Brexit?

aussieh

That's not the argument at all. Its that interest payments would be higher as Scotland on its own is a new lender.

I'd say that would depend on a few things myself. All depends on our settlement with rUK, there's nothing to say we would be leaving with any assets therefore no debt imo.

• Replies 3.5k

I'd say that would depend on a few things myself. All depends on our settlement with rUK, there's nothing to say we would be leaving with any assets therefore no debt imo.

That is not how that works though. What assets? A fifth of the National Gallery? A fifth of the Tower of London? I mean currency isn't an asset for example.

And it doesn't matter on conditions. If you've no credit rating do you get a mortgage? How are premiums for first time drivers?

Hate to draw these comparisons but they do apply a bit here.

You're arguing a pro-Brexit "it'll be alright on the night" line.

That is not how that works though. What assets? A fifth of the National Gallery? A fifth of the Tower of London? I mean currency isn't an asset for example.

And it doesn't matter on conditions. If you've no credit rating do you get a mortgage? How are premiums for first time drivers?

Gold, oil, Land etc... Is a AAA rating for us.

Also, We may not be able to take the Tower of London etc... But our share can be changed to right off debts. Our debt is equal to assets.

So the UK has no assets, only liabilities? Really?

Scotland is the biggest liability surely? :muggy:

Scotland is a country that has been dealing with the modern capitalist world since its inception.

Hardly a first time car owner or a person with no credit history.

Assets are measured in many ways not least natural resources with we have an abundance of.

As for it will be alright on the night.

Not in the eurozone if you care to study financial facts instead of the scaremongering that seems to be the only argument against it and scottish independence.

Where have I said that?

The currency isn't an asset. That is aussies point.

Of course it has assets. A currency isn't an asset.

Scotland is a country that has been dealing with the modern capitalist world since its inception.

Hardly a first time car owner or a person with no credit history.

Assets are measured in many ways not least natural resources with we have an abundance of.

As for it will be alright on the night.

Not in the eurozone if you care to study financial facts instead of the scaremongering that seems to be the only argument against it and scottish independence.

The UK is a larger economy than Scotland. Key to NATO in spending. Massive contributor in International Aid. Has a seat on the UNSC and is a lead in the OECD, OESC, The Commonwealth and so on.

Brexit is looking like a political disaster. Germany is openly stating after the G7 and NATO summits Europe cannot rely on Britain. It cannot rely on us because of our government's attitudes in negotiating Brexit and our lack of commitment to them.

That's a diplomatic disaster. One which will have huge consequences in the immediate future.

Brexit - drawing out of one Union is proving intractable to negotiate and stoking angst rather than agreeing a new relationship.

Apply that to Independence. Those bridges between the SNP government and Conservative government are vastly in a worse state than those with the EU. The SNP make out their opponents are without morality and have no desire to do good. Can you imagine a good atmosphere in those talks? A balanced negotiating position?

This ever separating, smaller and smaller thing, its against the tide. We need closer integration and cooperation with those around us. The issues of the 21st century wont be solved by the UK or Scotland, but the EU and UN. By bigger groups of peoples.

Where have I said that?

If a currency isn't an asset why do Unionists bash the SNP with the white paper currency issue? The answer is, of course, because it is an asset. To say that a currency isn't an asset is to say that a currency is worthless. I'm not talking about value of individual units of said currency either.

No. It's a tactic because it undermines independence by arguing you'd want politucal separation but limited to 0 control over your currency. It doesn't make currency an asset. It just makes political and economic independence limited. The eurozone desires closer union because they share a currency. Why be independent to maintain a currency which will linit the full economic choices open to Scotland?

The empty kettle makes most noise.

German rhetoric does not cut the mustard and you know it.

As for Scotlands importance to NATO.

Please .

Oh and on the one hand the UK is both a disaster and the saviour .

And integration is not the same a consolidation.

Just dont get socialists who could ever support the EU.

Not in its current form .

As for your last points.

If you really believe those organisations are for anyone but the poweeful .

Then keep voting labour

The empty kettle makes most noise.

German rhetoric does not cut the mustard and you know it.

As for Scotlands importance to NATO.

Please .

Oh and on the one hand the UK is both a disaster and the saviour .

And integration is not the same a consolidation.

