The poker thread...

The Merse

I run bad. Just back from the Gala in Dumpdee. I stay near there now.

Tuesday night they do a ?500 freeroll with 1 ?10 rebuy or add on.

Its donkey haven. I had my first stack in preflop with KK v KQ suited. lost when the flush hit.

Rebought all in preflop with kings v Q10 off suit. Q on flop and 10 on turn.

FFS.

• Replies 2.6k

• The Merse

• Era Macaroons

• Bigsmak

• Statto

Era Macaroons
PS we're never going to get a 3000th post game at this rate.

Buck up your ideas guys!

Ive been 'sitting out' ! :43:

Babies + Poker + Wife = Grief

Ive had the odd game inbetween and been busted by freaks which has left me pi$$ed off and happy to have a break from it.

went up to the cash game prob about 6 weks ago for a short visit, (didnt see any of you there) sat down with NZ and two other regs

.....get involved in a hand with him hes playing very loose, he raises then calls my allin with 7 4 hearts v my Ace/Ten ....says ' its my turn to bad beat somebody' as he does so

flop 10, K, 8, no hearts....turn 4 river 4. and i leave in disgust.

Era Macaroons
PS we're never going to get a 3000th post game at this rate.

Buck up your ideas guys!

Also I know I shouldnt really ask...however im curious and you might remember it

during the 2000th post game early on when you were on your knees, you had a hand with me when you went all in and I folded after deliberation.

I had middle pair (Jacks) there was also King on the flop, I was very close to calling you but was put off with my 10 kicker (well, that and the King as well!).had sneaky feeling I was good tho.

was I?

Ive been 'sitting out' ! :43:

Babies + Poker + Wife = Grief

Ive had the odd game inbetween and been busted by freaks which has left me pi$$ed off and happy to have a break from it.

went up to the cash game prob about 6 weks ago for a short visit, (didnt see any of you there) sat down with NZ and two other regs

.....get involved in a hand with him hes playing very loose, he raises then calls my allin with 7 4 hearts v my Ace/Ten ....says ' its my turn to bad beat somebody' as he does so

flop 10, K, 8, no hearts....turn 4 river 4. and i leave in disgust.

Who is NZ?

Brutal beat there...

Also I know I shouldnt really ask...however im curious and you might remember it

during the 2000th post game early on when you were on your knees, you had a hand with me when you went all in and I folded after deliberation.

I had middle pair (Jacks) there was also King on the flop, I was very close to calling you but was put off with my 10 kicker (well, that and the King as well!).had sneaky feeling I was good tho.

was I?

TBH I can't remember.

There is a good chance I was at it though.

:stuart:

Edit something tells me I also had a J on that hand but my kicker wasn't good, think I was trying to get you off of what I suspected you had. Ie same pair but had me outkicked.

Edited by D-McG

Era Macaroons
Who is NZ?

Brutal beat there...

TBH I can't remember.

There is a good chance I was at it though.

Edit something tells me I also had a J on that hand but my kicker wasn't good, think I was trying to get you off of what I suspected you had. Ie same pair but had me outkicked.

(Naz.)

Hmmm, naughty (well played) ...was early on tho so I was wasnt too upset to let it go.

Not been playing too much recently but started playing on PKR again. Entered a $3 satellite to a high rollers thing tourney recently and won that so got into a $16tourney which I won so now into a $72 final satellite which if I qualify from will be into a $500 buy in with $30K GTD prize which would be nice from a $3 investment!

Played the ?25 Bounty with 10,000 starting stack at the casino for first time last night. Really enjoyed it and would def play it again. Ended up making the final table but busted out first. Top 7 paid but luckily for me we did a ?30 saver so including bounties made ?50 and had a really good night!

I always laugh at that ... A D-McG story always starts with ..

"So I raise UTG with J,6 offsuit ..." A true LAG

:10900:

I rest my case yer honour.

