Shankland

Thomaso

3 hours ago, bringonthesevco said:

One of the reasons we’re getting quality players at the club now is that we’re selling them the message “play well for us and you’ll get a big move” - it looks like it’s Shanklands turn.

we bought him for c£500k got 28 goals from him and may sell him for £3m - that’s tremendous business

We’ve known this is a likely scenario for a long time - I’m sure we have a plan , whether that plan is Oda/Vargas/Tagawa or whether we have our eye on someone using part of the Shankland fee we’ll have to wait and see.

can we also drop the $hite about him downing tools , 2 goals in 3 games and chasing back on Sunday like we’ve seen very rarely in recent years from our strikers.

im absolutely certain that Shanks will be 100% professional until his last day at Hearts whenever that may be ….

Until you remember that Rangers trousered £12M for an Academy right back & Aberdeen got £4M for one of their youngsters? 

• Replies 2.2k

• Mr Elwood P

• Ricardo Quaresma

• Thomaso

24 minutes ago, iainmac said:

Until you remember that Rangers trousered £12M for an Academy right back & Aberdeen got £4M for one of their youngsters? 

Plus £20M for a guy who cost, what? £250K?

8 hours ago, Jambof3tornado said:

But harsh saying he's downed tools,he just doesnt seem focused on the task at hand. Had he picked up the 2nd yellow it looked like he was after then I'd be more concerned.

Does he play thursday if his heads up his erse??

9 hours ago, Bungalow Bill said:

He’s scored 2 in 3. There is nothing to suggest he’s downing tools. He tracked back the length of the pitch on Sunday. 

Sorry lads, maybe should have explained it a bit better,  I don't think he's downed tools yet , I was just painting a scenario.

37 minutes ago, iainmac said:

Yep. Getting £3m for a striker that has just scored nearly 30 goals for us and still has 2 years remining on his contract is pathetic. 

If a bid came in over £5m there is a conversation to be had and some thinking to do. But TBH I don't want the money. I want Shanks to become a club hero here. We've had transfer fees for players before and what material difference did it make to the club? None. 

Beyond that, I don't want Savage approaching transfer dealings with 7 figures burning a hole in his pocket. Kio is a cautionary tale about spending money just because you can. The level we operate at, we don't need to spend money on transfer fees and this mythical next level folk talk about is pointless until it becomes sustainable. A transfer fee isn't sustainable income, its adhoc and a bit lucky. You can't plan for it, and you can't be assured its going to come in every year. 

That said, if he's going I'd rather sell to Saudi and hope for a Martin Boyle Scenario - have him back in c12 months because he can't stomach it out there. Move to Belgium was a shambles, and Saudi is a totally different non-western culture. 

10 hours ago, Shaggy2 said:

Who is this Jeffries Hearts “fans” keep going on about? 😜

Presumably it’s the guy who ended a 42 year Scottish Cup drought and yet folk STILL can’t spell his name. 🤦‍♂️

Urgh, you're so right. I even corrected myself as I typed it, and in doing so made it wrong! 

6 hours ago, bringonthesevco said:

One of the reasons we’re getting quality players at the club now is that we’re selling them the message “play well for us and you’ll get a big move” - it looks like it’s Shanklands turn.

we bought him for c£500k got 28 goals from him and may sell him for £3m - that’s tremendous business …

We’ve known this is a likely scenario for a long time - I’m sure we have a plan , whether that plan is Oda/Vargas/Tagawa or whether we have our eye on someone using part of the Shankland fee we’ll have to wait and see.

can we also drop the $hite about him downing tools , 2 goals in 3 games and chasing back on Sunday like we’ve seen very rarely in recent years from our strikers.

im absolutely certain that Shanks will be 100% professional until his last day at Hearts whenever that may be ….

Tremendous business for the buying club - if we sold him for £3m is just another example of how useless our club is at selling players.

Seaside Dave

7mil at least. Hopefully if we get that money it will all be invested in new players rather than sit in the bank

9 minutes ago, briever said:

Tremendous business for the buying club - if we sold him for £3m is just another example of how useless our club is at selling players.

😆

Honest tae ....

Dear Saudi’s don’t bother contacting Heart of Midlothian F.C. about buying our striker Lawrence Shankland unless you’re prepared to offer £8 million with full payment paid up front. Your faithfully, Ann Budge.

