Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )

CJGJ

4 minutes ago, Weakened Offender said:

Who from? What section of society do you imagine is going to lead on that? 

People who are getting more and more p****** off Joe and Joanne Bloggs. I dont know . But apparently there have been demos etc in London and no media coverage at all. 

• Replies 107.1k

• JudyJudyJudy

• Victorian

• redjambo

• The Real Maroonblood

4 minutes ago, AlphonseCapone said:

****ing Sturgeon the mad *******. 

Presumably house parties, and they tend to be at night aye. 

Why do you know? 

Cant you read ?

Just now, JamesM48 said:

People who are getting more and more p****** off Joe and Joanne Bloggs. I dont know . But apparently there have been demos etc in London and no media coverage at all. 

It won't happen. You might get a few hundred zoomers but that's it. Things like that don't happen in the UK. The Far Left/Crusties have the odd day in the sun and get a result now and then but that's it. Mr & Mrs Bloggs won't be there though. 

The Brits don't have the balls. 😊

4 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

There were protests in London 3 days ago covered by every media outlet you can name. 

6 minutes ago, Weakened Offender said:

It won't happen. You might get a few hundred zoomers but that's it. Things like that don't happen in the UK. The Far Left/Crusties have the odd day in the sun and get a result now and then but that's it. Mr & Mrs Bloggs won't be there though. 

The Brits don't have the balls. 😊

Sadly true. We have never had a revolution either. Bunch of pussies really. 

2 hours ago, Barack said:

Ach, it is what it is bud. 

Just get 2020 over and done with.

Nonsensical approach with treatment of golf courses down your way. Hopefully it doesn't give wee Nic some new ideas to add to her growing incompetence. 

3 minutes ago, jonesy said:

At 00:01 on 26/12, CV19 goes radge.

Thats ok ill be blootered by then probably so wont notice it ...

1 hour ago, Pasquale for King said:

What did she say?

I wrote to her after Italy had announced their lockdown in the northern part of their country, and asked why flights were still going between Edinburgh/Milan and vice versa.

I asked her what the medical protocol was, in respect of passengers and crew.

She replied on 18 March staying that direct flights coming in to the UK had to provide a declaration stating that all passengers were well, this had to be provided 60 minutes prior to landing. There was a similar process for arrivals by sea.

She also said that the SG was providing guidance to those arriving from areas where cases had been reported, testing people with symptoms were appropriate and encouraging self-isolation 

I followed her reply up by asking who was responsible for completing the declaration and what tests were conducted to allow those responsible to complete the declaration.

I also told her about my son who had been in Amsterdam on 13/3 and returned on 17/3, 2 days after Holland in essence closed. At no stage in his journey was he asked about symptoms or spoken to about isolating 

She didn’t have the courtesy to reply

This is one of the reasons who in my opinion, we’ve screwed this up as a nation. 

We didn’t take it seriously. I think Government saw this as something that affected Johnny Foreigner and totally underestimated its impact

We were caught asleep at the wheel 

2 minutes ago, jonesy said:

Just had a curry so hot that any Covid floating around my system will be well and truly scorched. Not to mention the copious vino of the last few nights. 

I  cant touch curries for that very situation you have just described. Have only had a few drinks in the last 6 weeks. Thatll change on Xmas day. 

Where's this talk of curfew coming from? We haven't even tried tier 4 restrictions yet.

I don't think Scotland will be able to introduce a curfew without the UK say so

Edited by Nucky Thompson

4 minutes ago, Dagger Is Back said:

I wrote to her after Italy had announced their lockdown in the northern part of their country, and asked why flights were still going between Edinburgh/Milan and vice versa.

She replied on 18 March staying that direct flights coming in to the UK had to provide a declaration stating that all passengers were well, this had to be provided 60 minutes prior to landing. There was a similar process for arrivals by sea.

She also said that the SG was providing guidance to those arriving from areas where cases had been reported, testing people with symptoms were appropriate and encouraging self-isolation 

I followed her reply up by asking who was responsible for completing the declaration and what tests were conducted to allow those responsible to complete the declaration.