Era Macaroons
looking at the list I have

Maybury is a 30-30-20 game

Circus is a 20 - 10 - 10 game (I think)

Why not call them up

cheers,....why make 2 phone calls when 2 secs on JKB normally bears fruit!

anyway, went along to maybury...and played pretty well, no prizes though.

biggest error was not rebuying + adding on at the break.

Id built up a decent stack,, largest at my table so when the break came I had to decide if i use up my allocation of ?30 for 4000 more chips and a further ?20 for a further 4000

I didnt do it , figuring whats the point in investing a further ?50 when i was sitting pretty....

came back from the break to discover everyone else did! and id given away my advantage.bad move lesson learned.

Office Poker at Circus tomorrow.

1pm start.

?30+3

7000 starting stack 30min levels.

75/150 and 150/300 levels included.

Anyone going? It should be a good turn out again as there is no SPL games on.

PLO at Office Poker on the 5th December.

?40+4 Freezeout

10,000 starting stack 30 minute levels.

what do u mean by office poker? i could do with a game tomorrow

Office poker is a tournament normally held every 2 weeks on a Saturday afternoon at the Circus casino and sometimes elsewhere around Scotland too.

Anyone can play the tournament but if you want to take part in the league you have to pay a subscription.

Starts at 1 but you would normally have to register by 12.45

Didn't realise Office Poker was on tomorrow... I should probably do some dissertation work but tempted to go along with there being no footy this week...Think I'll end up going!

Office poker is a tournament normally held every 2 weeks on a Saturday afternoon at the Circus casino and sometimes elsewhere around Scotland too.

Anyone can play the tournament but if you want to take part in the league you have to pay a subscription.

Starts at 1 but you would normally have to register by 12.45

Who would i pay a subscription to, how much would it set me back over my standard ?30+?3 buy in

A year is 20 quid. League is almost over for this year. League isnt complosery.

I've recently started getting into poker. Been playing it a lot over the last couple of days at William Hills, been playing a mixture of cash games and sit and gos and have won a couple of them (not for much though, about $10 for the first 3 places). I think I'm pretty decent for a beginner but with this kind of money I guess people might not take it too seriously?

I find that in a sit and go if you just sit tight and only play the very top hands then you are more than likely to see the more aggressive players go out before you.

I've deposited ?10 and I'm up to ?21 so I'm happy with that but I think I need to play a bit more small money games before taking it up to the big cash games.

How did the more experienced players on here start out playing? Cash games, sit and gos or tournaments? Any basic tips are welcome. :smiley2:

I've recently started getting into poker. Been playing it a lot over the last couple of days at William Hills, been playing a mixture of cash games and sit and gos and have won a couple of them (not for much though, about $10 for the first 3 places). I think I'm pretty decent for a beginner but with this kind of money I guess people might not take it too seriously?

I find that in a sit and go if you just sit tight and only play the very top hands then you are more than likely to see the more aggressive players go out before you.

I've deposited ?10 and I'm up to ?21 so I'm happy with that but I think I need to play a bit more small money games before taking it up to the big cash games.

How did the more experienced players on here start out playing? Cash games, sit and gos or tournaments? Any basic tips are welcome. :smiley2:

I started off playing multi table tournaments (?2 buy-ins!) and ?3 SnG's on William Hill.

Just keep playing them and build up a bank of experience, and if you keep winning then great. Don't step up untill you would feel comfortable playing the higher limits and I wouldn't recommend playing cash until you've played for quite a while.

Cash can be pretty unforgiving.

Good luck!

I started off playing multi table tournaments (?2 buy-ins!) and ?3 SnG's on William Hill.

Just keep playing them and build up a bank of experience, and if you keep winning then great. Don't step up untill you would feel comfortable playing the higher limits and I wouldn't recommend playing cash until you've played for quite a while.

Cash can be pretty unforgiving.

Good luck!

Cheers for the advice.

Did you lose a lot of money before you started winning? Have you made a gain or a loss overall?

I was going to get into betting but poker seems like a better way of making a wee bit of money, plus you have more control and it's fun to play.

