Brexit Deal agreed ( updated )

jumpship

4 hours ago, Jambo-Jimbo said:

But that's not what we are seeing though, time and time again we see MP's stand up in the commons, the vast majority from leave constituencies whom themselves voted to remain, and go on about either stopping brexit, 2nd referendums or some other thing to thwart what the majority of their own constituents voted.

And there are some, albeit a dozen or so who voted remain, voted against article 50 being triggered but are from a constituency which voted to leave, sometimes by a 60% - 70% margin, yet that MP is not representing the majority but only the minority in their constituency, and they then have the nerve to still collect their £70k+ wage a year.

That is why I said if the MP is conflicted, then they should abstain from brexit votes, that way they might just emerge with a modicum of decency.

I agree apart from the abstain part. They should be made to vote the way their constituents voted. If they feel they are unable to represent their constituents wishes, they should resign. 

• Replies 25.9k

• ri Alban

• Cade

• Victorian

The thing is the hypotheses have been kicked around for more than two years now. I suspect few have changed their minds from the original vote and many have become more entrenched if anything. 

We're at the vinegar strokes now and no deal is looming larger and larger as the clock winds down. 

If it's to be no deal I hope it hurts. I really genuinely hope that it's brutal. Total carnage. 

Then, and perhaps only then, society will wake up and we'll see proper change to a system which is outdated, unbalanced and as corrupt as the worst of the banana republics. 

Let the little Englanders have their Brexit, let them take back their control and watch them choke on it.

6 hours ago, Konrad von Carstein said:

This whole Brexit process has been, from the very day Cameron announced it, a beacon of Tory party ineptitude, self indulgence and arrogance.

To (mis)use Gerald Kuafman's quote, I sincerely hope that they are writing the longest suicide note in history which  results in them falling away and suffering the same fate as the original Liberal party did.

The major downside to that is, of course that the current main opposition  is just as inept, with the remaining parties being hamstrung due to their low numbers of MP's.

Governance of the UK (if it is to remain as a union *laughs* ) needs radical reform and equality of influence and a more consensual approach, Federalism?

Apologies for the ramble but I am hugely fearful of the potential havoc these idiots are bringing down on ordinary working people.

I'm long been a proponent of Federalism, however it's just impossible with the current composition of the UK without breaking up the 'countries' of the UK. i.e. Federalism with England, Scotland, Wales & N. Ireland being the component parts is pointless as one unit is too big. Or, you break England up into regions... That's not something I would wish to force on England and not something I think they would want. If there was a way to keep 'England' as a sporting identity, then it's perhaps possible  to force through... but it would ultimately undermine the entire class system of the UK - can't see it being allowed to happen. 

1 hour ago, Normthebarman said:

I agree apart from the abstain part. They should be made to vote the way their constituents voted. If they feel they are unable to represent their constituents wishes, they should resign. 

If it were in any other profession you'd think so, however that would require a degree of honour, something which is sadly lacking, especially amongst many of the current occupants at Westminster.

1 hour ago, Normthebarman said:

Unless the question put to MPs is identical to the question put in the referendum in June 2016, there is no "way their constituents voted" for them to follow.

If MPs are faced with a question along the lines of  "Should we accept the Withdrawal Agreement?", or "Should we agree to a customs union with the EU?", or "Should we agree to a version of CETA?", there is no template to follow, because their constituents were never asked those questions and never took positions one way or the other on them.

1 hour ago, The Mighty Thor said:

The thing is the hypotheses have been kicked around for more than two years now. I suspect few have changed their minds from the original vote and many have become more entrenched if anything. 

We're at the vinegar strokes now and no deal is looming larger and larger as the clock winds down. 

If it's to be no deal I hope it hurts. I really genuinely hope that it's brutal. Total carnage. 

Then, and perhaps only then, society will wake up and we'll see proper change to a system which is outdated, unbalanced and as corrupt as the worst of the banana republics. 

Let the little Englanders have their Brexit, let them take back their control and watch them choke on it.

Now thats what I call a bad loser!

Presumably total carnage will be welcome even if it covers the millions who voted remain including the million lttle englanders in Scotland.