I also told her about my son who had been in Amsterdam on 13/3 and returned on 17/3, 2 days after Holland in essence closed. At no stage in his journey was he asked about symptoms or spoken to about isolating 

This is one of the reasons who in my opinion, we’ve screwed this up as a nation. 

We didn’t take it seriously. I think Government saw this as something that affected Johnny Foreigner and totally underestimated its impact

She should've reply with its a UK remit to close borders. 

So house parties/gatherings are the biggest vector?

Shouldn't we ban that theng rather than stopping people going to the shops at night or taking a walk or a jog at the same time?

1 minute ago, Nucky Thompson said:

Where's this talk of curfew coming from? We haven't even tried tier 4 restrictions yet.

Crime is devolved so presumably they can. 

1 minute ago, Taffin said:

Shouldn't we ban that theng rather than stopping people going to the shops at night or taking a walk or a jog at the same time?

House parties were banned a long time ago. 

49 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

Well said ! Wtf is his definition of authoritarian ? It’s draconian legislation and I hope people breach it left right and centre . Enough is enough . Seriously . Although many hated the original lock down rules but abided by them . If this is enforced in legislation I predict a lot of unrest and anger 

I certainly won't be abiding by any "stay at home" restriction after New Year and I've been following the rules all year.  What we need is a plan for relaxing the rules and getting out of this mess. A bit of positivity to encourage the public rather than the continual scaremongering.  The vaccines are on the way and we know we are on the home straight. So  using a "new strain" to cover their tracks while reneging on the Christmas rules was a new nadir for both govts. It backfired spectacularly when Macron called their bluff....and the chaos that ensued. Sturgeon's hysteria was hardly surprising tbh. But the public call the shots with lockdowns and after New Year the politicians need to be told in no uncertain terms that lockdowns are not the answer. 

19 minutes ago, Lord BJ said:

You know the answer is no, so way ask such a stupid question🤷🏻‍♂️ Sometimes  in life decisions have to be made without imperial data; no matter how much you would like it. 

Most people work between the hours of say 8am-6pm (in broad terms) even with everyone at home. Therefore people are generally busy during the day, with work or have other shit like home schooling to get done.  People are way more likely to meet up in the evening for a drink and relaxation. People generally socialise in the evening.

The curfew would likely be 8pm-6am (though possibly starting earlier) as opposed you your straw man of 10pm-6am. Its designed to stop people meeting up the evening when socialising happens. 

I don’t think you have lead a sheltered life I just think you struggle with anyones perspective other than your own, since you ask. 

The context of my post was about a 10pm to 6am curfew. Maybe you struggled to understand that.

7 minutes ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

She should've reply with its a UK remit to close borders. 

I’d expected her to say that but also that the SG we’re pushing for more meaningful action across the UK in terms of controlling our borders.

1 hour ago, Horatio Caine said:

Aye but they didn't have social media to contend with!

Very true.

1 hour ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

Unfortunately this country are shit scared to do anything like that.

5 hours ago, luckydug said:

Who do you think should resign over a new variant to the virus ? 🤔 

Our approach to letting people visit this country without proper quarantining on arrival has obviously not helped given this latest variant has come from South Africa. Look at the likes of New Zealand and Australia who’ve closed borders or had tighter restrictions on arrivals. How are they doing in terms of controlling the virus again? 

1 minute ago, Dagger Is Back said:

I’d expected her to say that but also that the SG we’re pushing for more meaningful action across the UK in terms of controlling our borders.

Surprised by the reply you got.

17 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

Nucky a bit of scare mongering on the forum i feel.  Not deliberate as such but still enough to cause anxieties for people i feel. 

CavySlaveJambo
25 minutes ago, Dagger Is Back said:

I came back from my Dad's the day after Spain went into a national Lockdown and by then they'd already decided to lift Quarantine on the arrivals from overseas. 

5 minutes ago, Lord BJ said:

Me, it was just my opinion on what I think will happen. Ive made it clear no inside track on this.