Was very unlucky last night in a tournament with a top prize of over $1,000. Was a $4 buy in I think and I came about 40th winning $9.

Made an all in call with JJ as I was very short stacked, other guy had KK and I never hit another J so that was me out. Was gutted but also pleased to have got that far.

Cheers for the advice.

Did you lose a lot of money before you started winning? Have you made a gain or a loss overall?

I was going to get into betting but poker seems like a better way of making a wee bit of money, plus you have more control and it's fun to play.

Was very unlucky last night in a tournament with a top prize of over $1,000. Was a $4 buy in I think and I came about 40th winning $9.

Made an all in call with JJ as I was very short stacked, other guy had KK and I never hit another J so that was me out. Was gutted but also pleased to have got that far.

I pretty much started winning straight away actually and it just kept up!

Small stakes at first and lots of small wins and a lot of hovvering about at "level" but eventually my graphs started to point up the way!!

I basically learnt poker on WillHill and you can see my graph on there if you go on to sharkscope.com and search Cliokid in the Cryptologic version of Willhill.

I've made fairly significant profits out of poker so far in my time of playing which is a nice side earner but can't get too complacent - it could change if I go outwith my limits, and change very quickly! As I experienced a couple of weeks ago when I went on a bad downswing when I played above my limits.

Fortunately that wasn't too costly a downswing as i got it back the following week but certainly made me re-evaluate the game a little.

Just keep playing for enjoyment and don't play for the gamble and I'm sure you'll gain good experience and develop your game and if you win enough to support moving up the stakes then great - if not just play the limits where you are enjoying success.

As for playing poker instead of betting - it's a good idea, much more control over the outcome at poker than you do betting on random things!

In short:

Don't play above limits which you are comfortable with and play for enjoyment - then reap the rewards!

Thanks for your help.

These questions are open to anyone who's been playing poker for a while, I'm worried that if I lose money to begin with that I should just stop. After the initial plus ?10 things have started to go downhill (mostly in cash games, which I should stop) but I've been very very close to winning a lot of money in tournaments and sit and go's.

Did anyone make a loss at the beginning?

Has everyone won more than they have lost up to now?

Just want to make sure it's worth sticking with it.

Thanks for your help.

These questions are open to anyone who's been playing poker for a while, I'm worried that if I lose money to begin with that I should just stop. After the initial plus ?10 things have started to go downhill (mostly in cash games, which I should stop) but I've been very very close to winning a lot of money in tournaments and sit and go's.

Probably only about 5% of players are consistent winners and nigh on everyone loses money when they begin!

Yup

yup but a good couple of 1k + wins really helped out ... But I am not a consistent winner (I don't play enough anymore)

You need to study... Go to these forums and read, read, read...

http://www.cardschat.com/

Get some books -

Harrington On Hold Em,

Super System 2

and learn by playing as much as possible.

Top Tips - Don't get upset when you make the right call and you lose. EG, you push all in with AA and you get rivered when some dude hits a flush with his QK.

Worry more about making the right decision rather than winning eg.. is someone pushes all in and you have JJ.. is it really the right move to call it?

Mess about with this..

http://www.thehendonmob.com/pokercalc/

Get some cards and deal yourself A 10 and maybe deal 5 or 6 other hands then put the 5 cards out. See how many times you win with A10... Do it with JJ, 22, QQ as well. Mess about and just get a good feel for what can happen.

Learn about what is the right bet to make... EG... If the pot is $100 and you bet $5, will anyone fold?

Good luck

I don't think I've ever ran so cold as I have tonight.

It's been ridiculous.

I don't even know where to start!!

All in with AA v KK v 55 for ?200 pot can we guess what the river brought?Surprisingly it was a 5 that dropped. Great.

All in with AK on a K high flop against K4 for a ?70 pot.

Then I've had TT run into AA short stackers twice which is hard to get away from pre-flop. AA hold both times natch.

missed pretty much every flop all fecking night, it's actually been frightening.

