New Lows!

bobskeldon

The message that Scooby Doo teaches us is that you can always rely on the lesbian in a crisis so mayby you're not as homophobic as has been assumed

True, true... However I always thought the main lesson was to always choose to form a gang with Daphne, Fred and The Ginge when you split into groups while avoiding the dog and the stoner at all costs.

Failure to live by this very simple rule tended to result in being chased around abandoned amusement arcades by dramatic old fruits in seaweed costumes. :o

• Replies 475

I thought it was aimed at me, but you stole my line.

I think this thread has us all feeling as if we may be vulnerable :beer:

If thats aimed at me , then AYE, I'm on an attention seeking crusade only I'm not at home I'm at work :whistling:

Sorry m8,aimed at Socrates,enjoy your work I'm off today :thumbsup:

I'd like to call for a retrospective ban for all those who sung "Richard Gough - Child Molester."

As well as a public flogging of any of his team-mates who laughed at the time...

Was it Stevens or Brown? Cannae remember... Gough went for him however it was. :lol:

the reason i asked whether folk shouting beast at mcgregor should be banned is because it is arguably more offensive than some of the bigoted stuff you here about events that took place a long time ago (such as the irish potato famine).

it is simple stuff to start a moral crusade against language and chants at football matches but the real issue is where does it end. Bigotry, homophobic chants, personal insults directed at players and officials, sexual swear words in front of small children, inappropriate comments regarding sexual abuse, rape etc. All of these things are totally inappropriate in civilized society.

If everyone who ever attended a football match was banned for saying/shouting/singing something "bad" there would be nobody left at the games except bobskeldon and guildford jambo. so who decides who should be ejected or not? the stewards? some of them shouldn`t be allowed out of there ward for the weekend imo.

It`s a complicated issue but as i see it (and this thread hasn`t changed my mind)at the moment you have just two choices 1/ go to the match and put up with stuff which you find offensive OR 2/ don`t go. as far as i can see there are no other real options.

what i do find odd about all this is that bob went to parkhead and expected it to be somehow different to the norm. beggars belief imo.

Guest C00l K1d

No, you assume that I am a touchy feely, do gooder, tree hugging, social work 'type'! Why?

Because you didn't sing the hibees are gay at hampden

Not necessarily. Its a rather monochromatic view of history to suggest that 'king edward's army' was an english army. I'd suggest it was, like most medieval armies (and especially Norman/Angevin/Plantagenet kings) a north european affair. I dont know the wars particularly well, but i'm certain there were welsh archers (there always were) and irish footmen. Beyond that it would be a very odd medieval english army that didnt feature nobles based primarily in Northern France and mercenaries from Flanders, Germany, Scandinavia all the way down to Italy. Beyond that there were undoubtedly scots who will have fought with edward II, and there will have been people who we would now class as enlgish who fought for 'the scots' due to the fluid nature of the border at the time.

So no, flower of scotland is not about 'killing englishmen'; it is about defeating the armies of the king of england.

so, its no different from say, singing an IRA song, which are mostly about defeating the oppressive(not my opinion) british armies, which is usualy made up from lots of nationalites

just playing devils advocate here

A few points about Bob Skeltons e-mail to our (sorry HIS) club :

He implies that the Hearts away support is the "lowest of the low"

As a member of that support along with a good number of my friends, I strongly object to such generalisations which I find both offensive and completely wrong.

He says that a "significant number" of fans sing unacceptable songs.

Sorry but from where I was it is only a very small percentage.

He says that victims of child abuse may have been there with the perpetrators of such vile acts and it is wrong to expose them to such chants.

Well in my opinion the only people that should be uncomfortable being exposed to such chants would the so-called "beasts " themselves.

He advises our (sorry HIS) club to make a stance and set an example against these people.

Will Heart of Midlothian work hard to do just that and are often praised for their work in this area, they don't need some moral crusader to tell them how to deal with fans who break their already well publicised rules.

He states in his rant to our (again sorry, HIS) club that celtic and rangers are equally guilty of such behaviour.

I would be interested in seeing a copy of his e-mails that he has surely sent to those clubs. After all if someone has been left with such a feeling of "anger and frustration" over the actions of a very small number of silly wee boys last night then he must be beside himself anger and frustration with the actions that he must constantly witness by the fans of those two clubs.

In the UK, Section 63 of the Criminal Justice and Immigration Act 2008 (also known as the Extreme Pornography Act) outlaws images of a person performing or appearing to perform an act of intercourse or oral sex with an animal (whether dead or alive).

Where does this leave us when Aberdeen come to visit?

Rule Britannia is a nice wee tune, but totally historically irrelevant to the fact of its basis. Britannia was a Roman invention, after they had enslaved the inhabitants of the south of Britain. It has and has never had any relevance to Scotland. As for taunting the Tims, most Tims are unionists, so why would that song annoy them? The OF are the same team, why can't we stop playing their game and start pointing out what inbred, fewer braincells than teeth neanderthals they are.

are you sure about that bit?

They vote labour (a unionist party) and are in favour of a united Ireland. Like all unionists they are thick as....

so, its no different from say, singing an IRA song, which are mostly about defeating the oppressive(not my opinion) british armies, which is usualy made up from lots of nationalites

just playing devils advocate here

no. i dont know what an ira song is, i assume you mean songs appropriated by the irish republican cause. If so, there are certain of those songs im sure you could draw a meangful comparsion with flower of scotland. There are others you couldnt.

What you've attempted to do is akin to an ad hominim fallacy. A is like B, something about B is bad, therefore A is bad. Its not necessarily false - in this case it is - but it is most certainly a poor argument. Its essentially the reductio ad hitlerum, just fenians rather than nazis.

By all means try again, but if you've failed in understanding the words of the song and failed in linking it to something 'bad', then you might have to face facts.

Eleven and a half pages too late for some, perhaps but....

....I'm going to either close this or move it to the Shed.

I'm not sure which, but I'll make up my mind in a few minutes.

Cheers y'all.

:toasting:

Brittania has not ruled the waves since the turn of the Nineteenth century into the Twentieth Century. That is fact. This is from someone who was in the Royal Navy for Eleven years(1979-1990). Still your ignorance and lack of Naval knowledge knows no bounds.

John

well, captain birdseye, thanks for the history lesson and sharing part of your working life with us but i really couldn't give two hoots.

i have, however, been searching for a hero for sometime and i think i may have just found him.

Eleven and a half pages too late for some, perhaps but....

....I'm going to either close this or move it to the Shed.

I'm not sure which, but I'll make up my mind in a few minutes.

Cheers y'all.

:toasting:

Close the pile of 5hite.

Step away

you're out of your depth