Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )

CJGJ

Jambo-Jimbo

A man & a woman both from the Wirral have been fined £10k each after failing to quarantine after a holiday in Dubai.

What makes it worse is that they took several flights on the way home to try and cover up that they'd been in Dubai and then failed to disclose on the forms that they had been in a Red Listed country.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-merseyside-56241663

£10k fine, should be looking at a jail term for this deliberate & blatant attempt to avoid quarantining.

• Replies 107.1k

• JudyJudyJudy

• Victorian

• redjambo

• The Real Maroonblood

7 minutes ago, Jambo-Jimbo said:

Not made much of a difference, nose is still blocked most of the time.

Rubbish. :(

Luckily I've never had much bother breathing, but my beak seemed to have difficulty getting out of the way of right hooks. :(

Just now, manaliveits105 said:

east weeg - centre of the universe ??? 

last straw - get her oot 

Just heard that. 

7 minutes ago, Ray Gin said:

they moan about her giving positive news purely for political gain.

People of a suspicious mind would certainly moan about it especially as the Covid19 figures are better and her and her parties are falling away. You would forgive the skeptics for thinking this is more about her popularity and that of the SG

3 minutes ago, Lord BJ said:

My boy is delighted to be going back to school. He’s been finding the social isolation of it hard and his mood has been lifted that will get back to friends and socialising. 

28 minutes ago, Brian Dundas said:

What do you think is going to drive the numbers up over the next 8 weeks?

There is very little that can happen anywhere to drive the numbers up, once they are falling in a lockdown they keep falling in general, add in the vaccination program and I can't see how we will not be at extremely low levels in 8 weeks time. 

This week is a critical one to watch, today's numbers were important, but if we end this week better than last Friday I can't see us reversing the numbers until we start to open up again.

Secondary schools? 

Back to 2005
20 minutes ago, SteauaNeedarest said:

Secondary schools? 

The more you test.....

Not talking people who are ill but yeah the case numbers will of course go up. 

Back to 2005
7 minutes ago, Back to 2005 said:

The more you test.....

Not talking people who are ill but yeah the case numbers will of course go up. 

Also as kids fave been isolated for so long their immune systems will be low.

Moving forward the schools plan is a pre-cursor to doing a U-turn on other unlocking elements imo.  An exercise in gathering quicker data to (hopefully) enable other stuff to happen a bit sooner,  if things continue to go to plan.

22 minutes ago, Lord BJ said:

I thought the statement was decent enough today. Much more upbeat that the recent tones which hopefully means we see things progressing quicker. 

My boy is delighted to be going back to school. He’s been finding the social isolation of it hard and his mood has been lifted that will get back to friends and socialising. 

Dates were given for the rest of school returns, whilst it looks like things will accelerate a bit. 

Yeah I was speaking to my wee nephew yesterday whos 9 . I asked him how “ home schooling “ was going ? His answer “ stressful “ !! 😂 delighted they are going back . Yes the statement was fairly decent to be fair . 

5 minutes ago, Victorian said:

Moving forward the schools plan is a pre-cursor to doing a U-turn on other unlocking elements imo.  An exercise in gathering quicker data to (hopefully) enable other stuff to happen a bit sooner,  if things continue to go to plan.

i hope your right 

Good news that lockdown easing can potentially be accelerated and more positive tones this week.

What happened to the data that's allowed this? Did it diverge from their forecasting to see such a change in a week?

2 minutes ago, Brian Dundas said:

Just looking at case numbers as an example, it had really stalled over February up to last week, creeping around in the 800s and not getting below it, then it has dropped to under 600 in a week. So there has been a dramatic shift, but they will want to see that over a two week period to have even more confidence in it.

👍👍 Cheers. Good to see it's outpacing their predictions in the right direction now. Keep on going down please!! 🤞🤞

5 minutes ago, Lord BJ said:

I think the data that came about effectiveness of the vaccines after one dose, will certainly of impacted the modelling pretty substantially, giving more optimistic scenarios. 

Probably a combination of factors resulting in the change in tone today. 

Just now, Brian Dundas said:

as @Lord BJ points out above, that was just one factor I posted, loads of different factors have improved recently.

In fact Boris might have to revise his no sooner than dates as well at some point!!

Really encouraging stuff. Brighter days and some hope has given my outlook a significant lift. 

11 minutes ago, Taffin said:

Really encouraging stuff. Brighter days and some hope has given my outlook a significant lift. 

I'm with you on this :yas:

28 minutes ago, Taffin said:

Yep same here. Excellent work by the vaccination creators and the uk vaccination program. 

12 minutes ago, manaliveits105 said:

Aw oh possibly another 

Eat out to peg out scheme 

announced tomorrow according to sky

Took full advantage of the last one.

11 minutes ago, Brian Dundas said:

Furlough extension to be announced as well

Excellent news, hopefully saving many jobs. 

Jambo-Jimbo

That's me just had the AZ/Oxford vaccine at the Peebles vaccination centre.

Hope it improves my wifi signal or Mr. Gates can GTF.  :laugh:

42 minutes ago, manaliveits105 said:

Aw oh possibly another 

Eat out to peg out scheme 

announced tomorrow according to sky

Yee haaaaaa 

32 minutes ago, Jambo-Jimbo said:

That's me just had the AZ/Oxford vaccine at the Peebles vaccination centre.

Hope it improves my wifi signal or Mr. Gates can GTF.  :laugh:

Can confirm you are visible on JKB track and trace. More coming on stream every day. 