It's actually impossible to play against this, you can sometimes get away with missing alot flops but you can't get away from it when the flops are missing you every single time but hitting your opponent.

In such a horrible mood right now actually wanted to start breaking things.

Toys out of pram big style.

:hang:

running short on cash. hope my buddies are having a house game next week to see me through to the end of the month:10900:

I don't think I've ever ran so cold as I have tonight.

It's been ridiculous.

I don't even know where to start!!

All in with AA v KK v 55 for ?200 pot can we guess what the river brought?Surprisingly it was a 5 that dropped. Great.

All in with AK on a K high flop against K4 for a ?70 pot.

Then I've had TT run into AA short stackers twice which is hard to get away from pre-flop. AA hold both times natch.

missed pretty much every flop all fecking night, it's actually been frightening.

It's actually impossible to play against this, you can sometimes get away with missing alot flops but you can't get away from it when the flops are missing you every single time but hitting your opponent.

In such a horrible mood right now actually wanted to start breaking things.

Toys out of pram big style.

:hang:

Another bit of advice for Ali...don't get too emotionally involved in the game - it will drive you mental!!

:10900:

The Sky Poker Tour 2009/10

Sadly no Edinburgh this year. :43: It will be the Alea (???) in Glasgow.

There will be 5 legs, Manchester 7 Nov, Newcastle 9 Jan, Luton 6 Mar, Glasgow 8 May, Swansea 10 July and the Grand Final in Nottingham on the 11/12 of September 2010.

Seats to the five legs will be worth ?100 however there is no direct buyins, there's 125 seats available on sky and 5 seats available from a satellite at the venue, probably the week/night before. 20 seats are also allocated to presenters, media and pro's.

The top 3 finishers from each of the 5 legs will win seats to the Grand Final, the GF seats are worth ?250.

The Glasgow leg, for all those that are interested will be played on the weekend of the last round of matches in the SPL, one week before the Scottish Cup final, going by past fixture lists, the top-6 games will be played on the Sunday so as long as we get a few results together and squease into the top 6, you will be able to make both poker on Saturday and game on Sunday.

The other clashes (poker and Hearts games) are;

Manchester (Hearts v Hibs at Tynecastle) - I think I'll leave this one...

Newcastle (Scottish Cup v unknown)

Luton (Dundee United away is on the Sunday)

Glasgow (if we're in top-6, no problems)

Swansea (close season)

Grand Final (next season)

I went to Newcastle last year, I hope to go again this year, the draw for the Scottish Cup (if directly after the 3rd round) should be drawn at the end of November/very start of December.

Luton is a bit far, it seems to be a top venue though.

Glasgow, it's the closest venue,

-if the odds of Hearts reaching the top 6 is 50/50,

-the odds of getting a home game on that date is 60/40,

-which means the odds of potentially missing the last game of the season (Hearts bottom 6 and a home game to finish) is 30/70.

Sats are up for Newcastle. I will be having a shot tomorrow night.

I enjoyed last year so pretty keen to go again.

Saturday night usual home game. On the button, first hand, KK. Whoopee thinks me, here we go. raised twice the pot when it came back to me, three callers. K,4,5 rainbow on the flop. Sooper dooper, clown before me goes all in, obviously I call, so does one other. He turns a 2,3 offsuit. Turn nothing, river A. Texan clown!!!! I beat him in the end though so sanity was restored, but seriously what goes through these guys mind to even call a flop on something like that???

Sats are up for Newcastle. I will be having a shot tomorrow night.

I enjoyed last year so pretty keen to go again.

That me in for Newcastle. 3rd time ive qualified 1st time for a sky event. Pretty simple stuff.

Been playing for a while now and after making a pretty significant loss of ?40 (I'd set myself a limit of ?50 before I gave it up) I've actually started to win games now.

I read Super System 2, Harrington on Hold 'em but the book which has helped me most was August O Meara's online poker one. Its had some pretty bad reviews but if anyone is wanting to start I would definitely use it as a starting point. Only around 80 pages and very accessible.

