand, which over time means "Herd Immunity" by default.

21 minutes ago, Mac_fae_Gillie said:

Is this still not exactly as expected??.. Lockdown takes time to work, it slowed now it is very low in West Europe but they started to open and it will take a couple weeks but it will just re ignite as before. Not sure if worse as there are more cases around to start with or less as people are still practicing some form of SD and/or wearing masks. Would hardly say it has just died out like SARS though. I think we ill get waves of infections for a solid year or more as Governments flatten each to allow Hospitals not to get  crushed by demand, which over time means "Herd Immunity" by default.

Lockdown, seriously? Where in the UK

do you live? The supermarkets and shops that are open have been busier than ever. 

And I never said its died out, I said it has all the hallmarks of SARS which died out. There is scientific evidence new infections are less severe.  Denmark, Austria, Switzerland and Slovenia to name but 4 all are reporting lower cases with relaxation in place for 2/3 weeks now, even  London has had no new hospital admissions for 3/4 days and since 7th May there hasn't been more than 100 new cases per day. Something has changed/is changing, I hope. 

The media is the virus at the moment in this country, there are no positive stories anywhere to be found. 

Edited by Walter Bishop

13 minutes ago, Walter Bishop said:

Lockdown, seriously? Where in the UK

do you live? The supermarkets and shops that are open have been busier than ever. 

And I never said its died out, I said it has all the hallmarks of SARS which died out. There is scientific evidence new infections are less severe.  Denmark, Austria, Switzerland and Slovenia to name but 4 all are reporting lower cases with relaxation in place for 2/3 weeks now, even  London has had no new hospital admissions for 3/4 days and since 7th May there hasn't been more than 100 new cases per day. Something has changed/is changing, I hope. 

The media is the virus at the moment in this country, there are no positive stories anywhere to be found. 

Keep posting man I’m liking the positivity lol👍🏼

13 hours ago, Francis Albert said:

What about the 200 mark. or 1000 mark or when we really started to take notice of this. I think the UK was well ahead of Sweden in terms of deaths and cases before decisions about lock down were made.

And who knows maybe Sweden detected the first cases  sooner. Your case is based on very small margins of time and cases

The fact inasmuch as there are facts is that the UK was ahead of the curve on infections and deaths compared to Sweden.

We simply don't know enough to make judgements about who has the right response.

Do you?

I appreciate a person who can put their hands up and say "You got me. It's a fair cop, Gov."

You're obviously not such a person.

Forget any deflection about the "right response". You stated that the pandemic hit Sweden after the UK. You were wrong. They hit, substantively, at the same time.

By the way, the 200 mark was reached 2 days later for each country and the 1000 mark was also reached by the UK (with the higher population, remember) one day earlier than Sweden, as the 100 mark had been. Effectively, the pandemics ran neck and neck in each country.

Francis, you surely cannot be happy with yourself coming on and making a claim without first properly checking the facts behind it. It surprises me greatly, given that your main preoccupation on this forum appears to be in trying to tear other people's arguments to shreds, that you didn't even bother to do this.

But then, when you're actually called out, to squirm away behind fallacies such as "The fact inasmuch as there are facts is that the UK was ahead of the curve on infections and deaths compared to Sweden." is just embarrassing.

Please check your claims from now on for the good of the forum. I know that you probably typed it all out in haste so that you could then sit back with a smarmy grin on your chops that you had once again "won the internet" but we deserve better than that. Don't we?

3 hours ago, scott herbertson said:

Certainly that, and the tubes and bus network in London - massively more cross infection than any where else in the UK, earlier, so inevitably more people in London will have had it. Also those people predominately of working or school age (use of TFL during busy times) so few will have died but they will have taken it back out to the commuting hinterland (around 100 miles outside London)

While "common sense" would suggest this, infection rates in the commuting hinterland 😄 aren't much higher than average infection rates around the UK. Sadly, and predictably, if your working class, from a BAME background and living in high density, over crowded housing you are more likely to get the virus and die from it. 