3 hours ago, Costanza said:

What would the economic impact be of a hard brexit and the immediate and short term impact on jobs, road haulage, distribution, just in time manufacturing etc.?
I think it will be a catastrophe but if you can alleviate my fears then that would be great.

Save 39billion for starters + god knows how many tariffs ladled on goods from EU,the people who are going to feel our exit are the ones trying to prevent us leaving in the first place.Their whole tactic is an attempt to keep us manacled for all time and it aint going to work,so forget the misinfomation being fed to us Britain will thrive same as we did prior to joining the sodding so called Common Market.Voting majority said oot and that is what we will get and parties trying to fiddle a way round it will get slaughtered at the polls lot's of P45's flying around.

7 hours ago, Francis Albert said:

MPs are elected as representatives not delegates and do not necessarily have to follow the majority opinion of their constituents. Otherwise hanging would never have been abolished.

Indeed. In fact the popular support for capital punishment dropped below 50% for the first time on record in 2015. Even then, only just.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-32061822

29 minutes ago, sairyinthat said:

Save 39billion for starters + god knows how many tariffs ladled on goods from EU,the people who are going to feel our exit are the ones trying to prevent us leaving in the first place.Their whole tactic is an attempt to keep us manacled for all time and it aint going to work,so forget the misinfomation being fed to us Britain will thrive same as we did prior to joining the sodding so called Common Market.Voting majority said oot and that is what we will get and parties trying to fiddle a way round it will get slaughtered at the polls lot's of P45's flying around.

Lets not forget the £250m (debatable) a week that could be redirected within the UK. 

1 minute ago, Dannie Boy said:

Lets not forget the £250m (debatable) a week that could be redirected within the UK. 

Aye and they can keep the hordes of refugees all to themselves,+ the bother that will be causing them big time in the not too distant future.

1 hour ago, sairyinthat said:

That isn't an answer to my question of what the impact to the economy will be for a no deal Brexit and the chaos and cost it will result in....

Anyway, the 39bn is to cover the UK’s share of EU spending commitments that it made whilst it was an EU member. 16bn between 2019 and 2020 20bn between 2021 and 2028 3bn between 2019 and 2064. If we just take up to 2028 and add in our annual contribution (approx 6bn) that's about 10bn a year. The governments own calculations on Brexit (the government that is trying to deliver Brexit) estimates that Theresa May's deal will mean the economy will be up 3.9% smaller in 15 years. That's about 100bn a year. I don't remember that being on the side of a bus.

A no deal brexit, or hard brexit is estimated to mean the economy is 9% smaller in 15 years. You do the maths.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-politics-46366162

You say "the people who are going to feel our exit are the ones trying to prevent us leaving in the first place". Given that UK to EU exports are about 13% of the UK economy whereas EU to UK is about 3% of theirs, struggling to work that one out.

https://fullfact.org/europe/uk-eu-trade

Also, the UK thriving before the Common Market; the UK also thrived before the internet but I doubt we'd want to go back to those days.

Actually no, I think I probably do!

10 minutes ago, Costanza said:

That isn't an answer to my question of what the impact to the economy will be for a no deal Brexit and the chaos and cost it will result in....

Anyway, the 39bn is to cover the UK’s share of EU spending commitments that it made whilst it was an EU member. 16bn between 2019 and 2020 20bn between 2021 and 2028 3bn between 2019 and 2064. If we just take up to 2028 and add in our annual contribution (approx 6bn) that's about 10bn a year. The governments own calculations on Brexit (the government that is trying to deliver Brexit) estimates that Theresa May's deal will mean the economy will be up 3.9% smaller in 15 years. That's about 100bn a year. I don't remember that being on the side of a bus.

A no deal brexit, or hard brexit is estimated to mean the economy is 9% smaller in 15 years. You do the maths.

You say "the people who are going to feel our exit are the ones trying to prevent us leaving in the first place". Given that UK to EU exports are about 13% of the UK economy whereas EU to UK is about 3% of theirs, struggling to work that one out.

Also, the UK thriving before the Common Market; the UK also thrived before the internet but I doubt we'd want to go back to those days.

