• Victorian

• redjambo

• The Real Maroonblood

Scottish numbers: 30 December 2020

Summary

• 2,045 new cases of COVID-19 reported [+150]
  • 19,722 new tests for COVID-19 that reported results – 11.3% of these were positive [+5,543; -3.1%]
  • 43 new reported deaths of people who have tested positive (noting that Register Offices have been closed over the public holidays) [+36]
  • 69 people are in intensive care with recently confirmed COVID-19 [+4]
  • 1,133 people are in hospital with recently confirmed COVID-19 [+41]

10 hours ago, AlphonseCapone said:

Devolution and reserved matters is the difference. 

Air travel is devolved. Please explain, instead of deflecting.

Per-100,000 case stats around the boards:

Scotland 37 [+2].

Dumfries & Galloway 62 [-9], Greater Glasgow 52 [+8], Lanarkshire 45 [+2], Borders 43 [-8].

Ayrshire 38 [+1], Forth Valley 31 [+1], Grampian 31 [+3], Shetland 31 [-30], Tayside 31 [-4].

Fife 29 [+13], Lothian 28 [-3], Highland 21 [+10], Western Isles 4 [+4], Orkney 0 [=].

2 hours ago, ri Alban said:

I don't care what they don't do. It'll just prove again what Scots are to the WM Elite.

A post pandemic independent Scotland is but months away. Tick Tock. 

And you can blame the shite cook for this btw. He opened the anti Scottish door and I'm not gonnae ignore it. 

Robin Cook? My old mate? Not really but I did canvass with him as a student in Central Edinburgh when he was first elected nearly 50 years ago. Strange thing for an alleged right wing Tory but true.

I assume that makes me a traitor by association.

Has the SNP thought of a Traitors Gate at the Castle  like the one at the Tower of London where effigies of Scottish traitors could be hung? Could be a tourist attraction.

21 minutes ago, redjambo said:

Scottish numbers: 30 December 2020

Summary

• 2,045 new cases of COVID-19 reported [+150]
  • 19,722 new tests for COVID-19 that reported results – 11.3% of these were positive [+5,543; -3.1%]
  • 43 new reported deaths of people who have tested positive (noting that Register Offices have been closed over the public holidays) [+36]
  • 69 people are in intensive care with recently confirmed COVID-19 [+4]
  • 1,133 people are in hospital with recently confirmed COVID-19 [+41]

Is there a lag with 2000 in one day?

5 minutes ago, Newton51 said:

Yes, I imagine that there still will be. However, if you take the cumulative results announced yesterday and those announced today, we're still talking a major upswing in cases. It's not the prettiest of pictures at the moment.

32 minutes ago, Francis Albert said:

Robin Cook? My old mate? Not really but I did canvass with him as a student in Central Edinburgh when he was first elected nearly 50 years ago. Strange thing for an alleged right wing Tory but true.

I assume that makes me a traitor by association.

Has the SNP thought of a Traitors Gate at the Castle  like the one at the Tower of London where effigies of Scottish traitors could be hung? Could be a tourist attraction.

He was a decent principled man , Cook . Still think it was rather fishy regarding his death . 

The latest per-capita 7-day rates across the councils. The festive period and its immediate run-up have obviously caused quite an upsurge in covid cases all over Scotland, and we still have Hogmanay to come.