Brighton Jambo
42 minutes ago, Spellczech said:

She riles unionists because she is a far better politician and speaker than anyone the other parties can put up (last GE showed that). I am not SNP and I don't believe there are any economic arguments for Independence, and if we got it we may remove the chip from our collective shoulder and be forced to become more dynamic, but it would be at a cost of several, perhaps many generations of hardship...

Up until now I would have agreed with you but I think the Tories have inadvertently unearthed an absolute gem in the new chancellor.  Coherent, likeable and will have some serious credibility behind him not only given he had delivered complex things effectively but can use the whole you needed us I was there for you line for years to come.  The least Tory chancellor imaginable. 

if the Tories have any sense Boris would never set foot up here again and they would just send Sunak especially as in the upcoming recession his inputs and views will be critical.

which means they will probably do the complete opposite!  

1 minute ago, SE16 3LN said:

While "common sense" would suggest this, infection rates in the commuting hinterland 😄 aren't much higher than average infection rates around the UK. Sadly, and predictably, if your working class, from a BAME background and living in high density, over crowded housing you are more likely to get the virus and die from it. 

Haven't checked the first part of your statement but I will take your word for it - possibly for the reverse reason of your undeniably true second part (ie that by and large the commuters live in 'Englishman's home is his castle' areas where social  distancing is the norm anyway!)

2 hours ago, AlimOzturk said:

Yes I think that’s how it will pan out 

Jambo-Jimbo
2 hours ago, jack D and coke said:

100% mate. 
I won’t be laying blame at anyone’s door and I think this conservative government deserves a lot of praise, the chancellor in particular has been pretty tremendous, I really like this guy. 
I just hope we can all come out of this and get back to normality. 

Then people can go back to the pitiful snp this/tory that. 
I reckon I’m done with it personally tbh. It takes this to make you realise it’s all meaningless bolloks and there are far more important things to concern ourselves with. 

Came to that same conclusion years ago mate.

1 hour ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

55 minutes ago, jack D and coke said:

Keep posting man I’m liking the positivity lol👍🏼

Aye, me tae.

50 minutes ago, redjambo said:

I appreciate a person who can put their hands up and say "You got me. It's a fair cop, Gov."

You're obviously not such a person.

I'll take issue with this. I've seen FA reluctantly admit to having had his hoop handed to him on a couple of occasions over the years. Not many mind.

36 minutes ago, Brighton Jambo said:

I think the Tories have inadvertently unearthed an absolute gem in the new chancellor.

A wolf in sheeps clothing, my friend (although at this juncture I'm inclined to agree with you).

Edited by Governor Tarkin

2 hours ago, **** the SPFL said:

You'll be fine. 

Ehllhayapeh
3 hours ago, jack D and coke said:

100% mate. 
I won’t be laying blame at anyone’s door and I think this conservative government deserves a lot of praise, the chancellor in particular has been pretty tremendous, I really like this guy. 
I just hope we can all come out of this and get back to normality. 

Then people can go back to the pitiful snp this/tory that. 
I reckon I’m done with it personally tbh. It takes this to make you realise it’s all meaningless bolloks and there are far more important things to concern ourselves with. 

While I completely agree that Sunak has been well received and has done well in this, you must be out of your mind to praise the conservative government as a whole.

The whole response has been an omnishambles bordering on negligence particularly not locking down properly.

When you compare the UK to places that actually were deserving of praise like New Zealand the whole thing is a horror show.

As for delight at the tories picking up the working mans wage, this is because the alternative was for these people to already be unemployed. Once furlough ends the true extent of that will be felt.

I do think there are individuals who have stepped up (of all political colours) and are deserving of praise but in general the tories have been a mess and cost a number of lives through their incompetence.

Cleared up that you can sit in other's gardens and it can be more than 5 miles away.

Not allowed to use their bogs though.

1 minute ago, graygo said:

Cleared up that you can sit in other's gardens and it can be more than 5 miles away.

Behind the bushes.

2 hours ago, **** the SPFL said:

Just confirming on the SG briefing at the moment that the 5 mile travel is relevant to outside exercise for example.  NS understands however that parental visits may involve longer distances and asks people to use their best judgement on doing it or not doing it.