Afraid you are not looking for answers but people agreeing with you.I clearly don't so just live with it.Believe what your fed and please don't try to educate me on the advantages of being tied for evermore to Europe.This country will thrive we will produce our own goods and foods a great benefit to lots of producers of many things Let the Europeans eat and drink their warehouses full of crappy cheeses and bottles of plonk they will be hit hard.Around 60 million customers on this Island you think the pharmaceutical companies wont be establishing operations and employing citizens to meet their needs?Likewise many other industries,you think our technical nohow will be abandoned get real.

3 minutes ago, sairyinthat said:

Afraid you are not looking for answers but people agreeing with you.I clearly don't so just live with it.Believe what your fed and please don't try to educate me on the advantages of being tied for evermore to Europe.This country will thrive we will produce our own goods and foods a great benefit to lots of producers of many things Let the Europeans eat and drink their warehouses full of crappy cheeses and bottles of plonk they will be hit hard.Around 60 million customers on this Island you think the pharmaceutical companies wont be establishing operations and employing citizens to meet their needs?Likewise many other industries,you think our technical nohow will be abandoned get real.

23 minutes ago, sairyinthat said:

Seek immediate psychiatric help

4 minutes ago, Cade said:

Seek immediate psychiatric help

Maybe from Professor Walter Hallstein yeah? He was really good at helping people.

/

28 minutes ago, Ulysses said:

Thoughts with the Italians as they no longer wash down their Red Leicester with a can of John Smith's Bitter.

7 minutes ago, Costanza said:

Thoughts with the Italians as they no longer wash down their Red Leicester with a can of John Smith's Bitter.

the_leaning_tower_of_pizza.jpg

So is Cade blaming brexit for thugs blowing up things or is it another insinuating post ?

He's in good company as msm have a field day with the same .

Oh you revolutionary types.

It really does make me laugh.

Your sentiment is spot on.

How do people feed medicate trade without an over inflated corrupt middleman?

The people of Scotland England Wales and Northern Ireland are to weak to stupid .

In spite of the contribution they have made.

If anything the absolute shit that pours from the likes of Cade drives my opinion .

That kiddie on socialists equate the EU with progressive policy is boaking material.

2 hours ago, Costanza said:

It is barely maths, more arithmetic.No-one knows what the impact of Brexit will be on the  UK economy, soft or hard. There are only forecasts based on assumptions, Even the Government's no deal Brexit forecast of an 8.3% reduction GDP in 15 years time is the equivalent to the difference between average annual GDP growth of around 0.2% or so or the difference 1.1% and 1.3% average annually, within the margin of error of forecasts a year ahead or even one or two quarters ahead. The common "we will be £x billion poorer" usage, often stated as fact is as misleading as anything stuck on the side of a bus).

What is more certain is that other factors will have much bigger impact, on GDP and certainly on people's lives more broadly,  over that timescale than Brexit will. A Corbyn government for examplee, for better or worse. What will improve lives over 15 years is not primarily growth in national wealth in aggregate, but how that wealth is distributed, in both income and capital.

As for the trade figures, the rest of the EU has a massive trade surplus with us while we have a massive trade deficit with them.

7 hours ago, Normthebarman said:

If we follow that then almost every MP would have resigned in the life of a Parliament

Oh and what would be the point of MPs if they are just Robots

You drink in Wetherspoons don't you ?

I say that because it's almost word for word out of the Brexit propaganda booklet he inflicts on his customers.?

2 minutes ago, Francis Albert said:

It is barely maths, more arithmetic.No-one knows what the impact of Brexit will be on the  UK economy, soft or hard. There are only forecasts based on assumptions, Even the Government's no deal Brexit forecast of an 8.3% reduction GDP in 15 years time is the equivalent to the difference between average annual GDP growth of around 0.2% or so or the difference 1.1% and 1.3% average annually, within the margin of error of forecasts a year ahead or even one or two quarters ahead. The common "we will be £x billion poorer" usage, often stated as fact is as misleading as anything stuck on the side of a bus).

