New Official Singing Section

HMFCSSO

SpruceBringsteen
2 minutes ago, MacDonald Jardine said:

You know very well that there has always been a connection between certain clubs in Scotland, and religious affiliations. 

Correct

2 minutes ago, MacDonald Jardine said:

including Hearts

Incorrect

And btw, even if there was - it's 2000 and ****ing 18. The human race has landed on Mars and photographed Jupiter from orbit. Brain donors still singing about times when the world was in black and white monochrome because "it's always been" are utterly tragic throwbacks who somehow are actually even less relevant to today's world than the ancient terrorists they sing about.

You may not like it but it's true. ?

• Replies 5.7k

• Alex Kintner

• ...a bit disco

• maroonexile

27 minutes ago, bringbakterracing said:

So im a banger. Fair enough, im sure your not 5 and realised i was generalising and meant enjoy the game before during and after. But hey, as ive done before, and the keyboard coward never turned up, ill happily offer to meet you and your chums on here for a hearty debate so we can all put our points across face to face. 

Just ...  :rofl:

Is it the thought of a bear in a kilt thats got you hot?

31 minutes ago, bringbakterracing said:

So im a banger. Fair enough, im sure your not 5 and realised i was generalising and meant enjoy the game before during and after. But hey, as ive done before, and the keyboard coward never turned up, ill happily offer to meet you and your chums on here for a hearty debate so we can all put our points across face to face. 

Offers to ''meet folk to discuss''.

Calls others ''keyboard cowards''

Image result for uncontrolled laughing gif

4 minutes ago, SpruceBringsteen said:

Correct

Incorrect

And btw, even if there was - it's 2000 and ****ing 18. The human race has landed on Mars and photographed Jupiter from orbit. Brain donors still singing about times when the world was in black and white monochrome because "it's always been" are utterly tragic throwbacks who somehow are actually even less relevant to today's world than the ancient terrorists they sing about.

You may not like it but it's true. ?

Are you seriously suggesting Hearts were not historically regarded as the Edinburgh Protestant team?

1 minute ago, MacDonald Jardine said:

Are you seriously suggesting Hearts were not historically regarded as the Edinburgh Protestant team?

By whom?

Was this an official affiliation?

Edited by New York Fleapit

HeartofHartley
14 minutes ago, Des Lynam said:

Why sing about the IRA though? 

It’s bizarre. 

Obviously to wind up Celtic fans who equally hate Lafferty.

13 minutes ago, MacDonald Jardine said:

Hello yourself. 

People don't normally sing songs as they go about everyday life.

You know very well that there has always been a connection between certain clubs in Scotland, including Hearts, and religious affiliations. 

You may not like it but it's there.

I'll await your reply explaining how you/ your pal/ some random guy you met in the pub is a Catholic and lifelong Hearts supporter.

Absolute horseshit. Only in the minds of a few raging simpletons. Hearts as a football have never endorsed a religion. I'd wager most of the folk that sing these songs aren't even religious, probably think they are protestants because they aren't Catholics :rofl:

Just now, HeartofHartley said:

So will we bring Irish tricolours and sing **** the Queen and the UDA when we play Rangers then? 

4 minutes ago, AlphonseCapone said:

So will we bring Irish tricolours and sing **** the Queen and the UDA when we play Rangers then? 

Next time we play Arbroath I'll be singing derogatory songs about smokies and fisherman.

Obviously I won't be at the game. I'll be singing it in the faces of a bunch of Hasidic Jews on the Subway.

Edited by New York Fleapit

7 minutes ago, MacDonald Jardine said:

Which religious affiliations do we have?

Will you answer?

5 minutes ago, HeartofHartley said:

And why do they hate him?

I was surprised at how few of them there are. You'd be lucky if there was 15 of them on Saturday. 

3 minutes ago, AlphonseCapone said:

Used to do similar.

When Celtic came we would sing hullo hullo when Rangers came we would sing hail hail.

When BBC came we would sing Arthur Monford

When stv came wed sing Archie Macpherson.

SpruceBringsteen
10 minutes ago, MacDonald Jardine said:

I'm absolutely sure they were by ****wits and bigots, but no - not by anyone with more than 4 braincells.

For the avoidance of doubt, at no point in it's entire history has Heart of Midlothian Football Club had any kind of religious or sectarian policy or viewpoint, despite the wishes of any knuckledragging cro-magnon saying otherwise.

Hope this helps, m8! ?

45 minutes ago, bringbakterracing said:

Wow... How old are you? 

2 minutes ago, jake said:

Used to do similar.

When Celtic came we would sing hullo hullo when Rangers came we would sing hail hail.