19 minutes ago, Konrad von Carstein said:

What was said?

Glasgow East is the centre of the Universe. 

1 minute ago, Brian Dundas said:

She made a joke about Glasgow South being the political capital of Scotland, she was talking to Sarawak at the time, they both contest that constituency 

Thanks!

Just now, Governor Tarkin said:

Glasgow East is the centre of the Universe. 

:muggy:

3 hours ago, Ray Gin said:

She really can't win. 

If folk can't moan about her giving negative news then they moan about her giving positive news purely for political gain.

I doubt a few loveless belters that flip out on a Monday at the thought of spending another whole week with their bairns will bother the First Minister. 😉

Jambo-Jimbo
29 minutes ago, Malinga the Swinga said:

Can confirm you are visible on JKB track and trace. More coming on stream every day. 

Wonderful, if I get lost now, JKB will know where I am, just as long as I'm not a little green dot on a map, any other colour is fine but not green.

36 minutes ago, Brian Dundas said:

She made a joke about Glasgow South being the political capital of Scotland, she was talking to Sarawak at the time, they both contest that constituency 

Not so sure it was joke, it sounded like typical soundbite from her. 

Enzo Chiefo
2 hours ago, Taffin said:

Good news that lockdown easing can potentially be accelerated and more positive tones this week.

What happened to the data that's allowed this? Did it diverge from their forecasting to see such a change in a week?

Hospital admissions are certainly dropping faster. Their modelling forecast it would be late March before we are in the position we are now

Enzo Chiefo
5 hours ago, Ray Gin said:

The majority aren't vaccinated though. Around a third of the country have had 1 dose.

Yes,  I appreciate that Ray. I should have made it clearer that I was referring to the position mid-April, once all the over 50s are, hopefully,  vaccinated.

Jambo-Jimbo
6 hours ago, jonesy said:

Another nail in the coffin for the EU?

It just goes from bad to worse for them, as that's Austria & Denmark going to be going it alone from now on vaccine procurement, citing that Brussels is taking too long to do anything and now that there are variants on the go you have to act quickly, which as we all know Brussels is unable to do. 

https://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/2021/03/02/eu-unity-face-coronavirus-pressure-vaccines-supplies/?li_source=LI&li_medium=liftigniter-rhr

10 minutes ago, Enzo Chiefo said:

Yes,  I appreciate that Ray. I should have made it clearer that I was referring to the position mid-April, once all the over 50s are, hopefully,  vaccinated.

Mid-April will still be first dose only for the majority of over 50s unfortunately. I think we're looking at mid-June for both doses. 

Edited by Ray Gin

3 minutes ago, Ray Gin said:

Mid-April will still be first dose only for the majority of over 50s unfortunately. I think we're looking at mid-June for both doses. 

First doses are still giving a very high level of protection 

11 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

First doses are still giving a very high level of protection 

If a single dose reduces hospitalisation by the stated 80% then that's surely more than enough to prevent the NHS being overwhelmed. 

Edited by Taffin

28 minutes ago, Enzo Chiefo said:

Hospital admissions are certainly dropping faster. Their modelling forecast it would be late March before we are in the position we are now

Excellent news. 

According to some Oxford scientist. Anyone running should be wearing a mask as according to her;

The exercising jogger - the puffing and panting jogger - you can feel their breath come and you can sometimes actually feel yourself inhale it, so there's no doubt that there is a danger there."

What next 🤣

10 minutes ago, GBJambo said:

According to some Oxford scientist. Anyone running should be wearing a mask as according to her;

The exercising jogger - the puffing and panting jogger - you can feel their breath come and you can sometimes actually feel yourself inhale it, so there's no doubt that there is a danger there."

What next 🤣

Thought you're only meant to be outside for exercise, so does she apply this to everyone who's outside, or just joggers in particular?

42 minutes ago, Taffin said:

If a single dose reduces hospitalisation by the stated 80% then that's surely more than enough to prevent the NHS being overwhelmed. 

I'd certainly hope it's enough to cut the restrictions significantly. 

17 minutes ago, GBJambo said:

What next 🤣

In the first lockdown, I had a panting, sweating jogger pass by me closely to avoid a cyclist. I felt either a bit of his sweat or saliva on my cheek.

Fecking horrible.

3 minutes ago, Barack said:

Wasn't saliva. His name was Miggs.

:look:

:biggrin2: I wouldn't have minded if it was one of the many tidy birds that I see jogging round about here

12 minutes ago, Barack said:

Wasn't saliva. His name was Miggs.

:look:

Hope it wasnt Multiple Miggs that wasn't saliva he threw at Clarice........ :)

25 minutes ago, Taffin said:

Thought you're only meant to be outside for exercise, so does she apply this to everyone who's outside, or just joggers in particular?

Like i said I dont mind joggers outside jogging . Its healthy and good for them. However just wish they would move on to road when they head my way on the pavement.  The pavement is meant for walkers.  Its practically impossible to get the virus via this route anyway but its just the clartiness of it all which gets to me. 

39 minutes ago, Barack said:

There's a boy who knows his films.

It’s in my top 3 favourites 

Furlough to be extended to September   !!

Reducing from July but good news for many 

snp won’t be happy one thing less to moan about 

9 hours ago, Malinga the Swinga said:

Not so sure it was joke, it sounded like typical soundbite from her. 

::facepaw::

Watching some people getting to visit their parents in care homes again. Quite emotional. 😢

• davemclaren changed the title to Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )
  • JKBMod 12 featured, locked, unlocked and unfeatured this topic