Edinburgh refuse/bin collection strike starts this week...

Gards

37 minutes ago, Boof said:

Surely the 'rubbish piling up' is at least partly down to selfish, ignorant arseholes who cannot be bothered to take their shite home with them?

I'm not trying to defend the council, government or whomever else might be deemed to be responsible but, FFS, if a bin is crammed to overflowing...don't try and pack something more in or leave your cardboard coffee cup teetering on the top.

It’s not an unfair view and there are definitely ignorant arseholes out there but some people will have no where to put their rubbish. Taking it home isn’t an option for many homeowners especially those in flats. 

• Replies 580

• frankblack

• The Real Maroonblood

• The Mighty Thor

7 minutes ago, Mikey1874 said:

What is undeniable is the union plan has worked. Maximizing publicity for the issue. 

And hopefully the workers get a fair wage increase, not decrease.

Was in Edinburgh yesterday and first thing that greeted us when we walked up from Waverley station was rubbish and beggars. A walk along princes street never improved things, just sad.
George street was quite a bit better but I’d imagine businesses may be doing their bit in cleaning up especially with so many outdoor bars. Hope it’s sorted soon

1 hour ago, Boof said:

Surely the 'rubbish piling up' is at least partly down to selfish, ignorant arseholes who cannot be bothered to take their shite home with them?

I'm not trying to defend the council, government or whomever else might be deemed to be responsible but, FFS, if a bin is crammed to overflowing...don't try and pack something more in or leave your cardboard coffee cup teetering on the top.

I've started taking my stuff home that I might normally try and put in a bin, so yes.

A cafe owner from Bruntsfield was on Radio Scotland encouraging her customers to bring cups etc back because she will put them with her waste for private uplifts.

There are some solutions.

May be drop in the ocean, but every little helps.

Edited by DETTY29

1 hour ago, Dazo said:

It’s not an unfair view and there are definitely ignorant arseholes out there but some people will have no where to put their rubbish. Taking it home isn’t an option for many homeowners especially those in flats. 

Yep, the flats is very valid but for the next week folk should try their best as long as it isn't impacting their own house hygiene.

In the office yesterday and the state of the place was disgusting! Rubbish everywhere, even went down the Scotsman Steps and the rubbish that people have just left on ledges inside is building up. Won't be long until the rats are out as well with the amount just lying on the sides of the road and pavements. God knows what it will be like after 12 days if nothing is agreed. Terrible image for the city really at the busiest time of year. 

32 minutes ago, DETTY29 said:

Yep, the flats is very valid but for the next week folk should try their best as long as it isn't impacting their own house hygiene.

Absolutely and most right thinking people will try to do the right thing. Luckily I’ve got a detached garage so I can store there if needed but this will also start to attract unwanted vermin. Having just been away my bins are fairly empty so I’ll be okay for a wee while. 

An unintended consequence might be that people will actually start to think more about the amount of waste that they create and take steps to reduce it.

29 minutes ago, Boof said:

An unintended consequence might be that people will actually start to think more about the amount of waste that they create and take steps to reduce it.

That would be a step forward.

dobmisterdobster
1 hour ago, Mikey1874 said:

Nothing is stopping the department store owner from raising her employee's wages. 🤔

dobmisterdobster
3 hours ago, Joey J J Jr Shabadoo said:

And hopefully the workers get a fair wage increase, not decrease.

Why isn't the First Minister opening her cheque book then?

Too busy going to the Fringe to be doing any actual work.

8 hours ago, John Findlay said:

And it's back over the net to Graygo

Not really, I post a link showing they make a profit, he posts one saying something about debt. 

Pretty sure a company can have debt and still be profitable.

Edit: I'm going to respectfully bow out of the discussion because sticking up for the arseholes at CEC is giving me the boak.

Edited by graygo

3 hours ago, dobmisterdobster said:

Why isn't the First Minister opening her cheque book then?

Too busy going to the Fringe to be doing any actual work.

Probably because the SNP are traditionaly Conservative.

If COSLA's offer of 5% was put to the members would they accept it?

5% across the board does not help thelowest paid workers.

I hope that if the 5% across the board was put to the members that it would be rejected.

If not then it shows that the better paid do not care about their fellow workers and that would cause untold, long term damage within the working environment.

2 hours ago, joondalupjambo said:

I hope that if the 5% across the board was put to the members that it would be rejected.

If not then it shows that the better paid do not care about their fellow workers and that would cause untold, long term damage within the working environment.

I don't think they will accept it. Be pushing for at least 6% plus more for lowest paid. Maybe deal could have less for highest paid.