Your second para makes me think your account has been hacked.

Say it out loud and imagine the fish on the podium and the voice and expression, as she announces it give her no pleasure to say you cant leave your house between 8pm-6am and she’s looking to put that into law.

Its just something countries that hit lockdown hard did, we’re going that route.  

Ah right. I thought there might have been some official talk about it.

:D When I read it out loud, it makes me think she would have already done it by now if she could have.

I reckon if Bojo had really wanted to, he could have stopped her effectively closing border.

It wouldn't have looked good for his government though

6 hours ago, Jambo-Jimbo said:

Yes, so what would you do different?

Put proper test/trace and isolate system in place for arrivals into the UK, or be much more strict on arrivals from overseas in their entirety.

Not over promise on something like 5 days at Christmas with family only to destroy people’s plans less than a week before they were due to take place. Further affecting the nation’s goodwill towards controlling the virus not to mention their mental health at having plans ruined, leaving many isolated. 

There’s a couple of things.

Question.

Whatever happened to track and trace??????????

and what about that app on phones too ? Never hear about that either..

11 minutes ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

Surprised by the reply you got.

So was I. I still have her email reply in my inbox. Read it a few times to make sure I wasn’t missing something 

2 hours ago, Victorian said:

The issue of mental health has been raised many times since March.  Always quite rightly so as well.  Here's a thing though.  I firmly believe we've only seen the tip of the iceberg on that.  We need to get out of this quagmire in a fundamental way at some point next year,  otherwise there will be a huge mental health catastrophe.  There needs to be a big win with the vaccines and a return to near normal existence with a full return to follow in reasonable time after that.  No 'new normal'.  No learning to live along with the virus.  No adapting to the virus.  Only a resounding big win will stave off a serious amount of profound depression,  etc.

The mental health catastrophe is with us already. My wife is a mental health nurse and some of the issues she is helping people deal with are incredible. Utterly devastating. 

We will be living with this for years to come, there is no way we will be close to normal for months if not years.

Yet some arseholes cant even wear a mask in public places.

49 minutes ago, Enzo Chiefo said:

Scientists and politicians like Sturgeon are one-trick ponies who will not suffer personally from the economic carnage that will follow the hysterical lockdown measures.  Cases and illnesses are completely different entities. You could argue that stopping people going outdoors when pavements are icy will "protect the NHS" or banning cars, skydiving  pubs, smoking, drinking,  obesity, will "save lives". Stopping the entire population from living, under the guise of "saving lives" is not sustainable. Why were we not locked up under our duvets last year when 115k died of respiratory illness. Were those lives not worth saving??

Scientists are one-trick ponies, really? They're objectivity is compromised because they will not personally suffer? What are we to do, ignore their findings that the new stains are more contagious?

Cases and illnesses are obviously related. We now have a strain that infects more easily and no indication that it is any less damaging. It's likely to be more dangerous as currently deaths are rising yet we are supposed to be better at treating the illness. There is also some claims that the new strain is more likely to affect younger people.

What would be the point of not going in hard now and imposing strict lockdowns now? If these vaccines have any use at all then they will seriously curtail the spread of the disease in the near future and most of our problems will be solved, temporarily at least. In the meantime we should continue to prioritise saving life. If the vaccines have little or no use then we will have to devise a longer term plan for dealing with highly infectious diseases.

Nobody is trying to stop people doing normal activities other than to prevent the spread of the disease. 

I think the accuracy of your 115K was shown not to be correct by another poster a few weeks ago.

When this is all over there will be no shortage of hospitality venues and people will be able to flood the shops to purchase all manner of useless rubbish as before. Any permanent damage will be because of Brexit and the damage to our reputation because of our appalling Covid statistics created on the back of our "take it on the chin" "herd immunity" pro economic policy at the beginning.

7 minutes ago, Jambof3tornado said:

The mental health catastrophe is with us already. My wife is a mental health nurse and some of the issues she is helping people deal with are incredible. Utterly devastating. 

