What is woke and how does it impact you?

• Replies 1.5k

• JudyJudyJudy

• Unknown user

• Dawnrazor

• il Duce McTarkin

On 23/04/2023 at 09:47, Smithee said:

c39b8cc90c0bc79bbb50717b0ca7db8393878e51

Being an ignorant ****ing twat is way more fun, but.

Mind when Burke and posh twat Enfield were openly mocking the British underclass with their Wayne and Waynetta skit. Woke AF.

15 minutes ago, Dirk McTarkin said:

Mind when Burke and posh twat Enfield were openly mocking the British underclass with their Wayne and Waynetta skit. Woke AF.

Mind when they were openly mocking the upwardly mobile with loadsamoney, or the upper classes with Tim Nice but Dim. 

Comedians AF

1 minute ago, Smithee said:

Mind when they were openly mocking the upwardly mobile with loadsamoney, or the upper classes with Tim Nice but Dim. 

Comedians AF

Tim nice but dim eh. Mocking the afflicted. Har-de-har. Woke AF. 

Wee need more mocking those with mental problems. Mocking those frm ethnic minorities (Scousers), or that German bloke who kept apologising for the war. Woke AF.

Burke can **** off. 

Just now, Dirk McTarkin said:

Tim nice but dim eh. Mocking the afflicted. Har-de-har. Woke AF. 

Wee need more mocking those with mental problems. Mocking those frm ethnic minorities (Scousers), or that German bloke who kept apologising for the war. Woke AF.

Burke can **** off. 

toryboy.jpg

The old, the young, the posh, the common, and my favourite...

119950-11.jpg

4 minutes ago, Smithee said:

toryboy.jpg

The old, the young, the posh, the common, and my favourite...

119950-11.jpg

But all white.

See, it's ok to be woke and mock the whiteys, as long as they're not trannies and that, but go after the blacks and jews and it's cancel time, boyo.

The hypocrisy of wokery is just great. Makes a handy arsehole barometer.

2 minutes ago, jonesy said:

All racists: white :whistling:

Nope, just all the best ones.

Edited by Dirk McTarkin

1 hour ago, Dirk McTarkin said:

👍👍👍 

1 hour ago, Dirk McTarkin said:

But all white.

See, it's ok to be woke and mock the whiteys, as long as they're not trannies and that, but go after the blacks and jews and it's cancel time, boyo.

The hypocrisy of wokery is just great. Makes a handy arsehole barometer.

👍👍

59 minutes ago, Lord BJ said:

Isn’t the current theory only white people can be racist. So black and other minorities are unable to be racist as the power dynamic is with white people and not black on minorities. Therefore, white people never face racism but only racial prejudice as system is rigged in white peoples favour. Ergo minorities can never be racist just prejudiced. 

Well that that theory.  

Granted Diane Abbot is maybe realising that’s not the theory that seems all that accepted outside a certain demographic. 

Aside from being a load of half-arsed, pseudo reductionist, tosh, that 'theory' implies that there are different tiers of racism based on, erm, race, which in itsef is a fundamentally racist concept.

If it was up to me I'd abolish the term 'racism' as not fit for purpose. It ignores nuance - as the above theory tries to delve into, albeit in the most cack-handed and amateurish way - and implies fundamental differences in humanity when the biological reality is that there is none. If you want to start getting into power structures, etc, then it's not really racism you're talking about, is it. You're talking about the sum-total of the geopolitical and economic historical process to date, in which racism can be deployed as a catch-all term for 'justifiable' kuntery and general inhumanity.

There was some high heid yin Jewish bloke on the BBC Jockland 9 o'clock news last night being interviewed about the Abbot thing. The laddie spoke really well on the matter, with the take home message that all prejudice, regardless of whom it is from and onto whom it is projected, should be treated as equal. 

Mainstream wokery, although doubtlessly well intentioned in many cases, tends to skirt around or gloss over this fact, thus shutting down the constructive diaogues from which real, tangible, progress is generally forthcoming.

On 20/04/2023 at 11:35, Smithee said:

I get it, Egypt sees itself as different from the rest of Africa, more influenced by the Mediterranean civilisations, and fights hard to maintain its identity. I mean, it's the Arab Republic of Egypt, and part of it isn't actually in Africa.

The Ptolomeic line was Macedonian and white, going 200+ years back, although we don't know who her mother was.

It might not seem that big a deal to us, but Hugh Grant starring in Braveheart would have had many kicking off here!

Shug Grant (good Scottish name) has a Scottish old man. Seen a thing about his and Guy Ritchies dad (hes Scottish too) were in the same Scottish regiment years ago. Some useless info for you there :lol: 
So he’s more Scottish than Mel Gibson tbf.

Hes a good lad too imo. 

21 minutes ago, Lord BJ said:

I guess ‘woke’ just feels like something is part of a nonsense culture war to me. 

Keep it simple, keep it real.

22 minutes ago, Lord BJ said:

Just realised no real point 🤷🏻‍♂️

The best kind of post.

18 minutes ago, jack D and coke said:

Shug Grant (good Scottish name) has a Scottish old man. Seen a thing about his and Guy Ritchies dad (hes Scottish too) were in the same Scottish regiment years ago. Some useless info for you there :lol: 
So he’s more Scottish than Mel Gibson tbf.

Hes a good lad too imo. 

Aye, I should have gone with Jackie Chan right enough.

11 hours ago, Smithee said:

Comedians AF

But her sterling work as a trans gender rapist who had sex with a girl who thought she was a boy in Kevin and Perry go large , as well as voyeurism and revenge porn was truly ground breaking.

2 hours ago, doctor jambo said:

But her sterling work as a trans gender rapist who had sex with a girl who thought she was a boy in Kevin and Perry go large , as well as voyeurism and revenge porn was truly ground breaking.