I do think 5% would have been accepted originally. 2% was the original offer. 

The Hogfather
2 hours ago, joondalupjambo said:

The noises coming out the unions seems to suggest 5% will be knocked back.

2 hours ago, Joey J J Jr Shabadoo said:

Probably because the SNP are traditionaly Conservative.

Do people actually understand how the SG budget works I wonder…😐

I seen a Scottish Labour mp tweeting that NS should nationalise the energy companies yesterday too. 
Clueless doesn’t quite cover it. 

Edited by jack D and coke

8 minutes ago, jack D and coke said:

Do people actually understand how the SG budget works I wonder…😐

I seen a Scottish Labour mp tweeting that NS should nationalise the energy companies yesterday too. 
Clueless doesn’t quite cover it. 

If the MP wants to do that then he needs to explain how he is going to fund the buy out. Absolute Billions. Iberdrola (Spain) for example own ScottishPower for instance. Can’t just nationalise because they want to. 

Just an example of why nationalisation was scrubbed in 1970's/80's as unions tried to run country while happy to see the public being screwed over.

Private companies would be more than happy to take over service and wouldn't run such a shit service. 

Reduce council tax and leave it to individual households/businesses to pay for garbage pick up.

9 minutes ago, Malinga the Swinga said:

Just an example of why nationalisation was scrubbed in 1970's/80's as unions tried to run country while happy to see the public being screwed over.

Private companies would be more than happy to take over service and wouldn't run such a shit service. 

Reduce council tax and leave it to individual households/businesses to pay for garbage pick up.

That would lead to more rubbish being abandoned in the street.

18 minutes ago, 1971fozzy said:

If the MP wants to do that then he needs to explain how he is going to fund the buy out. Absolute Billions. Iberdrola (Spain) for example own ScottishPower for instance. Can’t just nationalise because they want to. 

I think the approach is not to nationalise but create a public energy company to complete with capped prices.

See how many customers the others have left after that.  Of course the company must be financially sustainable.

1 minute ago, Ray Gin said:

That would lead to more rubbish being abandoned in the street.

Yip.

You need to provide the services.  However, the council could outsource the work where there is no strikes in the contract.

1 minute ago, frankblack said:

I think the approach is not to nationalise but create a public energy company to complete with capped prices.

See how many customers the others have left after that.  Of course the company must be financially sustainable.

Ah. That’s different. However the transmission and distribution infrastructure wouldn’t transfer, so in essence what’s proposed is a government selling the product like all the ones that went under. But at reduced rates. I can see the merit in it to be fair but very costly, and not re-nationalising the industries.

I digress from the topic, so apologies

16 minutes ago, Malinga the Swinga said:

*cough*

The railways 

The water companies 

The energy companies 

25 minutes ago, 1971fozzy said:

I think it’s documented it’s cheaper than this subsidising of them that they’re planning. 
Seems quite common now that private companies that pay hideous salaries and dividends end up getting tax payer funded bailouts. Privatised profits and socialised losses. 
I think the last few years have hammered home how utilities that you need for a life and for the good of the environment having these things in private hands isn’t right at all. 
They should be state owned imo. 

26 minutes ago, 1971fozzy said:

Ah. That’s different. However the transmission and distribution infrastructure wouldn’t transfer, so in essence what’s proposed is a government selling the product like all the ones that went under. But at reduced rates. I can see the merit in it to be fair but very costly, and not re-nationalising the industries.

I digress from the topic, so apologies

That is just my opinion.  The tories would do whatever puts cash into their donors' pockets over the public, though.

26 minutes ago, jack D and coke said:

I think it’s documented it’s cheaper than this subsidising of them that they’re planning. 
Seems quite common now that private companies that pay hideous salaries and dividends end up getting tax payer funded bailouts. Privatised profits and socialised losses. 
I think the last few years have hammered home how utilities that you need for a life and for the good of the environment having these things in private hands isn’t right at all. 

They are in the likes of France and we subsidise it by paying extra here.

27 minutes ago, jack D and coke said:

If it saves us consumers money then I’m all for it. But the government’s at the time sold the Crown Jewels.  Thing is the state don’t run things very well just now. Can only imagine all utility company’s staffs would be on strike too right now

2 minutes ago, frankblack said:

Frances government already had huge shareholding’s in their electricity company IIRC so was different in the way they obtained control again

9 hours ago, jonesy said:

Exactly. Passed one this morning with wee green bags of dugshite falling out of it. Folk in cities shouldn't be allowed dogs anyway, but to think some folk have walked past that and said, That's the best place to put a steaming bag of toalie really shows up humans for what they are: lazy, selfish barstewards.

