Glenn Whelan signs one year deal with Hearts (title updated)

Roman1874

Eddie The Eagle
35 minutes ago, Morgan said:

A genius on .net wrote this about Whelan earlier this evening.

I disagree. I've seen a fair bit of him in last few seasons & he's very 1 dimensional & a slow 1 dimensional at that. He'll be employed to try & win the ball then knock it backwards for Berra to Hooooooooof!! I can see merit in most of their signings this summer, even the guys I hadn't heard of, but I'm really totally ok with this one.

How's their own signings from league 2 and below doing for them? 

Hibs mate rates bartley better than Vela  

Heckingbottom riding his luck which is now running out from last season. Replace Levein and we suddenly have a great squad that can play to their abilities under the right coach 

Edited by Eddie The Eagle

• Replies 2.7k

• BarneyBattles44

• Notts1874

• Victorian

6 minutes ago, Cruyff Turn said:

They are a strange bunch. 500 top level games, 80 caps for Eire.

Hibs fans = 1 dimensional. 

Whatever makes them feel better about themselves. 🤷‍♂️

This is the same bunch of roasters who think Paul Hanlon should be a regular in the Scotland squad.. better than Souttar they claimed! If that Allan gets crocked I’m shoving a few quid on them returning to the championship!

WheatfieldWarrior
12 minutes ago, Cruyff Turn said:

I suppose you could call successful a dimension.

2 hours ago, Mr Sifter said:

Panic buying now, all because Levein said we’d only bring in a couple? I’m reminded of the exchange we had an hour or so @siegementality 🤔 

Eh? You might want to look at who you quoted.

1 minute ago, siegementality said:

Eh? You might want to look at who you quoted.

Canni even remember who it was I quoted tbh. The point I was making was that you and I agreed only a mug would take Leveins comments at face value, yet here was an example of not only taking his word as gospel but using it as a stick to beat him with. A double dunter if ye like 😲

BarneyBattles44
53 minutes ago, Morgan said:

A genius on .net wrote this about Whelan earlier this evening.

I disagree. I've seen a fair bit of him in last few seasons & he's very 1 dimensional & a slow 1 dimensional at that. He'll be employed to try & win the ball then knock it backwards for Berra to Hooooooooof!! I can see merit in most of their signings this summer, even the guys I hadn't heard of, but I'm really totally ok with this one.

Helps Berra helps us  I'd be delighted to have him

Edited by BarneyBattles44

1 minute ago, Mr Sifter said:

Canni even remember who it was I quoted tbh. The point I was making was that you and I agreed only a mug would take Leveins comments at face value, yet here was an example of not only taking his word as gospel but using it as a stick to beat him with. A double dunter if ye like 😲

Aye, Levein just makes shit up.

BarneyBattles44

Whelan is the man to plug a hole protecting  Defence. Up for corners n cleaning up. 

3 hours ago, Gav M said:

What exactly is panicked about It?

3 hours ago, Kiwidoug said:

Nor me.  Wakened with a Levein induced headache to read that we've apparently signed yet another new team in this transfer window.

What's changed?

3 hours ago, upgotheheads said:

A few weeks ago we were only going to add 2 or 3 players. Now it's half a team.

Anybody heard the rumours we are after a Croatian boy called Paniik Bai? 

12 minutes ago, siegementality said:

Aye, Levein just makes shit up.

Correct. Has done for years now. 

39 minutes ago, Cruyff Turn said:

Thing is Johan, it’s usually their sisters that make them feel better about themselves. :) 

37 minutes ago, Eddie The Eagle said:

How's their own signings from league 2 and below doing for them? 

Hibs mate rates bartley better than Vela  

Heckingbottom riding his luck which is now running out from last season. Replace Levein and we suddenly have a great squad that can play to their abilities under the right coach 

18 minutes ago, Seymour M Hersh said:

Surely these no?

th.jpeg

I stand (or sit) corrected, sir. :lol: 

14 minutes ago, BarneyBattles44 said:

Helps Berra helps us  I'd be delighted to have him

Indeed, Barney.

Indeed. :thumbsup:

Haring, Damour and Whelan. A very good midfield.

However genuine question - We severely lack creativity and not sure the above will provide this. 

21 minutes ago, Rudy T said:

So has he signed??

Your getting confused - he signed last week don't you remember?

We are just keeping it secret from everybody - new strategy:thumbsup:

2 hours ago, Natural Orders said:

We’d be saying the same if it were the other way around.

infact I remember some here saying Defoe was finished and they would rather have Uche... how silly do they look now!!

I’m rather underwhelmed by this signing if it goes the through 

All hibs signings are shite. Sorry but that’s the way it is. 