We will be living with this for years to come, there is no way we will be close to normal for months if not years.

Unfortunately this is the way it's going to go, once the virus is under control the next big killer will be the mental effects it's caused throughout the general public and NHS professionals who have had to deal with it. I for one go through moments where I'm fine and going about life as normal then bang, huge anxiety and the mind starts playing tricks, far from nice 

1 minute ago, Taffin said:

Why the need for a curfew then?

I presume because rather than respond to a party when it's arguably too late, they can stop people on route, which is much easier when almost everyone else is inside. 

I'm not arguing for or against curfews btw, just offering a potential logic for them. 

6 minutes ago, AlphonseCapone said:

I presume because rather than respond to a party when it's arguably too late, they can stop people on route, which is much easier when almost everyone else is inside. 

I'm not arguing for or against curfews btw, just offering a potential logic for them. 

No, that makes a bit of sense but it also seems to create collateral damage for people not breaking the rules when they could just police the thing that's causing the issue better. Break up the house parties and make a 14 day isolation period for those attending mandatory.

I'm neither for not against them either but if be annoyed to be banned from running at night when I encounter nobody else almost ever.

19 minutes ago, Jambof3tornado said:

It will be bad enough even if we get through the worst of this quickly and don't relapse.  I can see it getting a whole lot worse if some combination of factors leave us in this same situation for a considerable time.  Don't even want to contemplate it tbh.

22 minutes ago, Jambof3tornado said:

That would probably account for a few posters on here.

6 minutes ago, AlphonseCapone said:

No, that makes a bit of sense but it also seems to create collateral damage for people not breaking the rules when they could just police the thing that's causing the issue better. Break up the house parties and make a 14 day isolation period for those attending mandatory.

I'm neither for not against them either but if be annoyed to be banned from running at night when I encounter nobody else almost ever.

17 minutes ago, coconut doug said:

Scientists are one-trick ponies, really? They're objectivity is compromised because they will not personally suffer? What are we to do, ignore their findings that the new stains are more contagious?

Cases and illnesses are obviously related. We now have a strain that infects more easily and no indication that it is any less damaging. It's likely to be more dangerous as currently deaths are rising yet we are supposed to be better at treating the illness. There is also some claims that the new strain is more likely to affect younger people.

What would be the point of not going in hard now and imposing strict lockdowns now? If these vaccines have any use at all then they will seriously curtail the spread of the disease in the near future and most of our problems will be solved, temporarily at least. In the meantime we should continue to prioritise saving life. If the vaccines have little or no use then we will have to devise a longer term plan for dealing with highly infectious diseases.

Nobody is trying to stop people doing normal activities other than to prevent the spread of the disease. 

I think the accuracy of your 115K was shown not to be correct by another poster a few weeks ago.

When this is all over there will be no shortage of hospitality venues and people will be able to flood the shops to purchase all manner of useless rubbish as before. Any permanent damage will be because of Brexit and the damage to our reputation because of our appalling Covid statistics created on the back of our "take it on the chin" "herd immunity" pro economic policy at the beginning.

The accuracy of my 115k was perfectly correct,  it was just the definition of respiratory illness that was debated. The figure itself is correct. 44k also die each year from Sepsis which, essentially, is provoked by the same extreme immune response that kills a miniscule proportion of those who develop Covid.

Your delusions and faith in all pronouncements Sturgeon related are incredible.  The damage done to the economy will be Covid related and, indeed, most will not be around to be affected by Brexit.  If the new mutation is eventually proved, rather than thought ,to be more easily transmissible then it will likely be weaker too. Arguably, enforcing lockdown back in March has only interfered with the virus's natural mutation process and prevented the virus weakening sooner, possibly costing lives.  Sweden, with a far lower death rate than the UK is a good example.  I would suggest that you source your info from other outlets other than rolling news channels and govt pronouncements. 

3 hours ago, luckydug said:

Do you think the public will accept that ? 

I don't ! 

People have now got used to doing there own thing. 