Just dont get socialists who could ever support the EU.

Not in its current form .

As for your last points.

If you really believe those organisations are for anyone but the poweeful .

Then keep voting labour

UN bad now as well Jakey?

Yeah those UN guys.

What was that recent thing the UN did ?

And hey feel free to call me jakey.

The UN .

Honest tae feguk

Where have I said that?

Currency, where did I mention it? But since you have, what's the big deal what we use.

The UK is a larger economy than Scotland. Key to NATO in spending. Massive contributor in International Aid. Has a seat on the UNSC and is a lead in the OECD, OESC, The Commonwealth and so on.

Brexit is looking like a political disaster. Germany is openly stating after the G7 and NATO summits Europe cannot rely on Britain. It cannot rely on us because of our government's attitudes in negotiating Brexit and our lack of commitment to them.

That's a diplomatic disaster. One which will have huge consequences in the immediate future.

Brexit - drawing out of one Union is proving intractable to negotiate and stoking angst rather than agreeing a new relationship.

Apply that to Independence. Those bridges between the SNP government and Conservative government are vastly in a worse state than those with the EU. The SNP make out their opponents are without morality and have no desire to do good. Can you imagine a good atmosphere in those talks? A balanced negotiating position?

This ever separating, smaller and smaller thing, its against the tide. We need closer integration and cooperation with those around us. The issues of the 21st century wont be solved by the UK or Scotland, but the EU and UN. By bigger groups of peoples.

Which is currently decided for Scotland. We literally have no say, as Brexit and the subsequent negotiations has proven. We'll get what we're given, good or bad.

I heard the Tory candidate for Ian Murray's seat , say they'll fight for the union at any and all cost. Any cost? Tells you everything you need to know. Feck Scotland and it's people.

Which is currently decided for Scotland. We literally have no say, as Brexit and the subsequent negotiations has proven. We'll get what we're given, good or bad.

I heard the Tory candidate for Ian Murray's seat , say they'll fight for the union at any and all cost. Any cost? Tells you everything you need to know. Feck Scotland and it's people.

Much the the same as the SNP indy at any cost, what ever that is.

No it isn't, the only cost to Scotland as it stands is WM rule in the so called onion.

So what does that cost?

No. It's a tactic because it undermines independence by arguing you'd want politucal separation but limited to 0 control over your currency. It doesn't make currency an asset. It just makes political and economic independence limited. The eurozone desires closer union because they share a currency. Why be independent to maintain a currency which will linit the full economic choices open to Scotland?

If a currency isn't an asset why doesn't the whole world discard it? Using a currency as a political tool doesn't mean it isn't an asset. Tories and Labour use people as political tools, are they not an asset either?

As for your last question, using the pound in an Independent Scotland, to start off with, would be doing the rUK a favour and we rather like our neighbours so wouldn't want to see their currency completely fail on the back of us leaving. We're a considerate lot you see but if the rUK wanted to shoot themselves in the head by denying this then so be it.

So what does that cost?

Pride, dignity, democracy, self determination, lives, war, debt, deficit, Independence, SCOTLAND!

War, lives!!! So buds you want to fight the English if you don't get Indy.

So no monetary costs that you can come up with. Typical SNP Yes voter.

War, lives!!! So buds you want to fight the English if you don't get Indy.

So no monetary costs that you can come up with. Typical SNP Yes voter.

That's a list of what we are losing now, inside the union.

Bled dry of everything and front line cannon fodder.

That's a list of what we are losing now, inside the union.

Bled dry of everything and front line cannon fodder.

Watch you don't drown in the Barnett Formula [emoji7]

Don't blame Barnett on the SNP, we want rid thro' Indy.

Barnett was a device to stop Indy with the money we gave per head. I notice you never mention per head. Like the ?12000 per head we put into England's economy, compared to them putting ?900 per head into ours.

scotlands people voted for the union, you and your fruitloops voted for the losers.....get over it

Barnett was a device to stop Indy with the money we gave per head. I notice you never mention per head. Like the ?12000 per head we put into England's economy, compared to them putting ?900 per head into ours.

got any real facts to back this up or just the mythical brigadoon ones.

we get more per head than our partners in the union, something you separatists are trying your damnedest to scupper

got any real facts to back this up or just the mythical brigadoon ones.

we get more per head than our partners in the union, something you separatists are trying your damnedest to scupper

Here, Reath. We buy ?65 billion of trade from England with a population of 5.4m. England buy ?49b from Scotland with a population of 56m. Before the oil price dived, we brought in ?1000 per head more for 40 years or more. That's why Barnett was invented. To fend of Indy. Christ, labour reneged on Devi in 1979. Gies peace, and just admit why you vote no. Nothing but a flootmooth.

