General Election 2019

7 minutes ago, Cade said:

Arron Banks' twitter has been hacked.

Some very, very interesting posts and private messages in there.

In a normal world, this would bring down a government and see several people land in prison.

But this is 2019.

:scenes:

In a normal world senior/serious people in the public domain would not have twitter accounts. If private messages were public I doubt many politicians or public figures of any sort would survive or would have in the past.

• Replies 4k

• ri Alban

• Justin Z

• dobmisterdobster

8 minutes ago, Cade said:

Tory candidate in Aberdeen North stands down after social media posts on holocaust denial, anti lgbt and islamophobia come to light.

:gocompare:

Meanwhile tory campaigners show unusual levels of self awareness 

11620130347137.jpg

1 hour ago, Francis Albert said:

In a normal world senior/serious people in the public domain would not have twitter accounts. If private messages were public I doubt many politicians or public figures of any sort would survive or would have in the past.

Not just politicians or public figures, but up to half the country I'd guess, would be fecked if their private messages on twitter or facebook were hacked and ended up in the public domain or in the hands of their partners.

What "real ... faster, fairer, safer and better change" has there been since 2014? How has Scotland shaped change for the UK "more than any other point in the past 300 years" since 2014?

https://twitter.com/wordamentalist/status/1196525079695413250

Sod anybody whining about politicians using phrases like "once in a generation opportunity". The result of the referendum has not been respected alright . . . by the very people who led the "no" campaign.

Edited by Justin Z

1 hour ago, Jambo-Jimbo said:

Not just politicians or public figures, but up to half the country I'd guess, would be fecked if their private messages on twitter or facebook were hacked and ended up in the public domain or in the hands of their partners.

Not as feck up as  senior BBC officials bending over backwards to convince the masses that Bories lies are truth and that the  truth that exposes those lies are  to be IGNORED 

Very Orwellian 1984 .

The more you think about this quote below in the meme , the more extraordinary it seems.

Its really looking like a full on battle of light verses very dark forces..

Undermines the TRUST in British politics, yes that's their argument , how the feck can you ever TRUST a fecking known serial LIAR..

These senior BBC figures are trying to argue that the way to protect trust in British politics isn't to hold liars to account, but to simply pretend they're not lying!.. Fecking snakey sleazy cowards at heart who cannot man up and face the truth that the PM of the UK is a serial LIAR.. 

75627278_455819501740748_2319371469001326592_n.png

Edited by maroonlegions

On 18/11/2019 at 15:16, Adam Murray said:

I did say 'the campaign for a re-run seemed to happen the day after the referendum result'.

And it's the SNP, it's their main goal in politics, if they weren't planning for an Indyref 2 the day after they lost the first one, they wouldn't be doing their job properly.

Maybe it's just in my mind, but it seems as though we've been in a constant state of neverendum since about 2011, and if Nicola Sturgeon has her way there'll be another two next year.

But then that suits the SNP, it's nationalism, it creates barriers between people, and divisiveness.

With regards the grievance claim, there's literally too many to mention, but the thing is, you and other Independence supporters wont see them as being grievances, you'll see them as being genuine concerns, whilst Unionist and No voters see them as being mock grievance, that's the way it is, and by the looks of people's entrenched views, it's not going to change.

And round and round we go.

The quote i posted shows that the conditions required for another referendum and at the time of writing these conditions had not been met hence the headline about the SNP playing down the prospect of another referendum. The game changer hadn't happened at this time and had we voted remain i can't see how there would be the current clamour for indyref2. After the Indyref defeat the SNP would have to prepare for another go but not immediately and not on the same terms as before. They maxed out in 2014 and set the terms for a renewed effort but that was not in the immediate future we thought. We did not think opinion polls would show sustained support around 60% and we did not think we would be leaving the EU.

The SNP is not about "creating barriers between people" and is not divisive unless of course you want it to be so. Afaik almost every element of the Indy movement is praised for its inclusiveness and is drawn from all elements of our society. Check the differing views on immigration for instance. It is not the Indy movement that screams about taking back control of our borders and it is not the Indy movement that will potentially create 27 new borders across the EU and another between Scotland and England. If it happens it will primarily be because of England’s desire for isolation and we should not be compelled to do the same.