6 hours ago, Taffin said:

Who's being ageist now?

Do I agree it's a similar situation? No.

Explain! 

5 hours ago, gazmcduff said:

🤣🤣🤣

Calm down and/or turn the other cheek old timer!

I don't think you have followed the mind-numbing repetitive slurs with absolutely no facts except "my opinion." 

Downed tools? He was chasing back Killie players from their box to ours when they broke away from our corner at the weekend. Some people really are ****ing idiots. 

17 minutes ago, colinmaroon said:

Explain! 

Tarring 'this generation'with the same brush and saying they know nothing. 

or do you mean how it's not similar as a transfer? In which case someone already did a fantastic job of articulating that earlier in the thread.

Jeezy peeps...I thought boomers being persnickety and slow on the uptake was a trite stereotype, maybe not 😏

2 hours ago, troonmaroon said:

Urgh, you're so right. I even corrected myself as I typed it, and in doing so made it wrong! 

He was shite anyway only scored pens (if he leaves)

Best striker since Robbo (if he stays) until he has one poor game then it’ll be we should’ve cashed in when we had the chance

Its the JKB way!

1 minute ago, Taffin said:

Tarring 'this generation'with the same brush and saying they know nothing. 

or do you mean how it's not similar as a transfer? In which case someone already did a fantastic job of articulating that earlier in the thread.

Jeezy peeps...I thought boomers being persnickety and slow on the uptake was a trite stereotype, maybe not 😏

There you are!  Nothing about the simple point I made originally that two players generations apart faced technically the same situation, that they were "tied" to the club and could not go anywhere without the club permitting it. 

Now explain how that is not the case without the insults. That's the reason I made the generation difference in thinking. 

If you explain why I'm wrong in that simple comparison fair enough. 

Boyces beard
10 minutes ago, Sooperstar said:

Downed tools? He was chasing back Killie players from their box to ours when they broke away from our corner at the weekend. Some people really are ****ing idiots. 

8 minutes ago, colinmaroon said:

There you are!  Nothing about the simple point I made originally that two players generations apart faced technically the same situation, that they were "tied" to the club and could not go anywhere without the club permitting it. 

Now explain how that is not the case without the insults. That's the reason I made the generation difference in thinking. 

If you explain why I'm wrong in that simple comparison fair enough. 

It was explained to you already before I posted. You started the insults, so don't act like it's uncalled for now that you've got some back.

Is it similar? No, not really. Read the great post explaining it by @A_A wehatethehibs

12 hours ago, Shaggy2 said:

Who is this Jeffries Hearts “fans” keep going on about? 😜

Presumably it’s the guy who ended a 42 year Scottish Cup drought and yet folk STILL can’t spell his name. 🤦‍♂️

200w.gif?cid=790b76113c6kxmr01l3kb600ff8

19 minutes ago, Rudy T said:

He was shite anyway only scored pens (if he leaves)

Best striker since Robbo (if he stays) until he has one poor game then it’ll be we should’ve cashed in when we had the chance

Its the JKB way!

:D So true!!

Amidst interest from other teams, it would be absolutely fantastic if we could tie Shankland down. 

It sounds like his agent is pimping him out to everybody / anybody, but that reads like they want a discussion on his salary. At the end of the day, things are good for him here. He's playing well, captaining the team, getting into the national team squads and has been able to put down roots. I really hope we are open to trying to meet him somewhere on his wage demands. If we could stretch to £10k pw on a 2 year extension, that would be absolutely perfect. Keep our main man happy, and allow us the security to know we can build the team around him. 

I know it sounds like a lot, but as others have mentioned, we're not replacing those goals. The most prolific striker since Robbo is probably the time to stretch the wage budget. If not now, then when? Seems a no brainer to me. If the club is antsy about it, maybe they could look at some sort of total deal (i.e factor in an appearance bonus that tops it up to £10k, something which would mitigate our risk if he does get injured etc). 

Our best offer may fall miles short of what he can potentially get elsewhere, but I'd like to have confidence that the club have tried and we're confident ourselves we've done our best to try and keep him. 