Scotland are England's second biggest export destination, after the USA. 18%, then us at 14.5%. America has a population of 350m to our 5.4m. But hey we're a non entity with nothing to offer.

So either way we Cannae borrow. UK hardbrexit, part of the Uk or Indy. Scotland really has no options in this world. We really are too wee.

Seriously GK, you argue Scotland are only members thro' the UK and they keep the EU membership. But in the next breath Scotland are responsible for the UK debt. Which is it? We're either a nobody or we are somebody. New Country with no entitlement or debt, or an existing country with rights and obligations.

Sigh. You claimed that Scotland would have no national debt, which essentially means you would be repudiating any share of the UK National Debt. That's what the point was made on, that no foreign investor would trust Scotland in that scenario.

No, I was making a point, if GB did what you say above. I don't foresee Scotland doing what I said, but it's doable, if England do it at the Brexit table. That's all, but you attack me.

Poor baby. I wasn't attacking you personally, I was attacking your point about walking away from debt like you said. You seem to think it is free of consequence.

The Brexit scenario is different. That was about stopping contributions which, to be frank, won't happen. It will be lost in "transitional arrangements".

Poor baby. I wasn't attacking you personally, I was attacking your point about walking away from debt like you said. You seem to think it is free of consequence.

The Brexit scenario is different. That was about stopping contributions which, to be frank, won't happen. It will be lost in "transitional arrangements".

Listen GK, Scotland has no debt, as you say with Brexit, it belongs with WM. So feck up and mind your own business with your cesspit 2/3rds province of hate. The place i thought all scummy ex Scots went, but hey some are still here.

I think this is called losing the argument.

I don't care what a emigrant thinks, you left because you had to. I wonder why. How much is your head worth?

Are you a grass? Is that it?

I don't care what a emigrant thinks, you left because you had to. I wonder why. How much is your head worth?

Are you a grass? Is that it?

Deary me! This is beyond a joke.

If I was a "grass" as you put it do you think I'd be visiting there in September this year and openly talking about it? I didn't have to leave Northern Ireland, Scotland or anywhere else in the UK. I chose to leave Scotland along with my wife and my kids who were much younger of course at the time.

And if arseholes like you dominate political debate in Scotland, I'm glad I did.

If I was a "grass" as you put it do you think I'd be visiting there in September this year and openly talking about it? I didn't have to leave Northern Ireland, Scotland or anywhere else in the UK. I chose to leave Scotland along with my wife and my kids who were much younger of course at the time.

And if arseholes like you dominate political debate in Scotland, I'm glad I did.

Good, the less Brits and want to be Brits polluting Scotland's air the better. I could say I'm going to mars, doesn't make it true.

Aside from anything else, I think you should apologise for a slur like that. I know you won't though.

Slur? Truth, EFF off to Britain, and leave Scotland to the Scots.

What a racist you are.

oh dear, thick as well as , well what are N.Irish. Not Irish or British. I hope they're not all like you.

they dont fortunately,thats why we won the referendum, unfortunately, their extremely sore loser and wont stop harping on about it, like spoiled little brats, they'll be whineing until they get their baw back.

Tick Tock!

Mintit!

Enjoy GB while you can.

Tick Tock!

Mintit!

Enjoy GB while you can.

ah, the hibby tick tock, thats went well the past few years, it's been a wheeze though.

Hibs? Oh the auld pish.

Here I'll try it Unionist boy, what happened to your Rangers?

What race?

Do you think that you need different skin colour to be racist?

Your eff off home chat is disturbing.

Maple Leaf

Please cease and desist with the personal attacks.  Remember rule #1.

1. Always treat fellow members with respect and courtesy. Abuse is not permitted.

Tories and Labour use people as political tools, are they not an asset either?

And the SNP dont?