My problem was not being aggressive enough. Too many times was I content with only playing the big hands, and overplaying them at that. I would go all in on the flop with a pair of Kings and get beaten by trips or two pair. This took me a while to get out of my game but I'm confident now that I'll never overplay a pair again.

I also underestimated the part that position plays and I'll raise in the last position and have a feeler bet after the flop when there are only a couple of hands limping in. This may cost me a few chips but I'm sure that it has won me more hands than it has lost me overall.

I think I've ended up in the money in my last 7/9 SnGs and I think I'm going to make the step up from $2 to $5 pretty soon. Full Tilt Poker is a lot better than William Hills imo. Maybe it's just easier. :stuart:

Hearts away in the Scottish cup, I'm going in for Newcastle.

I went in for one of the 60p roulette 1 minute blind games to pass the time, I won it and paid for my ?5.20 Quarter final seat in 10 minutes :D

Recent poker sessions have been an absolute mare.

Getting absolutely cooler or sucked out on more than you could ever imagine!

A couple of highlights:

Cash game at circus:

Guy raises to ?13, couple of callers before it gets to me with 99. I flat call also.

Flop A96 - and I ran into AA and lose ?450 pot. Nice.

I reload, get AA, get it all-in on a K high flop with KJ stacking off to me - only for him to river a J, another ?350 pot lost. Nice.

Then online it's just been ridiculous too.

KK for me raise to ?2, gets re-raised to ?5.50, I make it ?16, get a call. Flop 883 - they ship I call them AK, river A. Nice.

Then had QQ, its raised to ?2, 1 caller before it gets to me in the SB, make it ?8.50.

Flop KQ7

I bet ?13, guy ships for ?50.

i call, they have AK

Turn K, river 7. Nice.

Era Macaroons
Recent poker sessions have been an absolute mare.

Getting absolutely cooler or sucked out on more than you could ever imagine!

A couple of highlights:

Cash game at circus:

Guy raises to ?13, couple of callers before it gets to me with 99. I flat call also.

Flop A96 - and I ran into AA and lose ?450 pot. Nice.

I reload, get AA, get it all-in on a K high flop with KJ stacking off to me - only for him to river a J, another ?350 pot lost. Nice.

Then online it's just been ridiculous too.

KK for me raise to ?2, gets re-raised to ?5.50, I make it ?16, get a call. Flop 883 - they ship I call them AK, river A. Nice.

Then had QQ, its raised to ?2, 1 caller before it gets to me in the SB, make it ?8.50.

Flop KQ7

I bet ?13, guy ships for ?50.

i call, they have AK

Turn K, river 7. Nice.

A few corkers in there!

just spent the last 4 hours getting in a great position in one of P Stars tourneys

$11, $15K gteed

sitting about 90th , 190 left.....AA on BB.....small raises , I reraise, hes all in and I obvioulsy call (ive got about 50000 hes got about 80000)

he turns over JJ, misses J but gets 2 more diamonds, T d, R d.....'sorry' in the chatbox but im gone! nightmare!! one of the worst ways to go out.

S

I feel the pain!!!!!!

Two tournaments in a row on PKR yesterday. AA on the button first hand, big blind goes all in pre flop. I call, he turns 66, Flop 3 4 7. Turn a 5. Oot in last place!!!! into another tournament, second hand AA. Guy goes all in, I call. AQ offsuit. QQ on the flop. Oot in last place!!!!!!

Went to the ring games and got it all back plus a bit but really not the point!!!

I feel the pain!!!!!!

Two tournaments in a row on PKR yesterday. AA on the button first hand, big blind goes all in pre flop. I call, he turns 66, Flop 3 4 7. Turn a 5. Oot in last place!!!! into another tournament, second hand AA. Guy goes all in, I call. AQ offsuit. QQ on the flop. Oot in last place!!!!!!