:laugh2: Kathy Burke's a top Jimmie rustler, who knew?

1 minute ago, BlueRiver said:

Didn't happen. 

Yes no medical people would insist on " mom" shes a narcissist and a liar as someone else pointed out. 

2 minutes ago, BlueRiver said:

Didn't happen. 

and why are they always sitting in their cars when they have their wee temper tantrum. ?

2 minutes ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

and why are they always sitting in their cars when they have their wee temper tantrum. ?

I have no idea. Probably so that no one else calls them on their lies and nonsense. 

19 minutes ago, Smithee said:

:laugh2: Kathy Burke's a top Jimmie rustler, who knew?

So was General Pinochet, tbf.

33 minutes ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

Erse

Will still have taken her maternity leave for each child.

instead of parental leave, which is vastly worse, or paternity leave which is equally dire

Just now, doctor jambo said:

Will still have taken her maternity leave for each child.

instead of parental leave, which is vastly worse, or paternity leave which is equally dire

Good point. That may be a challenge to her  identity". It just worries me that these type are parents?  How they hell will they parent their children ? Sadly their children will grow up with various neurosis i feel. 

1 hour ago, jonesy said:

If you can’t deal with objective reality, your bairns are in for a tough ride through life. 

Yes they will be so damaged 

The auld 'Go to North Korea' argument. The woke right  like a bit of whataboutery. Christ, they even set up two new fud factories on tv to bore them about it. Has Neil Oliver been sectioned yet. The Hoose jocks Hoose jock. 

Anyway, what are the woke brigade crying about today? :yadayada: 

Let me guess. Karen x3 is greetin cause he's feart of something. Probably something he had to go through, back in the day.

And the rest just have sore knees from the Homage to their overlords.  

Oh and non white immigration.

Oh and the SNP :yadayada: 

Maybe folk should go to the land of the free and see what happens to folk minding their own business, when the police turn up. Don't forget your ID, it may stop you from being murdered by cop. Oh and it helps to be white.  

But NK, what a place. 

Sorry, last bit. For all you woke mob , there's a new party for you. Patriotic Alternative, I'm sure you'll all blend in. You know, the thing you want immigrants to do.

9 hours ago, jonesy said:

Fair point.

Contrary to your edit, that wouldn't be an issue for Tree-Trunk McTarkin.

She, on the other hand, might be wishing she'd dropped another couple of carpet-rats.

3 hours ago, ri Alban said:

The auld 'Go to North Korea' argument. The woke right  like a bit of whataboutery. Christ, they even set up two new fud factories on tv to bore them about it. Has Neil Oliver been sectioned yet. The Hoose jocks Hoose jock. 

Let me guess. Karen x3 is greetin cause he's feart of something. Probably something he had to go through, back in the day.

Maybe folk should go to the land of the free and see what happens to folk minding their own business, when the police turn up. Don't forget your ID, it may stop you from being murdered by cop. Oh and it helps to be white.  

But NK, what a place. 

Sorry, last bit. For all you woke mob , there's a new party for you. Patriotic Alternative, I'm sure you'll all blend in. You know, the thing you want immigrants to do.

marty-feldman.jpg

4 hours ago, ri Alban said:

But NK, what a place. 

Writing that bit in bold in the middle of a multi-paragraph, unhinged manifesto is some superb work. 

48 minutes ago, jonesy said:

I’ve heard that even the Japanese lads call you ‘Bonsai’. 

They've a keen sense of irony.

5 hours ago, ri Alban said:

But NK, what a place. 

You really need to start your mornings in a more calm mood dear ! It’s not good for your blood pressure to rant so early in the day ! 

2 minutes ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

You really need to start your mornings in a more calm mood dear ! It’s not good for your blood pressure to rant so early in the day ! 

ri's early morning ravings are a thing of beauty and an absolute joy, tbh.

2 minutes ago, Dirk McTarkin said:

ri's early morning ravings are a thing of beauty and an absolute joy, tbh.

They do make me laugh tbf even though he usually rips the pish out of me 😂 however they are almost poetic 

24 minutes ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

But not principled enough to turn down a role in a major TV series playing a CIS character. 

13 minutes ago, Tazio said:

But not principled enough to turn down a role in a major TV series playing a CIS character. 

Yep . Hypocrisy . Thought only

“ cis” should play “ cos” ( I hate that word , it’s all part of the compelled speech ) trans can only play trans etc ? 

I take it "Go Woke and go broke" is the new term for "cancel culture" then? 

Edited by Norm

5 minutes ago, Norm said:

I take it "Go Woke and go broke" is the new term for "cancel culture" then? 

Think it has been in use a while. It more refers to the idea (I don't think there's any concrete evidence to support it though) that when a brand goes "woke" it leads to substantial financial loss in the aftermath.

I'd previously seen it used to refer to the Gillete advertising campaign a few years back. 

3 minutes ago, BlueRiver said:

Reading that it just seems less wokism and more people switched off by unnecessary changes. Why does their need to be BDSM in Dickens? 

Not sure why they did the changes. Probably for ratings ? That's the only reason. However the rating slumped.  I don't mind " reimagining " of classics but this went too far. Apparently there are spanking scenes in it lol.  Its a great novel and was already filmed magnificently by David Lean in the 1940s with the great Martita Hunt as Miss Havisham.  I am guessing Olivia Coleman might want this erased from her CV in the future. 

Just now, BlueRiver said:

Think it has been in use a while. It more refers to the idea (I don't think there's any concrete evidence to support it though) that when a brand goes "woke" it leads to substantial financial loss in the aftermath.

I'd previously seen it used to refer to the Gillete advertising campaign a few years back. 

Thats it.