The one thing to consider is where do you pee?  The guidance says you can meet others oitside in an open space but you cannot go into their houses.  So you can do the travel and visits you suggest but the practical point is no public toilets are open and you cannot go inside houses on arrival.  

It is a bit of catch 22 I think.  I think that the SG is hoping people still stay local.   I know it is tough because we have not seen our son and his wife at all and want to travel up to Dundee to see him asap.  However where do we pee😃😃. Two 60+ folk like us need facilities😃😃

I think there could be a big market in empty coke bottles and boxes of soft tissues in Phase One😃😃

11 minutes ago, graygo said:

It turns out this recent thread about going to the toilet in awkward circumstances is now more topical than ever. I'd imagine it'll be referenced at today's briefing by the  First Minister. Although it's unlikely she'll mention the post about al fresco ham shanking.

2 hours ago, AlimOzturk said:

The scientist reckon it's here for a couple of years anyway.Modelling has been done for 50 days of lockdown and 30 days out for the next 18 months so 2022ish.

Hopefully this isn't needed but if it comes back in the winter and is bad this is the kind of thing I can see happening.Hopefilly not though.

Edit - this was independent modelling and not done for the UK but it is something that governments across the globe could be looking at.

Edited by vegas-voss

Mooth Davidson seems to have surfaced from her cave.    **** knows how she gets the brass neck to come out with the nonsense she does.    

1 hour ago, Brighton Jambo said:

Up until now I would have agreed with you but I think the Tories have inadvertently unearthed an absolute gem in the new chancellor.  Coherent, likeable and will have some serious credibility behind him not only given he had delivered complex things effectively but can use the whole you needed us I was there for you line for years to come.  The least Tory chancellor imaginable. 

if the Tories have any sense Boris would never set foot up here again and they would just send Sunak especially as in the upcoming recession his inputs and views will be critical.

which means they will probably do the complete opposite!  

Maybe wait and see how he proposes to pay it all back before we cheer him on too much. You might find he's more of a Tory chancellor than you think. 

31 minutes ago, Ehllhayapeh said:

While I completely agree that Sunak has been well received and has done well in this, you must be out of your mind to praise the conservative government as a whole.

The whole response has been an omnishambles bordering on negligence particularly not locking down properly.

When you compare the UK to places that actually were deserving of praise like New Zealand the whole thing is a horror show.

As for delight at the tories picking up the working mans wage, this is because the alternative was for these people to already be unemployed. Once furlough ends the true extent of that will be felt.

I do think there are individuals who have stepped up (of all political colours) and are deserving of praise but in general the tories have been a mess and cost a number of lives through their incompetence.

I’m not for praising or heavily criticising anyone right at this moment. The government deserves some praise and some crticism to this point. To say we shouldve taken the NZ approach where Jocinda almost made it a police state so you could only imagine what anyone here would say had the Scottish government for example taken a much tighter line. She’s already a nazi/North Korean loony/mugabe all rolled into one as it is. The fact she extended ours for two weeks was enough to see some seriously deranged messages from very good friends of mine. Middle aged men with families and very good jobs who lose their shit when she breathes. Boris Johnson is an utter buffoon though and he’s surrounded by some equal poor members in his cabinet. You’re obviously entitled to a different point of view but I’ll make my mind up in a few months or years exactly what should or shouldn’t have been done. 

There’s too many people trying to score political goals. 

Edited by jack D and coke

Irrespective  of political leanings, I suspect there isn't a  governing party anywhere in the world which isn't being blamed for some aspect of their response.   

Boris volunteered for PM to become a hero for getting Brexit "done", Nicola volunteered for FM  to become a hero for winning  a new  Indyref  -  neither had any idea that this crisis would blow up.     All us keyboard slavers  with no responsibility for  anything other than our close family should probably cut them a bit of slack, regardless of political bias, IMO 

• davemclaren changed the title to Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )
  • JKBMod 12 featured, locked, unlocked and unfeatured this topic