What is more certain is that other factors will have much bigger impact, on GDP and certainly on people's lives more broadly,  over that timescale than Brexit will. A Corbyn government for examplee, for better or worse. What will improve lives over 15 years is not primarily growth in national wealth in aggregate, but how that wealth is distributed, in both income and capital.

As for the trade figures, the rest of the EU has a massive trade surplus with us while we have a massive trade deficit with them.

The mixed up Brexiteer speaks

First part of post tells us no one knows the impact then goes on to tell us about fantasy predictions spouting them as facts ..how mixed up is that but then that's what they do lie and spin

37 minutes ago, Francis Albert said:

Stop producing sensible posts.

You will only encourage the screamers.

31 minutes ago, CJGJ said:

The mixed up Brexiteer speaks

First part of post tells us no one knows the impact then goes on to tell us about fantasy predictions spouting them as facts ..how mixed up is that but then that's what they do lie and spin

No one knows ?

Except you screamed panic earlier in the thread.

Lies and spin?

???

22 hours ago, ri Alban said:

Ditto. 

Don't you think you should volunteer if it comes down to redundancies? I thought you had honour. Oh well!

I have more honour than you wee man.

For sure I know id not advocate full employment on behalf of a system that oversaw 40% youth unemployment.

For sure I'd not wish that on anyone.

For sure I'd not advocate breaking up a union and staying in one that limits power in a more restrictive manner.

But you bash on.

Any comments about skin colour daft boy?

As an aside did you not spraff some utter shite about being unemployed because of England?

20 hours ago, Francis Albert said:

Not sure how that relates to my point. There has been only one general election (the last one) when the vast majority of MPs were elected on a manifesto that promised we would leave the EU.

Like the referendum vote (which 85% of MPs voted to hold) the majority of those MPs seem unwilling to accept the outcome or to compromise to deliver it. That's not one but two "peoples votes".

But somehow another "people's vote" is the only democratic answer!

No, every election since 1971. We're not just choosing the one election that mattered to you.

21 hours ago, Gambo said:

That is the only undemocratic answer.

The public voted, now deliver.

I refuse to believe that voting is undemocratic.

8 hours ago, jake said:

So is Cade blaming brexit for thugs blowing up things or is it another insinuating post ?

He's in good company as msm have a field day with the same .

Oh you revolutionary types.

It really does make me laugh.

Being attributed to the new IRA, and an increase in diesel laundering / smuggling under threat of Brexit, no guarantee on border.

I suspect it's a bit of opportunism on the part of the parliamilitaries using Brexit.  The loyalist one's will be up next.

My own feeling is that once the impact of Brexit is really known, the one's at the top (establishment) and the dregs at the bottom will find a way to benefit the most.

The areas that voted it through such as the North East will be treated with the same disdain and contempt, if not more than now.

7 hours ago, jake said:

For sure I know id not advocate full employment on behalf of a system that oversaw 40% youth unemployment.

For sure I'd not advocate breaking up a union and staying in one that limits power in a more restrictive manner.

But you bash on.

As an aside did you not spraff some utter shite about being unemployed because of England?

Wee man

:rofl::rofl:

8 hours ago, jake said:

But you bash on.

Never been unemployed. I'm surprised you can make your work, I hope you don't drive.

Tell me how the EU stops Scotland voting in a government at wm? That's right we can't vote any government in at wm, we don't have the numbers. But bash on.

Wee man, I wish.

8 hours ago, jake said:

But you bash on.

If spraff means windrush, well yes, the English Tory government nearly destroyed my family, so people like you can celebrate lower immigration.  Nae luck! 

5 hours ago, Joey J J Jr Shabadoo said:

No, every election since 1971. We're not just choosing the one election that mattered to you.

The one that was relevant  to my point. The only one where both major parties stood on a leave EU manifesto.

(And though besides the point the ones that could have avoided or restricted the damage thatcher inflicted mattered more to me.)

On ‎19‎/‎01‎/‎2019 at 01:21, Roxy Hearts said:

In an independent Scotland she wouldn't be in charge. We are not allowed to run our economy cos we are too wee, eh? Need another country to do it for us, eh?We must be the only country in the world whereby a section of it's society doesn't believe it's people are capable of running its own affairs. Sad. 