Perhaps if we had clamped down on the crowded beaches, public demonstrations of one kind and another and folk emptying out of pubs in large groups. 

These Celtic muppets as an example were allowed to turn up outside football stadiums in large numbers. 

As far as I know there was only one arrest and that was for throwing a barrier at a Police vehicle. 

We have had numerous posters on here planning to go down to Tynecastle on Sunday if we'd won the cup. We've had posters on here trying to stir up civil disobedience. 

It's all the politicians fault of course😏

Whether they put up with it is up to them, as you say Celtic fans have been outside quite a few times now with nothing but 3 arrests in total. It can’t be that hard to find out who is organising these things on social media, for instance I saw a twitter post from one of them saying they’ve been outside at EVERY GAME this season. A guy who organised a march in Glasgow got 72 days in prison for having it two hours later than the police wanted it to happen. 
The curfew would be up to the Police to enforce, as are the rest of the laws that have been created recently. 
I can see it being introduced for a few days next week. 

2 hours ago, Dagger Is Back said:

The first bit is fair enough but as you say who was actually checking that it was all legit. From early on it was clear that stopping flights in, and out really was going to be a way to stop it spreading more. Someone on twitter has been detailing flights into Scotland today from the rest of the U.K., it can’t all be mail. I’ve no idea why the SG didn’t want to kick up a fuss about this, it was the right thing to do, still is. 

14 minutes ago, Enzo Chiefo said:

The accuracy of my 115k was perfectly correct,  it was just the definition of respiratory illness that was debated. The figure itself is correct. 44k also die each year from Sepsis which, essentially, is provoked by the same extreme immune response that kills a miniscule proportion of those who develop Covid.

Your delusions and faith in all pronouncements Sturgeon related are incredible.  The damage done to the economy will be Covid related and, indeed, most will not be around to be affected by Brexit.  If the new mutation is eventually proved, rather than thought ,to be more easily transmissible then it will likely be weaker too. Arguably, enforcing lockdown back in March has only interfered with the virus's natural mutation process and prevented the virus weakening sooner, possibly costing lives.  Sweden, with a far lower death rate than the UK is a good example.  I would suggest that you source your info from other outlets other than rolling news channels and govt pronouncements. 

The decision being made at Holyrood, Westminster and all over Europe are the more or less same. Reason being they are logical. I've not commented on "Sturgeon pronouncements" at all. It's worrying that you think i have. I suspect you can't see the woods for the trees. 

I'd be interested to know what long term damage to the economy you think will be as a result of Covid apart from care home operators obviously.

So you don't think the new variant is more transmissible, in that case how do you explain the 56% increase in cases in England this week?

Why should the new strain be weaker? How do we know if it effects a different demographic. How do we know how it reacts to the different vaccines? The answer is we dont know any of these things and they are all reasons why we should lockdown until we do. Experts seem worried and unconvinced with your weakening virus and natural mutation theory theory and surprisingly none of them are the FM of Scotland.  https://www.nationalgeographic.com/science/2020/12/why-new-coronavirus-variants-suddenly-arose-in-uk-and-south-africa/ 

Sweden was an outlier but no longer https://nypost.com/2020/12/06/sweden-toughens-up-on-covid-19-restrictions-as-cases-surge/. They have very similar restrictions to other countries now. Latest figures show in excess of 22,000 new cases and 174 deaths in one day. According to Johns Hopkins and Travelling Tabby the death rate is higher now in Sweden than it is in Scotland not just for one day but for the entire duration of the pandemic.

I don't read or listen to rolling news channels much and i take all government pronouncements with a huge pinch of salt. You on the other hand might benefit by adopting such an approach. It would probably be more objective than making it up as you go with your anti-science, anti- government agenda.

7 hours ago, JamesM48 said:

Then maybe if pubs and restaurants were open people could meet each other in those more safe environments?  

They were, and now we're here. Has your brain melted, Commissioner? 

• davemclaren changed the title to Coronavirus Super Thread ( merged )
  • JKBMod 12 featured, locked, unlocked and unfeatured this topic