Will you be overwhelmed if he performs well? 

13 minutes ago, AlphonseCapone said:

image.jpeg.b396d92cec6bfc4f3ec8a7f379e71c84.jpeg

3 minutes ago, PTBCAL said:

However genuine question - We severely lack creativity and not sure the above will provide this. 

The creativity will come from playing attacking players like Walker, Clare and Naismith higher up the pitch which in turn will provide more for Uche and Washington on the goal front.

He says hopefully...

13 minutes ago, AlphonseCapone said:

Yep heard that one, a defensive/central midfielder/winger who can play up front and emergency goalie/penalty taker.

Not doing much for Motherwell's preparation.  They won't have a clue who they're up against.

3 minutes ago, merrymac said:

Yep heard that one, a defensive/central midfielder/winger who can play up front and emergency goalie/penalty taker.

Injury prone though.  Hasn't played for 5 years.

Just now, Kiwidoug said:

Injury prone though.  Hasn't played for 5 years.

4 year deal then:thumbsup:

29 minutes ago, PTBCAL said:

The three of them can pass the ball back and forward to each other until Levein signs three attacking midfielders.

31 minutes ago, merrymac said:

Your getting confused - he signed last week don't you remember?

We are just keeping it secret from everybody - new strategy:thumbsup:

Ah right I get it...thank feck it’s done then eh😀

34 minutes ago, PTBCAL said:

Hopefully we get this Japanese lad he’s the creativity and we can get Naisy up front with Washington..the movement of those two with this lads passing and we’d be a cracking side... if the boss allows it right enough!

46 minutes ago, AlphonseCapone said:

No, but I have it on good authority that Hibs are on the verge of signing Davor Šukers son, Boaby. 

7 minutes ago, wavydavy said:

The three of them can pass the ball back and forward to each other until Levein signs three attacking midfielders.

Depends on how you look at it.

Just now, Cygnet said:

No, but I have it on good authority that Hibs are on the verge of signing Davor Šukers son, Boaby. 

🍭 :lol:

3 hours ago, Gav M said:

But was it double sided with clauses added to 'help find his legs' as they have supposedly gone!

I think they are in a drawer with my marbles

43 minutes ago, PTBCAL said:

Will be good few months before they can play together, if they ever do, so don’t worry about it for now 

BarneyBattles44
51 minutes ago, PTBCAL said:

Enter Meshino

0_GettyImages-952863036.jpg

14 minutes ago, Cygnet said:

15 minutes ago, Cygnet said:

67BBF53E-8128-427F-83A8-7A24FBDA6CF9.jpeg

1890BAD7-81CF-41D4-927A-5543573CCB1D.jpeg

4 hours ago, BarneyBattles44 said:

It's hardly last minute seeing as Scottish window for loans doesn't close till early September

I was being , I thought , very obviously sarcastic

BarneyBattles44
34 minutes ago, Cygnet said:

Still laughing here in case anyone starts questioning if i laugh at the Squirmin Vermin 

BarneyBattles44
2 minutes ago, johnthomas said:

I was being , I thought , very obviously sarcastic

Im sorry . Thanks for clearing  it up

Edited by BarneyBattles44

3 minutes ago, BarneyBattles44 said:

Im sorry . Thanks for clearing  it up

No problem . I'm so fekkin subtle

Imagine coming up to Edinburgh in the midst of the festival trying to see if you like the city!!! Both us and Hibs have a great selling point in the city alone

BarneyBattles44
Just now, johnthomas said:

No problem . I'm so fekkin subtle

Now that I read it again SLOWLY. 

Got you. Seems easy tap ins are rife here. Nice one

4 hours ago, Debut 4 said:

Haggling with Hearts. Wants to stay in a Premier Inn instead of Travel Lodge on his journey up to train a couple of times a week.

Premier Inn a tenner extra a night. 

He can gtf then, next he'll be asking for B&B to be included!

Heard Whelan and the Japanese boy have signed. Budge has also knocked on the head any deal for Lafferty and Cummings

16 minutes ago, PapaShango said:

Heard Whelan and the Japanese boy have signed. Budge has also knocked on the head any deal for Lafferty and Cummings

What’s it got to do with Budge??? New Romanov 😂

27 minutes ago, PapaShango said:

Brilliant, close escape. Gies the boy wi nae name all day long.

16 minutes ago, AlphonseCapone said:

A lot of folk hear a lot of things. Aka talking shite. 

Just passing on what I heard. Heard we were also on for Bachmann that was at Killie last season but they didn’t want a loan. Also offered McDonald but we passed on that. Rest is history with new keeper

51 minutes ago, PapaShango said:

Who told you that mashino has signed?

• davemclaren locked this topic