When BBC came we would sing Arthur Monford

When stv came wed sing Archie Macpherson.

There will be heads exploding reading that Jake! Don't mention singing YNWA!

1 hour ago, XB52 said:

Despite you coming across as a supporter of sectarianism you actually make a good, imo the most important point,  albeit unwittingly. A large part of the support will not sing sectarian rubbish and so the atmosphere suffers. Why can't our loyalist supporters on here get that?? 

Probably because they are thick as pig shit.

12 minutes ago, New York Fleapit said:

By whom?

No, in the sense we had no player bar but Hibs were known as the Catholic team and Hearts the Protestant. 

It weakens your argument if you simply deny that. 

2 minutes ago, SpruceBringsteen said:

I'm absolutely sure they were by ****wits and bigots, but no - not by anyone with more than 4 braincells.

For the avoidance of doubt, at no point in it's entire history has Heart of Midlothian Football Club had any kind of religious or sectarian policy or viewpoint, despite the wishes of any knuckledragging cro-magnon saying otherwise.

Hope this helps, m8! ?

I blame Roddy 'the Proddy' MacDonald.

1 minute ago, New York Fleapit said:

By whom?

I'm guessing MJ is going back to the days of the formation of Hibernians Football Club, the original religious bigots in Scottish football. A club which was formed around those living most prominently in the Cowgate area of Edinburgh at that time, Irish Roman Catholics and a club who would only employ those of a Roman Catholic upbringing. The whole club was created by and designed for mainly Irish Roman Catholics but Roman Catholics in general. I think the sort of feeling has always been that if such a club was created for that limited selection of the community then the other club, that being HMFC, must surely have been created for the predominantly Protestant community in Edinburgh. Think truth is that no matter how deeply you look into the history of The Heart of Midlothian Football Club you will never find anything which suggests that the club was either set up by or for only one specific religious group. Is it reasonable to assume that back in those days, I'm guessing none of us are old enough to confirm this factually, that it probably was the case that in Edinburgh most people living in Edinburgh at the time who were of a Protestant background and enjoyed football would go watch HMFC and vice versa if you happened to be from a Roman Catholic background, whether Irish or not.

1 minute ago, been here before said:

I blame Roddy 'the Proddy' McDonald.

Image result for billy king hearts   Image result for billy king hearts

This guy didn't help really.

bringbakterracing

Your all very quick to have a pop here, someone please tell me what is wrong with mature adults meeting for a pint to discuss a differing opinion. As all that happens here is we go round in circles. As for asking how old i am, i seem to be the butt of some pretty childish jibes. 

2 minutes ago, portobellojambo1 said:

I'm guessing MJ is going back to the days of the formation of Hibernians Football Club, the original religious bigots in Scottish football. A club which was formed around those living most prominently in the Cowgate area of Edinburgh at that time, Irish Roman Catholics and a club who would only employ those of a Roman Catholic upbringing. The whole club was created by and designed for mainly Irish Roman Catholics but Roman Catholics in general. I think the sort of feeling has always been that if such a club was created for that limited selection of the community then the other club, that being HMFC, must surely have been created for the predominantly Protestant community in Edinburgh. Think truth is that no matter how deeply you look into the history of The Heart of Midlothian Football Club you will never find anything which suggests that the club was either set up by or for only one specific religious group. Is it reasonable to assume that back in those days, I'm guessing none of us are old enough to confirm this factually, that it probably was the case that in Edinburgh most people living in Edinburgh at the time who were of a Protestant background and enjoyed football would go watch HMFC and vice versa if you happened to be from a Roman Catholic background, whether Irish or not.

I'm guessing MJ is talking utter horseshit.

1 minute ago, portobellojambo1 said:

Probably true enough mate tbh, I can see how that would work. Thankfully it isn't the 19th century for 99% of Hearts fans. 

2 minutes ago, portobellojambo1 said:

Indeed and I believe that remains the case but some just have a blind spot on this.

Just now, AlphonseCapone said:

There will be heads exploding reading that Jake! Don't mention singing YNWA!

Loved Rangers supporters heads exploding when they signed Mo Johnston and we all sang .

Your only part time proddies.

Aye mate like I've said already thank fek there wasn't internet in those days.

Mind after 78 world cup finals and we used to rip up paper and have bog rolls .

My Uncle would go off his heid after the game.

Need to spend money on Hoover's instead of strikers.

Need to give these lads a break.

They are pretty tame tbh.

The sectarian pish apart.

I'm guessing MJ is talking utter horseshit.

Well of course you do.

I disagree with you .

15 minutes ago, AlphonseCapone said:

ha ha, i just collapsed at that, imagine the seeth.

Just now, jake said:

Loved Rangers supporters heads exploding when they signed Mo Johnston and we all sang .