I've a feeling with Shanks that its right club right time for him here and that he'd struggle to replicate his goal scoring elsewhere. At Dundee Utd in the top flight, his goals dried up because they weren't getting as many chances etc. and abroad he really struggled in Belgium and "hated it". I just hope he appreciates this himself, and can get round the table with his agent, Mckinley & Savage and thrash out an extension which works for all. 

Thing is, we need to do this now. It really can't wait to the point where running the deal down becomes appealing. 

2 hours ago, mitch41 said:

Dear Saudi’s don’t bother contacting Heart of Midlothian F.C. about buying our striker Lawrence Shankland unless you’re prepared to offer £8 million with full payment paid up front. Your faithfully, Ann Budge.

PS don’t forget the sell on fee 😉

Edited by One five

11 hours ago, TheBigO said:

Ken eh.  Genuinely wasn't impressed and straight back to trusty auld steak pie.  Kebab pies from McKirdys in Port Seton is how it's done.  However, if you know them, this doesn't help the Hibs infiltrator accusations leveled against me!!!! Ye buy yer pies fi a hibby, pies fi a hiiiibby, ye buy yer pies fi a hiiibby....

Should have known all along from the infamous Pies kit!

7 hours ago, iainmac said:

And Aberdeen would have lost out on a youth who got away (Shankland).

Shankland was never taken seriously in Scotland. From his days with Ayr Utd when he was banging them in and Dundee Utd who were happy/lucky to get what they got for him. He found his spiritual home at Tynie. Confidence sky high, and his best season ever. I reckon he'll have a sell on clause which is lower than £3m.

8 hours ago, Seaside Dave said:

7mil at least. Hopefully if we get that money it will all be invested in new players rather than sit in the bank

Will it?

3 hours ago, Section Q said:

Shankland was never taken seriously in Scotland. From his days with Ayr Utd when he was banging them in and Dundee Utd who were happy/lucky to get what they got for him. He found his spiritual home at Tynie. Confidence sky high, and his best season ever. I reckon he'll have a sell on clause which is lower than £3m.

Based on what. He failed on his move abroad. He had an average season at dundee utd got a move abroad and never done much they're too. Wasn't his team relegated aswell? Think he jumped at the chance to sign for us. 

5 hours ago, Jambo61 said:

Ffs we bought him to sell him.......he's now sellable.........wtf do you want?

The correct going price that all Saudi clubs are over paying for players this season 

7 million or bolt 

24 minutes ago, skacel103 said:

Based on what. He failed on his move abroad. He had an average season at dundee utd got a move abroad and never done much they're too. Wasn't his team relegated aswell? Think he jumped at the chance to sign for us. 

Not sure what you mean. I said he wasn't taken seriously in Scotland. You seem to be saying the same thing. Maybe you should read my post again.

Just now, Section Q said:

Not sure what you mean. I said he wasn't taken seriously in Scotland. You seem to be saying the same thing. Maybe you should read my post again.

I think the point is why would hearts who were negotiating from a position of strength allow for a release clause being built into the contract?

Everyone just assuming because the Saudis want him he's off 

He's already been abroad in Belgium and didn't like it, he's got a young kid now maybe he's content where he is, money isn't everything to some people, he's club captain 

Boyle went there and got relegated and hated it, he's certainly no going to sign for a big side out there 

Never been there myself and don't want too, it's no a place that appeals to me at all 

We may just want an improved wage, maybe the highest at the club to keep him sweet 

In saying that if someone offered me say 30k a week you have to think, can I go there for a year or two and  that sets me up for life and I come home

For me it's all paper talk just now but if it does happen and we don't get s replacement before our window you can say goodbye to any chance of  3rd, the club aren't daft 

9 minutes ago, bistokid said:

I think the point is why would hearts who were negotiating from a position of strength allow for a release clause being built into the contract?

The player wasn't in a weak position when he signed for us. He would have been on a decent contract as a million £ player would be. Release clauses are common in players' contracts. Agents love them. 

It would seriously need to be north of £6mill for us even to think about it unless he has a lower figure as a sell on clause .

Personally if the club was to get such an offer, then he could go with his head held high. He would be set to receive a life changing contract value which we should all be happy for him and his family .

He has demonstrated at Hearts that he is undoubtedly the best Scottish striker around , even if that’s not recognised by the current Scotland manager

6 hours ago, Jambo61 said:

Ffs we bought him to sell him.......he's now sellable.........wtf do you want?