7-day per-100,000 cases                
Council Area Tier Previous Today Yesterday       ... 24 Dec 23 Dec 22 Dec 21 Dec 20 Dec
Scotland     170 154 +16     ... 125 130 121 112 98
Inverclyde 4 2 279 213 +66     ... 131 107 86 73 59
North Lanarkshire 4 3 240 212 +28     ... 162 143 131 131 119
East Renfrewshire 4 3 239 199 +40     ... 178 164 147 129 101
Dundee City 4 3 238 220 +18     ... 175 149 129 119 113
Renfrewshire 4 3 238 205 +33     ... 174 159 147 122 116
East Ayrshire 4 3 227 215 +12     ... 203 178 168 154 153
Glasgow City 4 3 218 194 +24     ... 173 167 153 135 129
Scottish Borders 4 1 194 165 +29     ... 114 105 106 100 85
South Lanarkshire 4 3 192 196 -4     ... 170 158 133 129 120
Dumfries & Galloway 4 1 189 135 +54     ... 61 58 54 40 32
North Ayrshire 4 3 186 186 0     ... 201 203 193 189 175
Aberdeen City 4 3 178 170 +8     ... 193 189 176 162 163
Edinburgh City 4 3 175 160 +15     ... 146 135 129 122 109
East Dunbartonshire 4 3 164 134 +30     ... 119 108 102 91 70
West Dunbartonshire 4 3 156 134 +22     ... 153 150 145 126 120
Aberdeenshire 4 3 151 147 +4     ... 133 127 118 106 88
Shetland Islands 3 1 148 122 +26     ... 17 9 4 4 0
Midlothian 4 3 143 134 +9     ... 136 133 139 136 136
Angus 4 2 141 131 +10     ... 81 71 64 52 37
Falkirk 4 2 135 123 +12     ... 96 93 84 80 60
Perth and Kinross 4 3 129 134 -5     ... 161 143 144 139 126
East Lothian 4 3 128 127 +1     ... 157 163 172 174 148
Fife 4 3 127 116 +11     ... 122 117 111 107 97
Stirling 4 3 113 117 -4     ... 107 110 91 94 70
South Ayrshire 4 3 112 113 -1     ... 110 104 95 97 98
Clackmannanshire 4 3 109 82 +27     ... 132 146 144 150 148
West Lothian 4 3 98 90 +8     ... 106 103 103 97 83
Highland 4 1 80 63 +17     ... 41 31 28 24 17
Argyll and Bute 4 2 63 51 +12     ... 35 43 41 38 29
Moray 4 1 58 52 +6     ... 50 53 41 26 13
Na h-Eileanan Siar 3 1 11 7 +4     ... 7 7 11 15 22
Orkney Islands 3 1 4 4 0     ... 0 0 0 0 0

A study just in has found the new strain infects people with a greater viral load making it 50% more contagious.

It doesn't appear to cause more severe illness, but more cases will result in more mortality 

The study also suggested children are not markedly more susceptible to the new variant

44 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

He was a decent principled man , Cook . Still think it was rather fishy regarding his death . 

Did he not have a heart attack climbing a mountain on holiday whilst in the Highlands?

31 minutes ago, redjambo said:

The latest per-capita 7-day rates across the councils. The festive period and its immediate run-up have obviously caused quite an upsurge in covid cases all over Scotland, and we still have Hogmanay to come.

7-day per-100,000 cases                
Council Area Tier Previous Today Yesterday       ... 24 Dec 23 Dec 22 Dec 21 Dec 20 Dec

15 minutes ago, redjambo said:

7-day per-100,000 cases                

Thanks again. 

29 minutes ago, redjambo said:

7-day per-100,000 cases                

The Borders and D&G don't look in a good place, nor Shetland for that matter.

I just wonder if the Borders and D&G are seeing huge rises due to people from Edinburgh, Glasgow & Ayrshire coming down in numbers when Edinburgh & Glasgow were still in tier 3 or 4 and we both went into tier 1.

Somethings happened to cause this.

Just now, Brian Dundas said:

That doesn’t look good. Numbers are really taking off!

Hopefully the vaccine gets going quickly 

Unfortunately I think it will be many weeks before we begin to see any benefit from the vaccines, February at the very earliest I'd say.

12 minutes ago, Jambo-Jimbo said:

I just wonder if the Borders and D&G are seeing huge rises due to people from Edinburgh, Glasgow & Ayrshire coming down in numbers when Edinburgh & Glasgow were still in tier 3 or 4 and we both went into tier 1.

A few pint tourists on here made clear their intentions for the cup final, small country with an enormous tit population...been known for a long time, nae shock!

2 minutes ago, OBE said:

A few pint tourists on here made clear their intentions for the cup final, small country with an enormous tit population...been known for a long time, nae shock!

They’re not telling me what to do.

Absolute muppets.

2 minutes ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

Absolute muppets.

It’s the whole of the UK. Just look at the twits in Switzerland who were told to isolate. The all left and went to France. You're no telling us what to do. 

The new strain is now known as the UK strain. So its Britflu now. :facepalm:

33 minutes ago, Jambo-Jimbo said:

Plenty people from the borders came into Edinburgh Christmas shopping so could be a case of Christmas shoppers taking it back with them rather than people heading to the borders 

2 minutes ago, OBE said:

It is clear that the SG's rules aren't working and are being ignored by a significant minority.

There is little else the SG can do to harden the rules so perhaps its finally time to enforce the existing rules, namely enforcing face coverings and social distancing in shops and public transport and removing the exemption option for the selfish and ignorant.