Hope seagulls, foxes and rats are paying council tax, because they appear to be the best represented demographics in the city at the moment.

Aye? 🤣

12 hours ago, Boof said:

It’s quite depressing to see how much recyclable materials are put in the wrong bins. I know there’s not enough recycling bins but even crushing boxes and tins make a difference. 

Having just a quick look at the bins in Gorgie today as I walked the dogs and picked up tickets,I did wonder why the BBC picked Newton Streets bins, then saw they’re by far the worst with the bags ripped open 🤔🤷🏾‍♂️?!?!

39 minutes ago, frankblack said:

It’s like a wind up at times man it really is. 

That's some amount of crap business piles up. Maybe they should do something about cutting down on it, anaw. Hopefully plastic will be consigned to history, very soon.

1 hour ago, The Hogfather said:

Glad to see the 5% has been rejected. 

Hopefully they get told they are getting **** all then, and we put their jobs out to tender.

23 minutes ago, frankblack said:

Hopefully they get told they are getting **** all then, and we put their jobs out to tender.

Is there a quantity of new labour supply that's suddenly appeared on the scene?

The Hogfather
23 minutes ago, frankblack said:

Since they’re representing all council employees within Edinburgh, I think that attitude is pretty ****ing stupid :laugh2:

1 minute ago, Victorian said:

Is there a quantity of new labour supply that's suddenly appeared on the scene?

For unskilled grunt work?  Don't think that will be a problem.

4 minutes ago, The Hogfather said:

Since they’re representing all council employees within Edinburgh, I think that attitude is pretty ****ing stupid :laugh2:

No, the council are letting militant Marxist unions take the piss out of the council tax payers of Edinburgh.

Hopefully that zombie government in WM puts some heavy handed trade union legislation in place pronto (once that pointless leaders contest is resolved in next week or so).

I work in the private sector.  If I don't like what I'm getting paid, I can work harder to earn a promotion or find another job elsewhere.

Edited by frankblack

3 minutes ago, frankblack said:

No, the council are letting militant Marxist unions take the piss out of the council tax payers of Edinburgh.

Hopefully that zombie government in WM puts some heavy handed trade union legislation in place pronto (once that pointless leaders contest is resolved in next week or so).

I work in the private sector.  If I don't like what I'm getting paid, I can work harder to earn a promotion or find another job elsewhere.

City centre residents not bothering much. Nearer me there's much more effort to keep things tidy. 

The Hogfather
On 22/08/2022 at 07:42, frankblack said:

Not a tory voter

I don’t think anyone’s buying this anymore. Classic Tory tactic going after the working man who wants to protect his spending power. 

Absolute gammon man :laugh: 

1 minute ago, The Hogfather said:

I don’t think anyone’s buying this anymore. Classic Tory tactic going after the working man who wants to protect his spending power. 

Absolute gammon man :laugh: 

No, I'm not a Tory voter and if you were a forum regular you would know that.

I've reported you for that unwanted personal abuse, which is the sign of someone who has lost the argument.

The Hogfather

No, I'm not a Tory voter and if you were a forum regular you would know that.

I've reported you for that unwanted personal abuse, which is the sign of someone who has lost the argument.

Jesus, I had you pegged for a few things. An absolute cry baby wasn’t one of them. 

Still, maybe not wish average working class people lose their jobs in future, then people might not think you’re a colossal *****. 

1 minute ago, The Hogfather said:

Jesus, I had you pegged for a few things. An absolute cry baby wasn’t one of them. 

Still, maybe not wish average working class people lose their jobs in future, then people might not think you’re a colossal *****. 

Don't go greeting because you start name calling like a 5 year old once you lose an argument.

The council are paid to provide services for the city of Edinburgh.  If their employees aren't willing to provide those services they can source others that can.  One thing I've learned in many years working in the private sector is that everyone is expendable no matter their experience or skill.  Anyone who thinks the employers owe them a living is seriously deluded.

2 minutes ago, frankblack said:

Don't go greeting because you start name calling like a 5 year old once you lose an argument.

The council are paid to provide services for the city of Edinburgh.  If their employees aren't willing to provide those services they can source others that can.  One thing I've learned in many years working in the private sector is that everyone is expendable no matter their experience or skill.  Anyone who thinks the employers owe them a living is seriously deluded.

The right to strike is still accepted as part of reasonable freedom in this and other democracies.

Slippery slope to facism to deny that.

Edited by Mikey1874