Went to the ring games and got it all back plus a bit but really not the point!!!

Yesterday must of been bust Aces day. $33 Tournament on Pokerstars. Got all in preflop with Aces v AJo. Flop AKQ Turn 4 River 10. It always hurts.

Yup

yup but a good couple of 1k + wins really helped out ... But I am not a consistent winner (I don't play enough anymore)

You need to study... Go to these forums and read, read, read...

http://www.cardschat.com/

Get some books -

Harrington On Hold Em,

Super System 2

and learn by playing as much as possible.

Top Tips - Don't get upset when you make the right call and you lose. EG, you push all in with AA and you get rivered when some dude hits a flush with his QK.

Worry more about making the right decision rather than winning eg.. is someone pushes all in and you have JJ.. is it really the right move to call it?

Mess about with this..

http://www.thehendonmob.com/pokercalc/

Get some cards and deal yourself A 10 and maybe deal 5 or 6 other hands then put the 5 cards out. See how many times you win with A10... Do it with JJ, 22, QQ as well. Mess about and just get a good feel for what can happen.

Learn about what is the right bet to make... EG... If the pot is $100 and you bet $5, will anyone fold?

Good luck

I too have started playing poker as a novice on WH in the last few weeks.Paternity leave is great for this sort of stuff!

What i am learning is not to be annoyed at folding when you think you have a fairly good hand.

Its more rewarding to see that youve made the right decision rather than loosing money.Remember only the best hand wins.

I too have started playing poker as a novice on WH in the last few weeks.Paternity leave is great for this sort of stuff!

What i am learning is not to be annoyed at folding when you think you have a fairly good hand.

Its more rewarding to see that youve made the right decision rather than loosing money.Remember only the best hand wins.

No,

Only the best hand shown at the end wins.

If you can make the best hand fold then you can win with nothing!

This is more advanced play, but you need to get out of the mindset where this is a game about cards, its about people and controlled aggression!

Also - the other person cards are more important than yours, if you think that they are not that confident then you can maybe get the off the hand.

Again, this is more advanced but you need to know this.

No,

This is more advanced play, but you need to get out of the mindset where this is a game about cards, its about people and controlled aggression!

Also - the other person cards are more important than yours, if you think that they are not that confident then you can maybe get the off the hand.

Point taken, thanks!

No,

Yeah, but really this only applies if you notice that a particular player folds way too often, then you can take advantage.

At the lower stakes you will find more people who call with crap hands so you should concentrate on getting maximum value out of your good hands.

I would say that, as a beginner:

Never slowplay a big hand - if you bet out they wont believe that you have the goods anyway

read up about pot control - especially for hands like AK, AQ

Listen to your guts. Gut feel is very often spot-on.

Learn to lay down big hands like a set when there are four of one colour on the board and the villain seems to want all your money in the middle.

Never play with more than 5% of your bankroll on a single table.

Read as much as you can, but take a lot of what you read with a pinch of salt and remember that there are always exceptions to a rule.

Yeah, but really this only applies if you notice that a particular player folds way too often, then you can take advantage.

At the lower stakes you will find more people who call with crap hands so you should concentrate on getting maximum value out of your good hands.

I would say that, as a beginner:

Never slowplay a big hand - if you bet out they wont believe that you have the goods anyway

read up about pot control - especially for hands like AK, AQ

Listen to your guts. Gut feel is very often spot-on.

Learn to lay down big hands like a set when there are four of one colour on the board and the villain seems to want all your money in the middle.

Never play with more than 5% of your bankroll on a single table.

Read as much as you can, but take a lot of what you read with a pinch of salt and remember that there are always exceptions to a rule.

This is the most important point imo.

Slow playing only works against super aggro players.

You lose soooooo much value slow playing hands at low limit poker - bet bet bet bet and send the clowns to value town.

How tight should you actually play as a beginner?

As mentioned in a previous post i am new to poker, and always try to play tight.

But i can sit at a table and only play 3-4 hands every 30 mins, which is frustrating when you are starting out.