If the SG don't know why these numbers are increasing then they are incompetent as any organisation that doesn't get the management information it needs changes its data collection and reporting policies to ensure it does.

I'm surprised there isn't any talk about vaccinating those who still attend a physical workplace being vaccinated sooner. I guess they are either deemed collateral or that actually they aren't at much risk.

1 minute ago, Taffin said:

I'm surprised there isn't any talk about vaccinating those who still attend a physical workplace being vaccinated sooner. I guess they are either deemed collateral or that actually they aren't at much risk.

I work outside, but I still need vaccinated for every day living. 

2 minutes ago, Taffin said:

It would make sense to prioritise them, but wouldn't there have to be a massive data collection exercise by the NHS in order to determine who was attending a physical workspace and who wasn't? You can guarantee if they just asked everyone, a large number of folk would claim that they were attending a workplace in order to get the jab, and there's no way the NHS are going to waste time and resources verifying what they've been told.

4 minutes ago, theshed said:

Plenty people from the borders came into Edinburgh Christmas shopping so could be a case of Christmas shoppers taking it back with them rather than people heading to the borders 

That'll explain it then.

WoolfordsHearts
5 minutes ago, Taffin said:

A very good point.

It seems most construction companies have their office staff safely working from home whilst site operatives can travel together in vans to busy sites.

5 minutes ago, redjambo said:

It would make sense to prioritise them, but wouldn't there have to be a massive data collection exercise by the NHS in order to determine who was attending a physical workspace and who wasn't? You can guarantee if they just asked everyone, a large number of folk would claim that they were attending a workplace in order to get the jab, and there's no way the NHS are going to waste time and resources verifying what they've been told.

True but I don't think many bus drivers, mechanics, checkout assistants and shelf stackers are doing that via laptop at home? 😂😂

There's a fairly substantial base of workers who quite clearly if still employed will have to be doing so whilst interacting with other people and the public in person. They've no real choice in their exposure to risk, whereas those of us working from home, retired are only exposed to risk through choice in the main.

Edited by Taffin
Just to be clear, I'm not laughing at what you said, it's a good point. Just laughing at the idea of virtual bus travel etc... probably isn't far off tbf!

2 minutes ago, redjambo said:

Not withstanding the 'I'm no fecking given them my details, it's none of they're business where I work', type of responses. 

4 minutes ago, redjambo said:

All NHS and private health staff. 

Teachers

Police

Fire brigade 

And the coast guard should be priority listed. Yes the coast guard to catch all those brexiteers escaping when it goes tits up. 

14 minutes ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

Absolute muppets.

Here's you genuinely champing at the bit for a pint tae, what restraint, I applaud you sir...:clap:

3 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

All NHS and private health staff. 

Teachers

Police

Fire brigade 

And the coast guard should be priority listed. Yes the coast guard to catch all those brexiteers escaping when it goes tits up. 

Why a teacher or the police but not someone in a petrol station or a supermarket?

I agree the above should be, but I don't think it should stop there.

Edit: and just to be clear I'm not one of the people I'm talking about, and I've already voiced my personal opinion on the vaccine...before anyone accuses me of angling to 'queue' jump!

Edited by Taffin

16 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

981 deaths in the UK. Fecking hell! 

Which makes the statement 'that it hardly kills anybody', which was pushed by some on here a few months ago, look all the more stupid.

1 minute ago, Taffin said:

True but I don't think many bus drivers, mechanics, checkout assistants and shelf stackers are doing that via laptop at home? 😂😂

There's a fairly substantial base of workers who quite clearly if still employed will have to be doing so whilst interacting with other people and the public in person. They've no real choice in their exposure to risk, whereas those of us working from home, retired are only exposed to risk through choice in the main.

:biggrin: I definitely agree that it would be beneficial to prioritise "contact" workers, Taffin, I'm just trying to figure out how it could be done. For large institutions, it's relatively easy. For example, for front-line health workers etc., the NHS can get the information from their own files and from care homes and other such establishments. For say a bus company, you could ask the bus company for a list of their employees. However, the smaller the company gets, and there are a large number of SMEs out there, you start to get to the point where the resources consumed in the collection of the data would be out of proportion to the benefit, especially given that NHS admin resources are, I imagine, stretched at the moment in getting this vaccine out.

2 minutes ago, Taffin said:

Why a teacher or the police but not someone in a petrol station or a supermarket?

I agree the above should be, but I don't think it should stop there.