Whilst I agree that the Indy campaign is lacking in positives I do not agree that the SNP’s “only angle seems to be that of one of grievance,” I do understand that I am likely to characterise these “grievances” as concerns but if you think that Brexit is an SNP inspired grievance you are wrong. The implications of Brexit for Scotland are massive and Scotland’s interests are being subjugated on the mantra of “We must get Brexit done”. We are frequently told that we are taking back control of our fishing but that does not seem likely and to draw attention to this is not grievance mongering. Northern Ireland has a different deal to rUK but there is no reason why Scotland could not be given the same consideration except perhaps that we offer no threat of violence. Scotland’s economy stands to be amongst the worst affected parts of the UK but despite this we are excluded from talks even though the effects of their decisions will be felt most acutely in Scotland. This government has minimal support in Scotland yet denies our representatives any negotiating rights purporting to know what’s best for us whilst pandering to the flat earth creationists from the 17thcentury.

You were the one who brought up the grievance notion and said there are too many to list but that’s not good enough. If you are convinced enough to make the statement you might at least try to substantiate it when challenged.

21 hours ago, jambos are go! said:

One question . What do the SNP mean when they ask unionists to lend them their vote to block brexit?

If you can't or wilfully won't understand my explanation can i refer you to Nicola's original quote. (hint stop the Tories and stop Brexit)

Two questions for you - Do you now understand why voting for the SNP is more likely to be effective in stopping Brexit than voting for any other party in Scotland?

Do you now believe that a call for Indyref2 is justified because it was in the SNP manifesto and the SNP have won all recent election by substantial margins?

Opening statement full of sound bites. In fact his whole repertoire.

ITV  should have supplied viewers with a 'Boris Bullshit Bingo' play along at home card

Corbyn is an empty sack. 

Boy asks about trust. Ask Boris these

How many kids do you have?

How much dough did you give the american bint?

Who backs you from Russia?

Corbyn well ahead,  albeit in a debate of zero substance.    Domestic programmes next.   More substance.    I expect Johnson to struggle badly.

Corbyn on the ropes mair like

Fumin they have shortened I’m a celebrity to show the diddy parties moaning 

Edited by manaliveits105

Just now, dobmisterdobster said:

Terrible format. Terrible presenter. Waste of time.

Absolutely, and I’ve just came in and watched 5 minutes of it. The dumbing down of the population is a very real thing going by this nonsense.

Just merge it with “ I’m a celebrity....”

Just now, Sexton Hardcastle said:

Typical Tory scum misleading people on Twitter rebranding their account to some sham ‘fact check’.

CCHQ has re-named their twitter as "FactCheckUK"

The debate would have been helped greatly if there had been someone standing behind Boris Johnson with a cattle prod giving him a wee reminder each occasion he went over his alloted time

Just now, manaliveits105 said:

Labour activists swarm the voting mair like

Tory landslide in December

nae problem

As verified by FactCheckUK 

14 minutes ago, Dusk_Till_Dawn said:

Bluster from Johnson, which is all he has.

But if Labour takes a beating, make no mistake about why that is. Corbyn is pathetic.

Well,   yes and more so no.     The blame will be on an apathetic / self interested electorate.     The country is crying out for a radical departure from more of the same wealth gap widening... but is too ****ing stupid to bring it about.

dobmisterdobster
7 hours ago, dobmisterdobster said:

Boris needs to be as boring as possible in the debates.

Don't allow Corbyn to get in any passionate sound bites about the NHS. Also don't pummel him to the point where he elicits sympathy.

Just bore everyone to death and they will go back to watching I'm a Celebrity.

Called it. It's a bore draw.

Complete anti-climax.

31 minutes ago, RobboM said:

The debate would have been helped greatly if there had been someone standing behind Boris Johnson with a cattle prod giving him a wee reminder each occasion he went over his alloted time

I'll volunteer....

Although weapon of choice would be a captive bolt stunning gun.

But not just johnson, there should be some deterent for all politicians that continually over-run their time.

Edited by DETTY29

19 minutes ago, Victorian said:

Well,   yes and more so no.     The blame will be on an apathetic / self interested electorate.     The country is crying out for a radical departure from more of the same wealth gap widening... but is too ****ing stupid to bring it about.