No we didn't. We bought him to play football. 

1 minute ago, Bull's-eye said:

Is he away yet ?

No. But we have “experts” on here telling us he won’t be going anywhere unless we get 6 million + 🤦‍♀️

7 hours ago, tian447 said:

Should have known all along from the infamous Pies kit!

Haha.  Look, I'm an expert at very little, a master of no trades, but if I had to name my specialist subject it'd be pies or sausages.  The eating of.

The club often gets bashed for poor signings, deals, contracts.  Let's give some credit for signing Shankland on a 3 year deal.  It means, with 2 years left, we can reject anything below what we would deem a good price.  The debate is now about what we think he's worth in current market.  Personally I don't think we should respond to anything less than £4M.  There is stupid money out there so if he does go let's bag a wee windfall.  

I think we’ve always had the plan that if Shankland scored as many goals as we thought he might, we’d sell him on for a profit. Hence the significant outlay to bring him in. I also think that’s the reason he’s been made captain so his stocks even higher. 

Edited by droid

Realistically we will be in a stronger bargaining position if we qualify for the next round on Thursday, win and we can say his value to the club is around £5m because his goals could help us qualify for the group stages. 

Tbh if it's got as far as the papers then I feel we will see him go, the question is how much? Can we get a bidding war going and drive his price up.

Whatever the outcome, the person signed to fill his boots will have a huge expectancy on them 

Bit concerning if he goes when you consider losing his goals AND Josh’s

We’re not exactly riddled with goal scorers 

15 minutes ago, Jamhammer said:

Bit concerning if he goes when you consider losing his goals AND Josh’s

We’re not exactly riddled with goal scorers 

To be fair, I think we don't know yet if we are or aren't riddled with goal scorers. We brought a lot of attacking players in over the close season. Need a bit of time to see their goal scoring rate of return.

1 minute ago, Saint Jambo said:

To be fair, I think we don't know yet if we are or aren't riddled with goal scorers. We brought a lot of attacking players in over the close season. Need a bit of time to see their goal scoring rate of return.

Fair enough

Was impressed with Vargas work rate at least on Sunday. 

4 minutes ago, johnking123 said:

Different players. But Boyce will make up for Gino's goals. Think we will get more goals from the wings.

Just a shame it doesn't look like we'll get goals from the middle of the park for yet another season.

11 hours ago, OTT said:

:D So true!!

Amidst interest from other teams, it would be absolutely fantastic if we could tie Shankland down. 

It sounds like his agent is pimping him out to everybody / anybody, but that reads like they want a discussion on his salary. At the end of the day, things are good for him here. He's playing well, captaining the team, getting into the national team squads and has been able to put down roots. I really hope we are open to trying to meet him somewhere on his wage demands. If we could stretch to £10k pw on a 2 year extension, that would be absolutely perfect. Keep our main man happy, and allow us the security to know we can build the team around him. 

I know it sounds like a lot, but as others have mentioned, we're not replacing those goals. The most prolific striker since Robbo is probably the time to stretch the wage budget. If not now, then when? Seems a no brainer to me. If the club is antsy about it, maybe they could look at some sort of total deal (i.e factor in an appearance bonus that tops it up to £10k, something which would mitigate our risk if he does get injured etc). 

Our best offer may fall miles short of what he can potentially get elsewhere, but I'd like to have confidence that the club have tried and we're confident ourselves we've done our best to try and keep him. 

I've a feeling with Shanks that its right club right time for him here and that he'd struggle to replicate his goal scoring elsewhere. At Dundee Utd in the top flight, his goals dried up because they weren't getting as many chances etc. and abroad he really struggled in Belgium and "hated it". I just hope he appreciates this himself, and can get round the table with his agent, Mckinley & Savage and thrash out an extension which works for all. 

Thing is, we need to do this now. It really can't wait to the point where running the deal down becomes appealing. 

On shanks time in Belgium Shanks was on open goal saying he was played at RWB all season if that’s true that might explain his lack of goals. 

4 minutes ago, Chimp said:

Just a shame it doesn't look like we'll get goals from the middle of the park for yet another season.

Our new Australian mid will hopefully do that.

Sorry I'm a bit behind I just jumped to the end of the thread has there been anything concrete mentioned by the Saudis or still just the paper chat from the other day ?