Edit: and just to be clear I'm not one of the people I'm talking about, and I've already voiced my personal opinion on the vaccine...before anyone accuses me of angling to 'queue' jump!

Put them on the list. Just think teachers who are in schools all day should be vaccinated. 

2 hours ago, Newton51 said:

It is difficult to say.  The positivity rate has been rising, but that is probably due to a combination of fewer tests and fewer people with minor symptoms turning up to be tested over the holiday period.

The average number of daily positives over the last 7 days was 1,325. The 7 day period prior to that averaged 1,017.

I think that rise speaks for itself, but doesn't account for any increase that may result from the easing of restrictions on Christmas day, although that should start to show in the figures over the next few days.

1 minute ago, ri Alban said:

Put them on the list. Just think teachers who are in schools all day should be vaccinated. 

No arguments from me on that! 👍

As @redjambo says though, I guess it does become a logistical nightmare. It would be a start though if they looked at their exemptions list of shops that are allowed to stay open, the public service sector and asked for a list from those employers as to who is working in a contact setting. You'll not get everyone of course but you'll get a lot of people who must be at the rough end of the risk of exposure. 

19 minutes ago, frankblack said:

It is clear that the SG's rules aren't working and are being ignored by a significant minority.

There is little else the SG can do to harden the rules so perhaps its finally time to enforce the existing rules, namely enforcing face coverings and social distancing in shops and public transport and removing the exemption option for the selfish and ignorant.

If the SG don't know why these numbers are increasing then they are incompetent as any organisation that doesn't get the management information it needs changes its data collection and reporting policies to ensure it does.

Selfish, ignorant and belligerent.

10K € fines in Tenerife for not donning a 25 cent mask, yes, you've guessed correctly, they didn't collect many fines from Canarians, the Brits on the other hand...easy meat. :munny:

28 minutes ago, OBE said:

Here's you genuinely champing at the bit for a pint tae, what restraint, I applaud you sir...:clap:

Thanks.

It is difficult but I’m coping not to badly.

🍺

29 minutes ago, Jambo-Jimbo said:

Which makes the statement 'that it hardly kills anybody', which was pushed by some on here a few months ago, look all the more stupid.

It’s like there’s nothing to see here.

Clowns.

46 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

981 deaths in the UK. Fecking hell! 

Some of those are backdated up to November.

On the UK dashboard. 154 died yesterday, date of death, rather than date reported

17 minutes ago, Lord BJ said:

A solution doesn’t need to be perfect for it to be a good idea.

You’ve kind of answered your own question. If you went to large employers your are likely to get 80% for very little effort for contact workers in  like transport, supermarkets etc. You don’t worry about the 20% it gets picked up in the rounds. Now people can argue that’s not fair, on small minority, but meh 🤷🏻‍♂️

I’m not sure if it’s good idea or not to be honest. Maybe we are in danger of obsessing on something that doesn’t matter all that much, once you take the vulnerable out there is little benefit in prioritising under 50’s when the risk is, as we understand it very low. So age banding seems the most logical to me. (Unless something changes around under 18’s)

That's my opinion as well, but I'm taking in that all ages are at risk and long Covid etc etc as we are being told. Taking that at face value, it seems unfair to send people 'we' have deemed essential out into their workplaces at increased risk when there is a vaccine available and instead give it to people who really could just avoid contact for a little bit longer.

A response to the 'well what would you do?' that gets posed a lot I guess.

33 minutes ago, Taffin said:

Our precautions are near clinical for personnel and product. The risk assessment from March has been constantly updated daily. I feel extremely safe with the many procedures implemented on the shop floor, restaurant and break-out areas. Unfortunately I succumbed to Cv-19 5 days before I knocked off on the 20th Dec. Exactly where or how I caught it will remain a mystery, maybe my immune defences were lowered with the Flu jab on the 13th. Feel safer at work than in any supermarket.

59 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

It’s the whole of the UK. Just look at the twits in Switzerland who were told to isolate. The all left and went to France. You're no telling us what to do. 

The new strain is now known as the UK strain. So its Britflu now. :facepalm:

Seen the new strain referred to as Borisona Virus on Twitter. Utter shambles. 

Edited by Weakened Offender

1 hour ago, Jambo-Jimbo said:

Did he not have a heart attack climbing a mountain on holiday whilst in the Highlands?

Yes but there were rumours about the “ heart attack “ as he was against the Iraq invasion sorry “ war “ 

• davemclaren changed the title to Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )
  • JKBMod 12 featured, locked, unlocked and unfeatured this topic