Probably because we've seen first hand the doc marten dungaree wearing topped with silk scarf,hairy legged harpies at Holyrood stumbling about.

17 hours ago, Francis Albert said:

Now thats what I call a bad loser!

Presumably total carnage will be welcome even if it covers the millions who voted remain including the million lttle englanders in Scotland.

Not at all FA. I've been consistent in one thing. Leave won. Get on with it. 

The rhetoric is steadily building to a no deal scenario, despite some in parliament trying to prevent it. It's not just politicians either. The public groundswell is growing too, fed of course by the Daily Mail types. 

I think no deal hard Brexit is a very likely outcome now and as I said in my post, I hope it's brutal. 

The only realistic way to get change is for things to get so bad that people start to question the absolute pup they've been sold and those that sold them it. 

There was a great interview on R4 world at one with a business owner from Sunderland  who gets his materials from Europe and sells his end product to Europe. He wants no deal. His rationale? Something will come up. 

No it really won't you fecking bell end.

The delicious irony? His workshop is on an industrial estate built with EU regeneration monies. Brilliant eh?

So for me, let's crack on with it so we can all move along. 

3 hours ago, Francis Albert said:

The one that was relevant  to my point. The only one where both major parties stood on a leave EU manifesto.

(And though besides the point the ones that could have avoided or restricted the damage thatcher inflicted mattered more to me.)

I suppose you're entitled to be wrong. 

If anything, Brexit has at least exposed the deep rooted flaws within UK politics. If it doesn't change then Scotland must leave to protect the Scottish people from Westminster. 

6 hours ago, ri Alban said:

Incoming G.E.

Not necessarily the best idea.

It will become effectively a referendum on Brexit. 

But what about everything else?

2 hours ago, The Mighty Thor said:

Not at all FA. I've been consistent in one thing. Leave won. Get on with it. 

The rhetoric is steadily building to a no deal scenario, despite some in parliament trying to prevent it. It's not just politicians either. The public groundswell is growing too, fed of course by the Daily Mail types. 

I think no deal hard Brexit is a very likely outcome now and as I said in my post, I hope it's brutal. 

The only realistic way to get change is for things to get so bad that people start to question the absolute pup they've been sold and those that sold them it. 

There was a great interview on R4 world at one with a business owner from Sunderland  who gets his materials from Europe and sells his end product to Europe. He wants no deal. His rationale? Something will come up. 

The delicious irony? His workshop is on an industrial estate built with EU regeneration monies. Brilliant eh?

So for me, let's crack on with it so we can all move along. 

The daily mail under its new editor has for months been fiercely opposed to a no deal outcome. He was previously editor of the Mail on Sunday which was  always highly critical of  the Mogg/Boris hard brexit faction.

4 hours ago, The Mighty Thor said:

I'm one of those who thinks that "something will come up", but TBH I've no idea what it is.  :help:

I've heard a suggestion that the EU27 will treat the UK as not having left until such time as the UK changes its treatment of the EU27.  This would mean not imposing any additional checks unless the UK changes the import-export scene in some way (e.g. by reaching a new trade agreement with someone) or else imposes restrictions on EU27 citizens.  While that is plausible, and would make sense given the EU27's role as "the adult in the room", it has major downside risks given the untrustworthy behaviour of the UK government since the last General Election.

We wait and see.

6 minutes ago, Ulysses said:

I'm one of those who thinks that "something will come up", but TBH I've no idea what it is.  :help:

I've heard a suggestion that the EU27 will treat the UK as not having left until such time as the UK changes its treatment of the EU27.  This would mean not imposing any additional checks unless the UK changes the import-export scene in some way (e.g. by reaching a new trade agreement with someone) or else imposes restrictions on EU27 citizens.  While that is plausible, and would make sense given the EU27's role as "the adult in the room", it has major downside risks given the untrustworthy behaviour of the UK government since the last General Election.

We wait and see.

I think any proposal that requires reasonable and rational behaviour from the UK government will fall on it's arse. 

There's too many factions in there and it's potentially powderkeg stuff if one side or the other doesn't get what it wants.

• davemclaren changed the title to Brexit Deal agreed ( updated )