Corbyn and the oddballs following him don’t have the wit to properly change anything ffs. They’re bogged down in dogma and they’re obsessed with playing the classes off against each other. I’m all for a socialist approach but not with these frauds.

24 minutes ago, DETTY29 said:

I'll volunteer....

Although weapon of choice would be a captive bolt stunning gun.

But not just johnson, there should be some deterent for all politicians that continually over-run their time.

The host could be furnished with a microphone cut-off button that simply mutes whoever goes over time.

1 minute ago, Dusk_Till_Dawn said:

Corbyn and the oddballs following him don’t have the wit to properly change anything ffs. They’re bogged down in dogma and they’re obsessed with playing the classes off against each other. I’m all for a socialist approach but not with these frauds.

Well there has to be a start.    We'll not be seeing a fairer society if the Tories stay in.

The truth is that someone needs to start a proper and honest national enlightenment regarding taxation.     Everything depends on tax and the willingness to pay it.     Everyone from fairly modest earners to higher earners to very wealthy people need to be persuaded to pay a bit more.     All our public services could be transformed by an entirely affordable increase across the tax spectrum but our runaway consumer obsessed system is self entitled to oppose.      

YouGov poll had Johnson 51% Corby  49% for who won.

However they also said that more Tory 2017 voters said Corbyn performed well than vice versa.

pharmaceutical01
42 minutes ago, Victorian said:

Well there has to be a start.    We'll not be seeing a fairer society if the Tories stay in.

The truth is that someone needs to start a proper and honest national enlightenment regarding taxation.     Everything depends on tax and the willingness to pay it.     Everyone from fairly modest earners to higher earners to very wealthy people need to be persuaded to pay a bit more.     All our public services could be transformed by an entirely affordable increase across the tax spectrum but our runaway consumer obsessed system is self entitled to oppose.      

The problem is the number of taxpayers. As the population ages, the percentage of tax paying members of society falls - this is going to cause us real problems in the future if there is not an increase in the birth rate or proper immigration 

1 minute ago, pharmaceutical01 said:

The problem is the number of taxpayers. As the population ages, the percentage of tax paying members of society falls - this is going to cause us real problems in the future if there is not an increase in the birth rate or proper immigration 

That too is part of the national enlightenment that needs to occur.    Already we cannot sufficiently fund our services.     The problem will grow exponentially.    

I do return to the immediate matter at hand.     People need to realise that an affordable reduction for their disposable income is a good thing.    If wont be easy but without it,   there will be a profound breakdown in the way society currently survives.

pharmaceutical01
Just now, Victorian said:

That too is part of the national enlightenment that needs to occur.    Already we cannot sufficiently fund our services.     The problem will grow exponentially.    

I do return to the immediate matter at hand.     People need to realise that an affordable reduction for their disposable income is a good thing.    If wont be easy but without it,   there will be a profound breakdown in the way society currently survives.

I also think we have to decide as a society what we want to fund. We give very little money to young families but an enormous amount pro rats to fund the elderly. The NHS can no longer treat every condition or use every conceivable drug - we also need to have a grown up conversation about the state pension but it will be a brave government that does that

1 hour ago, Victorian said:

Nobody wants to pay more tax though (me included). It’s a tough sell to the electorate. 

How much more tax (if any) would you be willing to pay? And how good would the improvement in services have to be to justify it?

That Boris geezer is a one trick pony all he can talk about is Brexit.

No wonder the SNP are going to clean up in Scotland . Who in there right mind wants to continue to be part of the shit show that is the UK ?

6 hours ago, luckydug said:

That Boris geezer is a one trick pony all he can talk about is Brexit.

No wonder the SNP are going to clean up in Scotland . Who in there right mind wants to continue to be part of the shit show that is the UK ?

Johnson was clearly sent out to repeat his soundbites over and over. His handlers know that if he goes off piste he'd get annihilated. 

Despite that Corbyn still couldn't land a blow. Sturgeon would have ripped Johnson a new one. Fact. 

Keir Starmer clip doctored, Fact check Twitter deception, lies, lies and more lies. They're using Trump tactics and hopefully this creeps right up behind these Scumbags.

What's Boris doing about Shrewsbury and Telford Hospital.