Depending on postion and play before me i only play 99 or better, 9 J and upwards.

Any advice?

As mentioned in a previous post i am new to poker, and always try to play tight.

But i can sit at a table and only play 3-4 hands every 30 mins, which is frustrating when you are starting out.

Depending on postion and play before me i only play 99 or better, 9 J and upwards.

Any advice?

This is important.. Position again dictates how strong your hand is. Here is a simple chart that might help.

starting-hands-chart.jpg

And here is an odds calculator for you to play with.

http://www.cardschat.com/poker-odds-calculator.php

Any advice?

Have a good look at the table and how it plays when a pot has been limped into by an early position player.

If no-one is stealing the blinds or raising every pot you should limp your small pairs. If you don't hit a set, be happy to lose a blind and fold to a bet. If you hit a set you can happily take someones stack off them. Most of your big pots will be won with a set against AK that hit an A or a K.

If the pot is re-raised before the flop you will probably want to fold, but do not limp anything other than small pairs or people will start to label you a limper and steal from you.

Later in your development you will want to start raising small pairs from even early positions, but let your feel for the game develop a bit before then.

You are better to play 2 tables very tight than one table loose. Playing 2 tables will increase your action without loosening up.

Have a good look at the table and how it plays when a pot has been limped into by an early position player.

If no-one is stealing the blinds or raising every pot you should limp your small pairs. If you don't hit a set, be happy to lose a blind and fold to a bet. If you hit a set you can happily take someones stack off them. Most of your big pots will be won with a set against AK that hit an A or a K.

If the pot is re-raised before the flop you will probably want to fold, but do not limp anything other than small pairs or people will start to label you a limper and steal from you.

Later in your development you will want to start raising small pairs from even early positions, but let your feel for the game develop a bit before then.

You are better to play 2 tables very tight than one table loose. Playing 2 tables will increase your action without loosening up.

Three things I would suggest with limping.

Never open limp as this gives up the lead in the hand. Poker is a game of information and what you have said here is I am weak. People will just raise you and the only way you can win the hand is by hitting the set which will only happen every 7.5 times you do this. Once you get comfortable raiseing with weaker hands you can take the lead by raising allowing your hand to look a lot stronger and giving you another way of winning the pot with a continuation bet.

Over limping ie limping after someone else has limped is what you want to do with small pairs and suited connectors in the early stages. This gives you a lot more protection from a raise. These hands are best in multiway pots where you can get in for cheap, easy to get away from when you miss and when you hit you can take down a big pot.

If your stack gets down to around 15BB? it gets to a stage where limping is a marginal play. You are in survival mode and is normally the best play is to lay these hands down.

Era Macaroons
Three things I would suggest with limping.

Never open limp as this gives up the lead in the hand. Poker is a game of information and what you have said here is I am weak. People will just raise you and the only way you can win the hand is by hitting the set which will only happen every 7.5 times you do this. Once you get comfortable raiseing with weaker hands you can take the lead by raising allowing your hand to look a lot stronger and giving you another way of winning the pot with a continuation bet.

Over limping ie limping after someone else has limped is what you want to do with small pairs and suited connectors in the early stages. This gives you a lot more protection from a raise. These hands are best in multiway pots where you can get in for cheap, easy to get away from when you miss and when you hit you can take down a big pot.

If your stack gets down to around 15BB? it gets to a stage where limping is a marginal play. You are in survival mode and is normally the best play is to lay these hands down.

That was so good , I read it twice:smiley2:

Your getting good tips here Cams , wish id found out a few of these earlier in my poker life!

Bigsmaks charts a funny one tho, yes it gives you good info, but follow it too much and youll be food n drink

Any of you lot play on-line at Full Tilt. I was thinking about taking up their sign up offer of matching your original deposit up to $600.

Is there any catch to this offer and is Full Tilt a good site or do you have any better recommendations. I currently play on ladbrokes but I want to try some other sites.