Your only part time proddies.

Aye mate like I've said already thank fek there wasn't internet in those days.

Mind after 78 world cup finals and we used to rip up paper and have bog rolls .

My Uncle would go off his heid after the game.

Need to spend money on Hoover's instead of strikers.

Need to give these lads a break.

They are pretty tame tbh.

The sectarian pish apart.

Can you imagine the reaction on here to that?

Or the " No Surrender " line in the Hearts version of Hail Hail.

2 minutes ago, bringbakterracing said:

Your all very quick to have a pop here, someone please tell me what is wrong with mature adults meeting for a pint to discuss a differing opinion. As all that happens here is we go round in circles. As for asking how old i am, i seem to be the butt of some pretty childish jibes. 

If thats your aim say that , you wrote it like your asking folk out for a square go

Just now, MacDonald Jardine said:

Well of course you do.

I disagree with you .

You've yet to answer and instead piggy-backed someone else's post. How could I possibly know what I'm disagreeing with?

Just now, New York Fleapit said:

You've yet to answer and instead piggy-backed someone else's post. How could I possibly know what I'm disagreeing with?

What?

You have disagreed with my post that Hearts were perceived as the Edinburgh Protestant team.

What have I not answered?

Can you imagine the reaction on here to that?

Or the " No Surrender " line in the Hearts version of Hail Hail.

Changed days Mac.

And the better for it.

Surely you agree that all that pish is just so dated.

Just now, jake said:

Changed days Mac.

And the better for it.

Surely you agree that all that pish is just so dated.

In fairness yes I get that, but the self righteousness on here gets a bit much.

You can't deny that Hearts are perceived as Edinburghs proddies .

Even if like you we don't like it it's how Scottish football sees us

4 hours ago, jake said:

Religion and politics should have nothing to do with Hearts.

But in saying that back in the 80s we had a large section of our support who were involved in the miners strike.

And a smaller section who were neo Nazis.

This involved singing of Arthur Scargill songs and frequent fights with the police.

The neo Nazis took it after attacking socialists top of McLeod street who were collecting for the miners.

So yes politics can affect support.

But this is a long running affair in Scottish history and I would say even those like me who sang stupid songs when young need to say simply.

No it's shit.

It has no place at a football club Nookie.

We live in a country that allows you to express those feelings in many different ways.

Don't need the cover of HMFC to do so.

I am not disagreeing with you, but I was responding to someone who said the average football fan wants nothing about politics or religion at games. 

Many fans worldwide are obviously comfortable with mixing football and politics and religion. 

In fairness yes I get that, but the self righteousness on here gets a bit much.

Yep.

And the blindness to the bigotry in reverse.

But I better leave it at that.

Got a few warning points the last time that was discussed

Just now, jake said:

Everything is perception though Jake. The clever part is not proving them right. 

Just now, Nookie Bear said:

I am not disagreeing with you, but I was responding to someone who said the average football fan wants nothing about politics or religion at games. 

Many fans worldwide are obviously comfortable with mixing football and politics and religion. 

I know.

When I looked back I realised .

HeartofHartley
24 minutes ago, AlphonseCapone said:

Don't be silly

1 minute ago, Des Lynam said:

Everything is perception though Jake. The clever part is not proving them right. 

Aw aye mate.

I think we have a long way to go before the mini hun tag is lost.

I just can't get why the young team find this stuff attractive.

HeartofHartley
21 minutes ago, New York Fleapit said:

And why do they hate him?

If you're asking that seriously then you know nothing about the Scottish game.

Just now, HeartofHartley said:

Don't be silly

Why not? Just a wind up. Will definitely get them worked up. 

bringbakterracing
7 minutes ago, sadj said:

If thats your aim say that , you wrote it like your asking folk out for a square go

Not once did i mention anything like it, but the weirdos on here are quick to jump all over it. We all have different opinions, i know loads of people will not agree with mine, thats life. But on here , certain people think its their way or no other way. Does my head in. 

2 minutes ago, HeartofHartley said:

If you're asking that seriously then you know nothing about the Scottish game.

Let's pretend I don't know.

Why do they hate him?

HeartofHartley
Just now, New York Fleapit said:

Let's pretend I don't know.

Why do they hate him?

Seriously... away and take a shite in your hands and clap.

SpruceBringsteen
4 minutes ago, jake said:

Maybe so, but given only about 7% of the country actually attends a church (of any denomination) it'd be about  accurate as seeing us all as Hungarian Sonic the Hedgehog fans.

1 minute ago, HeartofHartley said:

Seriously... away and take a shite in your hands and clap.

Why won't you answer?

• davemclaren locked this topic